FB Twitter

Brig y Don

Brig y Don

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 72 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Brig y Don, Welsh for 'crest of the wave' is a beautifully appointed house that takes full advantage of its spectacular cliff top location. It sleeps upto 8 people in 4 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. The views from all the living areas and master bedroom provide an ever changing backdrop to your holiday that will always be remembered.

Top Marks for Brig y Don !

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly first class holiday accommodation in a beautiful location. The family, six of us, have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. This is the third time we have spent a vacation in Gwbert, Cardigan...in a property owned and administered by Chris Purnell . We have never been disappointed! The house (cottage?) is beautifully presented and the facilities are excellent. Our every need was covered. Add to this it is located in an idyllic spot directly overlooking Cardigan Bay. We will no doubt bore friends with lapsed-time photographs of the sun setting on the horizon!
In all of this we found Chris Purnell a thoroughly helpful, buoyant and straightforward person with whom to deal. A great holiday!.......we shall return!




Wonderful Property

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is fabulous undoubtedly the best property I have ever booked. It is clean, comfortable and warm. Unlike most rentals It is better furnished and equipped than my own home. All four bathrooms are beautifully designed with a further cloakroom downstairs. A large garden at the rear and terrace with a fabulous view at the front.

The hosts are friendly and available if necessary and deal with all the rubbish and recycling for you at the end and in our case a clean and change of bedding in the middle of the 2 weeks at no extra charge.

The house was child friendly for families and would also be a great place for 4 couples.

I won’t hesitate to book again just need the occasion




A wonderful relaxing location by the sea

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We initially booked Brig y Don for July 2020 but Chris and Eirian have been very accommodating about rescheduling due to Covid. When we arrived (in July 2022)a quick phone call to Eirian brought her to the house where she welcomed us and explained how everything worked.
We were stunned by the quality of everything in the house, American Fridge, wine fridge, the decoration, the bedding etc. everything was of first class quality and appropriate for our size of group (8 adults).
Outside our favourite place was the picnic bench on the front terrace overlooking the Teifi estuary and the sea with a view of the boats and dolphins whatever the state of the tide.
The location was ideal for us, a bar/restaurant 50M up the road and the Cliff Hotel a bit further along. Our favourite eating place was the Ferry Inn across the estuary in St Dogmaels. Good food, reasonable prices and excellent service - but do book!
The house is just off the Welsh coastal path, interesting walking and beautiful views.
Overall this is an excellent place for a holiday - highly recommended.




A well presented property.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was well thought out to ensure a comfortable stay.
The road at the front of the property was noisy at times as it served the hotel complex on the headland & development at the rear.




Perfect house in perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don is a beautiful house in a great location. We had a warm welcome from Chris and Eirian and the basket of goodies was very much appreciated, especially the bara brith and scones.
The house is comfortable, spacious and extremely well equipped, in particular with very useful baby and toddler things.
One of the highlights of the week was watching dolphins from the terrace. We also saw some from the beach at Mwnt which became a favourite location for swimming (for the hardier members of the family) and building sandcastles (for young and old). We also enjoyed Poppit Sands which could be seen from Brig y Don on the other side of the estuary.
In essence, we had a perfect week in a perfect house in a perfect location.




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class accommodation, clean and spotless. Fantastic views of coast from front windows.
Little extras like welcome pack made our stay even better.
Chris and Eirian very welcoming, would highly recommend




Perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual it was great and up to expectations. Will definitely go again next year ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,



Second Time Around

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another super stay. Chris organised a late arrival by our daughter and was there to welcome us when we arrived later in the week. ( He also posted my charger home which we had left behind).
The property was in fabulous condition and has everything you need for the stay.
The views were as good as we remembered. We opted to stay in most evenings rather than going out as the house is so comfortable.
The Cliff Hotel and the nearby restaurant had both had a good facelift and were pleasant to visit for lunch and drinks.
Another lovely holiday and we will be back.




