FB Twitter

The Haybarton

The Haybarton

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Beautiful cottage in Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I traveled through Cornwall and Devon in September and October . We are both
retired, so our perspective on this review may be slightly different from others. We stayed in Haybarton Cottage, which is delightful. The furniture was above the average holiday house. The house has 2 bedrooms upstairs with beautiful country views, each with an en suite. The third bedroom is downstairs near the eat-in kitchen with all the conveniences - even a Leisure stove. Very nice laundry room with washer and dryer as well as room to sort clothes and fold them. We chose the downstairs bedroom with a large ensuite. The bed was very comfortable with both a cotton spread as well as a comforter. We each have CPAP machines to use while we sleep.
Therefore, bedside tables and power outlets are important to use. This room had a large
bedside table which stood between the twin beds. We found power outlets behind headboards. The bath is large and airy with a large walk-in shower and a towel warmer.
Internet connectivity is important to us. The WiFi was download 7mbps: 0.3mbps upload, which is a very useable speed. Checking email surfing the internet are easy. Parking for our car was next to the cottage. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for almost 3 weeks. We contracted with person who cleans between occupants to come twice a week for a fair rate. It made life easier. If you plan to stay for a week or more, We recommend you ask Caroline when booking for this service.




The Haybarton

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visit year after year and always have a great time. We love the local scenery (and the pub) but also love visiting areas such as Dartmoor, Exmoor and the Budleigh Salterton etc.



Delightful!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great few days at Bidwell. It's just lovely - quite luxurious with every bedroom en suite. It feels remote but the village (and more importantly the pub) is a really short walk away. Yes there is another cottage next door and the owners are close by but you wouldn't know. The surrounding area is beautiful, with the sea at Sidmouth and Lyme Regis only 50 mins away. Go!



Excellent holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well provided in the house

We were given lots of useful tips by owners

Lovely garden
Bedrooms all ensuite

Good lounge and kitchen

Would strongly recommend




Caroline replied 116 days ago
Thanks for the lovely review! I am so pleased that you all had a great time and that you had a safe onward trip to Italy. Please come and visit us again although I am aware that there are many Premier Cottages to visit! Best wishes, Caroline

Fully recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying in a comfortable, well equipped home with plenty of room for 3 generations.



Caroline replied 146 days ago
I am so thrilled that you all had a lovely time and am very pleased that the Haybarton offered everything that you needed. Thank you for your kind guest comments in the cottage and the review too. We hope to see you all back at Bidwell in the future. Best wishes, Caroline

Haybarton

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at haybarton was as good as ever helpful and friendly owners who made our stay more successful lots of brilliant walks and places to visit , I can recommend this cottage to anyone



Caroline replied 146 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really couldn't ask for nicer guests! Thank you for choosing to return to Bidwell Farm again and we look forward to seeing you both back at Bidwell in the Autumn.

Lovely relaxing week away

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time away as a family party, with grandparents. The house was so very well equipped and Richard and Patsy were amazingly welcoming and helpful throughout out car issues. We felt thorough welcomed though out. The accommodation was of fantastic quality and we really enjoyed our weeks holiday.



Caroline replied 146 days ago
Dear Toby and Rachel, I am so glad you had a wonderful stay at Bidwell and very glad that we could help with your car issues. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. Enjoy the rest of your summer and do come back and see us at Bidwell in the future! Best wishes, Caroline

Excellent value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One our best holidays ever and would like to thank all concerned and we would recommend to any one looking for a wonderful holiday



Caroline replied 226 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a glowing review. We are very grateful to have you as wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you back at Bidwell Farm next month!

6th Visit !

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As in the title this is the 6th visit to the Haybarton at Bidwell Farm and as excellent as ever. we are 3 mature ladies on an "escape" from our husbands and really appreciate the 3 ensuite bedrooms. the property is excellent and the welcome second to none....



