FB Twitter

The Main Farmhouse

The Main Farmhouse

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Large well appointed Farm House set in beautiful surroundings. Perfect for large gatherings of any sort. 9 bedrooms, 3 of which are en suite. 3 shared bathrooms. Large dining room and spacious well equipped country kitchen. 2 roomy comfortable lounges. Private Hot Tub & sauna. Games room, tennis court, lakeside gazebo and lots of space in tranquil gardens.

Big family break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Deerleap is a lovely big comfy house ideal for a big family group like ours. It is situated on the edge of Exmoor and easy distance from the coast. The house was very well equipped. There was ample room to spread out and find a quiet nook if needed. The bedrooms were lovely, with comfortable beds. The garden was secluded and we made good use of the lovely hot tubs and b b q. The hosts were very welcoming ,on hand but not intrusive.
The bathrooms were perhaps a bit tired and in need of TLC and the plumbing left a bit to desire as did the supply of hot water which was a bit erratic. The only real gripe was with the games room which was very disappointing and inaccessible for my husband being at the top of a steep staircase.
On the whole, however we were very pleased with the property and had a wonderful weekend and would highly recommend it for any large group




Everything about this stay was excellent! The facilities, cleanliness, hospitality-everything!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather and James made us feel so welcome. It was such a perfect setting for a special family holiday. Stunningly beautiful countryside and amazing facilities. Like home from home but in a gorgeous setting with the most relaxing holiday vibe, just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were so accommodating, thank you.



Gorgeous

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farmhouse has the homely feel that you want set in a beautiful venue setting. Very comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could need. We had 23 guests staying and so much room no one on top of each other. Hot tubs sauna and garden gives you the opportunity to chill out and BBQ is a lovely touch. Highly recommend and we are looking forward to coming back



Beautiful farmhouse in lovely surroundings - helpful owners, we had a lovely stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The grounds around the farmhouse are beautiful with landscaped space to enjoy, play outdoor games in and relax - as well as there being walks close by. There was plenty of room in the well-equipped house for our group of three families to spread out into - and the teens loved the hot tubs, the adults enjoyed the sun-trap of the seating area in the private garden.
The owners were quick to help with any issues that came up - the only heads-up is that the variable water pressure means one or two of the showers struggled.




80th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather and her team made us all feel very welcome right down to suppling birthday balloons. My dream had been to have Champagne down by the lake once she found that out she arranged for the arbour to be fitted with comfortable seating and a centre table. Nothing was too much for her. Thank you.



A blissflully peaceful sanctuary in the heart of Exmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Deer's Leap which proved to be the perfect spot from which to both explore Exmoor and visit the beaches. Fantastic bodyboarding at Woolacombe and Putsborough, and lovely river walks at Tarr steps. Deer's Leap itself was brilliantly equipped with a peaceful, private garden and a delightful hot tub. Heather and James were incredibly helpful when needed. Warmly recommended.



Weekend in exmoor

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. The house was in a fabulous location. The kitchen very well appointed with everything we needed to cater for ourselves.
Would actually have been good to be advised to have a car. But otherwise excellent trip




70th celebrations in the main house

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable stay at Deers Leap to celebrate my Mum’s 70th birthday. The house was warm and cosy with plenty of space for us to spend time as a family. The hot tub and sauna were a lovely way to relax, even in the rain. We enjoyed using the games room and it was great to be able to use the lawn, despite the weather, due to the artificial grass.
Heather and James were friendly and welcoming and available if needed. Heather gave us some great recommendations on places to visit or to go out to eat.




Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Deer’s Leap was a brilliant place to have my 70th birthday celebration with friends and family. There were 10 adults and 7 children ranging from 4-10 years of age. The children were able to play safely on the tennis court and used the games room under supervision from adults. The main farmhouse was ideal providing areas for the different families to have access to a bathroom each. On arrival, the bedrooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Similarly the lounges and dining room were the same. The kitchens and utility room had everything you could have needed and the two dishwashers certainly proved a bonus. Any problems we had were addressed by the on site owners who additionally took on the role of chef for one evening meal so the adult could have a celebratory meal.



Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Deer's Leap provided the ideal place for my family to celebrate my birthday. The house was well equipped for a large party with ample seating areas in both dining and sitting rooms. The garden area off the kitchen was prefect for all ages providing a secure garden for the little ones. Heather, James and extended family were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful few days !!



