FB Twitter

Brig y Don

Brig y Don

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Brig y Don, Welsh for 'crest of the wave' is a beautifully appointed house that takes full advantage of its spectacular cliff top location. It sleeps upto 8 people in 4 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. The views from all the living areas and master bedroom provide an ever changing backdrop to your holiday that will always be remembered.

Highly Recommended, Great Location and a Lovely Property

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Brig y Don. The house was beautifully decorated, very clean and it was clear to see the extra precautions put in place for COVID-19. The bedrooms, each with an on-suite were well sized, clean and clearly of good quality fittings. The flow of the downstairs space was really good and always felt spacious, light and airy. The kitchen is beautifully finished with lots of space to cook if wanted. The view both from the lounge and front terrace/patio of Cardigan Bay was great, meaning that we spent most of our time at the front of the property rather than in the back garden, which although on a slope, was well maintained and the rear patio was large enough to make use of the bbq provided if wanted.
The location is perfect if your a fan of walking and only a short drive to Cardigan and the local beaches.
A short walk away we visited the petting farm and Cardigan island walk which is very nice and both local hotels had restaurants giving us a local option to eat out if needed.
Last but not least, we really felt the personal touch from Chris (owner) who was very friendly (thanks for the welcome pack and great home made scones) and always available if we had any queries. They clearly love the area and take pride in this property. I’d even recommend a visit to their cafe on the local beach.
Would highly recommend this as a holiday destination.




Wow!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don exceeded all our expectations! It is a perfect holiday home. The location is wonderful and the views are quite exquisite - and that's before you even step into into the house which is immaculately presented and has the most gorgeous, fabulously equipped kitchen you could wish for! It was here we found the best Welcome Pack of local produce that we'd ever come across! The four bedrooms are all en-suite with modern, spotlessly clean bathrooms and the master bedroom has the added bonus of a beautiful sea view from the very comfortable bed.
We were very reassured by the COVID measures Chris had put in place -we could see that everywhere had been thoroughly cleaned and even the TV remote controls were in new plastic pouches which could be replaced between each set of guests. Quilts, cushions and pillows had also all been quarantined between guests.
The Gwbert area had plenty to keep us occupied - there are 2 hotels with lovely menus within easy walking distance and we enjoyed walking to little beach coves nearby. There is also a coastal path just opposite the property which is lovely to walk along. However, our favourite spot was the front terrace where we sat for hours watching spectacular sunsets and the Canada geese flying back to the estuary below.
Brig y Don is beautiful! From the warm welcome we received from Chris, the home made scones baked by Eirian, the luxury kitchen, the comfortable lounge and the best views in Wales we enjoyed every moment! We will definitely be back!
Huw and Del Morgan




The perfect holiday home in a simply stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig y Don is quite simply the perfect holiday home - everything was in immaculate condition and so much thought has gone into ensuring a luxury stay for guests be it the fabulous and much needed (!) arrival pack full of local produce (the scones are amazing!), the Lavazza coffee machine or the spotless bathrooms.... I could go on and on.
At present with COVID it can be worrying staying away from home but Chris’ thorough cleaning regime honestly was so reassuring - as a family we had 100% confidence in everything that had been done and no concerns whatsoever which meant we could relax and enjoy our much needed holiday!
The area itself is amazing and with three young boys to entertain we had no shortage of things to do. We spent the days exploring coves which were in walking distance from the house (which we had completely to ourselves) to visiting the glorious local beaches - Mwnt and Penbryn are a must. We also visited a local waterfall at Ffynone in ancient woodland which was really special and our boys loved exploring. Crabbing off the jetty at St Dogmaels was also great family fun.
Finally what can we say about that view from the house!! We miss it already! To be able to sit and look at the uninterrupted panoramic view of the coast was unbelievable and the sunsets at night were out of this world. We even saw dolphins one morning and the geese became a real talking point as they flew back and forth every day in huge numbers.
Thank you Chris for such a wonderful holiday. We have so many amazing memories and will most definitely be back next year!




Stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house had the most amazing views from virtually every aspect. I don’t think you would ever grow tired of them, whatever the weather. It was also the best equipped and most comfortable holiday home we have stayed in. The host Chris was very friendly and we enjoyed a couple of takeaway lunches from his wife's cafe at Poppit Sands. We hope to return very soon.



