FB Twitter

School Master's Retreat

School Master's Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


School Master's Retreat

A well thought out, comfortable, cottage for two

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage, attached to the main residence, is half a mile from the A1, and as such within easy reach of numerous wonderful Northumbrian places to visit. The owner has equipped the place with considerable thought for her visitors comfort, there is hardly anything needed. Books, DVD's, flyers for all tourist areas, and the kitchen equipment covered all eventualities. There is a small courtyard at the back, big enough to turn a car around in, with a table and chairs for warmer evenings, and completely private.
The attention to detail is second to none, with good quality fixtures and fittings. We asked for a thinner duvet as the bedroom is very cosy and one was provided within 24 hours (it had to be purchased, as we were the only guests to request this!) All in all a very happy week, and if we choose to go back to this part of UK we would not hesitate to use this cottage again.


Sue from Leicester stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


Just right for two

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Schoolmaster's Retreat is the perfect base for exploring Northumbria, close to roads, rail and wonderful places to visit to suit all tastes, including stunning beaches. Warm, comfortable with everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday, with beautiful touches in the decor and furnishings. This was our second visit and we will be back.

Ian and Alyse from Bakewell stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


School Master's Retreat - A Real Gem!!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would thoroughly recommend this wonderfully appointed, very comfortable cottage for two. Immaculately clean and in a great location for exploring the Northumberland Coast. We loved the huge sandy beach 5 minutes away and were lucky enough to see a pod of Dolphins swimming close to the shore one afternoon. We went home totally relaxed and refreshed. We will certainly return, thank you!

from stayed at School Master's Retreat for 3 nights in September 2018


School Master’s Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, well appointed and tastefully decorated to the highest standard. Fantastic location to explore amazing beaches and historic sites and towns. My only fault if you can call it such was the bed. It was so firm that we slept badly and woke up very stiff and aching every morning. However the bed linen was beautiful and the duvet very cosy. Despite the bed, we would love to book again but will be bringing a topper with us next time!!
Ros the owner was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and had written on a map all the various sites to see, places to sample local cuisine etc. We used this everyday of our holiday and found it invaluable. Thank you so much for this, much appreciated.


Brenda from Ashbourne stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


Rosalind replied 79 days ago
Dear Brenda, Thank you for submitting your review, delighted you enjoyed your holiday here in Northumberland. Sorry to hear you found the bed too firm to your liking, we do appreciate that firmness is down to individual preference. We are always appreciative of guest feedback. In response to your comments we now have available, (upon request at time of booking) a topper for guests who prefer a soft bed. For the benefit of other guests reading this, the mattress in this cottage is a 2000 pocket sprung orthopedic mattress. In all honesty, all other guest comments we have received in regard to this bed are that guests have slept very well/if not too well! We hope to host you in the future, you are very welcome. Kind regards.

School Master's Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful cottage with very high standards of both comfort and cleanliness. The cottage was homely yet stylish and had a real sense of relaxtion about it. We have stayed in many holiday cottages and this was the best. The location is excellent for accessing both the coast and the National Park . There are numerous activities in the area and it was very easy to fill our week. Ros, the host, was very welcoming but not at all intrusive which we really appreciated. We only wished we had booked two weeks!

Karen from Barnstaple stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in August 2018


Just perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
....................................................................................................

Angela from Leicester stayed at School Master's Retreat for 6 nights in July 2018


A Beautiful Bolthole for Two!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
School Master's Retreat was just what we were looking for, excellent quality accommodation for just the two of us, with a feeling of luxury and style throughout.
The accommodation was spotless, carefully thought out and really well equipped with lots of little touches which showed that the owners really cared about their guests. Ros and David were great hosts, there to help when needed but otherwise giving us lots of peace and privacy. They also gave us some great tips on places to visit including some fantastic beaches nearby.
Northumberland is a beautiful county and this was a really good base from which to make the most of all it has to offer.
All in all we had a lovely holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.



Andrew & Bridget from Buxton, stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in June 2018


A Fabulous Cottage in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our recent visit in June 2018 was our third in 12 months. School Masters Retreat is quite clearly ideal for us. The cottage is fabulous and being for two is a rarity in the self catering business. It's location was perfect, close to the gorgeous Northumberland coast, and coastal villages whilst also close to the lovely Scottish Borders. Ros and David ,the owners , are very welcoming and friendly and genuinely care that everything is OK with the cottage for their guests.
We've only been home now a few days but are already planning and looking forward to our 4th and 5th visits


Fiona and Peter from Over Burrows stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in June 2018


The Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect base for exploring the border country and Northumbria. Comfortable with everything needed for a holiday, whatever the weather. Warm, welcoming, cosy and with lots of little unexpected extras. Simply lovely.

