FB Twitter

The Boat House

The Boat House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Peace and tranquillity in abundance is what you can expect from this delightful seashore property. The French doors lead onto a private terrace from which Sea Otters and Eagles are frequently spotted.

A perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Boathouse was very comfortable & all our needs meet. A perfect location with lots of walks with the opportunity to see the wildlife. Kenny was very helpful before our visit & during our stay even ringing us one afyernoon to alert us to the dolphins in the loch The meat from the estate was superb. We look forward to coming back soon.

Guest from Kelso stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in September 2020


Very obliging staff.Great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If I am being really picky, we found the kitchen a bit out dated and cramped and the bath so small as to be impractical. There is an adequate en suite shower however. Brilliant for dogs, as, although there is no enclosed area outside, the track behind is seldom used so dogs can have free reign. The many walks are great. There is an excellent restaurant at Lochaline..The Whitehouse 3 miles away. We found the house just right for a couple although it can sleep 5.

Sue from stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in October 2019


Boat House

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another visit to the Boat House. Weather very mixed which is ideal for watching wild life. Adult otter seen almost everyday. Casey (cat) enjoyed her first visit to this cottage but decided stone floors =cold paws. As always the staff were very welcoming.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in September 2019


We loved it and will be back

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The boat house is amazing. The location was absolutely perfect for us, right on the water, pretty isolated, really cosy cottage. We did not expect a high-end property in terms of the fittings and furniture, and that's absolutely fine by us, since we came with dogs (and always do holiday with our dogs, so we are used to "doggie" places). The place was clean and tidy, bedlinen and towels all in good condition and a lovely welcome pack on arrival.
One thing I would modernise in the boat house is the bathrooms, but that would not deter us from returning to it in the future.
I would also add that we met the cleaner on our departure day and she was so very lovely and helpful!
There is lots to do in the area for those who love the outdoors, and we had the best of weather while we were there, so very lucky. We had an absolutely magical time in Ardtornish and look forward to returning.


Gail from Lauder stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in July 2019


Ardtornish Boat House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in September, despite bad weather most of the week. The Boat House is compact but comfortable with outstanding views across Loch Aline through the french Windows. Kitchen is small but very well equipped with washer/dryer, electric cooker, fridge freezer & microwave. The table top dishwasher wasn’t much use really as the dinner plates are too large to fit. A large frying pan would be a useful addition. There’s no tv here but the kids watched Netflix thro the excellent 4G reception (we couldn’t get the WiFi to work). Personally I preferred to watch the amazing view! We had problems with electricity cutting out several times daily for the bathroom/porch & outside lights, there was water coming thru ceiling to dining area which may have caused it, but it was a very rainy week. The location right on the shore is fantastic.
Ardtornish is a lovely estate in a beautiful location, well worth a visit. This is my second visit and I’m sure we will be back again! The staff in the estate office are very friendly & helpful and the veggies from the kitchen garden are delicious!


Shona from Glasgow stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in September 2019


A blissful short break

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a three night break in The Boathouse at short notice. Despite the almost incessant rain, we had a fantastic stay. The house is well maintained and cosy The beds are extremely comfortable and it’s well-equipped. Most important of all, we welcomed the peace and silence and enjoyed the stunning views across the loch.

Marion from Edinburgh stayed at The Boat House for 3 nights in August 2019


Breathtaking views

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The boat house is a beautiful compact cottage overlooking the Loch. The scenery is second to none! Sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine in the evening was just the perfect end to a day of walking and climbing. The wildlife that came to our door were otters, (a mother and her pup), a pine marten, and numerous birds. It was just a perfect break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I would highly recommend!
We also throughly enjoyed the clay pigeon shooting, Charles was our instructor, he was lots of fun and great at teaching all the family.
Thank you again Ardtornish for a wonderful holiday!


Elizabeth from Cambridge stayed at The Boat House for 4 nights in June 2019


See below

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a long love affair with Ardtornish and it was special to be back with the next generation age 2 .Try and keep this haven as wild and remote as possible.I remember the old road up from Corran, a single lane with grass in the middle .