Beautiful house with a stunning view

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful house to spend a week in. It’s stylish, very spacious and well equipped. The owners really do “go the extra mile” to ensure your comfort. The views are gorgeous and the sunsets other worldly. One of the benefits of staying here is the easy access to beautiful walks from the front door in either direction. An important consideration if you wish to explore safely, leaving the car behind. The wild life is very visible, for example seals swimming in the bay, just off the headland.

The welcome tray provided by the owners contained luxury items, locally sourced, and a real treat to be enjoyed throughout the week. Fresh flowers in every room added to the tranquil atmosphere.

Poppitt Sands are very visible from the house and worthy of a visit with easy parking and access. The farmers market held weekly at St Dogmaels, is worth visiting with interesting local produce, likewise the butchers in the town centre provide quality meat, great on the BBQ.

We had a lovely week at Brig y Don. It passed all to quickly. Would love to return. Quite a treasured find in this beautiful unspoilt part of Wales.




Stunning house & location

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful house with excellent facilities. Very comfortable, everything worked & high levels of cleanliness. All the little touches were noted and appreciated. The views across the estuary were spectacular and are much missed!



Beautiful house and stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious and immaculate property, lovely garden. Lots of extras like games, fantastic books and buckets and spades for the beach. Couldn’t ask for anymore.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit still fabulous hope to have a third visit. . Thanks.



Best holiday house ever!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We expected the view to be amazing being familiar with the area, but it’s not until entering the house, and seeing the sea and estuary expand before you, perfectly framed by the huge windows in Brig y Don that it surpasses all expectations and takes your breath away. The sunsets were stunning too, to rival those of any far flung destination.

The house itself is beautifully appointed with the most comfy furnishings of any holiday home I’ve ever stayed in and is designed with great use of space to allow a family holiday to be enjoyed with ease and space for all. The deluxe showers in every room were a highlight, plus the welcome treat basket of Welsh food and homemade cakes was a most generous surprise. This is perfect location and property for a most relaxing holiday indeed, highly recommended!




Return to Brig y Don

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth stay and everything was just as good as ever! We’ve already booked out fifth and sixth visits which speaks for itself!



Happy Place

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Brig-y-Don since 2015 and it was the best ever, and incredibly relaxing. This is a stunning property with every detail carefully catered for. The welcome pack provided is second to none, with every taste catered for - we were hugely grateful for how well thought out the items were

As a family of 4 (including two young children), Chris and Eirian really have all needs covered including a fantastic range of board games.

The house is stunning, spotlessly clean, roomy and impeccably fur nished/decorated. It is in a great location for local hotspots near and far (check the details provided). Pizza Tipi in Cardigan is a highly recommended foodie place, plus the Cabin in Porthgain - and many more in between!

We are hugely grateful for everything this amazing property offers, including the impeccable furnishings (and all that comes with), to the vast sightseeing and foodie opportunities that surround it. We can’t wait to return - thank you for everything Chris and Eirian.




Gem of a holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was fabulous. Clean, comfortable & amazing scenery. Highly recommend to anyone with children or just adults.
Definitely 5 star




An excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely comfortable house with good views over Cardigan Bay. The welcome pack was wonderful, delicious scones, jam and cream plus all the other delicious goodies - yum. Despite storm Barra we managed to go out walking everyday, with one advantage of it being so windy being that it blew the storm clouds away giving us some great sunny spells.



Fabulous weekend break away with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious, well-equipped, comfortable accommodation with spectacular unopposed views over the ocean and poppit sands. Perfect for a weekend away with friends. Nearby coastal path for beautiful walks and access to food / spa facilities at the Cliff Hotel should you so desire. But equally could enjoy the impressive views from the comfort of the house, if it’s too cold/windy to go out! Especially with all the yummys available in the delicious welcome pack, which were gratefully devoured! Separate wine fridge, also had lots of use!

Also, the owners were very accommodating and went above and beyond when experiencing a power cut during storm Arwen.




Fabulous Winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable house with the most amazing sea views, the best welcome pack including freshly baked scones and Welsh tea bread cake. Hope to return soon.



