FB Twitter

The Cow Byre

The Cow Byre

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay here was wonderful, from the first contact to when we left. Beautiful house, fabulous location. Being an autumnal visit we couldn’t take advantage of the garden as much as we would have liked but the cosy log burner more than made up for that. Peaceful location but within easy reach of local attractions. We will definitely return.



Yet another lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time. Best garden, lovely and quiet surrounding, friendly ducks, house super clean and perfectly equipped, cute village with cosy pub, tennis-courts in the village. Third and definitely not our last time.



Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were made to feel so welcome, the children loved playing in the garden and our puppy enjoyed seeing the ducks on the pond.

Highly recommend this lovely holiday house, welcoming hosts and a very cosy cottage!




Comfortable stay in a lovely location!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely and will definitely stay again. My daughter loved letting the ducks out every morning and checking for eggs.



A Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cow Byre was set in beautiful surroundings, very comfortable and warm with all the amenities we needed and the hospitality was exceptional.



Caroline replied 85 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so thrilled that you all had a good time together at Bidwell and enjoyed the local welcome pack and homemade bread. Do come back to see us at Bidwell Farm in the future. Best wishes, Caroline

Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and great garden for the kids to run round in. The cottage is fitted out to a very high standard and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.



Caroline replied 85 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review Sarah. Bidwell Farm is wonderful for children and we get so much positive feedback on how great the garden is for all ages. I am thrilled you all had a lovely time and we hope to see you back at Bidwell in the future. Best wishes, Caroline

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a quiet rural location in beautiful countryside with many good places (coastal and inland) within easy driving distance. The beds are comfortable, everything was spotlessly clean, and the cottage is well equipped. Richard and Patsy who look after the property are great people -- welcoming, interesting, easy going, and really helpful when needed. We had a great stay - highly recommended.



Comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cowbyre is a comfortable little cottage in a stunning setting. Its excellent location affords easy access to the coast and beyond.



Caroline replied 240 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review; I am pleased you all (including lovely Misty) had a wonderful Christmas and we hope to see you back at Bidwell Farm in the future.

Great again.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, fully equipped, comfortable house with a beautiful garden, walking distance to the lovely village of Upottery (great pub with good food, tennis courts in village). Three bedrooms, each room with a bath, super clean, super comfy. Our second time, and we will return.



Caroline replied 240 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a glowing review and it was great to see you all back at Bidwell Farm for your second visit. We look forward to seeing you all again for visit 3 in October 2017!

Three Generation Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd (or was it 4th?) holiday at the Cow Byre. An excellent week's break for grandparents and family members (including grandson and granddaughter). Weather was good so on-site facilities could be utilized to the full as could exploration of beaches and other Devon locations/events. Grandson caught his first trout (plus others) in the pond and younger sister assisted with netting and returning them! Cottage facilities/bedrooms very adequate. Will be back in 2017!



Wonderful week at the Cow Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic week in Devon staying at the Cow Byre. The cottage is beautiful and very well-equipped - Caroline really has thought of everything. My daughter (5) and nephew (6) adored playing in the garden, which has wonderful views. They especially loved the swings and being able to feed the ducks on the pond. Caroline's parents, Richard and Patsy who live in the farmhouse were incredibly charming and helpful without ever being intrusive. Richard even printed out the local tide charts when we told him we were planning to go fossil hunting with the kids at nearby Charmouth and lent us some books on the subject. He also baked us a delicious loaf of homemade bread that tasted amazing! Upottery is a great location to stay in Devon as they are many lovely day trips only 40 or so minutes drive away, including beautiful beaches and National Trust properties. Hestercombe Gardens was a big hit as was Burton Bradstock where we spend a lovely morning on the beach followed by a delicious seafood lunch at the Hive cafe. The cottage provided the perfect place to relax and cook a tasty evening meal after a day exploring.



