FB Twitter

Achranich

Achranich

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Formerly the Factor's house, this spacious Victorian property sits in the heart of the Estate and has a variety of wildlife regularly resident in the large garden.

Another lovely week in Ardtornish!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent another wonderful week on the Ardtornish Estate. Lovely to be able to share this very special place with family this time. A friendly welcome, efficient service & well-equipped & beautifully clean house meant for a relaxed & easy stay. Our party ranged from 8 to 80 & there was plenty to entertain us all - fishing, cycling, hiking, splashing about & swimming in rivers, beach trips, a trip to Mull, wildlife spotting, fossil hunting, exploring the Estate & just enjoying the scenery & blissful quiet! Would definitely recommend buying the estate meat - we cooked a wonderful beef stew. Thoroughly recommend this unique & tranquil place where time slows & kids are too busy building dams & exploring to demand screen time! A big thank you to the Ardtornish team for working so hard to deliver the usual great stay, safely, in the current times.

Roger from Cambridge stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2020


Summer holiday August 2020

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achranich house is a superb venue for multiple families to holiday. It is very spacious, with large bedrooms, living areas, kitchen and dining room. It is ideally located for exploring the beautiful local scenery, including the Isle of Mull which is just a short ferry hop away.

We enjoyed a fantastic time walking through forests, and swimming in the lochs and sea. What a wonderful holiday...enjoying the peace and tranquility of nature.


Paul from Birmingham stayed at Achranich for 4 nights in August 2020


We actually stayed at Keepers Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delightful cottage, wonderful views and a excellent sheds! Very comfortable and attractively furnished.

Mike & Jenny from Hambledon stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2020


Wonderful place

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Achranich was perfect for our big family party. Lots of space, huge garden, in a beautiful setting, with friendly staff, and wonderful lichen as well.

Sandy from Peebles stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2019


Another year at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now been coming to Ardtornish since 1984 and staying at Achranich since 1999. It works for us being a large party of walking friends who enjoy the tranquility and the delightful landscapes and gardens.

Brian from Harpenden stayed at Achranich for 14 nights in June 2019


Having been to stay in Achranich over the last 30 years, I have seen the changes for the better.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Much has been improved in Achranich especially the heating and hot water, plenty for a house full. The house was lovely and clean and welcoming .
My only criticism having had a wonderful stay, is the cooker !!! I remember when it was put in and it is not designed for using domestic pans and it is really time it was changed. Having spent 30 years cooking in Lodges all over Scotland I have learnt that when the cooker is changed people never !!! sort out the pans!! A good chuck out is required, you really only need about 6 pans and a couple of frying pans.

Other than that all my quests, half who had been before and the newcomers loved it and would like to return.


Joan from Woodbridge stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in May 2019


Brilliant time again

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returning customer had a wonderful time again
Spotlessly clean, really great quiet environment for long walks
Staff could not be more helpful
Will come back again
Thank you to the whole team


James from . stayed at Achranich for 5 nights in April 2019


A fabulous weddingat Ardtornish

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at Achranich for 3 nights in March 2019


The best place to actively explore Scotland and to rest

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is a kind of magic one. So unique, great to take rest next and to explore Scotland at its best.

Imagine climbing Ben Nevis (we climbed January 1st 2019) and then come back to a largr, cozy home and enjoy silence, a fire in a fire place, dinner you prepared in a large kitchen.

Imagine waking up and see breathtaking views. Going sleep and seeing stars.

It is my second stay here. Not the last one.

Many thanks to people who care about Achranich. All this happens thanks to your advice and readiness to help when needed.


Joanna from stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in December 2018


Good for groups

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented Achranich to run a Holistic Retreat from women in November. The location and surrounding area is beautiful, the house very warm and comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. The house retains much of it's original features and charm and was spotlessly clean. We contacted the office during our stay as a couple of things were broken and they responded very quickly and replaced the same day. We would recommend this property to other guests.

Clare from stayed at Achranich for 6 nights in November 2018


Fantastic property

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arcrainich was perfect, very warm lots of space great kitchen Kat and her team were dry helpful and welcoming

Elizabeth from London stayed at Achranich for 4 nights in October 2018


Cycle group stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time at Achranich and only wished it could have been for longer. We plan on coming back next year!

Linette from Inverness stayed at Achranich for 4 nights in September 2018


Walking Holiday on an Ardnamurchan Estate

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House, Garden and location was much enjoyed by the group as were the proximity to a lovely garden and walks directly from the house. Nicely furnished, clean and good bathrooms, friendly staff and good attention when needed.
Thank you!


from stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2018


The East Syndicate at Ardtornish 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we enjoyed all that Achranich, Ardtornish has to offer in terms of climate, scenery, comfort and all-round facilities. The new heating from the bio-mass was very welcome even though the dry bright days didn't need the extra warmth. The new radiators were very much in keeping with the age of the property. The Open day on our first Saturday was particularly appealing and we all enjoyed the various trips and walks. We'll be back - in fact we have already booked for next year.