Overall, a superb experience much enjoyed by all of us (6 adults plus two infant cousins).

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chris very kindly accommodated all our needs and was very understanding when difficult weather slowed our departure to about 15 mins past deadline. Property was well equipped with good quality equipment, utensils, soft furnishings and towelry. Bedrooms were very comfortable and social, dining and storage space was generous and very user friendly. Parking was easy and safe for three cars although vigilance is required when loading children. October and mixed weather meant we could not use the wonderful frontage much. However, the stunningly spectacular and often dramatic sea views can be easily appreciated from indoors as a result of the super bay windows. Would thoroughly recommend.



A pleasurable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Well appointed and equipped. Good base to explore. Fairly good local bistro. Ceredigion a very friendly town to visit. Excellent and generous welcome pack at Brig y Don. Not too keen on 0930 hr turnout.



A truly exceptional property with everything provided...a wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having postponed our stay a number of times over 2-3 years for various reasons, we were beginning to wonder if we would ever actually make it to Brig Y Don...however we did finally make it there and are so pleased we were able to. We have stayed in a considerable number of holiday homes over the years and this has to be up there as one of the best we have stayed in. Absolutely everything we could need was provided, including all the baby/toddler equipment for our 6 month old and 4 year old. The house is extremely comfortable, warm, spacious and well furnished. The views are outstanding and the little extras (e.g. binoculars to appreciate the view, the wonderful welcome hamper of goodies) really add a special touch.

Chris was on hand on arrival to greet us and we received a warm and friendly welcome. I would absolutely recommend Brig Y Don and we certainly plan to return. I don't think I can find anything to fault it!




Fabulous Holiday House with Amazing Views

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect getaway and family meet up. Luxurious throughout with amazing views over the bay, we had an excellent weekend stay. The weather graced us with a beautiful skies and sunset on the first evening which set the scene for the weekend. Everything in the house was spotless and it was brilliantly equipped and the welcome hamper was filled with delicious goodies - one of the best we've had :-) . The whole property works so well, with plenty of room for everyone to be together but also have to have their own space (and ample parking for 4 cars). Super comfy furniture for chilling out and relaxing and everyone in the party commented on how comfy the beds were. Just what we all needed and highly recommended.



Our third visit and as fabulous as ever!

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit and as fabulous as ever! Brig y Don really does have it all for a comfortable, relaxing holiday in a beautiful home offering superb views, stunning sunsets and plenty to see and do in the area. As previously, the owners were helpful, friendly and attentive both before and during our visit. A thoroughly enjoyable stay in every way!



Wonderful walking holiday based at Brig Y Don

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us have rented large houses in order to walk the coastal paths of England and Wales for many years. Brig Y Don is one of the best houses we have stayed in.
Not just the views were fantastic - ensuite shower rooms for all, with plenty of hot water - perfect after a day on the coastal path; wonderfully comfortable beds and linen - ensured great sleep after a long walk and a fabulous and fully kitted out kitchen was perfect to feed hungry walkers.
A perfect house to share with extended family or friends. Wonderful location, directly on the coast, finished to the highest standard and immaculately clean.
The very kind owners had also left flowers around the house and a lovely welcome pack full of welsh goodies.
It was all such a treat!




50th Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this property for my 50th Birthday celebrations (couldn’t go to Alaska due to Covid) and it was just perfect!
Everything about the property was exceptional. Location very central for exploring and the views from the front of the house were breathtaking.
We loved our stay and will definitely be recommending this property to family and friends.




August Vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to Chris and his wife for a most enjoyable week. EXCELLENT covers every aspect you can think of concerning Brig y Don and proved a great location to explore south west Wales.
I must congratulate our hosts on their attention to detail, particularly loved the scones and welsh cake provided.
The binoculars were very useful to enjoy the estuary tidal flow and the geese.
P.S. Only minor criticism, I enjoy a dram, shock horror no whisky glasses to enjoy my malt, should have packed one. (only kidding Chris)




A fantastic property with an amazing view

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Brig Y Don. The property is furnished to a high standard and situated in a great spot with a fabulous view of the sea. We really enjoyed our time here. Chris has gone to great lengths to ensure the property is as Covid safe as possible which is very reassuring.