Caroline replied 240 days ago
Lovely ladies! It is always a pleasure to host your annual get away and I am very pleased it all went to plan. Thank you for being such wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Charming, cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights whilst joining a friend who lives locally for a family celebration. The cottage was toasty warm, very comfortable and we felt very much 'at home'. The kitchen is very well equipped; plenty of china and glasses in addition to any other piece of cooking equipment one could name! We were sorry to leave and I am rapidly thinking up excuses to return!



Caroline replied 240 days ago
Dear Clare, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review for the Haybarton. I am so pleased you all had a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you back at Bidwell Farm in the future.

Delightful stay in Upottery

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bidwell Farm cottages are located around beautiful countryside, are furnished to a very high standard and offer a quintessential English country cottage experience. The owners couldn't be more helpful, and it's an ideal place to stay whether one wants to curl up by the wood burning stove or to use as a base when exploring the delightful surrounding area.



Caroline replied 240 days ago
I am thrilled you all had a wonderful Christmas in the Haybarton and we look forward to seeing you back at Bidwell Farm to celebrate Christmas 2017! Thanks for booking again.

Beautiful location and accomodation!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself is beautiful, it is a perfect country cottage. It is very well equip and we did not want for anything. The garden is huge, and very well looked after. The cleanliness was 5*, the bed was lovely and comfy. The area around the cottage Is stunning, so quiet and peaceful. Walks around the village are a must. The on-site hosts are lovely and welcoming! We will definitely be returning next year.



Would recomend this farm to stay most enjoyable and the local pub is only a 10 minute walk away

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time our party of 6has stayed here can't wait till we do it again lovely people that own this place



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful holiday at Bidwell Farm. Such a beautiful cottage. I would thoroughly recommend it. Very child friendly.



Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for the Haybarton. I am so pleased that you had a lovely time at Bidwell Farm Cottages. Do come back and see us again in the future!

Health Warning!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
"Devon, we're in Devon" we sang (to the tune of "Heaven, I'm in heaven" - from the old Fred Astaire/Ginger Rogers film Top Hat) as we crossed the border into Devon from Somerset on our journey to Bidwell Farm. We'd been to Devon before and were really looking forward to staying in the Haybarton, right in the heart of the Devon countryside.

Now, before you rush to book please be aware that a stay here can have a significant impact on your health and well-being. If you're into stress, noise and bustle you'll not find it here. As you arrive, the property seems to envelop you in peace and tranquility. It's as though all your cares and woes just melt away as you relax. What's that sound that I can hear? Nothing. There is no noise. All around is quiet - except maybe a bit of birdsong. The view from the windows over the Blackdown Hills is stunning too. The Haybarton is very well-furnished and comfortable. There is good wifi, and free sky TV too for those who just cannot pull themselves away from the trappings of modern life for a few days.

There's no doubt about it, Bidwell Farm is a great place to stay. It's very well-situated for visiting many places. This time, we went to the Fleet Air Arm Museum (booking online the night before to save us some money), made a return visit to Lyme Regis and enjoyed wonderful fish and chips from Herbie's (freshly caught haddock from Brixham) and visited the Willow and Wetlands Centre. We thought this was excellent (and amazingly, free too!). They have a great little cafe there as well with freshly prepared food. Then, of course, if you don't fancy cooking there's the local pub in Upottery, the Sidmouth Arms, that's within easy walking distance. They offer very good food at really reasonable prices (including a special winter warmer offer of 2 meals for £13.50 before 5pm).

We must also mention that there's the welcome from Patsy and Richard, (Caroline's parents) who live in the adjacent farmhouse. We were given 6 freshly laid ducks eggs from the Khaki Campbell ducks, a loaf of Richard's freshly baked bread, along with homemade marmalade, and lovely yummy Otter Valley Ice Cream to mention just a few of the goodies in the welcome pack. (Do visit the lay-by on the A30 just outside Monkton for more Otter Valley Ice Cream by the way).

What's not to like about Bidwell Farm? Nothing that we can see, and this was our third visit. It won't be our last either. I can hear that "Devon, we're in Devon" tune again already...




Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Wow ladies, I think must be my best review to date! Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words about the Haybarton. We know it's a very special spot but it makes me very happy when our guests notice too. Thank you for coming back to Bidwell Farm again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. They keep making new flavours of ice cream so there is a real incentive to return!!

Relaxing week at The Haybarton

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haybarton
A beautiful, spacious cottage - very cosy and comfortable, well equipped and an ideal base for exploring Devon. We had a lovely relaxing week!




The Haybarton Bidwell Farm, Honiton

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our favourite holiday cottage! We go every year and will continue to do so. The cottage is gorgeous, the views are fabulous and so many lovely places to visit.



Real gem...

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many holiday properties and this is one of the best. Top marks for easy access, great views and close proximity to local pub. Fresh home-baked bread as part of the welcome pack was a nice touch. Owners parents are on-site with a warm welcome and "nothing is too much trouble" attitude. Did not want to go home....



Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. I am pleased that you had a lovely time in the Haybarton and hopefully you will come back to visit us again. Best wishes, Caroline

Lovely base for visiting family in Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Haybarton is a great space for a family of six, has a well equipped kitchen, lots of board games and the bonus of an open fire!

Enjoyed a good meal at the Sidmouth Arms on the first night of our stay, well recommended by the Owners.




Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so pleased that you all had a good time together. Glad you liked the board games; we do keep trying to add to them! Best wishes, Caroline

Memorable Family Christmas

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haybarton was all we could have hoped for and more, prior to arrival Caroline was very obliging and helped us with all the information we needed to plan our Christmas away from home.
From the moment we arrived we felt at home, we were greeted by Patsy and Richard who made us feel very welcome. The duck eggs, local cheese and wine provided were all delicious and the mince pies were a nice festive touch.
It seems that everything we needed to make it an enjoyable Christmas had been thought of and the week passed by too quickly.
Our Granddaughter was particularly delighted with the Ducks that came to visit at the Kitchen door in the mornings.
The Haybarton is situated in a beautiful part of Devon, the local village of Upottery is very picturesque and has a good local pub.
All in all it was a perfect package that we would highly recommend, The Haybarton itself was spacious, well presented and very comfortable.
Thanks again to Caroline, Patsy & Richard for a lovely stay. We hope to be back in the future.




Haybarton review

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really appreciated the personal touches, toys, welcome gifts and home made marmalade. Fantastic cottage in wonderful location with stunning views. Inside it was immaculate but Cosy and homely we wanted to move in. We were made to feel very welcome by Patsy and Richard.



Our second time at Harbarton. Lovely place to relax and visit surrounding towns and beaches.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing holiday at the lovely Haybarton. Cottage so comfortable. Good location for stunning views and days out.
Short trips to Exeter and Lyme Regis.




Lovely autumn stay with 4 children

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in the The Haybarton! We came with 4 children, but the spacious cottage gave us more than enough space for everyone to breathe. The garden is magnificent, our children went out and couldn’t be seen for hours. Patsy, Richard and Caroline were more than helpful and provided us with anything we needed: Crab fishing net, coal for the barbecue, tons of wood for the log fire, and many more lovely surprises. Great: Two tennis courts in the village, Richard organized the key. We especially liked the fully equipped kitchen with direct access to the garden: A wonderful, massive, and solid table, a great oven for full English breakfast every day (we gained a couple of pounds though) and every kitchen utensil you can think of. The fridge however could be slightly larger for 6 people. All in all a perfect week, we will most certainly come back all the way from Hamburg!



Enjoy a wonderful holiday at The Haybarton

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haybarton is a beautifully maintained cottage with extensive grounds in an ideal location. We were made to feel welcome from the very first day - I would most certainly recommend Haybarton to other folk.



Fantastic Location for a Family Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic cottage and a beautiful location, with lovely people and plenty to see and do for all ages, locally or further afield. We would highly recommend this fantastic place, and would not hesitate staying here again in the future.



