FB Twitter

The Garden House

The Garden House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


The Garden House is one of 3 luxury cottages at Lilycombe Farm. It sleeps up to 8 people in comfort and has its own private walled garden. Lilycombe has a 15 metre indoor heated pool for rainy days. There are lovely country pub walks and lots to do, including outings to Bath, Longleat, Cheddar Caves and Wells. Jack's Barn accommodates 10 people and Deerleap has space for 4 people.

Comment

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place to stay with the family with excellent amenities. Pool was perfect for our grandchildren and after having had initial concerns we found the booking system worked very well.

Philip from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in September 2019


Family holiday in delightful Somerset house

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very attractive house with a delightful courtyard garden and in a superb location. The owners are extremely thoughtful and happily provide information and assistance when required. The surrounding villages and countryside have much to offer including picturesque walks and great gastro pubs. The swimming pool was also an excellent addition and the booking system worked well. It was an ideal house for a lovely and relaxing family holiday.

Julia from Haywards Heath stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in August 2019


Beautiful property in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at the Garden House, which has plenty of space for two families. The swimming pool (which is right opposite) is great for both children and adults. We would thoroughly recommend.

Elizabeth from Guildford stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in July 2019


Beautiful peaceful surroundings a relaxing perfect place to unwind

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything in the garden house was extremely beautiful - the interior decor was exceptional, tasteful and elegant with beautiful bird pictures in one bedroom creating a garden oasis. The swimming pool was perfect - a two minute walk away- we made good use of it as we were the only guests for most of our stay - lovely warm water and clean and secluded. Every detail for a perfect holiday had been thought of - obviously the hosts are experienced and artistic!
They hosts were away during our stay so we did contact the housekeeper on our first evening to report two lamps in the living room (bulbs) which didn't work but she failed to return our calls, fortunately, found spare bulbs in a cupboard so all was well but felt she could have at least texted us back as she had given us her mobile number. A tiny hitch but perhaps the hosts should be aware that we did report this to her. One bathroom (the one near the bird pictures) was not cleaned properly as I found hair on the floor - (long so it wasn't mine) hence the good rather than excellent marking for cleanliness. The kitchen was extremely well equipped so cooking was easy. The games room with table tennis was also a hit. A peaceful and relaxing holiday well worth the cost.


Guest from Beckenham stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in May 2019


Rainy but good week

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at Garden House. Although the weather was terrible, the games room and pool provided good entertainment. Kitchen was a bit small (but absolutely fine for us). I think with 8 people it would be a struggle. The bathrooms and bedrooms were excellent

Linda from Gerrards Cross stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in June 2019


A great family retreat!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at the Garden House and it never fails to disappoint - from the minute you walk into the open plan lounge, kitchen and diner to be faced with a lovely welcome hamper and pastries it really is a super touch after a long journey.
For us it’s the amazing pool house that brings us back.
Even now there are two more properties on the site (making a total of three) you are able to book your own exclusive use of the heated indoor pool house with cinema and music system.
The owners are normally around and always come to welcome you and show you how to use the pool and gadgets around the house.
The area is wonderful too you are within short distance of Wells and Cheddar with plenty to do for the family.
We went on a pony trek with Tynings Trekking School - highly recommended.
The only improvement I would suggest is better and faster broadband internet speed please. Unfortunately I had to spend some of the holiday working and the slow speed and bad reception made this a little tricky at times.
Otherwise another fantastic time and we will be back!


Alison from Woking stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in April 2019


Excellent.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were the only guests so had sole use of the swimming pool and cinema and felt very priviledged. Weathrr awful but didn't matter. Not easy to find and wouldn't follow the instructions from the southwest (M5 going north) Better to stick on the M5 for one or 2 junctions
Overall a luxurious place to bring a family with young children.


Christopher from Plymouth stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in March 2019


Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at The Garden House. Very comfortable accommodation and very clean. Everything was there that we needed. The swimming pool is fantastic.
The owners were very helpful.


Tracy from Bexhill-on-sea stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in March 2019


Excellent service and surroundings as ever.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful wonderful place. We always love coming down to Lilycombe Farm. The pool is lovely and the conditions perfect.

Alison from London stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in February 2019


A great place to relax and have fun with the family

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable house situated deep amongst the Somerset lanes with walks from the door and good pubs a short drive (or local taxi ride) away. The swimming pool is gorgeous and very well maintained, with a superb sound and video system so you can swim along to a pounding beat. Lovely open fire in the house with a supply of logs from the woodland on site where you can roam and spot deer. A very relaxing place for a holiday.

Linda from Olney stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in January 2019


Amazing stay in beautiful Chewton Mendip

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garden House makes for the perfect holiday- with enough to do on site you hardly need to leave. The accommodation is beautifully appointed with extremely comfortable beds and every comfort. Lovely to be able to have a real fire in colder months. The pool was exceptional. Jane and Richard are wonderful hosts, who went to every effort to make sure we had a comfortable stay.

Louise from London stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in November 2018


Perfect Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arranged a weekend in the country for 8 friends to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful time together in perfect surroundings. The owners Richard and Jane were incredibly helpful and made us feel very welcome. The countryside around The Garden House was perfect for walks and cycling and the nearby Litton pub was also great for a cosy extended lunch. Both the decor throughout and the bed linen were of very high quality. Logs for the open fire were readily available (and included in the price) and the house was very warm with its independent central and underfloor heating systems. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. Thank you Richard and Jane!