Brian from Harpenden stayed at Achranich for 14 nights in June 2018


Achranic lochaline

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant house wonderful location and gloriously sunny really looking forward to next year cannot wait to return

C M from Stoke on Trent stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in May 2018


Stay at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had booked to stay in the Garden Flat but it was unavailable due to ongoing works to install a new lift.

Our new accommodation was wonderfully spacious and well-appointed.

The only downside was the amount of traffic with it being next to the estate office - not as quiet as we would have liked.

Our favourite property on the estate is the Boathouse but it is difficult to get booked in there as it is so popular. We canoe and due to the tide we were limited to the times we could go out being at the top end of the loch this time.


Gillian from Choppington stayed at Achranich for 9 nights in May 2018


Long weekend Febuary group of 18

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed here 9 years in a row. Improvements made each year. This year we had experience of new heating system. For middle of Febuary the place was roasting with plenty of bath water,which was a blessing. After hiking in the snow this was much appreciated. Staff leave you to your own devices, but are on call if needed. Plenty of stuff to work with when cooking, but had to leave beer outside too cool.

Desmond from Glasgow stayed at Achranich for 4 nights in February 2018


Archranich August 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay again in the Archranich at Ardtornish. Never fails to disappoint and an ideal spacious property for the three families.

We will be back again!


Gareth from Sale stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2017


Weather wet but holiday jolly and bright

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achranich is a comfortable house even when it rains. Our annual stay in Ardtornish was enjoyed by all our party of friends even though the weather was not kind to us this year.

Brian from Harpenden stayed at Achranich for 10 nights in June 2017


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Archranich, were extremely comfortable and all slept well.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family, sisters, father, nephew and nieces all took Archranich for a long weekend in May and loved every minute. Before we came the estate office were overly helpful with our barage of questions and requests. From the moment we arrived we were all exceptionally comfortable and relaxed. The house is spacious for a large party (we were 13 but there was room for more) - beds and furniture comfortable. The kitchen well equipped (though I did look for an olive stoner!!). Garden fabulous and despite rain we were out fishing and exploring everyday in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland.

Alice from London stayed at Achranich for 4 nights in May 2017


annual ardtornish trip

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again excellent we look forward to next year which will be our forty first trip to Lochaline of which the majority have been at ardtornish



C M from Stoke on Trent stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in May 2017


Overall good

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As a family we totally enjoyed our stay at acranich. Outstanding setting, lots of walking, abundant wildlife.

Alan from Stoke On Trent stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in December 2016


Ardtornish Estate Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is my 3rd visit to the estate, on the previous 2 occasions I have stayed in the main house. Archranaich is a different style, whilst still an old building it is more practical with electric showers and electric heating. The house was very well maintained with good condition furniture that fitted the style but didn't feel old and dated. As with all the estate properties the kitchen was superbly equipped and catering for 12 or more is not problem at all.

The location is beautiful in the middle of fantastic walking country however Loch Aline is remote and having been in the past with young children when the weather is bad it is about an hour's drive to Ft William so day trips do take a lot of driving.


Andy from Bracknell stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2016


Fun with pooches (and the odd midge) - Achranich, August 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a fantastic week on the Ardtornish Estate. We've visited Ardtornish several times in the past but this was our first visit to Achranich. It's a great house for parties of up to 18 people (if you rent the annexe as well as the main house), and is dog-friendly. The front lawn makes a fantastic croquet pitch, and the extensive, secure lawned gardens adjoining are perfect for dogs and humans alike.

The house is well equipped - we especially enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen, and enjoyed the grill so much I'm just about to buy one on Amazon.

There are so many great walks nearby, and culinary highlights include the White House in Lochaline... and the hut selling burgers etc. on the jetty is not to be missed. The haggis special with added potato scone is highly recommended.


Ian & Jane from Nottingham stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in July 2016


Kitchen poor, bathrooms and sitting room lovely

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Much appreciated the newly refurbished bathrooms particularly the extra shower, but the annexe had no hot water - although I believe this has now been rectified.

Kitchen is a good size with good storage space and the drying room and scullery outside with the freezer are really helpful. The sitting room is delightful.

But, the lighting in the kitchen is awful, just 2 low wattage dangling light bulbs. Desperately need to fix under cupboard strip or LED lighting for safety and ability to see food preparation in the evening, You need to provide decent cleaning materials, the mop is rusty and insanitary.

I also had to clean the Billiard flat due to my son's broken leg, the fridge shelves are missing or broken and mop etc in similar dirty condition. No lights working in 2 of the bedrooms but sitting room and general spaciousness is lovely.