Superb place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow
Great Views, Immaculate house and property, brilliant hosts and above and beyond service from Chris, could not recommend highly enough.




Fantastic sunny holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Brig y Don. The house was sparkling clean and so comfortable and the views unbelievably beautiful. The owners were really friendly and helpful as were the local people we spoke to in Cardigan where we felt welcomed as holiday makers. Would absolutely recommend- thank you to Chris and Eirian.



Another beautiful stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Brig y Don was just as amazing as the first! We extended our stay to 2 weeks this year and were not disappointed to have the extra time. The house was just as clean and comfortable as our last trip and Chris was so available and helpful with communication as a host. Lovely spot and we're already booked in again for next year!



Lovely property in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig Y Don is a very well appointed property in a beautiful location. Whilst we knew from the pictures it was luxurious and comfortable the reality surpassed our expectations. We had a warm and friendly welcome from Chris and the property had been perfectly prepared and cleaned ahead of our arrival and felt very Covid safe. The welcome pack of food, drink and chocolate was a lovely touch and much appreciated.

We would highly recommend Brig Y Don and would definitely stay there again.




Best views ever in a holiday rental

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my children and in laws. We were blessed with amazing weather and the children loved the surrounding sandy beaches, some with lifeguards. A lot of the local castles/remains are free to wander round currently. The best part was sitting of the balcony seeing the stunning sunsets at the end of the day.



A superb house in a superb location!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our second stay at Brig y Don and everything was just as wonderful as it was the first time!
The house is just beautiful! Everything is immaculately clean and wonderfully comfortable. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and is a lovely social space for pottering around in. The lounge is light and spacious with plenty of comfortable seating and a log burner.
The outside spaces are just as well cared for as the inside. We found the back garden to be a sheltered, tranquil space while the front terrace afforded the most amazing views of the estuary and Poppit Sands. It's still our favourite place to sit and drink coffee and wine!
The owners - Chris and Eirian - are very helpful and knowledgeable and their Welcome Hamper full of local produce and home made cakes was the best you could wish for.
We are already planning our third visit!




Perfect short break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect bank holiday stay again at this wonderful place for my wife’s birthday. Appreciated the cake thanks Chris. We will be back.



A holiday property not to be missed! 5 stars

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig Y don is a fabulous holiday property whether one is is couple or part of a larger group. The hosts have created a stunning holiday environment. There are breathtaking views, a stylish comfy interior, lots of kitchen equipment and a generous welcome pack of provisions from local sources. Nothing has been left to chance ......one is assured of a relaxing holiday on this interesting part of the Ceredigion coast. In addition we had 7 nights of watching a breathtaking sunset sitting on the balcony!



Great stay at Brig y Don

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accommodation superb location, the owner Chris very pleasant and helpful and we had excellent weather. Not cheap for only two of us but the is very comfortable accommodation for eight people which makes it good value for money. Hope to revisit. Thanks for great holiday.
Alan Askew and Rita Reay.




Immaculate property,

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don was immaculate and looked just as good as the pictures on the website in real life. Chris had already sent us a comprehensive email about the procedures they had put in place for COVID-19 safety ahead of our stay, this also provided us with all of the information we would need about the house during our holiday. Brig y Don felt like a home from home and the owners Chris and Eirian have clearly put a lot of work into thinking of everything you might need for your stay. There were even some delicious homemade cakes and other locally sourced goodies provided. The views and the sunsets were spectacular and we all agreed that it is the best holiday house we have ever stayed in!



