FB Twitter

Rowan Tree Lodge

Rowan Tree Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and large covered balcony . Refurbished 2014

Sleeping 2- 4 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living an

Loch views

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would be brilliant however road noise and midges can be irritating but these are issues beyond everyday control. The actual lodge is great the location close to Oban and Fort William provides loads of options re days out.




a short break in appin

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely few days in a stunning location, perfect base for walks and exploring. Nice food and coffee at The Corran.



Where to start

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our lodge was great with a view second to none, the family who run the site could not have been more welcoming " thanks Jim & family " . The location is excellent for touring the west coast and the Creagan Inn was friendly and welcoming to our large party of eight plus baby.

We will be coming back, great holiday and our friends in the Cherry tree lodge say the same.




Family break as a new family of 4

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at Rowan lodge (2 adults, 3 yo and 11 wk old) in June 2017. We have always stayed in Oban (previously had a family holiday house there) so this was our first time coming to the area and staying elsewhere. The lodge was in a lovely location with a fabulous view out across the loch. The veranda area was well sheltered which I used for a spot of morning yoga! Our 3 yo loved exploring the surrounding area which had plenty of interest for her including the old train line and station house and venturing down to the shore. A travel cot and highchair were already in the lodge for us (we weren't ready for the highchair but the thought was appreciated) and we had a very comfortable stay. Some lovely wee touches in the lodge, obviously going for a seaside theme and not far from the very nice Creagan Inn for a spot of food and more fantastic views.



Family+friends

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at appin holiday holmes for a week with friends. Cabin was well presented and clean. Everything you could require was there. The views down the loch and the scenery were spectacular. Jim and julie were very friendly. Even gave a bottle of champagne and chocs to our friends as they were celebrating their 50th anniversary. A nice touch that wasnt expected. Will return .



New year stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? Brilliant. Lovely lodge & a warm welcome. Beautiful scenery & a pub just 5 minutes away. Will definitely be back.



Best One we have stayed in yet close to all places of interest in western Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rowan tree Lodge has every thing you need to have a perfect holiday.The lodge and grounds are kept in very good order.



Rowan Tree Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another lovely week in Appin holiday homes. Lovely lodge with a superb view. Hope to return next year. Definitely recommend a visit to this beautiful part of Scotland.



A week in paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit here can't beat the view from the lodge owner Jim brilliant nothing too much trouble for him dogs welcome in certain lodges , very quiet area will be back soon



Rowan Tree Lodge at Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice lodge well placed for enjoying the surrounding area, friendly and helpful staff, the coastal road which wax close by was quiet in the evenings



Great stuff

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super value for money chalets great views great location friendly welcome all you need and more - stayed here's if a dozen times and always pleased. ........



Weekend Break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a great time with the family in one of the Lodges. The lodge was clean & tidy on arrival, which is always a good start to a holiday. All the lodges have great views over the lochs and are a great base to explore the surrounding area. We went to Oban, Fort Willian, Mallaig, etc. Also the Restaurant / Pub down the road was only a short stroll down the road.




Christmas at Appin

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner's parents actually occupied Rowan Tree lodge during our stay at Appin Holiday homes - they are both in their eighties and found the experience relaxing, rewarding and rejuvenating . They both enjoyed morning strolls along the old railway track and we all had a delicious meal in the local hostelry The Creagan Inn where we were all made to feel very welcome indeed. This is their second visit to Appin Holiday Homes as they accompanied us back in October when we had two caravans lochside ; they immediately fell in love with the place and I envisage them wanting to be part of all our future holidays there - judging by the extraordinary number of photos they took I am sure they will be spreading the word all around Devon . A very successful vacation indeed !



Great holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for a lovely holiday or long weekend. Lovely accommodation in beautiful location. All the lodges have a balcony overlooking the loch which is great.



Appin Holiday Homes Experience.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very enjoyable stay in and around Port Appin though I think the perfect weather may have put a special gloss on everything. There were many places of interest to visit so not everything was weather dependant and even poor weather would not have spoiled the experiences we had.
We found that the food was excellent at all cafes and restaurants and the food was often baked on the premises.




Rowan Tree Relaxation

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay here Comfortable chalet with all the amenities needed for a short break Great views over Loch Creran Lots to do nearby and easy access to Fort William, Glencoe and Oban so a good base to explore the ahighlands



A lovely short break

Review submitted on Sat, 30 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin Holiday Homes provides the perfect location for a Scottish break. The accommodation is immaculately clean and very comfortable. The lodge contains everything required for a self catering holiday. The grounds are well maintained and provide a peaceful haven with good views over Loch Creran. Ideally placed location with Oban and Fort William a short car journey. The local pub, offering good quality food and drink is a 5 minute walk. Jim and Julie our hosts were, as ever, welcoming and helpful.



My Stay in Appin

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My review of this property echoes the review I provided on Beech. My daughter and son in law and 3 grandkids stayed in this lodge and they were very satisfied with the experience.
They also look forward to returning to Appin and Weir's cabins.
Gerry Mc Menemy.




Another perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived after a long drive. The lights and heating had been thoughtfully turned on in welcome. The lodge was immaculately clean and very comfortable. We stayed for 12 nights and wished it could have been longer. The weather was perfect and there is plenty to do in the area, even out of season. Julie and Jim are great hosts.



great family get-away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time on our last minute weekend away at appin holiday homes. I had two small children and no car for a day, but there was still plenty to do within toddling distance - exploring the site and guddling about on the shore. The lodge was fantastic, completely child friendly and very cute! We really hope to come back for longer next time.



