FB Twitter

Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens!

Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens!

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Our luxury 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom self-catering rental apartment at the edge of the famous Angus Glens.

Oakbank offers self-catering accommodation for 6 persons in a fully furnished holiday rental apartment which has 1 double bedroom with an en-suite shower room, 2 twin bedrooms, lounge, bathroom and a large kitchen/dining room in the heart of the pretty village of Edzell in Angus, Scotland.

Oak Bank Edzell Scotland, wow!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything you need and more, can't wait to go back. Clean, comfortable, spacious 10 out of 10 Close to beach, castles and the golf course.

Christine from stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 6 nights in February 2020


3rd Time around

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect accommodation. Has everything you need.
Rooms are large. Everything has been thought of to
make it home from home. We’ve now been there 3
times and will make it a fourth I am sure.


Elizabeth from Severn stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in December 2019


Ideal for our fishing break

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spacious flat with everything we needed. Quiet, comfortable and close to the river, with good eating places nearby.

Michael from Harrogate stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 4 nights in September 2019


Hidden gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was lovely. Home from home and a lot more! The village of Edzell is an ideal location to explore the Angus region and further afield with it’s close proximity to the A90. Closer to home I would recommend Edzell Castle, the ‘Blue Door river walk’ and the local eateries. I would definitely stay again if holidaying in the area.

Nina from Bolton stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in August 2019


Haven in Edzell

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was like coming home. So comfortable and wonderful. We had a lovely stay. That are the place you wish to stay longer.

Robert from Luxembourg stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2019


A great base for a holiday in Angus and the Southern Cairngorms

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have returned to Oakbank and once again it proved perfect for the needs of our group. The house is lovely and warm in a perfect position in Edzell and we are happy to report that even four people needing a shower after a hike through a downpour did not cause problems to the hot water system.
The kitchen is wonderful for a cook fest and has everything you could need.
We hope to be back next year.


Birgitta from Wilmslow stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2019


Had a fantastic stay at Oakbank

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we were attending a golf comp at Edzell this was a fantastic place to stay. Only 6 minutes walk to the course. A few shops and eateries were all in close proximity. The property itself has everything you need and is spotless. A lovely welcome pack including oatcakes and jam were most welcome and a lovely touch. The kitchen is very well equipped and the beds were comfortable. This was definately a great find and I wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

linda from Dunfirmline stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in June 2019


Great spot in a fun wee village

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while visiting family. We could entertain family, go to the park every day. Order meals from the Tuck Inn and Bell's Butcher. Enjoy the Shaki Brig, The Blue Door hike and more. Really spot on loc.
My daughter loved her room. Ovrerall. Really great place and I would book it again.

Thank you!


CLAIRE from stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 6 nights in April 2019


short stay to see relatives

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location good pub and local facilities. Plenty of room in the apartment with every thing you could possibly want. Instructions on how to use items, tourist information and tips. Cleanliness was excellent and everything worked. Our host was superb with excellent communication. I highly recommend staying here and we will 100% be back.

Wayne from Hereford stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 4 nights in April 2019


Diana Dalrymple replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edzell. We try to create a homely experience but we are not always sure if we achieve this - so good to hear that we are on the right tracks. Also a relief to hear that you found your camera charger at home - we would have been delighted to post it on to you otherwise. We hope your relatives will remain in the area so we can welcome you back to Oakbank!

Excellent house in a lovely area.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a few days in this lovely house. It was very clean, comfortable and cosy. It was extremely well equipped with lots of thoughtful extras. There was a lovely welcome pack on arrival. We truly felt at home. Edzell is a lovely village surrounded by beautiful countryside. Plenty of interesting places to visit nearby and brilliant area for walkers. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Janice from Bellevue stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in April 2019


Diana Dalrymple replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that you were able to enjoy all the little gems that are hidden in this area of Angus. Edzell is just a small village, but it seems to have everything you need. We hope you will return to explore some more of the local area.

Definitely must stay here!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Definitely must stay here!This is the nicest flat that I have ever stayed in. We were very comfortable there. It was sad to have to leave it because it felt like that is where I lived permanently. The proprietor was very helpful and answered any questions that I had quickly. When we first walked in we were in awe of the place. If you’re looking for a place in the Edzell area this is where to stay.

John from Memphis stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 10 nights in November 2018


Diana Dalrymple replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oakbank. Thank you for coming all the way from the US and we hope you will Haste Ye Back!

Best property in Scotland..

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been staying at the flat for a number of years, and have enjoyed my stay every time. Always clean,

J from New Romney stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in October 2018


Diana Dalrymple replied more than 1 year ago
We really appreciate your annual and sometimes bi-annual visits to come and fish in the Northesk river!