Thank you very much.


Simon from St Peter stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in May 2019


Stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Absolutely divine place to stay. The cottage is located right next to a sea loch which our children loved playing on and we all had some lovely walks and found fossils in the area.
The cottage itself has a lovely ‘feel ‘ to it and has some great things such as outdoor seating and dining area with additional camping chairs, which was great.
However, there are a number of things that require fixing; such as bedside lighting in two of the rooms, a very loose tap in the kitchen and a broken valve on the toilet which resulted in it constantly running water-massively wasteful and rather annoying. The kitchen needs some additional bits and bobs such as a steamer.
Having said that the cottage was very clean. We have stopped in the boat house for the last three years and my husband used to come yearly as a child!
In all the cottage is overpriced for what you can get elsewhere for the same money, however, location stunning so I guess that’s what you’re paying for.


Jeremy from Holmfirth stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in April 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at The Boat House for 3 nights in March 2019


Fab stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Dec 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location fab. Perhaps make clearer that there is no tv. I was led to believethere was one with a DVD player but alas no.
Staff in the office/shop are fantastic.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in November 2018


Midweek break at Ardtornish estate

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three of us shared the Boat House and had an excellent stay. Beautiful wild surroundings with superb views up and down the sea loch on a well run and innovative estate. The estate staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. Good fishing on lochs and river too.

Norman from stayed at The Boat House for 4 nights in September 2018


Ardtornish Estate - The Boat House Aug 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb location right on the loch side with stunning views. A comfortable cottage in good condition and well equipped, although no TV; something that must be off-putting to a significant number of visitors. Apart from the lack of TV, a very potholed 0.25 mile estate access road is the only other negative feature.

Ian from Selby stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in August 2018


A peaceful rural idyll.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There simply are not the superlatives adequate to describe how utterly magical this place is. Wonderful? Fantastic? Superb? They just don't quite grasp it. The Boat House at Ardtornish is all of the above..and then some.
I arrived here as a seriously stressed workaholic insomniac on a business trip stopover. Tired and worn out, I expected to be buzzing around, as I do, and perhaps I may get my head down for a few hours to work or to nap. But, within moments of arriving on the estate, I knew that for me it would be impossible; I was being presented with a very rare opportunity to do nothing but relax and enjoy the benefits of my Circadian Sleep Cycle issues.
And that's exactly what I did. An earlier email from Ardtornish let me know that my keys would be waiting for me and I simply let myself in the door. It was like coming home such that I didn't bother bringing in my work from the car. Instead I lit the already set log burner and spent the rest of the evening on the terrace under a soft grey blanket of clouds, watching pipits scurrying over the pebbles and the flotilla of wee boats bobbing in their moorings on Loch Aline.
At 10pm, a bell tolls in the distance and my travelling companion takes her heavy eyelids to the comfort of the single bedroom. By the warmth of the fire, I too must have drifted off to sleep but find myself outside again at 3am during one of those strange July nights, so particular to Scotland, when the sky doesn't know if it's dusk or it's dawn. The blue hour is silent but for a rustling in the trees to my left. A deer? An otter? My domesticated eyes betrayed me tonight and I would be left wondering.
At 5am I rise again. The sky has found its purpose. Through a patch of sapphire, a sliver of sunlight illuminates the mirror still water, stirring my maritime neighbours. Soon the gentle purr of their engine will drive them out to sea, casting ripples in their wake upon the bladderwrack beneath my feet.
Work: I remember my own reason for being here. But 'work' becomes an open Visitor's Book, a box of watercolours, and a coffee made in a kitchen equipped with everything I could possibly need. The sound of the cafetiere plunging a refill rouses my caffeine addict companion from her 12-hours of 'blissful' sleep, and all too soon my rest is over. We too will have to make waves but it will be reluctant.
Should you also need a little slice of Heaven then this wee boathouse by the water is exactly where you need to be.


Justine from stayed at The Boat House for 1 nights in July 2018


Abest location on West of Scotland

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel like we have found treasure and we don’t want to leave! The weather has helped, it being exceptional! But, being fishers we could have taken some various! The Estate have gone out of their way to be helpful and we know we will Return! Thank you to every one involved! Brilliant!