Location, Location, Location - Brig Y Don

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig Y Don exquisite location and luxury accommodation, from the moment we were greeted by Chris (owner) we felt we were going to have an amazing stay at Brig Y Don. Everything was perfect during these trying times and the restrictions imposed on us all by COVID 19, Chris had it covered. The quality of the accommodation was only surpassed by the ever changing view and glorious evening sunsets from the front terrace, a perfect place to enjoy a gin and tonic or glass of wine. We found all the beds to be of a very high standard which provided a very restful sleep, the house is equipped to a very high standard and everything that you need is provided including a wonderful welcome pack of local and homemade produce. Highly recommended, thanks Chris for a great stay.



Superb is no exaggeration!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and just as good as our first! It was a real treat to return to somewhere we knew, relax and enjoy the incredible comforts of Brig y Don with its amazing views and the glorious scenery of the Welsh coast and coast path. Happy days! Whilst we didn’t realise it at the time, the chance to escape would set us up for the challenges and uncertainties facing us all in the days/weeks to follow. Hopefully there’ll be a third visit soon.....!“



A master class in 5 star luxury self catering

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Prior to arriving at Brig y Don we received information about local shops, restaurants, cafes and the area. Good start. On arrival the owner Chris met us at the house with the keys. After showing us round he said to ring him if we had any problems.

The house is exactly what you see on the website. However you don't see all the extra touches.

* The most comprehensive homemade folders I have ever seen from how everything works to walks, towns and beaches etc
* The fresh flowers in the living room and dining room
* The books, loads of them covering a variety of interests such as books on Wales, sport, novels etc
* The variety of games
* The videos
* The logs and kndling by the fire with more logs stored outside
* The binoculars
* The homemade scones, cream, jam, butter, tea bags, coffee, milk and sugar supplied in one spoonful paper packs, loved that!
* The Welsh cakes
* The still and fizzy bottled water
* The hidden sweets in the downstairs bedroom
* The baby / toddler equipment with everything from cot, cot bedding, steriliser, safety gates, socket covers etc

The attention to detail is phenomenal. Brig y Don is incredibly comfortable, outstandingly clean and superbly well equipped.
Thank you Chris and Eirian. We will return.




A Fantastic Family Week

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
6 Adults and 2 small children have just enjoyed a fantastic week in Brig y Don. The weather was dreadful but that never stops us from having a great week. It was home from home. The house is delightful in a great location looking over Cardigan estuary and Poppit Sands so there was always plenty to watch. Our grandaughter (aged 5) loved just sitting on the swivel chair in the window looking at the view. The flowers and 'Welcome Goodies' were super and everywhere had that extra personal touch. Both children cried when we left and didn't want to go home but as we had already booked for next year they are now really looking forward to returning. We have to recommend this beautiful house 100%.



A coastal gem!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What can we say? Absolutely fabulous in every respect! A beautiful house, so very well appointed with views to die for - sunsets and rainbows! Plenty to see and do, places to explore etc. Our first visit but not our last......we’ve already booked to come back next Spring.



Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay, but for some friends their first. We all had en-suite so for four couples you couldn’t ask for better
There was plenty of space, great location with good pub/ hotel serving food very close. Great walks from where we were and amazing views. It was a great birthday stay. Would like to go in the summer to use the outside space, but it’s not cheap. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go back.




Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house, fantastic communication from Chris, Couldlnt have been in a better position. So well equiped with everything you could possibly need. We will be going back!



Fabulous holiday home in beautiful Pembrokeshire

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was everything we could wish for and more for our family of 6 which includes 4 teenager/young adult boys. the views are absolutely breathtaking and it is beautifully decorated with lots of little extras in the house to make life easy. The coastal walk on the doorstep was a huge treat, the sunsets, dinner on the verandah overlooking the bay and the welcome pack was amazing. A much needed, restful week enjoying the beautiful beaches, the walks and the welsh cakes. Thank you!



Brilliant!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely house that was perfect for our family of 6 to explore. The house is well-equipped and in excellent condition. The view is wonderful. Highly recommended for young families and others of all ages.



Happy family times in a lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay with lots of special extras! The flowers were beautiful and the scones were delicious: how thoughtful to leave an afternoon cream tea.

The place was really comfortable and spotless with all you could need for a weeks stay. The kitchen was great to work in with more than enough crockery and cutlery.. and we cooked often! We loved the games too!

The panoramic view was fantastic with spectacular sunsets a couple of nights .. didn’t see any dolphins though!

The seven of us loved our time together in this lovely house. It was a really special time, made extra special being in such a comfy beautiful place.