A great stay in a great location!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location for our family get together in Edzell. Apartment was furnished to a high standard. The welcome basket of goodies was a nice touch. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

Elsie from Rochester stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in September 2018


Diana Dalrymple replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you will return.

Our second visit - just as delightful as our first.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation is ideal and it was good to see the village of Edzell thrives as it did two years previously. We arrived without a car but local riverside and forest walks, all the shops you need, coffee shops, meals out in the village, Edzell Castle, and a reliable bus into Brechin meant we were not short of things to do, returning daily to the comfort of Oakbank to relax.

Timothy from Wallingford stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in August 2018


Diana Dalrymple replied more than 1 year ago
So good to hear that it is possible to visit and stay in Edzell without the use of a car. We usually recommend to our guests the use of a car, but you have shown us and future guests that you can have a great time in Edzell and the surrounding areas with public transport! Thank you!

Fantastic holiday let!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic appartment in the charming little village Edzell. Go walking, fishing or playing a nice round of golf.
A must do visit the 360 degree whiskey bar at Glenesk Hotel. The blue door!


Lill from Bertrange stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2018


A return to one of our favourite holiday spots

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we stayed in Oakbank and it was just as cosy and comfortable as last time. The flat is over the chippy and pharmacy in Edzell, just a few doors from the Panmure Arms and the Church.
It is warm (and refreshingly cool, during the really hot days during our stay), extremely well appointed and a real home from home. We stayed with 4 people, but the place is advertised for six and would house them easily. The downstairs has plenty of room for hiking gear to dry out, while the upstairs has a really large family kitchen and a large lounge, as well as three bedrooms and two bathrooms. Somehow, we didn't spend much time in the lounge, in between cooking and using the games provided in the kitchen, but the few time we spend time there we enjoyed the comfy seating and large TV.

I can only recommend the place and we hope to be back next year.


Birgitta from Wilmslow stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in June 2018


A.lways impressive

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has been our fourth stay at Oakbank. We love it there because it so comfortable. The location is central to all the places I want to visit in my quest for researching our Family Tree. It is also near my home town Montrose. There was a problem with the door lock this year. However it was soon sorted and a minor glitch. Local people were very helpful and the owner was contacted.
Lesson learned keep contact numbers and mobile in handbag!!!!


Elizabeth from Abingdon stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in April 2018


Our home away from home.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We, Meaning My Wife and I, have stayed at Oak Bank, Approx 7 to 8 times Now.Diana and Greg have done such a great job in making you feel like you just moved back into your home away from home. We have brought friends and meet family there. They all say the same thing "" How beautiful the Apartment is and the Cleanliness"" The extra care that goes into keeping it that way.
Diana can be very proud of her Oak Bank Apartment. Looking foward to staying there again.
Respectfully, Fred Parrulli, Oldsmar, Florida.


Fred M. from Oldsmar stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 28 nights in September 2017


A wonderfully comfortable place at the edge of the Cairngorms National Park

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this place by accident during an earlier trip, and are glad we managed this year to get a week at the flat.
It is beautifully appointed (the kitchen fittings are a dream for hobby chefs) with lots of small and large creature comforts. The place is very sunny in good weather and comfortably warm on rainy days.
If there is one limitation it is that it is a flat above Edzell's shops. Not because of the shops, we can recommend the Tuck Inn and Sinclair's Larder for sandwiches, cake, ice cream and in the evening take away) and the pharmacy is really helpful, but - because of the staircase, that gives access to the flat. Please, don't bring somebody with leg problems here, they will not enjoy it half as much as the rest. For everybody able bodied, you are going to love it.


Birgitta from stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 8 nights in July 2017


Excellent!!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we have stayed at Oakbank. We like Edzell as it is not too far for us to visit my home town Montrose.

Elizabeth from Didcot stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in April 2017


Wonderful holiday location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a lovely village. Apartment was extremely comfortable with everything you could want to make it feel like home for the week.
Already hoping to return for a second future visit.


Margaret from Wallingford stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in August 2016


a short stay in Edzell

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
the start was problematic, . the central heating was out of order en therefore there was no hot water. after the weekend it was solved ,but the heating tubes in the bathroom stayed cold. so no dry towels.

Bastiaan from Bloemendaal stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2016


A wonderful apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful stay at Oakbank. The apartment was very clean, cosy and tasteful. No doubt we will try to go back next year!!! Thank you very much.