Perfect Easter family break

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very simple. A perfect way to experience the beautiful Cardigan Bay. The property was immaculate, well provisioned, comfortable and finished to a very high standard. The views from ground floor and master bedroom suite at sunset memorable. A lovely welcome pack of Easter treats added to the experience. Covid 19 safety measures and hygiene provisions very well thought out. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend. Thankyou Chris



A beautiful property in a superb location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don had everything we needed and more. A spacious lounge and kitchen with super views over Cardigan bay. A perfect spot for relaxing indoors whilst feeling like you were right on the beach. The garden, spacious downstairs twin room with ensuite shower/bathroom (biggest bath i've seen!) and open plan living area made it a perfect space for relaxing with a young family and grandparents. The luxury and generous welcome hamper, coffee machine, well equipped kitchen, log burner and spacious utility area for washing and outdoor gear made our stay super comfortable. Exploring the local coves, watching the boats in Cardigan bay and seal spotting from the nearby cliffs meant that we didn't have to venture far to keep everyone entertained. Our family highlights were walking to Mwnt and enjoying dam building and bacon sarnies on the beach as well as visiting nearby Penbryn Sands. A perfect house for family get togethers or meet-ups with friends. I would definitely recommend a visit and can't wait to go back.



We have been to Brig Y Don numerous times so this should speak for itself.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing more to say, fantastic place to stay whether you be two, like us, or eight. Views very good.



A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful house with everything you need for a comfortable stay. My disabled brother-in-law couldn’t do any of the walks from the house but really enjoyed sitting in the window or on the patio watching the gorgeous and ever-changing view over the estuary and river.
The kitchen, with its American-style fridge-freezer, is large enough to accommodate 4 or 5 people working round each other, and contains everything you need - except sharp knives (or a sharpener).
The beds are really comfortable and the showers great.
The only improvement we could think of would be an electric car charging-point.




The most delightful holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful visit to Brig y Don (so much so that within a day of our arrival had already booked to stay again next year)! This was our first holiday since Covid-19 and while we were unsure what to expect, Chris was extremely helpful in the planning up to our arrival and walking us through everything on our first day. We were immediately struck by how truly spotless everything was and it made us feel very comfortable. The house, property and location are all amazing, well stocked and the welcome pack was on another level. This is such a special place and we can't wait to visit again!



Very well presented and equipped home with beautiful sea views.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The holiday experience was a great success. Expecting a rather wet Wales holiday we had 5 out of 7 days of sunshine showing the location of the house off to its best.
Chris was a welcoming host, the social distanced greeting was informal and well done.
The information provided on line after booking was comprehensive and well laid out, containing information and links relating to the operation of appliances, local restaurants and walks etc.)
The house is extremely well equipped (even after a COVID compliant risk assessment). The bedrooms are all of a good size with very good en suite facilities.
Everything was clean and in good condition and the wi fi strong throughout the house. My elder daughter stayed with us for a few days and accordingly the traditional washing service was supplied by my wife, but this time using the utility room facilities which proved to be up to the task!
The views from the house were fantastic and we never tired of the geese flights at eye level as they headed northwards up the estuary.
A top quality holiday rental property which we am to return to.




Highly Recommended, Great Location and a Lovely Property

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Brig y Don. The house was beautifully decorated, very clean and it was clear to see the extra precautions put in place for COVID-19. The bedrooms, each with an on-suite were well sized, clean and clearly of good quality fittings. The flow of the downstairs space was really good and always felt spacious, light and airy. The kitchen is beautifully finished with lots of space to cook if wanted. The view both from the lounge and front terrace/patio of Cardigan Bay was great, meaning that we spent most of our time at the front of the property rather than in the back garden, which although on a slope, was well maintained and the rear patio was large enough to make use of the bbq provided if wanted.
The location is perfect if your a fan of walking and only a short drive to Cardigan and the local beaches.
A short walk away we visited the petting farm and Cardigan island walk which is very nice and both local hotels had restaurants giving us a local option to eat out if needed.
Last but not least, we really felt the personal touch from Chris (owner) who was very friendly (thanks for the welcome pack and great home made scones) and always available if we had any queries. They clearly love the area and take pride in this property. I’d even recommend a visit to their cafe on the local beach.
Would highly recommend this as a holiday destination.




