FB Twitter

The Steadings

The Steadings

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


The Steadings has been imaginatively renovated from a former derelict barn to a stylish and beautifully presented house with stunning views across lush grassland to the sea and the island of Lismore beyond. Situated at the entrance to Glengalmadale, the backdrop to this property is spectacular. The Loch Linnhe shoreline is a short walk from the cottage where there is a delightful stone beach to watch the waves roll in.

Attractively furnished and well equipped throughout with a bright, fresh feel that encourages relaxation, this single storey house provides an ideal family venue and caters for all ages and abilities. The large, stylish open plan kitchen, lounge and dining room opens onto the conservatory; creating the heart of the house and is a marvellous gathering place after exhilarating days spent out and about. All five bedrooms are en suite and are equipped with TVs in each room. There is also an additional shower/wet room that is wheelchair friendly. Outside a pretty sun-trap courtyard is ideal for summertime barbecues. There is also a useful bike store and a small enclosed garden.

Low Occupancy Discounts are also available all year round when booking on our website. From the prices advertised, 1-4 guests (two bedrooms available) have a 33% discount and for 5-6 guests (three bedrooms) the discount is 12%. Please make a note on the booking form as to the number of guests in your party and the special rate will be calculated. For bedrooms that are not required, these will be unavailable during your stay. When confirming your booking, we will ask which type of en-suite you require (i.e. a bathroom with a shower or a bath with an overhead shower).

Please note that if you require the use of four or more bedrooms, no discount is available.

Up to three dogs welcome, charged at £24/pet. Fenced garden/grass area.

PEACEFUL BLISS

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed last year with n Seaview Cottage and made a last minute booking due to holiday abroad cancelled. We stayed 11 nights and it was beautiful stags and deers everywhere even in the garden. Pine Martin visiting the windowsill at night for his jam and peanut butter. We saw otters, seals, badgers, red squirrels and an eagle. Fantastic local walks and a trip to the beautiful SENNA Bay.
A great price for this large property for just the two of us and a perfect place to celebrate our RUBY Wedding Anniversary.
Thank You Kingairloch for being so accommodating.




A fantastic holiday for all

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to relax and unwind, the surroundings are stunning and there is also plenty of wildlife to discover,. The cottage has everything you need. We will definitely be coming back.



Autumn magic!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a spectacular week - sparkling clean, ample space for everyone to spread out , gorgeous views across the loch and a great spot for star gazing and ambling down to the beach to see the wildlife. Excellent spot to base yourself on for exploring the wider Movern peninsula on bike, on foot and in the water. A truly magical place to be. I'd come here every week if I could. Thank you to Susan and team for their wonderful hospitality and care.



Fantastic place

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at the Steadings and Kingairloch. Went 3 generations and had a fantastic time. Such a beautiful place and renovated with great taste.



Wonderfully Wild Scenery and Peaceful Location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very much as expected and better! Expansive views onto the loch and a beautiful glen just behind the property. Absolute calm, fresh air and water. Property was well equipped and comfortable even after taking into account current temporary COVID-19 related restrictions. Very much recommend this property for anyone wanting a quiet and healthy time with the family. I don't think there are many place quite like this available as holiday lets.

Customer service was limited, primarily due to COVID-19, but this was no impediment to our stay as everything worked well. The pre-rental information is very complete, so we arrived well prepared. The comfort is good although the rooms, which we occupied, only have showers and no bathtubs. Much of the cutlery and some of the dishes needed a clean before we could use them. This was out of tune with the otherwise spotless condition of the property. Due to the remoteness of the location there is hardly any mobile phone reception. A telephone wire leads to the property but no telephone is connected to it. It would be good, for emergencies etc., if the occupants of the property could reach the estate's office through a reliable connection.




Excellent family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Steadings. Great place for a family gathering. Full week of sunshine. Range of wildlife was spectacular - dolphins, pine martin, seals, otters, golden eagle, slow worms. We all went swimming in the clear water and fishing.