A return visit - and just as good

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at the Cow Byre three years ago we were eager to return and were certainly not disappointed: on the contrary, the accommodation remains excellent. The addition of a landscaped area just outside the property is a big improvement. From the initial welcome and the inclusion of some local produce to the level of cleanliness and attention to detail, this is a cut above most rental properties.



Fantastic stay at the Cow Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the Cow Byre cottage. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed and more.
A lovely welcome pack when we arrived including local cheese and ice cream. The gardens were beautiful and a lovely place to sit and for children to play.
Caroline had provided lots of information prior to our arrival and Patsy and Richard were very welcoming and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed.
The location of the cottage was perfect - very quiet and peaceful yet ideally situated for visiting lots of local attractions as well as some further afield. The village pub was a short walk away and served excellent food at a very reasonable price.
We will definitely recommend to others and hopefully visit again ourselves.




Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Kate for taking the time to leave a review for the Cowbyre. I am pleased you had a good week and glad that the dogs were happy too! I am in the middle of compiling a 'Doggie Guide' too so guests know which beaches, pubs and restaurants are dog friendly. We hope to see you back at Bidwell in the future. Best wishes, Caroline

the cottage is an excellent base to stay .

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is an excellent base to stay - it is very relaxing. The cottage is just outside the village which has an excellent pub.
We would be pleased to return to this cottage.




A fantastic holiday @ Bidwell Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at The (spacious) Cow Byre at Bidwell Farm. My wife and I, and my two daughters immediately felt at home. The accommodation was first rate and the huge manicured lawn was amazing. We found it to be in an excellent base to visit areas of interest in Devon. I felt the attention to detail i.e the welcome pack, the interior, the design of the garden was of a very high standard. It is the best holiday accommodation we have stayed in. We will definately be returning.



A wonderfully peaceful, relaxing and highly comfortable cottage for the whole family

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at Cow Byre cottage over the Easter holidays and we could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. From the moment we booked the cottage with Caroline the owner to saying goodbye to Richard and Patsy (Caroline's delightful parents who live in a separate property on the land), we couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay.
The property itself is spacious, very comfortable with excellent facilities and good quality furnishings (the beds were particularly comfortable). The real fire burner was really cosy of an evening (though there is central heating throughout, so not really needed), especially as there is a large sofa, which the whole family can stretch out on in front of the flatscreen TV (perfect for those April evenings!).
The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you needed and equipped on our arrival with a couple of essentials and local delights. The Cow Byre has its own outside space, but then there is expansive land within the grounds with a pond and to our children's delight, swings and ducks, which Richard invited the children to put to bed one evening!
Richard and Patsy were very welcoming and helpful, though you would hardly notice they were around, so it really felt like we had the place to ourselves.
The location is great, very quiet and beautiful surrounding countryside, yet only 2 mins to the local village, 10-15 mins to the nearest supermarket and 30 mins to some great beaches and walks.
We had a lovely holiday, very relaxing and the children had a blast with plenty to keep them occupied.
Well deserving of its 5 star status and I would definately recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing and fun holiday.
One area of improvement; the interior photographs on the website do not do the property justice!




Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. I am thrilled that you had a good time at Bidwell Farm. We do hope that you come and visit us again in the future. Best wishes, Caroline

Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at Bidwell Farm and this stay was every bit as good as the first. Lovely accommodation in a small peaceful village, just the job to spend a relaxing week away. 100% recommend!



Caroline replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you had a lovely time in the Cowbyre and we hope to see you again in the future.

Half term break at the Cow Byre in the Blackdown Hills

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic holiday cottage in a great location in the Blackdown Hills. The property is a beautifully restored and furnished Cow Byre with lots of space for our family, ensuite bathrooms and excellent beds and bedding and the all important wood burner for a winter stay.
Fantastic owners who ensure that you have all you need, including bread for our youngest two children to feed the ducks every morning, a splendid jar of homemade marmalade and a great welcome pack of local produce. The location made a perfect base for exploring the Jurrasic coast, Blackdown Hills, Dartmoor and Exmoor and the local (dog friendly) pub is a 10 minute walk for dinner and beer. We will be visiting again.




