FB Twitter

Jack's Barn

Jack's Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Jack's Barn has comfortable accommodation for 10 people in 5 bedrooms. There is plenty of private space outside and private parking. It is the biggest of 3 cottages at Lilycombe Farm, which has a 15 metre indoor heated swimming pool, cinema and games room. There are lovely pub walks within this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The cathedral city of Wells is 10 minutes by car, Bath 30 minutes. Good pubs and restaurants and lots to do.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect in every way. The location is amazing with the most beautiful views. The barn itself has been beautifully done with such attention to detail. The swimming pool was glorious and the booking system worked very efficiently. The cinema too - so comfy and snug! We loved our stay and will definitely be back. Thank you!

Debby from Adderbury, Banbury stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in May 2022


Gorgeous

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely accommodation and area would definitely visit again !the pools is amazing and the cinema rooms as well! 5 stars

Alice from Basildon stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in April 2022


Jack's Barn is beautifully located and offers luxurious accommodation plus swimming pool.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jack's Barn offers spacious and luxurious accommodation with very interesting internal and external architectural detailing and exquisite interior decor.
Richard and Jane Clayton are charming hosts. For my family the highlight of the holiday was the use of the large swimming pool.
The extensive grounds are beautifully landscaped with wild woodland walks within a hundred metres. We had a lovely holiday at Jack's Barn.


Clifford from Teignmouth stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in April 2022


Excellent family break

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Dec 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really nice cottage. Spacious, clean and with access to a fantastic swimming pool. Nice touches like a real Xmas tree in the cottage.

Peter from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 5 nights in December 2021


Absolutely brilliant English Getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A party of 10 lads who went for a weekend getaway. Located in the middle of nowhere it can be a little hard to get too. Google maps did the trick for us but the owners sent a quote anyway. At night, it's so dark, you can see the stars in all their glory. If your looking for an isolated getaway, this is your spot. We went into Bath and Bristol for activities during the day each was about 40-45mins drive, which suited us fine. There are shops nearby but we just did a snack run before we arrived.

We arrived quite late on check in, the owners were very accommodating in getting us housed and settled. Jack's barn comprises of 5 double beds (maybe king size beds) in their own bedrooms. Some bedrooms were ensuite too. Their is a spacious living area with a log burner and TV connected to the internet so we could cast YouTube and Netflix media. The sofas are comfortable and stylish.
The kitchen has a massive table that can seat upto 22 (additional chairs stored away) and has everything you would need for a getaway from a gas hob, fridge freezer, grill, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. The finishing and quality of the barn were superb and I would say in a traditional style.

There is a private pool on site, roughly 15mx5mx1.2m, it is in its own building. It has two shower changing rooms, a treatment room if you order external spa treatments and a projector that connects to certain apps to play as you swim (we didn't try - we used the dab radio instead so it played throughout the complex as we swam).

There is also a cinema room. 5.1 Surround sound. It uses an iPad to control the content. You can use DVDs (they have a decent variety) or you can use internet streaming sites. Apply TV is the main host but I managed to use YouTube movies (as my movies are on there) the quality of video and sound was amazing.

All in all, an absolutely brilliant holiday getaway and I can't recommend it enough.


Sufian from Birmingham stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in November 2021


Perfect for a big family get together

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was booked for a family celebration of my wife and my 70th birthdays. Sadly Covid intervened and finally at the third attempt got there a year late! We were delighted with our choice.

The property is very comfortable with large bedrooms and allowed our 3 generations (8 adults and 4 small children) to congregate in the spacious lounge (with a wood burning stove) or around the huge farmhouse kitchen table.

Our plan was to spend time together as a family, without feeling that we had to be sightseeing every day. Everyone enjoyed the use of the swimming pool, games room and cinema , all bookable via a very effective online system. The garden area also offered space for the children to play safely. There are documented walks of varying lengths to suit all tastes and abilities.
On those days when we did venture further afield, Wookey Hole, Wells, Clark's Shopping Village at Street and the Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton were all within easy access and there are lots of other attractions to visit.

