FB Twitter

The Garden House

The Garden House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Stylish cottage that sleeps up to 8 in 4 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty near Bath, Bristol and Wells. Convenient for Longleat, Wookey, Cheddar, SS Great Britain, restaurants, pubs and walks. 15 metre indoor heated swimming pool. Extra accommodation for 4 available in adjacent suite.

Amazing stay in beautiful Chewton Mendip

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garden House makes for the perfect holiday- with enough to do on site you hardly need to leave. The accommodation is beautifully appointed with extremely comfortable beds and every comfort. Lovely to be able to have a real fire in colder months. The pool was exceptional. Jane and Richard are wonderful hosts, who went to every effort to make sure we had a comfortable stay.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Sawdays

Any changes you would like to see?
no



Louise from London stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in November 2018


Perfect Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arranged a weekend in the country for 8 friends to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful time together in perfect surroundings. The owners Richard and Jane were incredibly helpful and made us feel very welcome. The countryside around The Garden House was perfect for walks and cycling and the nearby Litton pub was also great for a cosy extended lunch. Both the decor throughout and the bed linen were of very high quality. Logs for the open fire were readily available (and included in the price) and the house was very warm with its independent central and underfloor heating systems. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. Thank you Richard and Jane!

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Google

Any changes you would like to see?
I can only think of small improvements such as hooks on the bathroom walls to hang towels and/or hooks on the back of the bedroom doors. A long mirror in the bedrooms would have been helpful for the ladies. Better selection of kitchen knives as I had to buy a carving knife from a local store. Otherwise a perfect stay.

Kevin from Stevenage stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in November 2018


Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for such a lovely stay for my wife's 30th birthday. The house was incredible and the pool was simply spectacular! We could not have asked for anything else! Richard and Jane were so helpful and we will definitely be returning!

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Premier Cottages

Any changes you would like to see?
The only slight improvement could be better wifi (but this is not essential!)



Cat from Leeds stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely house to stay in

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quibbles out of the way first: a hook or two on the back of the master bedroom door and the bathroom door would have been really useful for hanging up towels etc. (Maybe guests should be warned about lots of flies and wasps - and occasional hornet - which didn't bother us at all but might be problematic for some). The beds were wonderfully comfortable, the showers efficient, and the kitchen had everything we needed. We all loved our stay, and of course the swimming pool and it's facilities are the crowning glory. We would certainly return another year if we can. I particularly liked how friendly, approachable, and helpful, the owners are, and small touches like the birthday card for my husband and the basket of welcome goodies made all the difference.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
sorry - can't remember

Any changes you would like to see?
hooks - mentioned above.

Anne from Bath stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in July 2018


Family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this lovely house with grandparents and grown up children.

The house has been well planned and has everything needed for a great holiday. The owners were incredibly supportive and even bought a fan as we were there during a heatwave .The pool is magnificent you can do lengths and it is a wonderful space.The area is peaceful and serene with lovely walks around.Wells is only about 5 miles away and easily accessible with lovely shops [and a Waitrose!!].There is a walled garden which effectively provides another room to the house


Carol from Stourbridge stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in June 2018


/////

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All good, especially beds and bedding. Kitchen quite tight but well equipped. Pool a real bonus. Only item missing was an ice tray for the freezer.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
General searching under self-catering near Cheddar



Barrie from Emsworth stayed at The Garden House for 4 nights in June 2018


The perfect w/e

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had the best weekend we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the children adored the swimming pool - would definitely recommend

Nichola from East Grinstead stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in May 2018


Family Holiday to Celebrate Ruby Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for what we needed with 6 adults and two small children, the latter being at one end with their parents downstairs! The farm is gloriously situated in beautiful Mendip countryside with Wells about 10 minutes away and Bath just over half an hour but always allow for traffic problems. The directions to the property are somewhat daunting at first and must be closely followed and don't take the side roads too fast! The Garden House has been wonderfully converted and is very well appointed and comfortable, though the kitchen area is small. The walled garden area is lovely though weather conditions did not make for sitting out! The swimming pool complex is fantastic and a real hit with the children, as was the nearby cowshed with the 3 cows! Plenty to do locally and everyone enjoyed a day at Longleat and visiting Glastonbury and Frome as well as National Trust properties. Barrington Court near Taunton is delightful. The owners are always there if you need them and most helpful, but not intrusive in any way.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Lilycombe farm

Any changes you would like to see?
The high small window in the Master bedroom allowed light in in the early morning which was rather disturbing and it would be better if it was shuttered perhaps, though this might be difficult. The provision of mugs for tea would be very welcome!