A Brilliant Place for a Quiet Break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Steadings at the beginning of August with my sister's family and their dog. It's a long drive from England but it's worth it, especially as it involves passing through magnificent Glen Coe. Once you get to the Corran ferry, you're nearly there One word of warning here though, our tow-bar scraped the ferry ramp going on and off. On arrival you soon realise you're in a very special place between the loch and a magnificent U-shaped valley.
The house is very comfortable and there is plenty of space to spread out. The kitchen is well-equipped with sharp knives (important if your party includes cooking fans). Make sure you plan meals etc carefully, it's a long drive to shops of any description.
One other thing to bear in mind: there's no wi-fi, and limited phone coverage in the house (but a decent signal, especially EE) very close by. You can get wi-fi but it's a short drive or walk/ride into the estate to pick it up. Our teenagers 'needed' to visit the wi-fi every day!
The estate has plenty to offer, particularly walks (the coastal walk is lovely and the 'horseshoe' walk is do-able, but very tough especially the initial climb. There's some mountain-biking, and a very satisfying circular 28 mile road bike ride past Loch Sunart.
We loved it and would definitely go back. Susan is very helpful and runs a tight ship.





Excellent accommodation, perfect location!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot fault our stay at The Steadings. It’s the only property large enough for our family, although we only needed 3 rooms and not all 5. The fact that they give a discount for unused bedrooms makes it excellent value for money. We can not fault anything about our stay!



High standards.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent all around. Wonderful location and really well appointed accommodation. We'll be back for sure when the weather is less wet.



Perfect highland retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay at Kingairloch! This was our second stay at The Steadings for a family break (if it's just the two of us we choose a smaller cottage on the estate) and the cottage was everything we wanted. The visit was enhanced by catching a pine marten on our wildlife cam again and also what looked like a Scottish wildcat (looked like she'd recently given birth too) although the photos were black and white and a bit blurry - please don't tell me it was just a local pet patrolling the garden wall. Still early enough in the Autumn to spot a few seals and there were plenty of eagles. Just watching the changing light over the glen was so relaxing while my husband had a couple of days on the hill and saw more stags than he could easily count. Looking forward to next year's visit already!



Utterly breathtaking and magical stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The steadings exceeded our expectations in every way. The setting is breathtaking, with stunning views of the mountains and glen behind and the loch to the front. Our children were able to run free and spent a great deal of time in the glen, riding their bikes, exploring the streams and waterfalls and having a go at fishing in the lake. The property was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and equipped. It was a lovely touch that there were so many books and games available to keep us all occupied in inclement weather.

The location is peaceful and quite remote, but conveniently located to explore other areas. We did a lovely day trip to Mull and Iona, also Fortwilliam/Glencoe and surrounds. We even fitted in a trip to Loch Ness.

Don’t be put off by the lack of WiFi, I was able to pick up a phone signal by walking just 30 yards from the front door and the mobile WiFi worked 100 metres down the road, which was more than ample to quickly check emails etc if necessary (we tried not to!). There is also free WiFi at the Boathouse. We had a lovely meal in the Boathouse on our last night. Susan, the estate owner, was very welcoming and she is also an excellent cook!

We all took Kingairloch to our hearts. The children keep asking to go back and they regularly talk about the deer that hung out next to the property every day, the pine marten that visited each night to eat peanut butter toast from the windowsill, and the eagles they saw hunting over the glen. We would return in a heartbeat.




A perfect piece of heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view from Steadings is beyond words. The whole estate is stunning and everyone involved amazing!



Beautiful holiday sitting right where the mountains meet the sea

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Large red deer stag grazing on the bank right behind the house one evening and the following morning! Beautifully converted steading, with good sized bedrooms, all ensuite, and extensive and comfortable social spaces. Really practical and comfortable layout. We just loved sitting in the sun room, one side looking to the mountains and the other to the sea. Modern stylish decor in all rooms. Well appointed with everything we needed. Short walk to the beach in front, that we had all to ourselves. Very dog friendly. Would highly recommend and would love to return.



Fantastic!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start?! Everything about Kingairloch was amazing. We stayed in the Steadings - family of 4 plus grandparents. The house was excellent, very spacious, comfortable and very well equipped.

