FB Twitter

Causeway Barn

Causeway Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


We would like to invite us to review your stay at Causeway Barn

Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super cottage with everything you could need for a relaxing and comfortable break. Causeway Barn is very spacious with beautiful decor and luxurious furnishings. It is spotlessly clean. The cottage is located with a rural outlook yet within easy access to a wealth of visitor attractions. We have already booked to return for a longer stay in the summer!

Karen from Barnstaple stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in October 2018


Rosalind replied 1 day ago
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for submitting your review of Causeway Barn. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and we look forward to seeing you next summer! All the best for the Festive Season. Best regards, Ros

Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd stay and everything perfect as usual, great location, close to shops ect , everything you need and more in the property to make your stay home from home

Sylvia from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in October 2018


Ros replied 34 days ago
Hi Sylvia, Thanks for your lovely review. It was, as ever, an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay at Causeway Barn. I look forward to hosting you again. Best wishes for now, R x

Short Break at Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned to the Causeway Barn for a relaxing weekend with friends. As the bar has been set so high on this accommodation - expectations are high and each time we have visited, expectations are exceeded.

The proof of a great holiday venue is wanting to return and we will be in 2019!

Can't rate this accommodation high enough.

Thanks!


Jeff from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in October 2018


Ros replied 34 days ago
Hi Jeff, Thanks for submitting your review of the Causeway Barn. Delighted you enjoyed your recent break at the Barn and I look forward to hosting you all in 2019! Best wishes for the Festive Season ahead, R

Fantastic break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have wished for better accommodation than Causeway Barn, it is spotlessly clean and every need is catered for.
Never having visited the area before we were amazed at such a beautiful coastline and the area is packed with places to visit.
We had one fantastic week.


Robert from Nuneaton stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in September 2018


Ros replied 34 days ago
Hi Robert, thanks so much for your review of Causeway Barn. So pleased you not only enjoyed the Barn but also beautiful Northumberland! You are very welcome any time you would like to return. Best Regards, Ros.

Absolutely perfect; home from home thank you.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing, relaxing break at Causeway Barn. We would really recommend it and will book here again when we next go up to beautiful Northumberland. Thank you Ros for sharing your fabulous property. John & Ali

Alison from Nottingham stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in September 2018


Ros replied 34 days ago
Dear John and Ali, It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay at Causeway Barn, thank you for your review. We hope to host you again, you are always welcome here! Kind regards, Ros.

Luxury Home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything and more than we expected. It is bright and airy. So much to do nearby and at the end of each excursion there is a beautiful house to return to.

Peter from Hurworth stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in September 2018


Ros replied 34 days ago
Dear Peter, Thank you so much for your recent review of Causeway Barn. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the accommodation. Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Ros.

Excellent good communication very clean with all required amenities great location would return

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Barn conversion. Very nice top level furnishings and decor, exceptionally clean and maintained well located for the Northumberland tourist attractions and castles. Every attention to detail including appliances and equipment.

Would definitely return.


Christopher from Ashton Under Hill stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in September 2018


Ros replied 34 days ago
Dear Chris, Thank you for your recent review of Causeway Barn. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your compliments, greatly appreciated! You are welcome here anytime. All the best, Ros.

Stunning Barn near Berwick-upon-Tweed

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful barn, well worthy of it's 5 stars! Clean, fresh, beautifully decorated with style. Would highly recommend this barn, shame we only had 3 nights there, so hope to be back again sometime soon.

Lynn from Andover stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in August 2018


Lovely stay in a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Causeway Barn for a relaxing family break - we couldn’t have chosen anywhere better. Absolutely beautiful cottage with a lovely garden and quality furnishings, we felt at home straight away. The owner Ros couldn’t have been more helpful. Some lovely walks and helpful information in the guide in the cottage - spent a great day on Cheswick beach where you can walk for miles. Can’t wait to return!

Karen from Carlisle stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in August 2018


A really comfortable barn

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is spacious, and very well equipped . The well chosen furniture is all very comfortable. The decor and soft furnishings are tasteful and all complementary making for a particularly relaxing stay. The only thing we found disturbing was the large number of small flies in the garden.

Guest from Gateshead stayed at Causeway Barn for 14 nights in July 2018


Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is truly beautiful and has everything you could possibly need.
Banburgh beach which is only a short distance away is now my husbands favourite beach with a lovely cafe nearby
We hope to return in the winter and see the whales


Guest from Warrington stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in August 2018


Great barn conversion - central for exploring Northumberland and the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is very well maintained and overall is one of the best we have stayed in over the last 10 years. A 'home from home' with all the comforts and luxuries you would expect and in a country setting near to local beaches and easy access to the A1 for exploring. Would absolutely not hesitate to stay again. A great holiday was had!

David from Palgrave, Diss stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in July 2018


Causeway barn

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
More towels in bedrooms, and towel for kitchen, cushions for outdoor recliners, some people might expect sky tv, also there was no mention that the property is located within similar properties so not on its own and not quite so private in the garden.