16 women's weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit. It is a very easy house to be in, relax and have some fun. Heather has been always accommodating and helpful.
The 2 hot tubs fit everyone and great to relax in after a long walk across Exmoor.
Large kitchen with everything you could want for. We did find the induction hob confusing to use and could do with some larger pans for it. But a minor thing in the whole scheme of things.
It is very difficult finding a house where most of the double beds can be altered into 2 single allowing more flexibility in sleeping arrangements.
I would highly recommend this place.




Country House - comfort and spacious

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Deers Leap Retreat was booked some time ago and was taken by our family on Trust. That trust was amply justified - it is comfortable clean and properly furnished including plenty of glassware china cutlery etc.
Heather was a welcoming host - her only fault is that she’s a bit slow in answering emails. She cooked a great dinner on the Saturday of our visit.
We had three dogs with us - no problem.
One point concerning accessibility is that the steps and staircases are a bit challenging and those with mobility issues would want to confine themselves to the ground floor.
Conclusion: excellent accommodation for a large weekend party.




New Year

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had really lovely time at Deer’s Leap. The house was lovely and warm and comfortable. Would highly recommend. The Owner, Heather is very helpful and also organised clay pigeon shooting on site.



A 40th birthday celebration with 16 girls.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for a relaxed escape with so much social space it was perfect for our gathering.



More please

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time here. Perfect for family and friends and the secluded countryside location was excellent!
More of the same please.




My 30th birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing venue. Very kind and helpful owners. We had a stunning breakfast and just had the best time. Would highly recommend this venue over all others in the area!



PERFECT hen do weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this house for a hen do and it was just perfect. The host is so friendly and has been amazing and helpful since the day we booked. The house is massive and presented perfectly upon arrival. It is well kept and very tidy. The garden is perfect for socialising with 2 hot tubs and a sauna. Could not have asked for anything more! Thank you so much :)



50th wedding anniversary celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful weekend celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary, the accommodation was absolutely ideal for our needs, plenty of room for our guests to enjoy each other's company or spend an hour or so on their own, the bedrooms are all individual with lovely quality bedding and decor, the farmhouse kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need, James and Heather were brilliant hosts, there to offer help if required, everybody commented on the location saying what a beautiful place, so peaceful, we couldn't have chosen a better venue for a very special weekend.



Perfect for family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall this property is very good value for money. We loved the hot tubs and large barbecue with decking area.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to cater for a large group of 17 as we had.
The bathrooms have shampoo, conditioner and body wash which is a very nice touch.
The only very small issue we had was the water pressure in some of the bathrooms.
Heather and Rosie were lovely and very helpful.




Deer’s Leap Retreat: Perfect for a 40th Birthday celebration.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Deer’s Leep Retreat proved to be everything I could have wished for. Heather, her family, and fantastic team could not have been more welcoming; from the minute we arrived we felt ‘at home’. The peaceful setting of the cottage coupled with spring water on tap and the purity of the Exmoor country air makes it the perfect location to let go of the pressures of modern day life. The cottage itself is exceptionally well equipped, the sleeping options offer comfort and privacy and there are even 2 blissful hottubs, a sauna and woodburners - providing you with the space and tools in order to share quality time with friends, family and loved ones. I wholeheartedly recommend Deer’s Leap to anyone looking to celebrate and share an important occasion.



As a family holiday center excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found the house to be well above what we excepted, our host's were excellent and we all had a great time



A trip away from it all!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant customer service through and through..we arrived to our food shop being packed away for us and then we had a guided tour around the farm..a lovely balance between space and privacy but being aware there was help nearby if needed worked really well. The farm is in a gorgeous setting, pleasant lake, great tennis courts, games room..although it has room to grow, the whole feel of the place is pure relaxation and a place to get away from it all. All ages will be happy here...adults and kids can pop in the 2 hot tubs whenever they please and also the sauna is a lovely bonus! Lovely private garden to let the kiddies run free..the chickens, horse and sheep add to the farm experience! The house is big and was plenty big enough for 8 adults and 9 children. ..we would love to return again! Thanks Deers Leap!



Fantastic House, Family were so welcoming!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The family were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. We were celebrating my sisters hen weekend here in June 2017. I would definitely return! The facilities were excellent we especially loved the hot tubs. We stayed 2 nights which was not enough! We have a special thank you to Heather for taking care of us so well. Hope to come and visit again soon.