The location is breathtaking. Plenty of good walks catering for all abilities with the most stunning scenery.

Thanks to the staff at the estate and look forward to seeing you again!

Oh, and the food at the Boathouse is brilliant!




The Steadings

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Kingairloch, previously having stayed in the gorgeous Seaview cottage, we loved it so much we returned with the family to The Steadings.
The setting is beautiful, and the accommodation is very comfortable and of an excellent standard. We had a lovely lunch at The Boathouse and the relaxed feel to the whole estate makes for a very refreshing experience. Thank you to The Kingairloch team, we are looking forward to our next visit.
The Moores




Most relaxing stay ....

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here several times now and just love the house and the location. Wildlife is on the doorstep as are many great walks. When we weren't out and about we spent most of the time in the conservatory staying up quite late watching the night sky, pine marten, bats and owls and Harry the goat. Sitting in the courtyard the bats were flying around us so close you could hear their wing beats, quite an experience! I managed to catch a small trout at Loch Uisge, hubby failed miserably as usual. The house is well equipped and comfortable, can't ask for anything more.



shush don't tell anybody.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place in an ab fab location. Dear on the hill next to the garden and a Pine Martin came for a bite to eat each night. Eagles flying overhead and Dolphins spied from the road. A great place for family holidays with a beach and stream nearby. Great for BBQ's, Canoeing, Walking and Cycling. Enjoy.



A place to relax peace and quiet.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings is a fantastic place to stay we have been there four times now it is such a comfortable place we sleep so well there.
The views from the conservatory are lovely as are the views from the bedrooms up the glen it has everything you need for a great holiday. lot's of wildlife from the door deer/ eagles/wild goats/and of course the pine martins who come most nights in the long window by the tv they love there peanut butter or jam soldiers. There are some lovely walks from the door up the glen or to the old mill the beach is a great place for the dog to have a swim. The old boat house does some lovely food do not miss it we stayed
there later this year and it was closed we did miss it.It was great to see sue again who came around to check everything is okay
lovely lady. Alfie the collie had the time of his life he thought the beach was the best place he would go there everyday if he could.
The Steadings is a great place to relax and it is all on one level. We will be back soon that is for sure.




Recent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Absolutely excellent, a few tiny maintenance bits, loo seat loose in twin room, flashing corridor light and light bulb replacements.
But did not spoil and amazing time




Ps: don't tell anyone about it.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Children plus grandchildren one week, friends the next . I enjoyed both weeks immensely. The area has all the comforts (the boathouse, en suite , outstanding views. I could go on} and all the ruggedness one might enjoy (Ben Nevis and other great walks, off road and on road cycling and grandchildren. Deer's on the drive and pine martins each night. Great area lovely people just fabulous. Booked in already for 2019.



Perfect Location and Homely Accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings is in a perfect location for a highland getaway. The views to sea and behind the house are stunning, with plenty of space and room to chill out both inside and out if you have filled each room. The kitchen and lounge area is spacious with great views from a separate conservatory area which has a fun table football game.
Wildlife is also in abundance with eagles and buzzards soaring overhead, red deer coming close to the house and a pine marten that likes to be fed! Alex and Susan were very welcoming and made us feel immediately at home.




A fantastic stay blessed with fabulous weather.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay. Beautiful surroundings in a well presented cottage. For us the only small draw back the fridge freezer was too small for a large group. Apart from that small thing we had a fantastic time. We will come again. Would recommend to everyone.



A haven in a location not to be missed

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited with 5 lady friends. We have travelled all over the world including South America, Alaska, N.Z and OZ and many more locations. This peaceful little haven right on our doorstep on Ardnamurachan on the west coast of Scotland was the perfect place for a chill out two days. Beautiful scenery, fabulous walks, wonderful wildlife and 5* accommodation. The tray bake and scones on arrival were so good and the food and service in The Boat House were excellent. Sue, we will be back and we have passed on details of your wonderful estate, hopefully you don't get too busy to the point that you cannot accommodate us in the future.



Great weekend break !!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another visit to the Steadings, with improvements every time we visit.
House is extremely comfortable with plenty of space for our party of 8 with ensuite for every room.
Love the isolation and the wildlife, however dont leave the windows open at night as we had a pine martin attempting to break in !