Wow!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don exceeded all our expectations! It is a perfect holiday home. The location is wonderful and the views are quite exquisite - and that's before you even step into into the house which is immaculately presented and has the most gorgeous, fabulously equipped kitchen you could wish for! It was here we found the best Welcome Pack of local produce that we'd ever come across! The four bedrooms are all en-suite with modern, spotlessly clean bathrooms and the master bedroom has the added bonus of a beautiful sea view from the very comfortable bed.
We were very reassured by the COVID measures Chris had put in place -we could see that everywhere had been thoroughly cleaned and even the TV remote controls were in new plastic pouches which could be replaced between each set of guests. Quilts, cushions and pillows had also all been quarantined between guests.
The Gwbert area had plenty to keep us occupied - there are 2 hotels with lovely menus within easy walking distance and we enjoyed walking to little beach coves nearby. There is also a coastal path just opposite the property which is lovely to walk along. However, our favourite spot was the front terrace where we sat for hours watching spectacular sunsets and the Canada geese flying back to the estuary below.
Brig y Don is beautiful! From the warm welcome we received from Chris, the home made scones baked by Eirian, the luxury kitchen, the comfortable lounge and the best views in Wales we enjoyed every moment! We will definitely be back!
Huw and Del Morgan




The perfect holiday home in a simply stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don is quite simply the perfect holiday home - everything was in immaculate condition and so much thought has gone into ensuring a luxury stay for guests be it the fabulous and much needed (!) arrival pack full of local produce (the scones are amazing!), the Lavazza coffee machine or the spotless bathrooms.... I could go on and on.
At present with COVID it can be worrying staying away from home but Chris’ thorough cleaning regime honestly was so reassuring - as a family we had 100% confidence in everything that had been done and no concerns whatsoever which meant we could relax and enjoy our much needed holiday!
The area itself is amazing and with three young boys to entertain we had no shortage of things to do. We spent the days exploring coves which were in walking distance from the house (which we had completely to ourselves) to visiting the glorious local beaches - Mwnt and Penbryn are a must. We also visited a local waterfall at Ffynone in ancient woodland which was really special and our boys loved exploring. Crabbing off the jetty at St Dogmaels was also great family fun.
Finally what can we say about that view from the house!! We miss it already! To be able to sit and look at the uninterrupted panoramic view of the coast was unbelievable and the sunsets at night were out of this world. We even saw dolphins one morning and the geese became a real talking point as they flew back and forth every day in huge numbers.
Thank you Chris for such a wonderful holiday. We have so many amazing memories and will most definitely be back next year!




Stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house had the most amazing views from virtually every aspect. I don’t think you would ever grow tired of them, whatever the weather. It was also the best equipped and most comfortable holiday home we have stayed in. The host Chris was very friendly and we enjoyed a couple of takeaway lunches from his wife's cafe at Poppit Sands. We hope to return very soon.



Location, Location, Location - Brig Y Don

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig Y Don exquisite location and luxury accommodation, from the moment we were greeted by Chris (owner) we felt we were going to have an amazing stay at Brig Y Don. Everything was perfect during these trying times and the restrictions imposed on us all by COVID 19, Chris had it covered. The quality of the accommodation was only surpassed by the ever changing view and glorious evening sunsets from the front terrace, a perfect place to enjoy a gin and tonic or glass of wine. We found all the beds to be of a very high standard which provided a very restful sleep, the house is equipped to a very high standard and everything that you need is provided including a wonderful welcome pack of local and homemade produce. Highly recommended, thanks Chris for a great stay.



Superb is no exaggeration!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and just as good as our first! It was a real treat to return to somewhere we knew, relax and enjoy the incredible comforts of Brig y Don with its amazing views and the glorious scenery of the Welsh coast and coast path. Happy days! Whilst we didn’t realise it at the time, the chance to escape would set us up for the challenges and uncertainties facing us all in the days/weeks to follow. Hopefully there’ll be a third visit soon.....!“



A master class in 5 star luxury self catering

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Prior to arriving at Brig y Don we received information about local shops, restaurants, cafes and the area. Good start. On arrival the owner Chris met us at the house with the keys. After showing us round he said to ring him if we had any problems.