Rowan Tree Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay the villas are more than comfortable, the view of the Loch and surrounding countryside are outstanding and the situation is central to many other places of interest.



a break to re-engage with nature

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The lodges are in a beautiful setting with easy access to beautiful countryside, lochs and amenities. A truly invigorating experience. We will definately recommend to others and would love to return.






a break to re-engage with nature

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The lodges are in a beautiful setting with easy access to beautiful countryside, lochs and amenities. A truly invigorating experience. We will definately recommend to others and would love to return.






Wonderful lochside holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful holiday in a lovely lochside lodge. The lodge is set back from the loch, which for us was perfect as we got amazing views of the loch without fear of midgies! In fact midgies weren't a problem for us, unfortunately it was the ticks that the children got when playing by rope swing, not a major issue, but worth being aware of.

The lodge itself was comfortable, clean and well stocked. The only place for improvement would be the bathroom. A shower curtain and nonslip bathmat needed replacing and the grout was mouldy. The beds are very comfy.

There is a road running in front of the lodge, but this isn't a safety issue for the children as there is 15/20ft of grass that slopes down to a high hedge before the road. There is road noise, but hardly noticeable - the view of the loch distracts you!

The only other niggle (and it really is a niggle) was the light that the lodge on our left kept on most nights, it lit our bedroom too.

Overall a lovely family holiday, which we hope to do again one day. A perfect location to go off exploring what the West Coast of Scotland has on offer. Castle Stalker just round the corner, Loch Ness a beautiful drive 1.5 hours away, Glen Coe a beautiful drive 30 mins away, the Isle of Mull a beautiful 20 mins to Oban and 30 mins on a ferry away!

Thank you for a super holiday!




Excellent base to explore West Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've repeatedly stayed here since I was brought by my Grandparents 25ish yrs ago. Location is excellent as a base for further exploring or just staying in with a book and the view.

The Weir family are always warm, welcoming and not intrusive in any way.

The lodges are well appointed, clean and contain the crockery & equipment necessary for eating & drinking. The making you have to do yourself :D

If you enjoy peace and quiet you'll find plenty of it here. If you enjoy the outdoors you'll find plenty of it here too!

Until the next time.




Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the fab review it means a lot especially from our returning guests it means we are not frightening you off! Got to thank your grandparents too!.....

Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was brilliant!very clean,tidy,modern and in a lovely location which made it easy to get to places of interest.
We will certainly be visiting again in the future.
Thankyou very much
Linden Hiscock Michael Bennett




Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Appin thanks for the review.

Ideal for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 nights in the Rowan Tree lodge, as a mid week break and found everything 1st class from the location, view, maintenance of the park and cleanliness of the accommodation. the manager could not be more helpful and the other plus was the Creagan Inn bar and restaurant on the lockside a short ten minutes walk away. good meals and prices, at a perfect location. I would be hard pushed to find a negative about the lodges, but if I am very critical I have to mention the road noise close to the cabin, but it in no way spoilt our stay at Appin Holiday Homes.All in all a relaxing break.



JUlie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review it is much appreciated.

Wonderful and with weather

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and with warm sunny weather this trip we had an ideal location for local relaxation as well as for exploring the Lorn area. Some recent refurbishment has added to the comfort factor and as always a warm welcome.



A Beautiful Location with astonishing views

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Appin Holiday Homes by accident a couple of years ago and have now been 3x. The site is right beside Loch Creran and the news are amazing every morning.

The site is well situated for walks into the hills behind (right outside the rear of the chalets), the disused train line behind the chalets offers great walks to Appin, Castle Stalker & beyond and also up round the top of the Loch beyond the road bridge which is a beautiful circular walk right by the lochside for half of it.

The chalets are spacious and very comfortable with everything you could need for even a wet-weather stay. There is even wi-fi if you desperately need it (sometimes good for planning trips out etc) up in the Games Room. The site owners Julie & Jim could not be friendlier and more helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they are a key part of the warmth of the site. They have also spent a lot of time in the last couple of years renovating the chalets and have done a great job and the chalets have a fresh contemporary feel whilst still making you feel like your muddy boots haven't wrecked everything if you forget to take them off after a long walk.

Though we don't have kids, our feeling is that it would be a very safe and easy place to take them to. The main road that runs across the front is completely obscured by a cleverly positioned hedge and there is plenty to do out the back of the chalets in terms of play areas, very close but open woodland etc where they could be easily monitored.

The views from the chalets is just breathtaking and I miss it right now sitting in my pokey office at home. The Loch is just beautiful and on a sunny day with little wind, the glassy surface of such a huge body of water is awe-inspiring. A short drive (or nice brisk walk) will get you to Port Appin where you can catch the ferry to Lismore for about £1.60 each way. This is well worth it, Lismore is a beautiful island and there is a nice 1/4day walk to the Heritage Centre (with brilliant cafe) and slightly longer walk back (as you'll be full of hot chocolate etc) to the Port to catch the ferry back.

The Cregan Inn just 5mins walk up the road from the chalets serves excellent and reasonably priced high quality bar food and there are a few other cafes within a short drive (The View at Appin and Ben Lora at Benderloch are 2 highlights). Main shops are probably the little pink supermarket in Benderloch, then Oban (20min drive) itself has a big Tesco and Co-Op.

All in all, Appin is well situated for visitor attractions to the north and south in either Oban and beyond or Fort William up to Ben Nevis and Glencoe.

For balance, there is a main road running between the chalets and the Loch, but this is 'busy' for maybe 15-20mins a day (less at weekends), the rest of the time the quiet and tranquility is astonishing.




Just perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the chalet, the view, easy access to places of interest & a brilliant pub/restaurant a 10 minute walk down the road. What more could you ask for!



Great wee holiday home

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely views from balcony over loch. Great location for getting to Oban an surrounding islands as well as getting up it Ben Nevis. Lodge itself well equipped and comfy stay