Jane from stayed at The Boat House for 5 nights in June 2018


perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit and it was as good as it was the first time. Peaceful, beautiful scenery, nice cosy house. We will certainly be back.

Guest from Amersfoort stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in December 2017


Great holiday on a beautiful estate

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish is a beautiful estate in a stunning location with mountains,rivers, lochs, glens and wildlife. The views are stunning and there are plenty of good walks you can do without ever leaving the estate. There are also lots of nice places to visit using Ardtornish as a base... Mull, Iona, Fort William but to name the most obvious ones. The boathouse has a lovely lochside location that is cosy in all weathers, and you will often experience all types of weather in this part of Scotland.

Jamie from Wishaw stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in October 2017


Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 20th visit to the Boat house. Still as fantastic. Lots of wildlife, Otter feeding outside, stag calling and a pine marten stealing all the peanuts. Staff as always very happy and welcoming.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in September 2017


Glorious setting soothes the soul!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a find. Remote but with a great shop for some supplies and close to other amenities. A welcome basket with milk bread and basics would be helpful wouldn't even mind paying for it.
Kitchen garden fabulous fresh and lovely to see you are developing lost relics from the Victorian era.


Andrea from London stayed at The Boat House for 4 nights in September 2017


Amazing stay at The Boat House

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boat House is an amazing place, set in a stunning location. Beautiful Loch views, colours and wildlife and walks through the gardens and to Lochaline Castle and village. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. The wood fire stove is a great feature too. On a clear night too the stars were amazing. We celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a beautiful 6 taster menu meal at The Whitehouse Restaurant and visit to The Ardnamurchan Distillery near Glenborradale too All making our Boat House Holiday so special. Cannot thank Kay and staff enough who were all very friendly and helpful and made our anniversary holiday celebration so special. We can highly recommend and will be back soon. Thank you so much Best Wishes The Musgrave's

Corinna from Prestonpans stayed at The Boat House for 6 nights in April 2017


Our private escape

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the place to ourselves - the estate is so large & the properties so secluded that it was as if we were the only guests. Even when we spent the day canoeing around the loch we didn't see anyone. There's no shortage of great walks and points of interest. No need to get in the car again until you leave. Staff are friendly and helpful. The Boat House was very cosy and comfortable - and the location was incredible. We abandoned the rest of the world for the week - no tv, no radio. Bliss.

Karen from Kelso stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in March 2017


Magical

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've been coming to Lochaline since I was a child, and it is a rare place which stays as magical for an adult as it was for a child. It's just an absolutely incredible place.
I wish I could never leave!


Ross from Edinburgh stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in January 2017


a pleasant retreat from life

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The instruction to the estate and for access to the property were clear and precise.
After being there for a short while the estates manager came to introduce herself and show us around. She was very pleasant and welcoming.
The accommodation was clean and tidy and just as described. lit the fire all nice and toasty warm. We spent a week at the Boat House with only the Buzzards, sea eagles, otters, the splash of the Loch, and the obligatory bottle of scotch.
Just a brilliant escape from the hustle and bustle of life a much needed calm.

Thanks


Kevin from Telford stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in December 2016


Lovely honeymoon

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful week at the boathouse. It was clean and comfortable. The layout meant it could get cold in the living room and hot everywhere else but it did mean there was a good view across the loch.

The staff were so helpful and friendly when we contacted them but did not make any attempts to contact us.

I was a little disappointed by the finishing, there was a lovely welcome basket but it looked rather like it had just had a few things thrown in it and took us a while to realise it was a welcome. There was no soap or complimentary toiletries which we half expected for the price and from the ardtornish reputation. And this might be something they would consider providing in the future.

There was also no note of welcome and at the time of booking I specifically mentioned it was our honeymoon. It would have been a very nice personal touch to acknowledge that we we spending our honeymoon with you.