The house is exactly what you see on the website. However you don't see all the extra touches.

* The most comprehensive homemade folders I have ever seen from how everything works to walks, towns and beaches etc
* The fresh flowers in the living room and dining room
* The books, loads of them covering a variety of interests such as books on Wales, sport, novels etc
* The variety of games
* The videos
* The logs and kndling by the fire with more logs stored outside
* The binoculars
* The homemade scones, cream, jam, butter, tea bags, coffee, milk and sugar supplied in one spoonful paper packs, loved that!
* The Welsh cakes
* The still and fizzy bottled water
* The hidden sweets in the downstairs bedroom
* The baby / toddler equipment with everything from cot, cot bedding, steriliser, safety gates, socket covers etc

The attention to detail is phenomenal. Brig y Don is incredibly comfortable, outstandingly clean and superbly well equipped.
Thank you Chris and Eirian. We will return.




A Fantastic Family Week

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
6 Adults and 2 small children have just enjoyed a fantastic week in Brig y Don. The weather was dreadful but that never stops us from having a great week. It was home from home. The house is delightful in a great location looking over Cardigan estuary and Poppit Sands so there was always plenty to watch. Our grandaughter (aged 5) loved just sitting on the swivel chair in the window looking at the view. The flowers and 'Welcome Goodies' were super and everywhere had that extra personal touch. Both children cried when we left and didn't want to go home but as we had already booked for next year they are now really looking forward to returning. We have to recommend this beautiful house 100%.



A coastal gem!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What can we say? Absolutely fabulous in every respect! A beautiful house, so very well appointed with views to die for - sunsets and rainbows! Plenty to see and do, places to explore etc. Our first visit but not our last......we’ve already booked to come back next Spring.



Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay, but for some friends their first. We all had en-suite so for four couples you couldn’t ask for better
There was plenty of space, great location with good pub/ hotel serving food very close. Great walks from where we were and amazing views. It was a great birthday stay. Would like to go in the summer to use the outside space, but it’s not cheap. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go back.




Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house, fantastic communication from Chris, Couldlnt have been in a better position. So well equiped with everything you could possibly need. We will be going back!



Fabulous holiday home in beautiful Pembrokeshire

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was everything we could wish for and more for our family of 6 which includes 4 teenager/young adult boys. the views are absolutely breathtaking and it is beautifully decorated with lots of little extras in the house to make life easy. The coastal walk on the doorstep was a huge treat, the sunsets, dinner on the verandah overlooking the bay and the welcome pack was amazing. A much needed, restful week enjoying the beautiful beaches, the walks and the welsh cakes. Thank you!



Brilliant!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely house that was perfect for our family of 6 to explore. The house is well-equipped and in excellent condition. The view is wonderful. Highly recommended for young families and others of all ages.



Happy family times in a lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay with lots of special extras! The flowers were beautiful and the scones were delicious: how thoughtful to leave an afternoon cream tea.

The place was really comfortable and spotless with all you could need for a weeks stay. The kitchen was great to work in with more than enough crockery and cutlery.. and we cooked often! We loved the games too!

The panoramic view was fantastic with spectacular sunsets a couple of nights .. didn’t see any dolphins though!

The seven of us loved our time together in this lovely house. It was a really special time, made extra special being in such a comfy beautiful place.




What a fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three active retired couples sharing a week together by the sea - mostly first time in this part of the Wales. Stayed in many different 5 star holiday properties before and this one has our top rating - couldn't fault it at all. Tastefully furnished with all fittings and equipment of the highest standard. Lots of helpful information provided by the owner, who met us in person on arrival. The outlook from the house and terrace was perfect - watching the tide ebb/flow and the sun set on the horizon. Plenty of places to visit nearby and a handy bistro just two minutes walk away.