We had a superb holiday and would recommend this property and its excellent hosts Richard and Jane.


John from Solihull stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in October 2021


Excellent family celebration (together with Garden House)

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Jack's Barn and the Garden House for a family celebration (14 of us). Accommodation was very good and both properties very clean and well equipped. The pool was the highlight for the children. We took the owners' advice and booked a chef for the adults one evening which was a real treat. Being in 2 properties we decided to take main meals together in Jack's Barn but breakfast in the properties in which we slept. The properties are in fact some 50 yards apart and we sometimes found what was wanted in one place (such as milk) was in the other, so spent a bit of time walking between the the two. Not a problem but if you book more than one property spend a bit of time planning what you want where! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Alan from Haywards Heath stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in October 2021


A week in Somerset

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Jacks Barn ticked most boxes and we were especially fortunate that we saw no rain and enjoyed a succession of warm sunny days.
Our party had four infants and the facilities provided worked very well to cater for them in terms of accommodation, with a great response to cots and high chair requests.
Slight negatives concerned the poor washing facilities insofar as two dishwashers was marginally useful, where specifically for our party, a combination washer dryer was pretty inadequate and slow to cater for our needs. Similarly, the cooking equipment was enormous and might work for twenty people, but left us struggling with our six adults. The induction hob looks amazing but is very underpowered and as a self-catering facility, the equipment lets it down somewhat. Although everything is there, it falls well short of the quality of the rest of the property - the combi-microwave defeated us all.
The pool redeemed everything and was excellent and the local pub, the Litton was a real resource, friendly and welcoming with great food.
Overall, an excellent week


Guest from Malpas stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in October 2021


Fantastic family time together

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our break at Lilycombe Farm, peaceful and re-energising time together. Thoroughly enjoyed the super facilities especially the pool!


Mags from Dartmouth stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in September 2021


Wonderful Property

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Arrived to find the most beautiful property for our stay. The property was immaculate with plenty of room for us all. The grounds are very well maintained so is the pool. Only one small complaint no mirrors in any of the bedrooms.

Sarah from Camberley stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in September 2021


Uniquely stylish and comfortable place for a family celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jack's Barn is a beautiful barn conversion which is really easy to enjoy as a large family group. The interior design is even more refined and imaginative that the photographs suggest. The living spaces and bedrooms are super comfortable and the huge kitchen is fantastic to cook in. We also spent a lot of time in the outside dining and seating area which opens up from the living space in front of the barn and has a great well kept private garden area. The pool is a real highlight - huge, light, perfect temperature, and AV system. The cinema and games room is another well-thought out bonus. Lilycombe is in a beautiful part of Somerset with lots to do on the door step and further afield.

Lucy from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in September 2021


Family week away

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really relaxing stay at Jack's Barn. The swimming pool made our stay much more enjoyable. The barn was clean and tidy and well maintained

Valerie from Alcester stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in August 2021


Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a quite location. The property is extremely well presented. The swimming pool is on of the best we have ever had at a holiday home

David from Stafford stayed at Jack's Barn for 14 nights in July 2021


Enjoyed our stay very much

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swimming pool was excellent. Good booking system. Slightly disappointed by the size and comfort of living room space

Guest from Bromley stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in June 2021


Joy

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay, the house and surroundings where beautiful.
Having the swimming pool was an added luxury.


Jill from Nottingham stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in June 2021


A breath of fresh Air

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After months of lockdown and unable to see our eldest daughter and youngest son over the Christmas period we decided to treat ourselves instead of gifts to a break away when we where allowed to be together again.
Jacks barn provided us with the space , tranquillity and precious family time to be together again
The barn is beautiful as was the pool and all the thought that had gone into the family games and cinema room was brilliant
We had no problems with booking and using the pool and because we were blessed with amazing weather we played croquet and outside games together as a family . We did have a game of table tennis in the games room and would have happily spent a day using the games room had the weather not been kind
The quietness and beauty of the area was a tonic and we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone abs infact we have since returning home to a number of friends .