Comfort and beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of two cottages adjoining the owners parents home in the delightful village of Upottery. The cottage has three bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms, a living and dining area with a great wood burner and a well equipped kitchen. The cottage is finished to a high standard and is warm and comfy and spotlessly clean. Views from the cottage are out to the extensive grounds and adjoining countryside which is really stunning. Great base to explore this beautiful area and a pub within 10 minutes easy walk, even in the dark (although torch advisable!). Richard and Patsy, the owners parents make you very welcome and are on hand should you need any help/advice. A welcome pack including local produce and a treat for our dog was much appreciated. We will be returning and would highly recomend to others.



Christmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent A lovely Christmas week at Cowbyre cottage which included my in laws and my two children, 3 and 9 months old. The cottage was lovely and warm when we arrived and a fantastic welcome pack containing mince pies, wine, cheese and ice cream! The cottage is fully equipped including a decent amount of dishes, pots, pans etc which I find a lots of self catering places fall short of so we were able to make our Christmas lunch with ease.

It is very child friendly with a safety gate fitted at the stairs which was great for my crawling daughter. Caroline supplied a big box of toys for the kids which was fantastic! There was also a box of sporting equipment which would be good for the warmer months as there is a large patch of grass in front of the cottage. Would definitely love to come back in the summer and make use of the outdoor space.

All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend staying here.




excellent holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family of 6 we needed excellent location with matching accommodation and were not dissapointed. Fortunately the weather was kind to us.
Our hosts were very accommodating in all we asked which made our stay so nice.

We will definitely be visiting again to the excellent Cow Byre.




A lovely place to be

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well presented & comfortable accommodation in a beautiful part of East Devon countryside. Family business with thoughtful attention to all details of our stay greatly appreciated. Easy access to the coast & places of interest for both fine weather & wet weather options. All together splendid time.



Wonderful Place to Stay!!!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weeks stay at Bidwell Farm. The Owners, Patsy and Richard and their Family, are so welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble, just perfect hosts.
The Cow Byre is a fantastic place to stay, very comfortable, well equipped and reasonably priced for the quality of stay.
The Sidmouth Arms in the village is a must visit, we went three times in the week, and the food is beautiful! They were also very happy to accomodate our dog inside which was much appreciated.
The welcome package is a lovely touch, the ice cream is wonderful!
We would also like to say a very big thank you to Michael Douglas for his IT skills and fantastic marmalade!
We would whole heartedly recommend Bidwell Farm to everybody, thank you for a truly lovely stay.Wonderful




The perfect Devon getaway!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for a quiet stay with a really nice pub a short walk away. The hosts were positively charming and our 3 year old enjoyed feeding the ducks every morning. The facilities inside the cottage were perfect and we all had better nights sleep than in our own homes. The perfect base to explore Devon's attractions or you could just chill out in the garden with a good book.



A good time by all!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th or 5th visit and Bidwell Farm is, and has been enjoyed, by three generations of our family. The grandchildren in particular love the setting, the space and being able to see the ducks and sheep etc. It is a glorious spot in good old Devon.

Everything is in excellent order and the more technically advanced of the party were delighted with the enhanced WiFi - no longer slightly temperamental and slow.

The facilities for my disabled wife are adequate (not ideal) but stand head and shoulders above most rental properties - few provide accommodation that is usable by someone in a wheelchair.

Caroline, Pat and Richard are charming and helpful and concerned to see that the needs of guests are met. A great place to stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at The Cow Byre
Booking number:437
Booked with:Bidwell Farm Cottages




Easter weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Peaceful location, lovely cottage, beautiful views, great for a quiet retreat, central for visiting places of interest. Please sort the Wi-Fi out....