We did however have a lovely time on the estate and look forward to coming back hopefully in the summer :)


Hannah Kate from stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in November 2016


An idea.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maybe just have two bedrooms rather than a single and bunk beds, don't make it too precious as it has been so perfect for us with our dogs.
By two bedrooms we mean knock the single and bunks together, my husband is an architect!


Bridie from Grange-over-sands stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in October 2016


Our visit to the Boat House

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting the Boat House for many Yeats and it never disappoints.The range of wild life to spectacular scenery. The staff are always welcoming and to help sort any problems.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in September 2016


The otter was just extra

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time, thanks. Lovely living next to the loch and seeing the tide coming and going. The curlews and herons and a couple of times the otter right outside the door. For us the cottages on the estate (we've stayed in several now) have just the right balance of comfort without being too precious. See you next year.

Rod from Bath stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in August 2016


A wonderful lochside location

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Boathouse is a charming and skilfully adapted old building in a wonderful lochside location, very comfortable and very well equipped, although the kitchen and bathrooms are now in need of a bit of updating. A splendid place to relax and watch the yachts and the wildlife, and a great base for walks.

John from Saxmundham stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in August 2016


Ardtornish Boathouse

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having spent the previous week in our familiar and spacious haunt of Achranich with family and friends we moved the short distance to the loch side Boathouse cottage
The Boathouse was a nice size for our second week since unlike the previous week there were only four of us.
The location is delightful with French Windows to the balcony at the waters edge.
Ardtornish staff are always available and readily willing to help should tenants have any problems.
There is one double ensuite (shower) room,as well as a single room and a room with bunk beds. Since there is a separate bathroom this would appear to be a satisfactory arrangement. I would suggest however that the bathroom needs to have a shower too. Guests not in the double ensuite room do not have the luxury of having a shower whenever they choose so to do. Although we agreed to share the shower I appreciate that our friends could not just pop in through our bedroom at will. An example of this is if they were up and about in the morning and we were still in bed. Most people routinely simply want a quick shower in the morning.
One other thing that we missed was a barbecue at the Boathouse (the Achranich one was also missing this year.)
We had a lovely stay in the charming Boathouse.
Thanks to all at Ardtornish and by the way, Isobel is a gem.
Bobby and Kay Shearer.


Bobby from Alva stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in July 2016


The Boathouse, Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place for a relaxing holiday. A well equiped cottage with stunning views.
The only down side is the access road, it's neading urgent repairs.The potholes are huge and could do serious damage to a car


Elizabeth from Bishop Auckland stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in May 2016


It was excellent but to be helpful comments below

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It was unfortunate that the shop was shut at 3.30pm when we wanted meat and other people wanted bikes, there were staff in the office who knew we were there, how difficult to even speak to us to say if they could not help rather than ignore us out in the pouring rain. The tin opener was broken and shower mat needed changing,......but really this is just to pick fault with a special place and in no way reduced our enjoyment.
A special place indeed.


Alison from Little Downham stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in April 2016


A week in the Boathouse

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Whilst the trip from London is not to be undertaken lightly, it is absolutely worth it once you arrive. We'd been here a number of years back and everything was just how we'd remembered it, if not better. The ever changing views over the loch are captivating and the walks from the boathouse magnificent. We bought meat from the the Estate office and ate out at the Whitehouse. The perfect holiday for getting away from it all.

Jane from stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in April 2016


Spring holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another great break at Ardtornish despite the weather being on the wet side. The house was warm and the drying cupboard keep everything ready for our next walk. The views are lovely and even in the bad weather there is always something to see. The log burner was well used in the evenings whilst reading or playing board games. We enjoyed clay shooting with Crombie clays a new activity on the estate and the girls can't wait to have another go.On a couple of the clear evenings we were able to see the International Space Station when there was no cloud cover (the ISS spotter app on my phone gives times and positions of possible sightings).