My stay at Haybarton, Bidwell Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was all that we hoped for a holiday in Devon. Everything in the cottage was of a high quality and covered all requirements,(even Sky TV). The grounds were simple but pleasantly laid out and the views from the cottage were beautiful.
For us the location was ideal, being within easy reach of the coast (Lime Regis, Beer etc.),Taunton and the Blackdown Hills. As a coarse fisherman there were also several suitable venues for day fishing.
I would like to add that the owners were friendly, very helpful but not intrusive.




High Standards Maintained

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 13th visit to the Haybarton at Bidwell Farm. The same high standards as always. An excellent property in a beautiful location with everything you need. Handily placed to visit a whole host of local beaches and countryside beauty spots.




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Bidwell Farm was fantastic. Our cottage for the week was The Haybarton, which was extremely comfortable and in a beautiful spot. Richard and Patsy made us very welcome and were very helpful, especially with the fly fishing tuition. Nice to be within walking distance of the village pub where excellent meals were served. Plenty of places to visit, Sidmouth, Beer and Lyme Regis were our favourites. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others.



June 2015 The Haybarton

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent base to explore east Devon and beyond

Made very welcome, would also be great location for those with Children , plenty of sports equipment and well
maintained fields.

Nice Village pub within walking distance




Bidwell farm - The Haybarton

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a quiet rural setting. View of the countryside was beautiful with rolling hills and
farmland. Close to quaint villages and easy access to major nearby city of Exeter. Well located for day
excursions to Sidmouth and seaside villages. Owners were most welcoming and very helpful in assuring
our stay was comfortable and pleasant. We appreciated their assistance in helping us have repairs made
to our rental vehicle. We highly recommend this property and would return.




Another excellent visit.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth visit to the Haybarton and we hope to go again next year. Always sure of a warm welcome and a most comfortable stay. The location is quiet but not isolated and there is plenty to do for all in the surrounding area.



Great First Week

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at the Haybarton. Very comfortable and central to all the places we wanted to visit. Caroline and family very welcoming. We'll certainly be back.



Our second stay

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Haybarton, having visited last September. We phoned to let Caroline know we were about half an hour away as we passed the Fleet Air Arm museum, and she was there on the doorstep to welcome us when we arrived and had turned the heating on for us.

Sadly, March didn't deliver the same balmy temperatures as we'd enjoyed before, and we were very glad to have the heating on in Haybarton (radiators throughout) in addition to using the wood burning stove in the lounge. Caroline had provided a tub of Otter Valley blackcurrant ripple ice cream for us, and this was as delicious as the other flavours we'd tried on our last visit.

Due to the chilly, blustery and sometimes wet weather, we didn't go out and about as much as last time, but we enjoyed 3 excellent meals, including Sunday lunch at the local pub (The Sidmouth Arms), that's only a 5 minute walk away. If you want to partake of Sunday lunch we strongly recommend booking. During the week we enjoyed two main meals for an astounding £12 as a special offer until 5pm. Their home made banoffee pie and clotted cream (£5) is to die for!

We also visited Exeter, using the Park & Ride. There are 3 separate P&R services. It's an easy journey down the A30 and the P&R (red line) stop is just beyond the M5 and well sign-posted. Currently, buses go every 12 minutes, and a return fare is £2.40 for the 15-18 minute journey into the centre of Exeter - right by John Lewis.

Later in our week in Devon, Patsy and Richard (who own the farm house adjacent to Haybarton and Cowbyre) returned home from their travels abroad and we were greeted like long-lost friends. We were really sorry to hear that Lucky (the drake Khaki Campbell duck) and three of his 6 lady friends had been lost to the fox since last time we visited, but this is part of being in the country. Sadly, it meant no freshly laid duck's eggs for us this time either.

We feel very much at home at Bidwell Farm and we hope to return - perhaps at a warmer time of year though! You can't feel anything other than relaxed in this lovely peaceful place.




