FB Twitter

Jack's Barn

Jack's Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Jack's Barn has comfortable accommodation for 10 people in 5 bedrooms. There is plenty of private space outside and private parking. It is the biggest of 3 cottages at Lilycombe Farm, which has a 15 metre indoor heated swimming pool, cinema and games room. There are lovely pub walks within this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The cathedral city of Wells is 10 minutes by car, Bath 30 minutes. Good pubs and restaurants and lots to do.

70th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at jack's barn.
Very relaxing and clean atmosphere
Everything was perfect from the log fireplace, cinema room and pool.
We enjoyed loads of activities around the barn.
Thanks for our lovely stay and making my mother's birthday so memorable


Chandni from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in July 2020


Wonderful New Year break in the countryside

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic week we had at Jack’s Barn in Chewton Mendip. The house itself was perfect for our family and the 2 bedrooms on the ground floor we’re ideal so our carer could be next door to our daughter’s bedroom without them having to share. The other bedrooms were a great size too. The view and the location are very special. The pool and cinema room on site are great and the owners’ attention to detail is very apparent. If anything needed doing, Jane was really helpful and offered plenty of advice for what to do in the area, although she was never obtrusive and let us get on and enjoy our holiday.

Derren from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in December 2019


A magical Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With ten adults and six children aged five and under this was the most magical place to spend Christmas. The pool and games room provided entertainment and exercise, combined with lovely walks and visits to Wells and Glastonbury Tor, and Jacks Barn and Deerleap combined to provide the perfect holiday home for the whole family.

Miranda from Wantage stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in December 2019


What a fantastic place

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a birthday celebration weekend at the wonderful Jack's Barn, receiving a very warm welcome from the owner. The house is absolutely incredible and as for the pool, well it's even better than in the pictures! The location is great, close to lovely Wells and not too far from Bath, we are looking for our next celebration to give us an excuse to return.

Ryan from Witney stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in December 2019


If it is possible to give 20/10 as an overall rating, then Jack's Barn fully deserve this.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A splendid property. Well managed and very well kept. Superb attention to detail throughout. The owners are interior designers, and the attention to detail is very good indeed. We had a very comfortable stay (family event). The heated pool is just awesome. We also watched a movie in the cinema. Jack's Barn and the facilities is a great venue for families.

Claudia from Barcelona stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in November 2019


Family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, very comfortable with plenty of room for all of us. We loved the pool area, especially as we were able to book private time with the family and especially our 2 year old who absolutely loved it. My husband used it every morning! The games and cinema rooms were a hit too. The owners are very friendly. We had a wonderful week looking around, went to Bath, Wells and western super mare all in easy driving distance. We would thoroughly recommend this place to stay.

Paula from Basingstoke stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in November 2019


perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is ideally situated with easy access to the beautiful countryside of the Mendips,and the attractions of Bath, Bristol, and Wells.Jacks Barn is clean well maintained with everything you need.The owners Richard and Jane could not have been more helpful and I would recommend Jacks Barn without reservation.

Paul from Carnwath stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time we have stayed at Lilycombe and we will definitely be returning! Jacks Barn was stunning and spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. The pool was beautifully done and very warm so our 2 small children didn’t get cold at all. The play room with all the toys, table football and table tennis was an added bonus when we needed to fill a couple of hours in the rain (for the grown ups too!). There was something for every generation of our family to do, grandparents included as the location is idyllic.
Thank you very much Richard for a wonderful family holiday.


James from Kidlington stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in April 2019


Fabulous place for a family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our extended family of 10 (+ baby) stayed at Jack’s barn to celebrate my father’s 70th - we loved that the interiors were stunning and well thought out, barn was well equipped and surrounded by a beautiful and peaceful landscape.

The birthday man thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the convenience of a number of places to visit nearby (he even suggested extending the stay for another week!)

No expense was spared with the facilities with 2 dishwashers, power showers in all bathrooms and beds that were so comfortable - a few of us had commented how soundly we had slept in spite of being in a new environment.

The pièce de résistance was the large indoor pool - lovely to have a dip in and always set at a nice temperature, with 2 nicely sized shower rooms and plenty of pool seating around to lounge in - we were in the pool nearly everyday with the kids!

Last but not least, we were especially fond of Flora, the new puppy on the block and the affectionate cat, both of whom came to visit and play with the children.

The hosts, Jane and Richard, were very approachable and always happy to help or give advice on places to visit or eat.

Thanks for a brilliant stay and for helping us to make such special memories!


Guest from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in March 2019


Lovely place and people

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lilycombe farm is a beautiful place, great for families with kids. The owners are very friendly and warm. Well decorated home, with everything one needs. The only tiny "but"is the cleanliness of the pool side (some dead flies, spider etc on the ground), but than again; it is a farm, so I suppose that's part of the deal. It would be even more perfect if the place had a sauna as well.
All and all it's a place to go back to, to relax and enjoy life. It's impossible not to when you're there.


Rosaly from Amstelveen stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in February 2019


Superb stay at Jack’s Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the start of January - lovely, spacious and stylish house; fab pool & cinema room; excellent location with lots to do nearby yet also peaceful; and friendly & helpful hosts. We hope to be back! Thank you.

Susanna from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in January 2019