Carol from Maidstone stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in June 2021


Great stay at Jack’s Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a wonderful few days at Jack’s Barn. The barn was well presented and clean with ample towels, seating and crockery. We used the pool several times and the booking system worked well - did not get round to using the cinema room but it looked very nice. Grounds are beautiful. Lots to do locally and good location for many attractions the website gives you lots of ideas. Hosts very helpful beforehand and on site. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Maria from Broxbourne stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in June 2021


Stunning property in a very peaceful location perfect for large gatherings

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0

As a large family we rented both Jacks Barn and The Garden House to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary.
Jacks Barn is stunning with beautiful and very comfortable accommodation.
It is very well equipped with everything we required for the whole family to eat together every day both indoor and outdoor . The large swimming pool was very well used and thoroughly enjoyed as was the cinema room .The children were able to safely play and roam in the large gardens and watch out for the wildlife .
No one wanted to leave at the end of our week ,we will return again and we have already recommended the properties to friends


Ann from Worthing stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in May 2021


Stunning property perfect for our girls getaway.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After lockdown my friends and I were keen to have a weekend away together and Jack's Barn was the perfect venue to host our gathering, we could party or chill, and the pool is exceptional. We hope to have the opportunity to return together or with our families sometime.
Thank you.


Jenny from Maidenhead stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in May 2021


fantastic - a great break for our family

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our time at Jacks Barn. The location is great - just a few miles from Wells and although restrictions had an impact on local sights we still enjoyed Somerset.

The Barn, cinema and pool were perfect. Four days whizzed by as we enjoyed watching movies, swimming, a warm log fire and local pub food.

Hope to be back soon.


Gerry from Kidlington stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in October 2020


Perfect staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the very comfortable and beautifully designed Jacks barn. A great deal of attention to detail in terms of the quality of the beds and linen made it feel very luxurious. The elevated location was stunning with walks a plenty right out of the door. The annotated OS maps were great, providing local insight and walks we would not otherwise have found. The pool/cinema and games room are brilliant, especially with children and for rainy days.

Caroline from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in October 2020


Wonderful 40th

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect holiday, stunning house with wonderful facilities. Location was fabulous.
Richard was great with very clear communication during booking.


Ailsa from Sutton stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in September 2020


A lovely secluded setting for a family or group holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time at Lilycombe, the accommodation is attractive and comfortable, and the pool outstanding. The booking system works really well and enables families to enjoy the pool on their own at convenient times. Jane looked after us well, despite the limitations of COVID we had a relaxing and enjoyable time.

Charles from Halstead stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in September 2020


70th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at jack's barn.
Very relaxing and clean atmosphere
Everything was perfect from the log fireplace, cinema room and pool.
We enjoyed loads of activities around the barn.
Thanks for our lovely stay and making my mother's birthday so memorable


Chandni from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in July 2020


Wonderful New Year break in the countryside

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic week we had at Jack’s Barn in Chewton Mendip. The house itself was perfect for our family and the 2 bedrooms on the ground floor we’re ideal so our carer could be next door to our daughter’s bedroom without them having to share. The other bedrooms were a great size too. The view and the location are very special. The pool and cinema room on site are great and the owners’ attention to detail is very apparent. If anything needed doing, Jane was really helpful and offered plenty of advice for what to do in the area, although she was never obtrusive and let us get on and enjoy our holiday.

Derren from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in December 2019


A magical Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With ten adults and six children aged five and under this was the most magical place to spend Christmas. The pool and games room provided entertainment and exercise, combined with lovely walks and visits to Wells and Glastonbury Tor, and Jacks Barn and Deerleap combined to provide the perfect holiday home for the whole family.

