FB Twitter

Boskenna Shepherds Hut

Boskenna Shepherds Hut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Fabulous autumn break

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't thank Julia and Godfrey enough for making our stay as enjoyable as possible. It's clear that they always do their very best for all their guests, and it's evident that it's important to them that guests leave having had a great experience at Boskenna. The weather wasn't great when we arrived, however, we didn't let it disrupt our stay. Once it cleared up Saturday afternoon we managed to get out and about. The sunset we saw at St. Loy just down the path was beautiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed discovering more of West Cornwall, especially having a walk along the South West Coast Path near Pedn Vounder (very close to Boskenna, and definitely worth a visit!!). The welcome cream tea was such a nice touch, and Julia's breakfast is absolutely scrumptious. The Shepherd's Hut was immaculate, with a comfy bed, and all the mod cons you'd come to expect from luxury accommodation... the Hut itself is generously sized, especially the bathroom, which has a marvellous shower. We also loved that the hot tub was ready for us to use from the moment we arrived - we made sure to make the most of this once the rain cleared up, although I don't think it matters what the weather is like when it comes to hopping in a bubbling hot tub! The surroundings are gorgeous, and it's a very peaceful place to wake up in the morning. A truly relaxing countryside escape, where you're made to feel 100% at home. We would love to return to Boskenna to make new memories, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who is considering a stay. Thank you!!!!!




A lovely, cosy, long weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our short stay on Boskenna Farm was perfect; from the warm welcome on arrival and Julia’s delicious scones to the incredibly well appointed and comfortable shepherds hut and the hot tub. A break in the cloud late on Friday night revealed the Milky Way and a dark sky filled with stars the likes of which we seldom get to see where we live. It was an unexpected treat given the weather forecast! The location was perfect with a number of great walks nearby and just a short drive to St Ives. We hope to return again soon!



Anniversary break

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week away, Julie and Godfrey were excellent hosts. Nothing was too much for them to make our stay a pleasant and memorable break, would recommend the shepherds hut if you want a nice peaceful and relaxing time away.



Julia and Godfrey replied 56 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your anniversary break in the Shepherd's Hut, look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Disapointed

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The best of the break was the welcoming scones ( with jam & cream) & the fresh eggs. We found the hut confining more suited to a short stay rather than a week, if the weather had been poor it would have been a problem. A few technical problems like the drainer did not drain into the sink but water ran towards the kettle and toaster, the hot tub was set too cool. Biggest gripe was we paid the high season price and it was evident in that part of Cornwall to be end of season.



Julia and Godfrey replied 59 days ago
We are very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay in the Shepherd's Hut. Cornwall is very much high season in early September, it is only the family attractions that slow down once the children go back to school. With regard to your comments on being cramped we tried very hard to pay particular attention to addressing this in the design of the hut. Standard shepherd hut's are either 12' or 14' long and 6'wide.Our's is 29' in length and 9' in width which allows for features such as the king size bed accessed from both sides and the 1000x1000cm drench shower in the en suite bathroom. ( Alot of Shepherd's Hut either have a bathroom or toilet outside). We paid special attention to details like the dining table that folds flat against a wall when not is use and the dining chairs fit into a bespoke storage spaces to leave the large cabin floor totally free. The Shepherd's Hut impressed the Visit Britain auditors sufficiently to award a "Gold Award" together with the very prestigious"Rose Award" for Excellence in Service. We are also disappointed that you didn't mention the issues you raised in the review whilst you were here. We always greet guests personally on arrival and show them around together with offering a welcoming cream tea and ask guests on arrival if they have any concerns then don't hesitate to mention it to us as we live on site. The hot tub is set 1-2C above manufactures recommendations. We could have easily raised the temperature if only you had asked. We take our guest's concerns very seriously as it is our aim to ensure that all of our guest's enjoy their holidays whilst staying here at Boskenna.

What a way to spend our first holiday without kids in 12 years

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I don't think I can praise Boskenna Farm enough! Lovely host's, excellent accommodation and peaceful location. What more do you need.



Cornwall at it’s Best

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Cornwall at Boskenna.
The fact that it is a working farm was one more reason for us to love the place.
We were able to hike right from the farm which was what we wanted to do.
We weren’t thinking about renting a car but ended up wanting one. Driving in Cornwall is exciting if somewhat hair raising!




Exceptional

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a cosy little gem & we won’t hesitate to go back. Positioned at the end of the peaceful garden, it gave us complete privacy. A delicious drench shower, excellent mattress, small workable kitchen & living space. We booked for 3 nights but could easily have stayed another week.



