FB Twitter

TUIM COTTAGE

TUIM COTTAGE

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.6


This pretty cottage is close to the river and has mature scots pines in the wild part of the garden and wildlife abounds. A wood stove in the original stone fireplace and central heating makes for a very cosy home from home. Lovely walks along the river to the falls and beyond. Can be combined with East Lodge, nearby, for a larger party. The cottage sleeps 4 in two bedrooms and is ideal for a couple as well as it is secluded and quiet. There is a small part of the garden enclosed for dogs and small children otherwise the garden is unenclosed and wild. Fishing for trout in season is available free on the river.

Weeks stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spent a week in Tuim cottage whilst cycling and walking in the area.
The cottage was adequate but in need of updating and decoration.
Fortunately my wife did not accompany me, she wouldn’t have been as easily pleased.


John from Scunthorpe stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 21 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Tuim Cottage. After a busy season we are about to wind down and over the quieter winter months we do schedule a programme of maintenance, decorating and freshening up of all the cottages ready for next year. Unfortunately during your stay the boiler broke down, however we did get an engineer as soon as we could and supplied you with portable heaters to bridge the slight gap, and the hot water was unaffected by this.

Red Squirrels at Tuim

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful setting with enclosed garden ideal for our two English Setters, birds and squirrels visiting us. Lovely backdrop of Schiehallion.

Phil from Scarborough stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 35 days ago
Thank you for your review of your stay in Tuim Cottage. Nice to hear the squirrels and birds visited the garden during your stay, there are certainly lots of them in the woods surrounding the cottage.

Comfortable, cosy house in very nice surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay at Tuim Cottage for a week and fell in love with it. It's a very comfortable house at a lovely place looking out on Schiehallion mountain. A good base for visiting several touristic attractions e.g. castles (Blair, Menzies), places like Pitlochry & Aberfeldy, walking in de High Mountains, distilleries, touring (do drive along the borders of the lochs! It's beautiful), spotting wildlife and so on. We had lack of time for all the possibilities. We have to come back. Tuim Cottage is very well equipped for self-catering, but eating out is also no problem.

G. from Zwolle stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 63 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of Tuim Cottage, which I am happy to hear you enjoyed. Dunalastair is an ideal location for a base to get out and about to see lots in the area which you seem to have done although not reached your goal of seeing everything so maybe we shall see you again the future.

Clean and well equipped

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - clean, well equipped cottage and a fast response to queries. Good location for walks and activities.

Guest from Eindhoven stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 10 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 84 days ago
Happy to hear you all enjoyed your recent stay in Tuim Cottage here on Dunalastair and you found it an ideal area for walking and other activities.

We keep coming back . . .

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pine martens, red squirrels & roe deer in the garden . . . trout out of the Queen's Pool . . . wonderful walks around the estate grounds . . . that view of Schiehallion out of the kitchen window . . . there really is no better location for a holiday. And ideal for dog owners (although don't overlook the spot-on treatment for ticks). Too chilly to swim in the river this year but we did all our favourite things plus a few more. And there's plenty of unexplored territory for next time.

Guest from Old Woking stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied 133 days ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Tuim and good to know that you still haven't yet explored everywhere in the area so looking forward to seeing you on your next visit. Sounds like you the wildlife kept you entertained and you had a successful fishing expedition.

Fabulous holiday cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tuim cottage was everything we expected and more. We were husband, wife and mother along with our 2 labs Holly and Hanna. We stayed a week and it was fabulous. The accommodation was very good and excellent facilities from the kitchen facilities through to the log burner stove. The surrounding area was perfect- a nice sized enclosed garden and then the unfenced wilder surroundings but still save to allow the dogs out on their own - they loved sitting in the wild garden in the early morning sun. good walk for them here and also we went out in the afternoons in the car to other local walks. Weather was very kind to us and we had a week of sunshine. We don't usually stay in the same place twice but we have already reserved for next year.

Christine from Kilwinning stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied 195 days ago
Glad to hear that you all spent a lovely week at Tuim and you were lucky with the weather which has continued to shine. And look forward to seeing you all again next year.

A perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 nights at the end of Feb/beginning of March. A lovely cottage in a fantastic location with no surrounding properties, so it is very peaceful and private. East lodge is fairly close by but even if it was occupied (which it wasn't during our stay) I don't think it would affect you in Tuim. Although the cottage is next to the road, it is quiet with little traffic. The back garden is fully enclosed, so safe for dogs (and children). A very useful sensor light was also appreciated when letting the dog out last thing at night. Its little things like this and other nice touches that I think make all the difference. This cottage has everything you might need provided and bedding and towels are new and good quality. Even the carpets looked as if they had been recently replaced. As we were out during the day and the evenings were still dark, we mostly used the conservatory as a handy storage area for muddy boots, wet jackets, dog towels etc. but it and the garden were lovely and sunny and ideal for sitting out, once the weather warms up a little. We drove past some of the other cottages while we were there, all of which looked to be somewhere we would like to stay and definitely plan to return at some point in the not too distant future. The only reason I have scored value for money as good, is because I have stayed in other cottages of the same high standard which have been cheaper, so its simply a direct comparison with previous experiences. Overall I would thoroughly recommend Tuim cottage and can't think of any negative issues or suggest any points for improvement.



Joanne from Aberfoyle stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 5 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied 214 days ago
Pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Tuim Cottage. The road that passes by is quite quiet and glad know that this did not disturb you in your seclusion. Over the quieter winter months we try to do any works required in the cottages and Tuim has seen bit of work done to it to make it more comfortable for our guests.

Really didn't want to leave

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an extended weekend here in late March 2017. The cottage was very comfortable - especially the beds. Ideal after a long days walking. Having said that, on the Sunday we lazed by the river on a rock, in the sunshine. The cottage is some 18 miles from Pitlochry, with easy access to the Eastern side of Rannoch Moor. The scenery is stunning and the walking fabulous. Sadly, the day we set off for Rannoch Station to take the train to Culloch and walk back to the station the railway wasn't running; giving us a perfect excuse to return. My wife spent the Tuesday of our return working out when we will return to the Dunalastair Estate.

Martin from Petworth stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 4 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 230 days ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Dunalastair. The weather was quite amazing during your week with us and its good to know you managed a good bit of walking but also good to know you haven't quite finished walking in the area. Look forward to your repeat visit.

Very good

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very good chill out enjoyed the fire it made the cottage very cosy, bathroom could do with a bit of touch up but for bye that every thing was great.

Joyce from Grangemouth stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 3 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 242 days ago
Glad to hear that you managed to chill out during your short break with us. The log burner does indeed make it toasty as it was when I visited you.

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great stay, cottage clean with all appliances you need. Bird watching from cottage also saw red squirrel. Ideal for fishing as river about 100 yards away. Great time had by all would definitely go back.

Eleanor from Edinburgh stayed at TUIM COTTAGE for 3 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 242 days ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend with us and good to hear that the wildlife were out in force. Hopefully you managed to catch something when you were out fishing but if not maybe next time.