Pilar from Trujillo stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2016


A beautifully presented flat in the middle of Edzell

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property has been renovated to a very high standard. It was spacious, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. The quality of the furnishings, fittings and domestic equipment could not be faulted and it provided a true "home from home".

The simplicity of the booking process and the ease of access to the property itself made for a stress free arrival and the provision of a thoughtful welcome pack added to the experience.

We have rented property all over the world and this ranks as one of the best.


Donnie from Dunfermline stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2016


It's bigger on the inside!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place. Super well equipped kitchen. The apartment is much more spacious than suggested by the photos. Very comfortable space for 6 friends & family. Had a great holiday here.

Kate from King's Lynn stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in May 2016


Wonderful Holiday Home - Wonderful Stay - Thank you Very Much

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.
The home is well situated and has everything you Need from playing Cards to an iron.
The welcome package was so thoughtful and much appreciated.
I would recommend this to anyone and we hope to be able to use it again in the future.


Kenneth from Luthermuir stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in May 2016


lovely flat in a peaceful location with lots to do nearby

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, spacious flat with everything you could need. We had a lovely long weekend here and found plenty to do in the local area. Excellent fish and chips in the café just downstairs too!

Hannah from stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in April 2016


Oakbank, Edzell stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accomodation. Good location. Well equipped, good facilities and in excellent condition. Lovely welcome pack. Nice range of places to eat nearby.

Michelle from Eatons Hill stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in March 2016


This is our second visit and again we cannot find any fault with Oakbank.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Oakbank which is a perfect location for us. Hopefully we will pay a third visit next year. The flat is well provided with amenities and the welcome pack was very good.
It is great that there is the little restaurant practically on the door step and the coffee shop at no 63 just across the road. What more could any one want. In fact there is everything by way of butchers and little shops.
It is a great location for visiting different places around the country too. We love being there.


Elizabeth from Didcot stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in April 2016


perfect place to rest

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed almost 2 weeks and we are very happy with the accommodation.
There is everything needed for a pleasant stay and the owner Diana was very helpful to us.


We highly recommend this place!


Violina from Szczecin stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 1 nights in January 2016


Lovely flat, warm and comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was lovely to arrive at Oakbank to find a welcome pack and friendly note from Diana. The flat was warm and comfortable - just right for arriving back after a winter's day out walking. It is very spacious and well equipped. Edzell is a friendly village with enough local amenities and good coffee shops and Brechin, which is not far away, is an interesting small town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Valerie from Edinburgh stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in December 2015


2nd time at Oakbank

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every thought has gone into having all the creature comforts available. We loved the large roomy kitchen dinning area is very light and welcoming for meal time or just family chats. In a great area for exploring the beautiful countryside
of Scotland. Will definitely be back for another stay.


Elizabeth from Severn stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 8 nights in November 2015


Simply wonderful.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real gem, we stayed here for the weekend for a local wedding and it was perfect. Beautifully appointed inside, spacious, clean and with everything you could possibly need already provided (including coat hangers!). We'll definitely be back.


Claire from Biggar stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in October 2015


Excellent accommodation at Oakbank Edzell

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation surpassed my expectation, wonderfully furnished, spacious, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐5 stars. A quiet place and nice neighbourhood to be away from the city. Facilities at par with city living apartment.

Abu Bakar Abdul from Kuala Lumpur stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in September 2015


mrs haidon

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very impressed from the moment we walked through the front door, although it took us a little time to master the entrance lock.
It was everything that we wanted and lovely and bright and airy. Very convenient on the high street with a nice little area to sit outside. Might have been nice to be able to close the gate to make it child proof.
Super bathrooms and beds very comfortable, In all, thank you for making our holiday a pleasure


Nadine from stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 5 nights in August 2015


Very nice apartment with lots of amenities

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the apartment. We stayed there with our grown up kids to celebrate the 30th birthday of our son and do some sightseeing and whiskey tastings. We loved it to have 2 bathrooms and dishwasher, washer and dryer. Every night we were sitting around the large kitchen table talking or playing games. We had a really great time there.

Guest from stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in August 2015


Fabulous, spacious flat.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a superb flat, probably the best self catering unit we have ever stayed in. Clean, spacious, equipped with everything you could possibly need. Lovely village location and very friendly locals. Ideal base for travelling around this beautiful part of Scotland. Fantastic holiday.

Guest from Nantwich stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2015


Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great apartment in an excellent location. Lots to do in the area, great walks from the door and also along the coast. Stonehaven has a great fish restaurant, gourdon has a lovely fish shop selling smokies and fresh fish. The national trust places nearby are also worth a visit . A lovely, spacious , well equipped apartment. It was warm and provided a lovely base for exploring the area .