Just perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely perfect stay from start to finish, beautiful cottage, amazing location and delightful hosts. We will definitely look to stay again soon.



New year

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd new year at Bidwellfarm and again everything superb. If I had to make any "constructive crticism" it would be to have a couple of nice reading lamps in the lounge , especially useful for the winter.



Christmas at Bidwell Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Bidwell farm staying in the Haybarton Cottage. Patsy and Richard were fantastic in every way!! They brought us freshly baked bread on arrival (which was worth the trip on its own). We stayed over the Xmas period which was magical for our two children as the Cottage is very homely and welcoming. They settled in very quickly and loved getting up early to let the ducks out with Richard in the mornings. The surrounding area is stunning. Being a professional landscape photographer it takes a lot to wow me these days when it comes to scenery but this place truly is beautiful!!! we will definitely be returning with the inlaws in the near future.



Very relaxing holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely and relaxing holiday. The children loved getting involved with the ducks and lots of space for them to run free! The owners were very friendly and welcoming and we really enjoyed the home made bread and welcome goodies. Would highly recommend!



Haybarton @ Bidwell Revisited

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 11th consecutive visit to Bidwell Farm and the Haybarton.
There's a very simple reason for this. It's the perfect spot for us.
Quiet village to chill out. Pub on the doorstep, beaches and plenty of local attractions a 20 minute car journey away.
Eating out in the area is a must, as there are many fine dining experiences close by.
The property itself is idyllic. Beautiful grassed areas surround a stocked trout lake (fishing available) Great for families who love to play out. The bedrooms and bathrooms are all tastefully decorated to a luxurious standard.
Huge kitchen area with dining table to match. Comfy Lounge with flat screen TV and sky package.
Wi-Fi available if you can't leave the laptop at home.
It's absolutely stunning and the welcome is as warm as you would imagine from an establishment that's certainly at the top end in its category.
It's Perfect.




What more could you ask for?

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Haybarton, one of 2 properties at Bidwell Farm, to be warmly greeted and shown round by the owners Patsy and Richard who live next door in the farmhouse. First impressions were excellent. The accommodation was clean, well-equipped, beautifully furnished, comfortable and spacious. There was a wood-burning stove in the lounge, although we didn't need to use it as we were blessed with good weather (even though it was late September). Central heating is provided by radiators throughout for the winter months.

Richard and Patsy provided a welcome basket of local produce, including fresh duck eggs laid by their own ducks, Richard's home-baked bread and Otter Valley ice-cream. We enjoyed this so much we bought some more from the Otter Valley Farm shop in the lay by on the main road into Honiton to take home!

The accommodation is situated in a delightful, peaceful spot with wonderful views over the Devon countryside. There is a large pond with trout in the grounds, and as we'd never done it before, Richard kindly showed us how to cast a line for fly fishing. It is only a few minutes walk to the local pub, the Sidmouth Arms, where we had a couple of very enjoyable meals at a reasonable price.

We found the location to be perfect for travelling in various directions, and we were out and about every day. The Dartington glass works at Great Torrington was well worth a visit. We also enjoyed Lyme Regis and the wonderful fish restaurant, the Beach Cafe, run by the National Trust at Burton Bradstock (be aware that you have to pay to park even if going to the cafe). They serve locally caught fish, and is clearly a popular haunt. We advise getting there early.

Bidwell Farm is a 5 star gold property. We've stayed in other 5 star gold properties in different parts of the country on previous occasions but this knocks the opposition into a cocked hat. The only downside about recommending a property like this is that when you want to come back another time someone else has already booked it. We'd love to go back for another visit - so long as you haven't got in first of course!






A wonderful holiday, away from the hustle bustle of everyday life

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 5 people who had a most enjoyable 2 week stay at The Haybarton in September. The location was peaceful and the grounds were beautiful. The accommodation was of a high standard throughout. We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Bidwell Farm Cottages and we all look forward to returning next September.