Jamie from Wishaw stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in April 2016


A great find

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boat House was a comfortable , great place to stay with fantastic views when the weather permitted. Storm Gertrude made a big impact with hailstones ,gales and snow, so really quite spectacular.
The cottage was immaculately clean and very well equipped, especially the kitchen. There was a good selection of books and games, and homely touches. A welcome pack was also included, a nice touch with a good bottle of chilled wine .However it was difficult to keep the sitting area as cosy as the rest of the house because of draughty windows / doors but it was very very windy so this was a small drawback considering how great the rest of our stay was.
The office ladies were all very helpfull, Katherine gave us a tour of some of the main house and the flats we saw were stunning, wouldn't hesitate to book them in the future.
We shall definitely return to Ardornish, but will wait till the days are longer!


David from Lanark stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in January 2016


Excellent stay, well equipped and tidy property, consistent with the description.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thanks, was as expected and described. Tidy, warm, well equipped, well organised. A lovely place in the highlands, well away from noise and light pollution!

Matt from stayed at The Boat House for 4 nights in January 2016


A memorable holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another memorable holiday at ardtornish.There was plenty of wild life to watch,see and hear.The scenery is magnificent .The staff were as always welcoming and always ready to help.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in September 2015


The bonny boathouse

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My answers to the questions say it all. I wrote a poem for the Visitors Book and will send you a copy. We were all thrilled with the interior of the Boathouse as well as its unique view and location.

Jim from Holt stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in August 2015


A lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was finished to a high standard with a well equipped kitchen. Plenty of wood for the wood burner on chilly summer evenings and a lovely welcome pack. Even a pint of milk in the fridge! Lovely views too. Just a beautiful relaxing place to spend a holiday.

Guest from Salisbury stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in July 2015


Comfortable house in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Boat House is in a great location with stunning views over Loch Aline, Kinlochaline Castle and the hills beyond. The house was clean and comfortable with a central log fire in the dining / living room area. You need to like solitude, however, as there is no TV, no radio reception, only very patchy mobile signals outside the property and when we were there the wi-fi service was very poor. There is, however, a CD player which has an MP3 connection.

Guest from Penicuik stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in July 2015


highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All in all a very enjoyable experience. The boat house offers beautiful views of Loch Aline amidst all the comfort you would expect. Here are a just a couple of suggestions of ways the experience could be improved a little.

- the access road to the boat house is in pretty urgent need of relaying in parts. Isabelle mentioned this on her visit so it is obvious to all; but should be a priority before someone sends you a garage bill!
- it would have been fantastic to have had a small rowing boat available for use with the cottage. I know that health & safety / upkeep of these things can be a nightmare, but I really didn't feel like paying £50 for a day on Loch Arienas when we just wanted to use a boat for half an hour or so now and then in nice weather

that's all

Thanks and hope to visit again!


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in June 2015


Wonderful place in need of a bit of investment and TLC

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved it but shower and bathroom too basic and shower ran out of water after 2 consecutive showers; single room bed mattress very uncomfortable - unusable

Guest from Hedden nr Skipton stayed at The Boat House for 14 nights in May 2015


The Boathouse

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings.Had a relaxing and enjoyable week despite the very wet and windy weather. Masses of primroses and the bluebells were just coming into flower.

Top marks for the welcome pack - wine,ground coffee and shortbread!


Guest from Bishop Auckland stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in May 2015


Great relaxing break in a wonderful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The boathouse is a lovely property in a stunning location on the shores of Lochaline with great views of the loch and surrounding hills. The house recently had new carpets fitted in the bedrooms and a deep clean over the winter that left it beautifully presented (even the knives had been sharpened). The house is very comfortable and a lovely relaxing place to chill out. We have a TV free week and enjoy the log burner's glow whilst relaxing at night and reading.
There are plenty of walks within the estate and surrounding area along with lots of places to visit in this part of Scotland, Mull, Iona, Ardnamuchan point and Ben Nevis are all easy to get to. There is also indoor climbing and indoor ice climbing at Kinlochleven which we discovered this year, a very impressive facility.
The Whitehouse restaurant in the village is fantastic and only 10 minutes away and if you love seafood the Seafood Cafe at Kinlochleven is a must, (we always go for an early dinner and then get the ferry back over).
Ardtornish estate is a lovely place to visit and relax, the Boathouse is a lovely property if you want to be away from it all.


Guest from Wishaw stayed at The Boat House for 7 nights in April 2015