Super location for a short break, our only negative points would be there is no cell service or internet provision on site, would be happy to pay additional charge for wifi to keep in contact with work !

10/10




Fabulous stay at the Steadings

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, absolutely top class stay !!! 5 adults 5 children.would have liked to have stayed longer, lovely walks streams and beautiful surroundings. The house was warm inviting and comfortable and had everything you could have needed a real home from home. Would definatly like to return.



A beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steading is in a stunning location, it is well equipped, beautiful scenery and lots of wildlife.



A Great place for a Holiday peace and quiet.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the steadings and it was as good as the 1st time.You have the Glen to the rear of the property and from the very comfortable conservatory at the front of the steadings is the loch the scenery is lovely where ever you look.Great walks from the door in every direction.Deer. Eagles. Goat's and of course the pine martin's who come every night in the
long window by the tv to see what goodies you have left them and they can all be seen at the steadings.The boat house is well worth a visit the food is lovely from a light lunch to an evening meal the cakes are really scrumptious to.And Amy is a very good hostess we wish her lot's of luck with the new venture.It was nice to meet Sue. Alex and family this time and of course Sue Larson
who always likes to say hello and check you are ok we will be looking forward forward to our next visit see you soon.




Pine martens, wild goats, stags and stunning scenery just for starters!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family and friends congregated for a long weekend from 9 - 12 March at The Steadings and Riverside Cottage to help me celebrate my 50th birthday. They had come from as near as Dunoon, Glasgow, Dundee and London and as far as Bankok and Vancouver, and everyone enjoyed it so much that we have already booked again for next year!
We were very kindly allowed to plant a Rowan tree in the tranquillity of the walled garden beside the ceilidh hall in loving memory of our dear Su, recently departed family member who made a huge impact on those whose lives she touched. We know she would have enjoyed the view and the company of the hens who she would have emulated in her signature wicker models in that lovely spot.
Mother's Day lunch for our group of twelve at The Boathouse was warm and welcoming with nothing too much trouble and the views across the loch were breathtaking as the warm sunshine melted the snow on the surrounding hills.
Thoroughly recommend!




Feb 2018 Steadings Annual family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are repeat customers who have been staying at Kingairloch for over a decade now. Each property we have stayed in has been warm with comfy beds, good facilities for self catering and bath/shower rooms. The location and selection of wildlife to spot makes the holiday for us. Communication when booking is very good and nothing is too much trouble. The estate is well run by a lovely family and their team. Because of the location you need to take in a good amount of supplies for the week if you want to stay put. We have stayed at different times of year and not had a bad stay in all this time. We have toured around from Kingairloch out to the many sights which are easily reached for day trips. We tend to stay around the estate more now, exploring and wildlife spotting as you can't beat the feeling of seeing something new, free and living in the wild. I have taken hundreds of photos each time we stay of wildlife and the scenery and the light is always changing, it is just such a beautiful place to be. For us it is our annual family holiday now and long may it continue!



Great accomodation in stunning area

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Working in the area
Ideal accomodation furnished to a very high standard
Would use again for holiday




Christmas Stress Free Break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location. The Steading was comfortable, well equipped and in an excellent location. Family and dogs all thoroughly enjoyed our break. Views are stunning and to see the local wildlife up close a real treat.



The Steadings a little piece of heaven.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at the Steadings we love it fantastic views up the glen at the back or looking at the loch
from the conservatory at the front lovely when the sun is out.Deer. Eagles.Goats. And of course the pine martin's who come around at night for for a sticky treat in the long window near the tv.You have lovely walks from the door the scenery is fantastic.The Steadings has everything you need very well equipped for a great holiday. It was nice to see Sue. Katrina and Staff again.
They always make you feel very welcome and will always pass the time of day with you however busy they are.We hope to be back again soon.
Doreen & Martin
And Rigby.




Wow

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you want to get away from everything this is the place to go.
Everything was of a very high standard and very roomy.
The only thing that would have made it better a cupboard, with a few essentials in, like flour, a few herbs etc.
I would recommend everybody to go and eat in the boathouse, the food and service was excellent.
Thank you for a memorable stay.