Guest from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in April 2018


A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderfully equipped house in a delightful location with a stunning pool house for residents exclusive use. Owners very friendly and helpful but also leave you with your privacy. Spacious and well furnished the house gives a large group or family plenty of room and space. But the pool house and facilities are the real jewel in the crown - one of the best indoor heated pools we have come across and for that reason we will definitely return. Thank you so much!

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Direct Search

Any changes you would like to see?
Only small tweaks please - Harder mattress on a couple of the beds plus a larger waste bin. There was constant emptying with a house of 8 people! Perhaps consider a full welcome pack which includes milk, bread, bacon and eggs etc There wasn't even a pint of milk in the fridge. Small touches go a long way considering the price of the holiday.



Alison from Woking stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in April 2018


Easter weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The weekend was very good and we all thoroughly enjoyed . The private indoor pool facilities were amazing , the best I have seen in the UK and abroad . The owners made us feel very welcome and even set up an Easter egg hunt for our children. Highly recommended.

Craig from Nottingham stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in March 2018


You won't be disappointed.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booking something online with only pictures and reviews to go on is a risk. The reward this location offers is definitely worth it.
A remote farm but only 10 minutes from any food shopping you might want, it is well decorated inside and will have everything you need for your stay, comfortably sleeping 8 and a nice open plan living area so you can spend your time together.

Finally, if the property wasn't enough, with Richard & Jane you have two people who seem willing to do anything to make sure you have a great stay.

Trust me, you can't go wrong with this place.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Google

Any changes you would like to see?
The only minor suggestions I would make are for wheelchair accessibillty reasons, maybe having a few paving stones on the gravel drive around the place the sloped entrance ends so it is easier to wheel a chair across, and likewise maybe having some paving across the grass to the side entrance of the pool for wheel chairs as well, not really a major issue as we coped fine without.

Andy from Los Angeles stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in March 2018


V tranquil house and location. Wonderful pool

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have now stayed here 3 times so that probably speaks for itself.

Very attractive and comfortable house in peaceful rural location but easy distance to places of interest.
The swimming pool is delightful - and warm and clean. The owners are lovely- helpful and responsive but not over present.

Any changes you would like to see?
Cinema system coul maybe do with updating: some microwave dishes would be nice



Geraldine from London stayed at The Garden House for 4 nights in March 2018


A memorable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
tremendous house, lovely grounds, brilliant location and the swimming pool facility is a real wow factor!

Simon from Radlett stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in December 2017


Winter break with the whole family

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked The Garden House for a week in November as a holiday to celebrate a number of family birthdays. We took our children (13 month old twins), my parents and my sister and her husband. I can honestly say the holiday and the property suited everyone and we were never at a loss for something to do. The children had heaps of space to run around, theres a golf course not too far for my golf-mad brother in law and of course Bath is really close so we had some wonderful days out at the Christmas markets.
The property is so well laid out and has some amazing original features. It’s wonderfully peaceful and has a gorgeous private courtyard. The best thing by far is the indoor swimming pool. We spent a lot of time in there as a family.
We have some wonderful memories of our holiday at The Garden House and would highly recommend it as a place to stay with all the family.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Premier Cottages

Sally from East Grinstead stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in November 2017


A week near Wells

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the Garden House for a week to explore the Wells area and experience living in a house with an indoor pool.
Richard and Jane made us very welcome and helped us settle in. The pool is lovely and having it to ourselves most of the time was wonderful. Using the audio video facilities of the pool was initially daunting but with some practice we found it was great to swim whilst listening to our favourite music. We particularly enjoyed evenings in with the log fire burning - real wood fires make all the difference. In summary we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others.

Please tell us which website did you find us through?
Can't remember - general use of Google took us to your own website

Any changes you would like to see?
Not particularly

Melvin from Eastcote stayed at The Garden House for 7 nights in November 2017