Miranda from Wantage stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in December 2019


What a fantastic place

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a birthday celebration weekend at the wonderful Jack's Barn, receiving a very warm welcome from the owner. The house is absolutely incredible and as for the pool, well it's even better than in the pictures! The location is great, close to lovely Wells and not too far from Bath, we are looking for our next celebration to give us an excuse to return.

Ryan from Witney stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in December 2019


If it is possible to give 20/10 as an overall rating, then Jack's Barn fully deserve this.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A splendid property. Well managed and very well kept. Superb attention to detail throughout. The owners are interior designers, and the attention to detail is very good indeed. We had a very comfortable stay (family event). The heated pool is just awesome. We also watched a movie in the cinema. Jack's Barn and the facilities is a great venue for families.

Claudia from Barcelona stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in November 2019


Family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, very comfortable with plenty of room for all of us. We loved the pool area, especially as we were able to book private time with the family and especially our 2 year old who absolutely loved it. My husband used it every morning! The games and cinema rooms were a hit too. The owners are very friendly. We had a wonderful week looking around, went to Bath, Wells and western super mare all in easy driving distance. We would thoroughly recommend this place to stay.

Paula from Basingstoke stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in November 2019


perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is ideally situated with easy access to the beautiful countryside of the Mendips,and the attractions of Bath, Bristol, and Wells.Jacks Barn is clean well maintained with everything you need.The owners Richard and Jane could not have been more helpful and I would recommend Jacks Barn without reservation.

Paul from Carnwath stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time we have stayed at Lilycombe and we will definitely be returning! Jacks Barn was stunning and spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. The pool was beautifully done and very warm so our 2 small children didn’t get cold at all. The play room with all the toys, table football and table tennis was an added bonus when we needed to fill a couple of hours in the rain (for the grown ups too!). There was something for every generation of our family to do, grandparents included as the location is idyllic.
Thank you very much Richard for a wonderful family holiday.


James from Kidlington stayed at Jack's Barn for 4 nights in April 2019


Fabulous place for a family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our extended family of 10 (+ baby) stayed at Jack’s barn to celebrate my father’s 70th - we loved that the interiors were stunning and well thought out, barn was well equipped and surrounded by a beautiful and peaceful landscape.

The birthday man thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the convenience of a number of places to visit nearby (he even suggested extending the stay for another week!)

No expense was spared with the facilities with 2 dishwashers, power showers in all bathrooms and beds that were so comfortable - a few of us had commented how soundly we had slept in spite of being in a new environment.

The pièce de résistance was the large indoor pool - lovely to have a dip in and always set at a nice temperature, with 2 nicely sized shower rooms and plenty of pool seating around to lounge in - we were in the pool nearly everyday with the kids!

Last but not least, we were especially fond of Flora, the new puppy on the block and the affectionate cat, both of whom came to visit and play with the children.

The hosts, Jane and Richard, were very approachable and always happy to help or give advice on places to visit or eat.

Thanks for a brilliant stay and for helping us to make such special memories!


Guest from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in March 2019


Lovely place and people

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lilycombe farm is a beautiful place, great for families with kids. The owners are very friendly and warm. Well decorated home, with everything one needs. The only tiny "but"is the cleanliness of the pool side (some dead flies, spider etc on the ground), but than again; it is a farm, so I suppose that's part of the deal. It would be even more perfect if the place had a sauna as well.
All and all it's a place to go back to, to relax and enjoy life. It's impossible not to when you're there.


Rosaly from Amstelveen stayed at Jack's Barn for 7 nights in February 2019


Superb stay at Jack’s Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the start of January - lovely, spacious and stylish house; fab pool & cinema room; excellent location with lots to do nearby yet also peaceful; and friendly & helpful hosts. We hope to be back! Thank you.

Susanna from London stayed at Jack's Barn for 3 nights in January 2019