Fabulous cottage in a stunning setting

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was out third stay on the Kingairloch estate. The Steadings is a beautiful, well appointed cottage, although the word cottage doesn't really do it justice. It's huge! We could have spent the whole week sitting in the conservatory admiring the ever-changing views across to Loch Linnhe and south towards Mull. Warm and cosy with underfloor heating throughout, and the utility/drying room is fantastic. Enclosed garden area is perfect for dogs and children alike. We'll definitely be back!



Another lovely stay......

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We find the house and location perfect for us. There are plenty of walks from the door, easy or difficult, the choice is yours. Wildlife in abundance and three cuckoos to watch this year. The house is warm and comfortable and has all the facilities you could need including new patio dining furniture. We highly recommend this property.



A trip down memory lane....

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed on Kingairloch back in 1980. The location absolutely stunning; the accommodation then very basic to say the least! We had a radio, but that switched over to Gaelic radio from 7 o'clock each evening! Apart from that, nothing much at all; a real "get away from it all" location. We continued staying on Kingairloch for several years after that and brought our children here for the first 10/11 years of their lives.

We decided to pay a return visit this year and were pleased to find that the "get away from it all" element is very much still in existence. The Steadings is a relatively new rental, only a collection of stone built barns back in the day! We were blown away by the very comfortable, stylish furnishings. En-suite bathrooms for all bedrooms an absolute bonus, as is the garden room which overlooks stunning views out to the bay. The walking, too, is glorious., So much freedom.

Would recommend The Boathouse for an evening meal. The setting is perfect, again very stylish, and the food was out of this world. Amy, who we met whilst she was cleaning The Steadings and then again in the restaurant is lovely - very friendly, efficient and interested in our reminiscences (or at least is she was a tad bored, she certainly didn't show it!)

Looking forward very much to a return visit. Cannot recommend highly enough.




Amazing location will return!

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house for a group of friends/family. We had 3 families & children & a dog. Worked brilliantly as the sleeping accommodation is at right angles to living space so children could sleep without noise from adults at night! All Ensuite which was fab. 2 bathrooms have a bath, rest showers.

Everything there that you need for a fab stay.

Location AMAZING will not beat it. Mountains & beach from your front door. Fully enclosed garden so safe for dogs/children to play.

Saw stags next to house, eagles, seals such a lovely sight seeing them in their natural habitat.

Would highly recommend we will be back.




A delightful away from it all break in the wilds!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted an away from it all break and Kingairloch provided that for us along with a related local history dimension for us that we found fascinating and our host most helpful. We had 10 nights in the Steadings with Ruby, our young Golden Retriever, and our adult children joined us for the final 3 nights. We walked in the Glens every day, no need to go far the estate has breathtaking scenery and wildlife although it is important to dress for the conditions. As advised we traveled with full provisions for our stay, cooking for ourselves in the evening which included fayre from the estate larder which again was excellent.There are village shops and ale houses although we found opening times limited and it involved at best a 40 minute plus round trip.

The location was fantastic, the property had everything we needed and was very well presented but you are more likely to see Red Deer than a reliable mobile phone signal and would advise doing any research ahead of the holiday as internet access and bandwidth limited.

We felt most welcome, comfortable and would have liked to stay longer, to quote Arnie.....we will be back!




A pleasant Home in wonderful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That was our second stay in the steadings.We ,my wife and I ,my daughter and her boyfriend and our yellow labrador Harry enjoyed our stay It is not just a house ,it is a home.A lot of space inside and outside the house.A beutiful surrounding.We will come back soon.



A wonderful autumn break in a beautiful remote yet easily accessible location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a wonderful autumn break at the Steadings. The location is remote enough to enjoy tranquility yet easily accessible via the Corran ferry.
The accommodation was spotless, very well equiped (the utility room doubles as an efficient drying room) and provided ample space for all.
We were fortunate with the weather and had plenty of walks, cycles or simply times at the nearby beach with the children. Also saw a bit of the wildlife too.
We would go back in a beat!