Ian and Alyse from Bakewell stayed at School Master's Retreat for 14 nights in June 2018


Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here, lovely cottage with everything you could ask for (home from home).
The property itself is very beautiful, clean and to a high standard and is ideally located for travelling around and is a ten minute or so walk to the beach. We walked for miles along the coastal paths.

Just a shame we couldn't meet the hosts, maybe next time.


Clare from Dewsbury stayed at School Master's Retreat for 3 nights in May 2018


Wonderful short break

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect!! Lovely cottage with everything you could want for. Tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Lovely sunny outside space. Great location for exploring....couldn't ask for more.

Stuart from Ambleside stayed at School Master's Retreat for 2 nights in April 2018


Maggie and Mac from Shropshire

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for a couple. Very definitely a self-contained retreat. A great place to explore Berwick, the Tweed, the Borders and the surrounding countryside. Ros and David looked after us well, making sure we had everything we needed. They very kindly spent time looking for a missing debit card and they were prompt in returning a couple of items we left behind. Our only gripe - we were a little cold downstairs, partly due to the dreadful weather we had, and partly that all the heat disappeared straight up the stairs (the bedroom was toasty warm). The living room would benefit from some sort of fire, especially when there is an ideal place to site it. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Maggie from Much Wenlock stayed at School Master's Retreat for 5 nights in March 2018


Rosalind replied 248 days ago
Dear Maggie and Mac, Thank you very much for submitting your review, we always welcome and appreciate feedback. The comfort of all our lovely guests is extremely important to us. Therefore we are sorry to hear that you found the downstairs a little cold. We would have preferred for you to have informed us of this during your stay as we are unable to investigate/resolve this issue after the event. For the benefit of other potential guests reading this, the heating in the cottage is by generous capacity Worcester Bosch boiler with large capacity column radiators through out. (The entire roof and walls are all generously insulated too) The heating system was fitted by professionals 20 months ago. There is a climate control thermostat in the sitting room that allows the heating to be set to the temperature that is required by the guest. There is also a note on the thermostat with basic instructions and an offer to ask us if you require any assistance with the heating settings (as we appreciate it may not be the same as guests have in their own home). We did knock on the door and speak with you on the afternoon following your arrival to ask if all was well for you. No mention of any issue with the heating was made, nor was it when we again chatted on Easter Sunday. Upon your departure we entered the Retreat and found heating on the ground floor warm and set on a constant 21 degrees on the thermostatic display. We would politely like to mention that we have never advertised the property as having a real/open fire. Kindest Regards.

Cosy at Christmas

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a hectic year, I needed somewhere to relax, recharge and enjoy the festive season. The Schoolmasters Retreat did not disappoint.

I spent a peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable Christmas week. The cottage was cosy, beautifully decorated and very well equipped.

I had some amazing beach walks and Berwick-On-Tweed is a real gem. Northumberland is truly wild but wonderful.

Went home happy and relaxed. It’s a perfect for a break any time of the year but at Christmas with it decorated festively it was fabulous.

Thank you Ros.


Anita from Sheffield stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in December 2017


Truly lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable and lovely cottage in a nice quiet surrounding but close to Berwick Town Centre and dozens of other attractions, highly recommended

Tim from Wrexham stayed at School Master's Retreat for 4 nights in November 2017


Excellent accommodation for two

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a quiet but convenient location for exploring the Northumberland coast and area.

from stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in September 2017


A fantastic place to stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The School Masters Retreat ticked all the boxes, a beautiful place to stay for a peaceful holiday. The cottage was exceptional in cleanliness and comfort. We would recommend it for the perfect holiday.

Guest from stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in October 2017


Cosy cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice comfortable cottage in a good location, not far from any of the towns, beaches and other places of interest.
The owners have worked hard to create a very clean and comfortable cottage with everything you need supplied, a pleasure to return to after a long day.


Martin from Norton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in September 2017


Superb Cottage- had an amazing time

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful week stay in the beautiful cottage. We loved the extremely comfy bed and sparkling cleanliness of the entire cottage. It is very well equipped with everything you could need and more. We loved the location. Only a couple of minutes to shops and restaurants (M and S simply food) and we enjoyed wonderful walks on the glorious sandy beaches close by. Thank you to the kind and helpful owners.

Guest from stayed at School Master's Retreat for 7 nights in October 2017