Mike & Jenny from Hambledon stayed at Achranich for 14 nights in July 2016


Kathryn McLaughlin replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jenny, Thank you for submitting a review, it is good to see that you recognise the investment made to date. I know that as a regular visitor to the estate, you appreciate more than most that for many years due to financial constraints the properties were neglected. This is no longer the case but with an extensive portfolio of properties, upgrades will be priorotised. I can now only apologies about the mops and blown light bulbs, this is unforgivable and had you brought this to our attention during your 14 night stay we would have replaced them immediately. We do have upgrades planned for winter 2016 and these include the replacement of white goods in the Billiard room flat. Warmest regards as always Kathryn Tourism manager

2016 The Walking, talking, forking and uncorking holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Ardtornish since 1984 and have stayed at Achranich since 1999. Each time we visit we feel as if we are coming home and each year we revel in the improvements. The house was particularly welcoming this year and the provision of linen and sufficient china and cutlery made the welcome even more impressive. We have booked again for 2017 and 2018. Even the wet weather didn't dampen our enthusiasm and the coincidence of the Andrew Raven Trust weekend made the holiday even more special. The Archimedes Screw installation in the River Rannoch enthralled the engineers among us!

Brian from Harpenden stayed at Achranich for 14 nights in June 2016


Dive Trip Weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd time coming to Ardtornish for a diving weekend and this time the sun shone. The accommodation is great for a big group and there are plenty of bedrooms bathrooms and hot water too. Big stove in the lounge makes for a cosy evening and nice gardens are great for an evening stroll. Definitely coming back

Simon from Glasgow stayed at Achranich for 3 nights in May 2016


Short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have returned here for a number of years. Each Time improvements have been made.Now 2 lovely showers.
A Great Place for groups 10 to 15 people. Bring Cycle and walking gear, fantastic scenery.


Desmond from Glasgow stayed at Achranich for 3 nights in February 2016


Great house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay. Me and a group of friends had a brilliant time staying here for a week over the new year. The house is comfortable and well equipped and lots of walks right from the door.

Laura from Edinburgh stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in December 2015


Nothing beats Ardtornish

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
been coming for years already booked next year. Interesting to see the old layout of the front room. Glad the piano was moved, the kids got a bit too hard on it



Phil & Margaret from Glasgow stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in September 2015


A relaxing enjoyable break

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achranich is a large, warm, comfortable and welcoming home right in the working heart of the estate, we had everything we needed and more, as we have dogs the extensive gardens with this property are an absolute boon! We will definitely be returning in 2016.

Simon from Briercliffe, Burnley stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in September 2015


Outstanding holiday accomodation in the most beautiful spot

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday. Recommending to others. Last minute surprise to family and hugely loved by all. Service and support by Ardtornish estate staff was excellent.

And god smiled with warm hot weather in early September too. This is a place for romantics, walkers, lovers of the sound and smell of water.

cant recommend it enough.


Hamish from Cheshire stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in August 2015


Review by the Abernethy party staying in Achranich

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As visitors to Ardtornish since 1973, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Achranich, and hope the third generation and others thereafter will continue to visit. The improvements to the property were very welcome and made for increased family comfort which we all enjoyed. In spite of the inclement weather we had a most enjoyable week and hope to return next year, or in my case later in the season for some fishing.
On previous visits with my own young family, I commented on the lack of safety for children and animals in and around the estate yard and Achranich and I am disappointed to note nothing has been done to resolve the problem. The problem being the speed of traffic entering the square in front of the office, this being primarily commercial and agricultural vehicles. The driving speed of the red tractor and trailer past our ungated drive and into the yard was excessive on several occassions, and I am amazed that no child or pet has been injured as a result. The Achranich driveway should definitely have a closable gate.
I was informed by the very helpful estate staff there are plans to separate the commercial and visitor side of the traffic in the square and I feel the safety aspect of any such changes should be treated as of paramount importance. I would heartily recommend Ardtornish Estate to friends as I place both I and my family love, giving consideration to the above comments.
Thanks again to Kat and The other girls who were most helpful and pleasant to us at all times.
Stuart R. Abernethy.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Achranich for 7 nights in July 2015


An excellent house for a group of friends to enjoy time walking, talking and socialising

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is comfortable accommodation for a group of friends who enjoy the special location in Morvern, exceptional wildlife and stunning views and nice people..

Guest from Harpenden stayed at Achranich for 13 nights in May 2015


Grateful to the estate

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed somewhere for a number of us to stay for a family funeral in Lochaline and were extremely grateful to the Ardtornish estate for accommodating us at short notice and for only two nights. The house gave us the accommodation we needed and helped to make a difficult time as smooth as possible.



Guest from Wotton-under-edge stayed at Achranich for 2 nights in January 2015


Achranich

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Building is very old and rustic.Think more a really good Youthhostel, with some double rooms.The building is a bit cold in places so warm clothing.Staff are nearby but far enough away to give you real privacy.Gardens are charming and you may see lots of wildlife, deer and otters.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Achranich for 3 nights in February 2015