Wendy from Solihull stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in July 2015


"Great place to stay"

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always try to use "Oakbank" for our two annual salmon fishing holidays in Angus. Just perfect - need I say any more than that! Home from home it is, and in such a delightful village as well.

Guest from Knaresborough stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 4 nights in May 2015


Very enjoyable May Day weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday weekend in Oakbank, couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, well equipped apartment. The only downside was the off street parking, it isn't really built for a people carrier and made for an interesting reverse out, my own fault probably for trying it in the first place. Would definitely recommend Oakbank to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

Guest from Huntly stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in May 2015


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
Oh dear I am so sorry Mr Barrie about your experience with the parking at the back of the apartment. It really is very tight and only suitable for smaller cars. I do apologise for any inconvenience. There is always plenty and safe parking on the road outside of Oakbank which we would recommend for parking. We are delighted to hear that your stay was otherwise very comfortable and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

The best of everything

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third time staying at Oakbank. Always a great expierence! Comfort at its best! After long days out exploring is nice to come back and relax in such a wonderful flat. There is no other place we would consider staying at during our visits to this part of Scotland. Thank you again for a great stay.

Charles from Spartanburg stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in April 2015


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted to see you back in Edzell for the third time. We hope your grand daughter enjoyed her first visit to Scotland and we hope to see you again.

An extremely pleasant place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of everything at Oakbank. We have stayed at a few places over the past few years and although we were always comfortable and had all we needed this was far and away the best. The local cafe and the restaurant just next door was an added bonus although my grandson loves to cook and so he was delighted to find every thing he needed in the kitchen at Oakbank. Granny didn't have to lift a finger!!!!
We would thoroughly recommend staying in this apartment and hope we might be able to do so again ourselves.


Guest from Didcot stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 6 nights in March 2015


Wonderful stay at Oakbank!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Oakbank. We would love to go back next year and will most certainly recommend it. It was an ideal base to meet our family in Edzell.

Guest from Wigan stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 6 nights in February 2015


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your time with your family in Edzell. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Family visit

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Oakbank during a visit to the family in Edzell and could not be more pleased with the quality of the accommodation. The flat is tastefully furnished, clean, spacious and has all you can require. The little welcome basket with bread and milk was a very nice and thoughtful touch. We will definitely book again for our next visit and we will recommend to others.

Chloe from Brechin stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in February 2015


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to hear that you had a good time visiting your family in the Edzell area and we hope to welcome you back some time in the near future!

A beautiful house in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we were amazed at how beautiful the house was - heaps better than the photos showed! It was warm, clean, quiet, and in a great location. It had everything we needed in the kitchen, lounge and bedrooms, and there was even a lovely welcome pack from the hosts. The village is a quiet one, but has the basics - it's an easy journey to nearby towns, and so close to the mountains and beautiful rivers & beaches.

We had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to others.


Guest from London stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in December 2014


A Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were attending a local wedding with our son, daughter-in-law and their newborn baby and were delighted that we opted to stay together at Oakbank which is centrally located in Edzell. The apartment was extremely well presented, well equipped and very comfortable and a credit to the owners!

Guest from Tain stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in November 2014


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We have quite a few guests who attend weddings in the village. Oakbank is quite handy as it is in walking distance of both the hotels in the village which are very popular wedding venues. Even for weddings a bit further away such as at Burn House or Fasque House, it is just a short drive! We hope you will be back even without a big celebration.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned to Oakbank for a second time, not disappointed. Very comfortable accomodation with everything you could want. Great location in Edzell with a fish and chip shop and pub with great food within yards if you don't want to cook. Would definitely recommend and would certainly stay again.

Guest from Newcastle stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 7 nights in October 2014


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
We hope you had a great time fishing in the North Esk and that you will be able to return next year? The good news is that the Tuck Inn downstairs was up for sale, but the owner has bought out her partners, so we are delighted that it will remain the same and continue to serve excellent food! We are so lucky to have so many amenities in our small village.

Oakbank, Edzell

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property. Very well appointed and presented. Lovely welcome pack. Good location, with plenty of options for places to eat out. Would highly recommend this property.

Guest from Eatons Hill stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 4 nights in September 2014


Luxury living in pretty village

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apartment came with a lovely welcome pack with locally sourced bread, milk, jams and cakes! Everything needed in comfortable, spotless and tastefully decorated apartment located in a very pretty village with cafe's, local shops, a pub and a football pitch for the boys!

Guest from East Kilbride stayed at Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens! for 3 nights in September 2014