What a fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three active retired couples sharing a week together by the sea - mostly first time in this part of the Wales. Stayed in many different 5 star holiday properties before and this one has our top rating - couldn't fault it at all. Tastefully furnished with all fittings and equipment of the highest standard. Lots of helpful information provided by the owner, who met us in person on arrival. The outlook from the house and terrace was perfect - watching the tide ebb/flow and the sun set on the horizon. Plenty of places to visit nearby and a handy bistro just two minutes walk away.



A beautiful place to stay in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brig a don was a wonderful holiday home providing everything we needed and more... immaculately clean...the sunsets over the bay were just stunning...thank you



Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at Brig-y-Don, the house is lovely, well-equipped and in excellent condition, full of sun and in a great location overlooking the estuary and the bay beyond.



A perfect week in Gwbert!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from a perfect week in Gwbert, staying at Brig y Don. The house was excellent, beautifully furnished and comfortable, and with plenty of everything we would need, including superb weather! The views across the estuary and out to sea are outstanding, (we even saw some dolphins!) and I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone.



Holiday break with family

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent house and stay Can't wait to get back to Gwbert Cardiigan and Wales Everyone makes you feel most welcome.



Holiday perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location , wonderful property with everything provided to a very high standard , all one could wish for a great holiday!



Lovely stay in this lovely house

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in this lovely house, uplifted by the amazing views. Facilities excellent. Chis a very kind and helpful host. Charming lambs outside!



Wow

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit and it will not be the last one!
Wonderful view of the sea and headland makes it a very special place, we could watch the tide going in and out all day, and the sea responds so well to changes in the weather, reflecting the colours in the sky and the wind conditions.
Cardigan is very near and has a lot going for it, but is not spoilt by too many visitors. Pembrokeshire is nearby with all its attractions and walks.
The house is up to date and very well equipped and maintained, with every comfort and a lovely welcome pack/fresh scones/brownies etc.. We enjoyed the little wood burning stove, as the nights were cold,(we were lucky to have sunshine all week on this latest visit).The stove works very well, looks good, and boosts the underfloor heating downstairs. Chris is a genuine, helpful and friendly host. It's hard to fault this property.




West is best

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is about our 6th visit to the house (that says a lot as we only expect the best standards). The spec is exceptional and it is always spotlessly clean. Chris is a superb owner who can not do enough for you. We have already booked again for next year. The only thing to be aware of (that is no issue for us) is that you need to drive to the shops and best beaches but they are literally 5 / 10 minutes away.

You will not be disappointed if you book this accommodation.




Beautiful home, beautiful view

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed twice in this beautiful house and were very happy. It’s quiet and comfortable with a stunning view. The kitchen is very well equipped. Owner Chris super friendly, helpful and welcoming.



Another great, but all too short, holiday in this great property. Definitely one of our favourites

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've enjoyed another wonderful stay in this superb property, where there's always a lovely warm personal welcome from Chris.
As ever, the house was spotlessly clean and so well-equipped. In the kitchen it's great to have all you need to bake, as well as cook, although the delicious scones baked by Chris's wife can't be rivalled! The supply of pods for the coffee machine was much appreciated and it was after enjoying coffee from this machine on a previous visit that we couldn't resist buying one of our own!'

Generous living space, where we never tire of enjoying the spectacular view, comfortable bedrooms, fantastic walk-in shower, ample towels, good laundry facilities, and this time we were cosy with the log burner which worked well, with ample logs provided.


Needless to say, we very much hope to return!






Everything you could wish for @ Brig y Don

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi. Everything perfect (except for the weather)Just one trivial item just another comfortable settee would be lovely. We will
definitely want to go back.




Stunning House & Location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this in March & stayed for a week in October & were very lucky with the weather, sunshine most days! The house was perfect for us having four adults with two & for year old children. All the rooms were very spacious & having good size on suite bathrooms was great. Everything was there even beach equipment for the kids to use which we hadn't brought. In a word... Amazing! For us the only downside was having to book Friday to Friday which always seems to be a bad traveling day on the roads but we had a fantastic stay in the "Brig y Don" so thanks.



Very comfortable, spacious house with all mod-cons. Wonderful views.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in Brig a Don with family and friends. The house was very comfortable, with plenty of seating, wonderful views from the lounge and master bedroom and the luxury of en-suites in all bedrooms.
We enjoyed the tea, coffee, scones and Welsh cakes which greeted us on arrival.
Cardigan is a great place for walkers, birdwatchers and nature-lovers in general and Brig a Don was a great base for us.