FB Twitter

Barn Cottage

Barn Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Barn Cottage sleeps four in 1 king size double, 1 twin room. Open plan lounge/diner/kitchen including wood burning stove and fully equipped kitchen with electric double oven and induction hob, washing machine, tumble drier, dishwasher, fridge freezer and microwave. Lounge has panoramic views with windows on all sides, and the Cottage has its own large private garden with a burn running through it. Bathroom has bath and separate shower cubicle with electric shower.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn cottage is spacious and well equipped with a lovely private garden. The owners Anne and Mike were very welcoming and and helpful. A great place to stay for the week set in a wonderful part of Scotland.



Anne replied 28 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the cottage.

Couldn't wish for more!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Loch Seil Cottages (in Rowan Cottage last time), and was, if anything, even better …. although that was greatly helped by excellent weather this year. Barn Cottage is extremely comfortable and roomy, and the wee extras provided by Anne and Mike (especially Anne's home-made shortbread!) showed the level of thought and care that has gone into equipping the cottage. Even the dog was spoiled. We'll definitely be back.



Anne replied 31 days ago
Hi, thanks for the positive review comments. We look forward to seeing you back here again!

Great cottage in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at this cottage, having spent a week there in October 2017. Everything was spot on regarding cleanliness, equipment, great self-contained garden and lovely view of the loch below. The WiFi works really well which doesn't always happen elsewhere. We even got to grips with the log burning fire this time (being townies!) which was great.



Anne replied 42 days ago
It was great to see you again, thank you for taking time to review us. Hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Delightful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn Cottage was the perfect place for us to stay in for our holiday in Scotland. It is not far from Oban where you can take a ferry over to the Isle of Mull. The area is breath taking with its hills, locks and sea, it's close by is the Isle of Seil, which is very interesting with its history of Slate mining, where there is a very informative visitor centre that explains the history of the island.

Barn Cottage is beautifully kept by Ann and Mike, who are always there to help and advise on places to visit. There are welcoming gifts, (even for your dog) which makes you feel right at home from the on set, at the end of the day it's lovely to come back and relax in the comfortable lounge. We do hope to return soon.

Our thanks to Ann and Mike.




Anne replied 49 days ago
Hi, thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.

Barn Cottage Easter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Chosen for it’s proximity to Mull, this cottage provided a comfortable location from which to discover the island. We took our two dogs (additional charge) and enjoyed some excellent walks from in the woodland located virtually on our doorstep. The cottage was perfect and provided everything we needed for our mini holiday. Some lovely touches including a small welcome pack with tea/coffee/milk and even some home made shortbread! Really enjoyed ourselves, thank you.



Anne replied 70 days ago
Thanks for taking time to give us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Easter Bliss

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fantastic weekend with the family at Barn Cottage. Mike and Anne were fantastic hosts that made us feel so welcome. There were so many thoughtful touches that exceeded our expectations.
The location of the cottage is ideally placed for exploring much of the west coast and it is so peaceful at night time. I can’t remember the last time I could see the stars shining so brightly at night.

Our dog Edna had a great time too: she loved snoozing in front of the log burner!

Thank you for a wonderful Easter.




Anne replied 81 days ago
Hi, thanks for the comments, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves - including Edna of course!

Excellent cottage great short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at Loch Seil Cottages. The welcoming baskets both for ourselves and Marley the dog were a very pleasant surprise. Barn Cottage is equipped with everything you could need. The bedrooms are very welcoming with comfortable beds. The open plan kitchen lounge area is excellent, the views were lovely. The garden was great for the dog. Anne and Mike are wonderful hosts



Anne replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you and Marley enjoyed your stay!

Lovely cottage - amazing views.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, spacious and remote cottage. Just what we were looking for. The welcome basket on arrival, was a really nice touch. Would definitely recommend and we hope to go back.



Anne replied 105 days ago
Thanks for the lovely comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property. Clean comfortable with nice personal touches like the welcome packs... human and canine!
Very cosy.




Anne replied 125 days ago
Thank you for taking time to review us.

relaxed holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful and fully equipped holiday home in quiet location just 20 minutes out from Oban. Kind and accomodating hosts with heeps of good tips for a wonderful holiday including places to go see and things to doin the area. The location is ideal to discover the westcoast and the isle of Mull.We felt very comfortable and at home during our stay.