A beautiful place to stay in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig a don was a wonderful holiday home providing everything we needed and more... immaculately clean...the sunsets over the bay were just stunning...thank you



Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at Brig-y-Don, the house is lovely, well-equipped and in excellent condition, full of sun and in a great location overlooking the estuary and the bay beyond.



A perfect week in Gwbert!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from a perfect week in Gwbert, staying at Brig y Don. The house was excellent, beautifully furnished and comfortable, and with plenty of everything we would need, including superb weather! The views across the estuary and out to sea are outstanding, (we even saw some dolphins!) and I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone.



Holiday break with family

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent house and stay Can't wait to get back to Gwbert Cardiigan and Wales Everyone makes you feel most welcome.



Holiday perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location , wonderful property with everything provided to a very high standard , all one could wish for a great holiday!



Lovely stay in this lovely house

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in this lovely house, uplifted by the amazing views. Facilities excellent. Chis a very kind and helpful host. Charming lambs outside!



Wow

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit and it will not be the last one!
Wonderful view of the sea and headland makes it a very special place, we could watch the tide going in and out all day, and the sea responds so well to changes in the weather, reflecting the colours in the sky and the wind conditions.
Cardigan is very near and has a lot going for it, but is not spoilt by too many visitors. Pembrokeshire is nearby with all its attractions and walks.
The house is up to date and very well equipped and maintained, with every comfort and a lovely welcome pack/fresh scones/brownies etc.. We enjoyed the little wood burning stove, as the nights were cold,(we were lucky to have sunshine all week on this latest visit).The stove works very well, looks good, and boosts the underfloor heating downstairs. Chris is a genuine, helpful and friendly host. It's hard to fault this property.




West is best

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is about our 6th visit to the house (that says a lot as we only expect the best standards). The spec is exceptional and it is always spotlessly clean. Chris is a superb owner who can not do enough for you. We have already booked again for next year. The only thing to be aware of (that is no issue for us) is that you need to drive to the shops and best beaches but they are literally 5 / 10 minutes away.

You will not be disappointed if you book this accommodation.




Beautiful home, beautiful view

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed twice in this beautiful house and were very happy. It’s quiet and comfortable with a stunning view. The kitchen is very well equipped. Owner Chris super friendly, helpful and welcoming.



Another great, but all too short, holiday in this great property. Definitely one of our favourites

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've enjoyed another wonderful stay in this superb property, where there's always a lovely warm personal welcome from Chris.
As ever, the house was spotlessly clean and so well-equipped. In the kitchen it's great to have all you need to bake, as well as cook, although the delicious scones baked by Chris's wife can't be rivalled! The supply of pods for the coffee machine was much appreciated and it was after enjoying coffee from this machine on a previous visit that we couldn't resist buying one of our own!'

Generous living space, where we never tire of enjoying the spectacular view, comfortable bedrooms, fantastic walk-in shower, ample towels, good laundry facilities, and this time we were cosy with the log burner which worked well, with ample logs provided.


Needless to say, we very much hope to return!






Everything you could wish for @ Brig y Don

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi. Everything perfect (except for the weather)Just one trivial item just another comfortable settee would be lovely. We will
definitely want to go back.




Stunning House & Location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this in March & stayed for a week in October & were very lucky with the weather, sunshine most days! The house was perfect for us having four adults with two & for year old children. All the rooms were very spacious & having good size on suite bathrooms was great. Everything was there even beach equipment for the kids to use which we hadn't brought. In a word... Amazing! For us the only downside was having to book Friday to Friday which always seems to be a bad traveling day on the roads but we had a fantastic stay in the "Brig y Don" so thanks.



Very comfortable, spacious house with all mod-cons. Wonderful views.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in Brig a Don with family and friends. The house was very comfortable, with plenty of seating, wonderful views from the lounge and master bedroom and the luxury of en-suites in all bedrooms.
We enjoyed the tea, coffee, scones and Welsh cakes which greeted us on arrival.
Cardigan is a great place for walkers, birdwatchers and nature-lovers in general and Brig a Don was a great base for us.