A week of lovely weather in a lovely place.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The steadings is a lovely place very peaceful with fantastic views and great walk's from the door. We would love to go there again
and see the pine martin's jump up in the window waiting for a jam sandwich. This is the second time we have been to kingairloch
it is a lovely place to go and unwind and enjoy the country side. The boat house is a great place to have a meal or a light snack.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and it was really nice of sue to come around and visit and check everything was okay it
was nice to see her again. Rigby the lab loved his holiday and like us looking forward to going there again. Thank you for a really
great time.




Amazing location near Fort William

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, accommodation was amazing. Even saw the pine marten on 2 evenings!! Plenty of deer and wildlife. Lovely location next to the Loch. Perfect location for the dogs too who had a fantastic time.



Paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully located and comfortably equipped cottage. We stayed warm and got our gear dried out. We heard stags roaring, saw eagles, deer, feral goats and a pine marten. We highly recommend this piece of heaven.



Peace and quiet, a total chill out location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the steadings. Kingairloch is remote enough to allow you to get away from work and totally relax the added benefit of weak phone signal and no wifi in the building meant that we could totally switch off. The location is also perfect for many day trips, we visited Sanna Beach which has golden sands and is dog friendly. Similarly you can easily catch the ferry to Mull (about half an hours drive from the property, the crossing is £23 for a return ticket) and have a great day sight seeing, Calgary beach is also worth a visit. FortWilliam is about an hour and 20 minutes away, so convenient enough to pick up groceries and also climbing Ben Nevis if your feeling energetic (though if tackling the mountain we would recommend an early start).

Be aware that the ferry to and from the peninsular is £8.20 each way, so this can mount up. It is worth planning day trips before hand. You can buy a book of 30 tickets for £72, if you plan on making a lot of crossings this may be worth looking at. The tickets are vehicle specific so it is not possible to share the tickets amongst a group of vehicles.

Kingairloch itself is beautiful, with many walks which have been graded by the owner and details are included in a really useful guest folder in the property. Fishing is available on the estate (catch and release only), and the ability to fish alone in a fabulous glen, just you and the wildlife was magical.

The estate owner is really accommodating and put me in touch with a local who was able to recommend good areas to fish, there is also a kitchen garden on the estate where you can order fresh vegetables, eggs, preserves, cakes and ice-cream. All is then delivered to your property. The boathouse restaurant is well worth a visit. The couple who run the restaurant and friendly and the quality of the food is good, you can even purchase homemade dog biscuits.

The steadings is a pet friendly property and our dogs probably enjoyed their holiday as much as we did. Our only complaint is that we had to leave at the end of our 11 night stay.




magical location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here twice already, can,t wait to make it three, fantastic accommodation and location, the views from all sides of the house are amazing. Had a visit from a Pine Martin, he/she likes jam sandwiches and eggs.



Two weeks of peace and quiet.....

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to the Steadings and we find the property and location ideal for us. It is warm, comfortable and has all the equipment you could ever need. It makes a change to have large, comfortable beds too, which sometimes we've found to be a big let down in self catering properties elsewhere . Other things we appreciate are bath sheets rather than bath towels and a good sized freezer for supplies.

The conservatory is super for watching the wildlife that regularly visits very close by including pine marten, deer, goats etc. Of course it's also good for sitting in and relaxing on cooler, damp days if you're not inclined to go out or when the midges are about!

Looking forward to our return visit next year ☺







short break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a few good days pity about the weather but would recommend both the accommodation and location. hope to come back again for a longer stay next time. the Boathouse is a inspiration and the food was very good



Easter break with the family!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Kingairloch on several occasions, The Old Post Office and Ghardail, but this was our first stay at the Steadings. A very comfortable and well maintained property, but very close to Glen cottage, which could be an issue if there was a noisy party next door!!

Nicola and Neil are very welcoming and helpful, a good addition to the Estate. All in all, another lovely stay in this glorious place!




Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay. Yes The Steadings and The Glen are close to each other, however we have never had a problem with parties in either property affecting each other. Quite a few times, larger groups like to book both so that they are adjacent to each other.