Anne replied 218 days ago
Hi, thanks so much for your comments. It was lovely to have you here for 2 weeks and hope to see you both again.

October break at Barn Cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a peaceful setting. Cottage well laid out and well equiped. Lots to do and see in the local area. Would definitely return.



Anne replied 245 days ago
Hi Carolyn, thanks for your comments! Hope to see you again some time.

Helen and David from Stockport

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage. Everything we could possibly need was provided and the furniture, furnishings and fittings were in excellent condition. The cottage is in a beautiful, scenic area with lots of local wildlife including red squirrels, buzzards, deer etc. The owners, Anne and Mike, were on hand if we needed anything but not intrusive. The Welcome Pack, which included some essentials and home-made shortbread biscuits, was a nice surprise. We will certainly be returning next year as we had a fantastic week full of walks, trips to the Isle of Mull and Easdale and sightseeing, despite wet weather on some days.



Anne replied 252 days ago
Thank you for your comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a week with family and three small dogs which Anne and Mike kindly let us bring, made to feel very welcome. Lovely location, very peaceful and scenic. Cottage well equipped and cosy with log burner. Short drive to local shops for provisions. Well placed for visiting local attractions and a trip on ferry to Isle of Mull a must, an amazing place with scenery out of this world. All in all a lovely cottage in a stunning location.



Anne replied 272 days ago
Thank you for your comments. So glad you all enjoyed your stay in Barn Cottage and your trip to Mull.

Barn Cottage - Loch Seil

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place. Very useful to be able to bring the dogs to such a nice place. The garden was worth the extra money and made dealing with the dogs easier.
Bed was really comfortable. We even found a lead and mini speaker so we could finish our audible book over breakfast.
The owners seem to have thought of everything. A big thank you to them.




Anne replied 278 days ago
Thanks for your comments. We're pleased you felt the garden was worth it, having an enclosed fenced garden is always a plus with dogs and that is one of the reasons Barn Cottage is so very popular. We have tried to use our own experiences to anticipate our guests' needs with that extra touch which makes a holiday a bit more of a luxury break.

The best self catering cottage we've ever stayed in

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the most beautiful cottage we have stayed in during our 45 years of self catering. It is rare that a holiday is perfect but ours was. The owners are such lovely people, there if you need them but respecting holidaymakers privacy which we think is very important. We can't praise Loch Sell cottages enough.



Anne replied 280 days ago
Thank you for such lovely comments. We are glad to hear we are getting it right and will strive to keep it so for all our guests. Hope to see you again.

Great cottage and very friendly owners

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is one of the best we ever had. Sitting on the couch and looking around over the Loch and the surrounding hills - unbeatable. The owner family was very friendly and the welcome package the provided was outstanding.



Anne replied 298 days ago
Hi, thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday up North!

Just great

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in wonderful surroundings! Just the place to stay and relax, do some walks in the nearby countryside. Perfect!



Anne replied 312 days ago
Hi, thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a good journey home.

Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great dog friendly property in a fantastic location for exploring the mainland and islands.
The owners have gone to extra lengths to provide a very well equipped cottage and provided lots of little extras that made our stay even better.




Anne replied 322 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed Barn Cottage and your holiday in Argyll.

Lovely cottage, ideal location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, ideal location. We had a brilliant week, boat trip to Easdale Island and the seals. Can recommend Gananvan Sands.



Anne replied 328 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found the location ideal for your holiday and enjoyed yourselves.

Beautiful cottage in a peaceful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. Barn cottage was very clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Ann and Mike the owners were extremely helpful, friendly and provided us with lots of information on the surrounding area.
Would definitely recommend Barn cottage to others who like peace and quiet.




Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Barm cottage. 1000 out of 100

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage had to be the bedt we have ever stayed in, so good thst the next cottage on our route we only stayed 2 nights instead of 3 becsuse Barn cottage had spoilt us do much. It will be hard to choose next time because the standard of the fit out, the comfort, and the location, also we could take our dog, all this will be hard to beat. The owners were very friendly and helpful, also the Barn had a bath, it had shower as well, but we do like a bath.



Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Christine thanks for your comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed Barn Cottage. We do try to spoil our guests, people and dogs alike!

Superb !

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many holiday cottages in Scotland over the last 30 years and can safely say that this was the best by far.
The standard is better than most hotels and the attention to detail is excellent ( welcome pack , bathroom essentials , local information , and even an emergency telephone as mobile reception is poor ) .
It is a beautiful location with plenty of walks and stunning views . It is remote and quiet with plenty of bird and animal life but only about 8 miles from shops and restaurants in Oban.
If you love this part of Scotland ( and who could not !) then you will love staying at Loch Seil Cottages.




Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a great review, we always appreciate feedback and thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Great location, beautiful cottage and a very warm welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week, made all the more enjoyable by the extremely high standard of Barn Cottage. We were warmly welcomed by Anne and Mike (and their 3 gorgeous dogs), who gave excellent advice on places to visit, where to spot local wildlife and - especially useful - good dog walking routes. Every detail was just about perfect, from the generous and thoughtful welcome pack to the basket of dog blankets and towels and supply of bathroom essentials in case of any forgotten items. The cottage is beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable, homely and very well stocked. It was great to have a kitchen containing everything we needed to cook and serve proper meals - no corners cut at all. The peaceful location and lovely garden were very restful and there is so much to see and do within a short distance. Our only regret was only booking one week rather than two!



Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Kate for your comments, we're really pleased you had such a good time and would love to welcome you back!

Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic, comfortable cottage. It would have been helpful to know in advance that although doggy friendly they are not allowed in bedrooms and also the fact that during April - June the walks directly from the cottage are not available to due lambing as this did hamper our ability to take an elderly dog for an easy access walk.



Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review us and for your comments. Our Terms and Conditions, which are available on our website and are sent out with every booking, clearly state that dogs are not permitted in the bedrooms. I am sorry that you found the dog walking restricted. The farmer did not restrict access last year and we were unaware that he was likely to do this. However, we did offer the use of our garden, which is nearly 2 acres, as an alternative place to exercise Murphy. We have to comply with the Scottish Outdoor Access code which includes adhering to agricultural restrictions which we cannot always predict. I hope this did not detract from your stay too much.

Chill out

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was lovely and warm with all the things you need for a relaxing holiday. Very well equipped. Had the log burner on once - not cold enough but would be super on a real cold winters night. Both Anne and Mike were very welcoming and friendly.
Perhaps one day we will return at a different time of the year when we need to recharge our batteries.




Anne and Mike replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind remarks and taking the time to review us.

Absoulte heaven we got all we wanted out of our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my friend wanted a nice relaxing break away from the madness of work and family lives and we got all we wanted was a beautiful calming place to stay.



Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to review us, and we're really pleased you had such a good time.

Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a really enjoyable few days at Barn Cottage. The cottage is very cosy and well equipped, with some really nice welcoming touches. Highly recommended.



Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and review, we are pleased you enjoyed your break!

January short break

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I enquired at very short notice about a two night short break for January 2017.
Anne couldn't have been more helpful in arranging this for me.
We met Mike upon arrival who was also very welcoming and helpful.
Barn cottage is simply stunning, beautifully refurbished and equipped to an extremely high standard through out.
The open plan layout is lovely and with the wood burner lit , extremely cosy!
The little touches make all the difference - milk and eggs in fridge, tea, coffee etc, household items etc.
The kitchen appliances are first class and even a slimline dishwasher is included.
At the door the little dog hamper is an extremely thoughtful touch , towels blanket and poo bags!
Tooth brushes, tooth paste and other toiletries are again an extra i haven't seen provided in many places.
The back garden is enclosed and large, perfect for dogs and in the summer i am sure it is just beautiful on a sunny night to sit and relax .
The cottages are remote but not so remote you have to travel miles to get to civilisation, Oban is 15 minutes north and the fascinating Easedale island 15 minutes south and make a perfect base from which to explore the area and further afield
I'm so glad i found Loch Seil Cottages when searching for a short break, we didn't want to leave after only two nights but i am sure we will be back for longer later in the year.
Very highly recommended
Thanks you
Andy & Gill




Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your comments, feedback is very much appreciated.