FB Twitter

Glen Osdale

Glen Osdale

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


Situated in the quiet crofting community of Borve, Glen Osdale has widespread views across the adjoining crofts and mountains. This self-catering home has two twin bedrooms upstairs with the master bedroom and ensuite on the ground floor. Open plan lounge and dining room with log fire, well equipped kitchen and an additional study. Glen Osdale is centrally located and is perfect for exploring the Isle of Skye and Raasay. It is just 10 mins drive from the main town of Portree.

Oct 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, great house and area it is very handy for amenities lovely owners & great staff at i&h.



Will be back!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time of visiting this cottage. Location is great, so peaceful. Great base for exploring the island. Accommodation great and down stair room was ideal, for elderly mum. Staff at Islands and Highlands Cottages helpful and good to deal with. Will be returning again in the future,



Goed huis prima locatie

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Goede locatie. Rustig maar toch op 6 minuten rijden vanaf portree.
Voldoende ruimte, fijne openhaard.
De keuken kon een goede schoonmaakbeurt gebruiken.




Comfortable cottage in excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Skye and visit as often as we can. This was our first visit to this cottage but we’ll certainly be returning.
Glen Osdale is comfortable, well equipped, and set in an excellent location. It is relaxing and peaceful but conveniently close to the amenities of the island’s largest settlement. You get a strong sense of history, passing ancient standing stones as you turn into the cottage trackway.
The cottage garden is enclosed by a fence, except for the trackway where there is a cattle grid. This proved no obstacle to some friendly neighbourhood dogs who paid us occasional visits.
Borve is a crofting township so there are plenty of animals close by. We had highland cattle and a horse in the field behind us, sheep in the fields to the front. There's also a good range of birds and other wildlife in the area, so binoculars are handy.




Comfortable house

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an enjoyable stay at Glen Osdale, the house is well located for visiting all of Skye. The house is warm, cosy, and well equipped.



Excellent base to explore a very beautiful Island

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Glen Osdale. We were very comfortable and there was lots of space for all the family to relax. The house faces southwest so there was lots of sunlight in most of the rooms. Plenty of cupboards to store clothes. (the kids enjoyed hiding in these!)So pleased to have a washing machine and dryer (so important with wee ones!) There is also a whirligig for outdoor drying. There is an outhouse at the back which was fun to explore. The house feels secluded in the hamlet of Borve. It is really close to Portree, less than 10 mins drive. Skye is quite a big Island and Borve is really central for getting to most places. Linen and towels clean and comfortable. the property was very clean throughout. Excellent value considering you could comfortably accommodate 7 adults. Hope to go back soon.



Comfortable, spacious and well-located but could do with some attention

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our family of 6 (3 adult couples) had a lovely week based in this warm, comfortable, homely place. There is a lot of space to spread out, plenty of furniture and equipment and the heating is effective (important on Skye even in July). We found the location to be very convenient, central to the island making most places readily accessible, feeling remote yet only 10 minutes from Portree.

The rent was very reasonable for a place of this size, but the corresponding down-side to this is that it could do with a bit of maintenance/upgrading. The water pressure in the showers is rather low, the stair carpet is worn through in places, the ancient dishwasher just about works still although we had to throw in a tablet after the programme had started owing to a broken catch, etc. To us, these were niggles rather than major issues, though. We would happily stay there again.





I&H Cottages replied 126 days ago
Thanks for your comments. The owner is taking them all on board. Just to let you know that works have been arranged to upgrade the shower pressures for mid August. Thanks again for booking with us.

A very comfortable, spacious, well equipped cottage within easy distance of Skye's many attractions

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only criticism ( if any) would be that 2nd bathroom is downstairs and would be more "convenient" upstairs !!



IH Cottages replied 147 days ago
Thanks for the review. We've passed on your comments to the owners who appreciate them too! We hope you enjoyed your stay on Skye! Thanks again!

Glen Osdale June trip

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great stay, fantastic location and the cottage was huge with all the amenities you need. The only complaint we have is with the showers - they were terrible to the point of hardly being usable at times. No power, just a trickle, and often either scalding hot or freezing cold with no inbetween. Other than that we would definitely stay again and I would highly recommend staying here. The communal area has a wood fire and comfy sofas with a selection of board games and Dvds- very homely!



IH Cottages replied 147 days ago
Thanks for the review and for letting us know about the showers. We've passed the comments on to the owners who appreciate it too! Thanks again!