Derek from Tadley stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in June 2018


Rosalind replied 154 days ago
Thank you for submitting your review, the high scores you gave Causeway Barn suggest you both enjoyed your holiday. I would have happily provided additional towels to the 2 hand towels, 2 bath towels, 2 bath mats and hand towel in the downstairs WC that were provided. If you mentioned you required further towels when I called to ask if all was well for you I could have organised this for you. In relation to the remark that, "...there was no mention that the property is located within similar properties." The description for Causeway Barn on the Premier Cottage website from where your booking was received reads, "Causeway Barn is one of ten Northumbrian stone and slate barn conversions that form a charming Victorian farm Steading surrounded by tranquil fields....To the rear of the Barn is a garden that is wonderfully sheltered by the larger courtyard formation."

A wonderful place for a break.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Causeway Barn is a great well equipped and tastefully decorated retreat a credit to the owners, who have gone that extra mile to make your stay something to remember.
We made the most of our visit being a short distance from Lindisfarne and not too far away from Alnwick and Cragside at Rothbury. Well worth the 5 star rating.


Brian from High Peak stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in April 2018


A lovely stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a truly beautiful cottage in a lovely quiet location yet on the doorstep of many places to visit. Edinburgh is 40 mins in the train and we also visited Bamburgh Castle and Cragside. Everything in the cottage is of a high standard and it has an opulent feel to it. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need. There was lots of extras that you don’t normally get e.g. kitchen roll, tin foil, dishwasher tabs etc. I would definitely return here and highly recommend it

Lyn from Whitehaven stayed at Causeway Barn for 4 nights in April 2018


Easter '18 Short Break at The Causeway Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned to The Causeway Barn for the 3rd in a year with a view to take future breaks at this beautiful property / location.
The level of detail and thought that has gone into ensuring guests have a perfect experience is second to none - little examples such as high quality tasteful Xmas décor then similar at Easter.
The property itself is immaculate and the location is perfect with the Northumberland Coastline (best in the world!) and the Scottish Borders (beautiful surroundings) easily accessible.
The communications to with the owner are excellent and they do whatever they can to provide excellent value for money.
The fact that I will rebook again (and again) is testament to the high standards and value for money this holiday location provide.
Thanks again to the owners (Ros and Dave) for making this fantastic holiday location available.


Jeff from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in March 2018


Escape the post Christmas blues

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After an incredibly busy Christmas it was a real tonic to spend three nights at the Causeway Barn. It was warm, cosy and close to everything we needed. Although the weather wasn’t great, it didn’t dampen our spirits as we explored some of our favourite places in Northumberland:Holy Island, Bamburgh and Alnwick. We would highly recommend Causeway Barn.

Nicola from Washington stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in January 2018


Causeway Barn - a real 'home from home' at Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we drove up the hill to Causeway Barn for our Xmas break 2016, we knew we were in for a real treat. The Barn was lit with twinkling Christmas lights and looked so welcoming. Once inside, it certainly did not disappoint! After a long journey the whole house was cosy and warm and the owner had gone to great lengths to make us feel at home with Christmas treats and even a supply of candles to further enhance the cosy atmosphere. Every possible requirement was met - we stay away on a regular basis and always pack a supply of cooking and cleaning aids but we didn't use them as everything we needed was already there. The quality of all the fixtures and fittings was superb with no expense spared which made for a luxurious stay in one of our favourite locations and we were extremely sad to leave.

Needless to say, when we began to look for a location for our 2017 Xmas break, Causeway Barn was our obvious choice. Nothing else we found could compare in terms of comfort and amenities, the level of luxury and the price. The owners are very friendly and efficient, always responding to email enquiries within a very short time. We have just returned from our latest visit having enjoyed great hospitality once again and the chance to meet our hosts in person during our stay.

Causeway Barn is in an excellent location to explore all that the Northumbrian coast has to offer and the Scottish border is only a 5 minute drive away. It is possible to see the local beach from the Barn and it is only a short distance by car. We were lucky enough to spot a pod of 10+ whales in the sea on Christmas morning but have been less fortunate in witnessing the Aurora!


COLIN AND LYNNE from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in December 2017


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is excellent and the location even better, perfect for visiting the Northumberland Coast. There is a pleasant walk to Cocklawburn beach from the Barn with a pit stop for coffee at Pot-a-Doodle-Doo. Also from the Barn a short drive will take you to Holy Island with another pit stop at the beautiful ‘The Barn at Beal’ with outstanding views.The owners of the Barn were easy to deal with a quick response to availability and directions to the Barn. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Lynda from Darwen stayed at Causeway Barn for 3 nights in December 2017


heathery tops heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
causeway barn is a credit to its owners ,the cottage is beautiful well kept and immacutely clean.the kitchen is very well equipped which makes cooking at the cottage more desirable.my partner and I would have preferred better exterior lighting however this did not stop us from enjoying a wonderful break in this fabulous property.

Garry and Tracey from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in November 2017


Rosalind replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay at Causeway Barn. Thank you also for your feedback on the exterior lighting. We always appreciate feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. As a result we have fitted the exterior light by the front door of the Barn with a stronger -high wattage, instantly bright bulb. As I am sure you will recall this light is operated on a movement sensor to light the main entrance and exterior of the barn.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed here and it wont be the last . It has everything you need and more from the huge comfy beds to the well equipped kitchen , the owner really has thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, its also in a great location with the most amazing wee café 2 mins drive from the barn (marshalls) where they serve delicious home made meals and amazing cakes

from stayed at Causeway Barn for 7 nights in October 2017