FB Twitter

Riverside Cottage

Riverside Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Riverside Cottage is a high quality, 2 bedroom self-catering holiday cottage nestled on the banks of the river Dryfe in the small, peaceful rural village of Boreland, a few miles north of Lockerbie in Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland. With a cosy wood burning fire, electric heating and a large, bright sunroom Riverside Cottage is the ideal place to relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet of south west Scotland.

Our holiday at Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Max and Kate gave us a very warm welcome and were on hand if we needed them. The cottage was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Situated in a quiet rural location. An ideal base for exploring the Dumfries and Galloway area and The Southern Uplands. The welcome pack was excellent and consisted of treats for those with a sweet tooth and essentials of tea, coffee and milk to name a few. To set this apart from others the owner runs her own catering business and from a menu can supply a range of meals including afternoon tea. We would give this a five star rating and would highly recommend a holiday at Riverside cottage.



Great Cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely Cottage in an Idyllic setting next to the river. Very clean and modern and there’s plenty to do nearby.
Really peaceful location to escape and unwind. Would recommend as a perfect place for a break.




Excellent Place To Unwind

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners very friendly and helpful and provide great welcome pack. If arranged in advance the owner can provide an excellent 3 course meal for you to warm in the oven upon arrival which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also took advantage of ordering a cream tea for the Sunday afternoon while we waited for our pre-ordered on-line grocery shopping to be delivered. After a long journey it meant we could instantly relax and unwind taking in the fabulous views from the cottage watching the abundant wildlife and enjoying the calming sound of the nearby river. Being not far from the motorway meant we could explore not only the attractions nearby but also further afield.



Fabulous cottage in a quiet village. Great location from which to explore.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very warm welcome on arrival. Cottage is warm, comfortable, spotless and has everything you need. We were here for the mountain biking and the location is close to 4 of the 7 Stanes. It's also reasonably close to Kielder and the Lakes. We will be returning soon...



Excellent spot And lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
V impressed by the cottage. It is very well equipped - Max and Kate have thought of everything.

We loved the regular visits of the red squirrel and the beautiful views. It makes an excellent base to visit the area from Edinburgh to Kirkcudbright.

I’d highly recommend it.




Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked as a bit of a last minute 1/2 term panic and were so pleased when we arrived! Beautiful cottage finished to a great standard. The location is perfect, remote with beautiful views but still close enough to amenities. We loved it and our boys loved it. Will definatley be booking again.



Cottage with everything

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we received a warm welcome from the Kate, who was very friendly and showed us around the cottage explaining how everything worked.
the cottage was warm and immaculate throughout, with everything we needed and beyond.
would highly recommend.




Beautifully presented and fully equipped cottage in rural location.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet and peaceful location next to a fast flowing river with views from all windows of farmland and hills. Fully equipped with great attention to detail. A warm welcome with a selection of local produce. Cosy log burner. Overall first class.



Lovely cottage by the river

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent holiday cottage that has everything for a truly relaxing holiday and is worthy of 5 stars. Kate and Max are excellent hosts who will make you feel most welcome. Driving is an absolute pleasure in this area and we look forward to repeating our experience.



Would highly recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time at riverside cottage and would highly recommend. The cottage is lovely, having been refurbished to a high standard, it is very light and spacious. We were made to feel very welcome by Kate & Max and they have thought of every little detail. There are nice sitting areas in and outside to enjoy the peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside and river. A great location with lots to see and do in the area and some lovely walks nearby.



Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside Cottage is in an idyllic location for peace and quiet.
Accomadation is excellent and Kate and Max are excellent hosts .




Our short break at Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage’s location is not only a great base for visiting local attractions, cycling and walking it is also perfect if you just want to relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet. We managed to fit in a bit off everything.

The inside finish and outdoor space is very impressive and certainly on par with many five-star accommodation cottages we have stayed in across the UK.

We always look for that little bit extra and comfortable self-catering luxury accommodation in a quiet, rural location. To get this at a riverside spot was special. It’s been a busy year for us so the cottage was perfect to relax, enjoy some fresh air, recharge our batteries and cosy down in the evening with a few gins and box set!

Overall, Riverside Cottage was perfect for us and we’ll certainly be visiting again






A very well equipped cottage in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage is very well equipped and located on the edge of the river Dryfe is a wonderful location to enjoy drinks on the patio. I highly recommend this cottage