A very homely and enjoyable stay in a beautiful setting!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From a warm welcome and instant 'home-feel' to tasty breakfast and lovely chats.
Run by genuine caring people and exceeded our expectations.
We stayed for 3 nights, everything was up to a great standard and had lovely little details, like fresh baked scones on arrival. We usually spend the whole day out, so didn't use the cooking area or the hot tub, which nevertheless made a clean and good impression.
We'd be happy to come back anytime!




Birthday treat

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say pure magic! We enjoyed every moment even with the English weather. The hut is beautifully presented and very comfortable, I was at home as soon as we arrived. The hot hub is so relaxing come rain or sunshine. Home made scones on arrival, the most wonderful scented roses freshly cut from the garden, eggs from chickens on farm simple but lovely touches and a very warm welcome. If u are looking from peace and relaxation this is the place. Thank you for a wonderful stay.



Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The shepherd's hut was exactly what we wanted from our holiday and even more perfect than we thought it was going to be. Lovely and peaceful area with really friendly hosts who were there when you needed anything but also left you to completely relax and enjoy where you were staying. The shepherd hut was perfect - great size for two of us and well laid out and very clean.
Neither of us wanted to leave when we got to the end of the week and I'm sure we will be back again at some point.




Peaceful country retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, clean and well laid out shepherds hut which is very generous on internal space and storage. All towels and linens of good quality, hopefully be back soon. Mark & Leah



3 day short break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful and wonderful birdsong and walks from the door. Lovely cream tea on arrival and delicious fresh eggs from the farm.



No shepherds ever lived like this

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A luxurious place to stay with every mod con. The hot tub is a treat. This is our third visit and we love it.



Shepherds Hut weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top class Shepherds Hut in a great location. Close to the coastal path for walks and short drive to local villages/towns for pubs & restaurants. Arrived to be greeted by hosts Julia & Godfrey with homemade scones, jam & clotted cream! Extremely well kitted out shepherds hut, comfy bed & great shower room. We also enjoyed the hot tub and the peace & quiet. Perfect weekend break 10/10



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Boskenna Home Farm Sheppard Hut. Julia was a consummate host. Very accommodating and welcoming. The hut was cosy and tidy and she even greeted us with some lovely home-made scones, jam and cream. She recommended and booked a table for us at a wonderful restaurant in Mousehole and we can hardly fault our experience.

The only two negatives we could muster were the weather wasn't the best for us so we couldn't enjoy the outdoors/ hot tub facilities as much as we'd of liked. And the other being the toilet seat was a bit loose. Neither really troubled us too much however and we'll definitely look to be returning when the weather will treat us a little better.




Julia replied 206 days ago
Really unfortunate the weather was probably one of the worst few days for the entire winter but glad you were warm and cosy. So sorry you found the toilet seat was a bit loose, it was easily corrected. Looking forward to your next, trusting that the weather will be kinder to you then.

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is perfect for exploring West Cornwall and the shepherds hut was perfectly laid out and beautifully presented. The owners gave us a warm welcome and were nearby to assist with anything we needed but we also had complete privacy to enjoy our holiday. We hope to return in the near future!



Relaxing Cornish break

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful couple of days staying at the Shepard’s hut. The location is just great on a beautiful farm close to the sea and nearby attractions such as the mimmeck theatre. The hut itself has everything you need to be self catering and a lovely comfy bed.
My favourite part was the walk down to the sea, just beautiful along public footpaths and over streams to the stunning coastline.
The hosts were welcoming and helpful. Julia even left us scones she had baked!




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner booked to stay in the shepherds hut for my birthday.
We had the most magical stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
The continental breakfast we had delivered to us at the hut was outstanding.
The location was absolutely delightful. We loved hearing the cows and the sound of the sea, as there is a beach just a short walk down the lane (which is very tranquil).
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning in the future, and sending our friends and family to stay also. (Have already recommended a few friends to stay already)
Thank you for everything and for making my birthday magical.




Julia and Godfrey replied 249 days ago
We are so pleased you had a magical birthday trip at the Shepherd's Hut and really looking to seeing you both again sometime.

Valentines stay with my wife

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First of all what an amazing stay me and my wife had, the hut itself was beauitfall and the location was superb being so close to the sea thats all you could here whilst relaxing in either the hot tub or on the lovely decking arear. we went for a walk to the costal beach and the views where just amazing, i would deffinatley recommened this place for couples who want a relaxing weekend or longer away. last but not least the owners where lovely,we was never rushed and very welcomed onto there farm. we will be returning in the near futer



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful shepherds huts with every little detail thought of to ensure a pleasant stay. Can’t recommend highly enough - we’re already planning our next trip to Boskenna