Caroline Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
I am very sorry to hear that you were experiencing some difficulties with the WiFi. We have now upgraded our system and there is a stronger and more consistent signal in all rooms.

Review

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was very easy to find with ample parking adjacent to the cottage.

Supermarkets are within a 10 minute drive so no need to stock up with food prior to making the journey

We arrived to a find lit log fire and a warm welcome. The accommodation was very clean, bed and bedding were excellent and all information required to make our stay very enjoyable was available and easy to find

Wi-fii, Sky TV and DVD player were a big bonus considering the consistent light rain throughout our weekend.

We would certainly have no hesitation to recommend and revisit Bidwell Farm Cottages




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent well maintained property with an attentive and genuinely helpful owner.

Excellent location for walking and general touring of the area

Highly recommended.




Winter half term break

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at the Cow Byre, the location was easy to find and everything was as listed on the web site. Caroline was on hand to meet us when we arrived and whenever we needed her by phone. The heating and water systems were easy to use, as was fire with supply of logs.

There was enough space for the dogs to sleep and the rooms were secure enough to keep them out. the grounds are large enough to stroll around, and you can loop around the lanes into Upottery and back to the cottage in less then fifneen minutes. Or take a longer route if you feel like it.

The rooms were all very clean and well presented. The local and cottage guides were exceptionally useful and helped us plan our week out. The opportunity to fish on site was great which we did with ease.

The local area is exceptionally beautiful and we spent most mornings waking up late with no sound around us, which from a city is great.

Most places in Devon are easy to get to, with traffic allowing less than an hour.

We would recommend the Bidwell Farm cottages to anyone with or without animals.

It would be nice to have somewhere to put dirty wellington boots, although we hid them behind the sofa.




Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We bought are week at a charity auction and it was a brilliant stay just like being at home , had the lovely big bedrooms and the kitchen dinner and the log burner which for the cold weather we had was ideal which all the logs we could have wished for, will be going back .



Xmas break at Cowbyre

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 5 adults who had a wonderful Xmas break at the Cow byre. The location is peaceful and the views are stunning, but it is really easy to get to places such as Honiton, the coast and Exeter from here. The accommodation was of a very high standard throughout. We were given a very warm welcome and the homemade bread, fresh duck eggs and local produce were greatly appreciated. We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Bidwell Farm Cottages and would like to return in the future.



Per-Christmas break

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Cow Byre to be an excellent location with three full ensuite bathrooms. They had a nice welcome package and all the necessities (towels, soap etc) were present. Once we turned the heat on the main room warmed up nicely and we found we did not need heat in the bedrooms. This was a great deal and we will return in the future.



Our family holiday at the Cow Byre, Bidwell Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Cow Byre, Bidwell Farm.
It is an excellent place for a family holiday "with every aspect pleasing". We have now had two holidays there but one needs to book early as it is so popular.
Ideal for children with plenty to keep them amused: swings, games, wide open spaces for them to play safely, ducks and fishing in the pond.
The beds are comfortable which is important if one has a bad back.
You can be sure of a great welcome.
Highly recommended.

Deborah from Great Bookham




Excellent relaxing holidays in the countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived at Bidwell Farm Cottages in the evening we felt very welcome.
The Cow Byre was very clean, spacious and we felt very comfortable as at home.
The very silent farm with a big piece of land is specially cultured.
There are three bedrooms each with seperate bath rooms, that makes a family with
4 children very happy and the daily life in the holidays very relaxing.
Lounge and kitchen are completely established and there is a special comfort zone.
Our hosts were very warmly and kind and exceedingly helpful in every way.
We enjoyed it to play soccer or Badminton on the large lawn and liked to feed the
dugs and to follow them to their lovely pond.
We enjoyed the common barbecueing and conservations with Patsy and Richard (hosts).
All in all we had very calm and enjoyable three weeks of our holidays.