Kevin from Stevenage stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in November 2018


Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for such a lovely stay for my wife's 30th birthday. The house was incredible and the pool was simply spectacular! We could not have asked for anything else! Richard and Jane were so helpful and we will definitely be returning!

Cat from Leeds stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely house to stay in

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quibbles out of the way first: a hook or two on the back of the master bedroom door and the bathroom door would have been really useful for hanging up towels etc. (Maybe guests should be warned about lots of flies and wasps - and occasional hornet - which didn't bother us at all but might be problematic for some). The beds were wonderfully comfortable, the showers efficient, and the kitchen had everything we needed. We all loved our stay, and of course the swimming pool and it's facilities are the crowning glory. We would certainly return another year if we can. I particularly liked how friendly, approachable, and helpful, the owners are, and small touches like the birthday card for my husband and the basket of welcome goodies made all the difference.

Anne from Bath stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in July 2018


Family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this lovely house with grandparents and grown up children.

The house has been well planned and has everything needed for a great holiday. The owners were incredibly supportive and even bought a fan as we were there during a heatwave .The pool is magnificent you can do lengths and it is a wonderful space.The area is peaceful and serene with lovely walks around.Wells is only about 5 miles away and easily accessible with lovely shops [and a Waitrose!!].There is a walled garden which effectively provides another room to the house


Carol from Stourbridge stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in June 2018


/////

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All good, especially beds and bedding. Kitchen quite tight but well equipped. Pool a real bonus. Only item missing was an ice tray for the freezer.

Barrie from Emsworth stayed at The Garden House for 4 nights in June 2018


The perfect w/e

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had the best weekend we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the children adored the swimming pool - would definitely recommend

Nichola from East Grinstead stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in May 2018


Family Holiday to Celebrate Ruby Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for what we needed with 6 adults and two small children, the latter being at one end with their parents downstairs! The farm is gloriously situated in beautiful Mendip countryside with Wells about 10 minutes away and Bath just over half an hour but always allow for traffic problems. The directions to the property are somewhat daunting at first and must be closely followed and don't take the side roads too fast! The Garden House has been wonderfully converted and is very well appointed and comfortable, though the kitchen area is small. The walled garden area is lovely though weather conditions did not make for sitting out! The swimming pool complex is fantastic and a real hit with the children, as was the nearby cowshed with the 3 cows! Plenty to do locally and everyone enjoyed a day at Longleat and visiting Glastonbury and Frome as well as National Trust properties. Barrington Court near Taunton is delightful. The owners are always there if you need them and most helpful, but not intrusive in any way.

Guest from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in April 2018


A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderfully equipped house in a delightful location with a stunning pool house for residents exclusive use. Owners very friendly and helpful but also leave you with your privacy. Spacious and well furnished the house gives a large group or family plenty of room and space. But the pool house and facilities are the real jewel in the crown - one of the best indoor heated pools we have come across and for that reason we will definitely return. Thank you so much!

Alison from Woking stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in April 2018


Easter weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The weekend was very good and we all thoroughly enjoyed . The private indoor pool facilities were amazing , the best I have seen in the UK and abroad . The owners made us feel very welcome and even set up an Easter egg hunt for our children. Highly recommended.

Craig from Nottingham stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in March 2018


You won't be disappointed.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booking something online with only pictures and reviews to go on is a risk. The reward this location offers is definitely worth it.
A remote farm but only 10 minutes from any food shopping you might want, it is well decorated inside and will have everything you need for your stay, comfortably sleeping 8 and a nice open plan living area so you can spend your time together.

Finally, if the property wasn't enough, with Richard & Jane you have two people who seem willing to do anything to make sure you have a great stay.

Trust me, you can't go wrong with this place.


Andy from Los Angeles stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in March 2018


V tranquil house and location. Wonderful pool

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have now stayed here 3 times so that probably speaks for itself.

Very attractive and comfortable house in peaceful rural location but easy distance to places of interest.
The swimming pool is delightful - and warm and clean. The owners are lovely- helpful and responsive but not over present.


Geraldine from London stayed at The Garden House for 4 nights in March 2018


A memorable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
tremendous house, lovely grounds, brilliant location and the swimming pool facility is a real wow factor!

Simon from Radlett stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in December 2017


Winter break with the whole family

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked The Garden House for a week in November as a holiday to celebrate a number of family birthdays. We took our children (13 month old twins), my parents and my sister and her husband. I can honestly say the holiday and the property suited everyone and we were never at a loss for something to do. The children had heaps of space to run around, theres a golf course not too far for my golf-mad brother in law and of course Bath is really close so we had some wonderful days out at the Christmas markets.
The property is so well laid out and has some amazing original features. It’s wonderfully peaceful and has a gorgeous private courtyard. The best thing by far is the indoor swimming pool. We spent a lot of time in there as a family.
We have some wonderful memories of our holiday at The Garden House and would highly recommend it as a place to stay with all the family.


Sally from East Grinstead stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in November 2017


A week near Wells

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the Garden House for a week to explore the Wells area and experience living in a house with an indoor pool.
Richard and Jane made us very welcome and helped us settle in. The pool is lovely and having it to ourselves most of the time was wonderful. Using the audio video facilities of the pool was initially daunting but with some practice we found it was great to swim whilst listening to our favourite music. We particularly enjoyed evenings in with the log fire burning - real wood fires make all the difference. In summary we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others.


Melvin from Eastcote stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in November 2017