FB Twitter

Otter Holt Lodge- Pet Friendly

Otter Holt Lodge- Pet Friendly

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and large decked area.

Sleeping 2- 4 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open pla

Tired, unloved and unclean in areas

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The view is unbeatable, the noisey road was not evident from the blurb, most of all the place needs a new bed (coming apart ) new mattress ( deid) sofa, ( see matress) kitchen blind ( broken and rolled up ) bathroom blind ( filthy and stained) as was the 3 legged dressing table stool which had years of stains on the cover.
Most of the surfaces had significant dust and in some cases dirt deposits.
Wouldn't take a lot to fix but looks like that if your getting £400 for3 nights why bother?
Wouldn't recommend





A wonderful weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spectacular views, a cosy cabin and a very warm welcome from the owners. Already booked a return visit. John & Leah.



Peaceful location

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely views over loch ideal location . Pet friendly which is a bonus and enclosed verandah lovely walks ideal pub nearby for good food .



Fantastic!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We try to get up to Appin Holiday chalets at least twice a year - one definitely at New Year. It is a home from home and a great way to re-charge your batteries. The scenery is fantastic and you are only 20 minutes from Oban or Fort William. Can't wait to get back!



Good value self-catering in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Appin Holiday Homes provides pleasant lodges in a beautiful part of Western Scotland, with attractive countryside nearby and convenient for Oban and Fort William. The Creagan Inn is a short walk, very convenient for dinner. We brought our cats with us to Otter Holt lodge, one of the lodges in which pets are permitted. Unfortunately the main road, though traffic was light, was too close to allow our cats to wander freely outside the lodge (would not be an issue with dogs if you walk a dog on a lead). The living room with integrated kitchen is well appointed, with a very good range of pans and cooking implements. There was a good TV with FreeSat and a DVD Player. We did have to physically change the connection from the TV to either the FreeSat box or the DVD player (only a single Scart connection on the TV). We found the double bed in the main bedroom comfortable (fairly firm), the single beds in the second bedroom a bit less comfortable (that may just have been individual preference). Overall very good value for the accommodation provided.



Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely spot, lodge was looking like it needed some attention, laundry room was in a pretty poor state with need of a complete make over and a good stein and clean



A wonderful Holiday once again.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had a wonderful time at Appin Holiday Homes. We have been several times over the past years and will come back again.



Otter Holt Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great place to stay for outdoor loving families. Nice view of the loch and a pub in walking distance. Only fault was that it was a drive to the nearest convenience store .



Tranquillity

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful views over the loch, a nice pub just a short walk down the road, an even better pub(the old barn) 5 minute drive away. Location is perfect for many local walks as well as being in a good situation to get to other tourist places. For example On an is 1/2 hour away. Just make sure you being food as the nearest shop is 12 miles away!



Nice location for a short stay, shame about the details

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed five nights in Otter Holt Lodge. It is a nice, comfortable chalet, with good views over Loch Creran. When the traffic settles down it is very peaceful. The site is very pleasant, with the well looked-after remains of the old station included! The Creagan Inn is an easy five minutes walk from the site and offers an excellent menu, sufficiently varied to bear several visits, and good beers too. Unfortunately it was some little details (which could be easily fixed) that took the edge off our stay. For example, on arrival there was no-one in reception - TIP - take the owners phone number with you and call him if it happens to you! Once in the Lodge, the fridge hadn't been defrosted properly and we spent some time clearing that up, not a good start! Also there was no toilet paper - fortunately we had a contingency supply with us, as the nearest shop is some miles away and would have been closed anyway. Only one cleaning cloth was provided, to cover both bathroom and kitchen, not what you'd expect. So in summary a nice place for a short stay, but offset for us by a few little things that took the shine off it. Hopefully they can be fixed for your stay.



Fab

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Deceptively spacious. Loved the deck and view. I liked the fact that there was no wifi except in the games room- meant that we had proper family time when in the lodge! Very handy for both mountains and golf courses- we alternated the day's activities.



Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great short break...the lodge was comfy, and had everything we needed. Great location and views. Nearby pub with restaurant and site is well located to get around to app in, lies ore, Oban and glencoe. Would go back.



GOOD TIME TO BE HAD

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyable stay especially for walking and cycling enthusiasts who like to explore the beautiful surroundings. Lodge and furnishings comfortable, but water pressure for shower or washing dishes was weak.



Otter Holt Lodge Appin

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay,the lodge is located in a beautiful area.I think however the lodge itself could be doing with a little tlc(mainly cosmetic ,decor could be fresher)



Another very happy holiday in Appin

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt great to return to Appin holiday homes, good to see Jim and Julie again, usual warm welcome from them, we even had great weather this time, canny wait until we get the chance to return, would recommend this place to anyone



Happy Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a view from our lodge ! Worth the money alone plus we got to the Appin Show and the evening ceilidh to burn off the calories piled on by dining at the Creagan Inn a short stroll away.
Don't miss a trip into Oban or even up to Fort William and the Anoch Mor cable cars to the restaurant some 2,000 feet up. The owners, Mr & Mrs Weir, couldn't have been more helpfull. We'll be back.

John & Leah from Glasgow.




Beautiful loch side setting.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First visited these lodges 30 years ago with my grandparents. The location is excatly as I remembered, stunnning. The lodges are very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Recommendations in the lodge info book were very helpful especially places to eat locally. The Pier House at Port Appin has one of the best restaurant views I have seen. Staff at the lodges were helpful and made us feel very welcome.



Needs looked after

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Basic accommodation with no frills, which did not justify the rental cost. We'd just stayed in cheaper accommodation on Skye which was far superior. The property wasn't very clean, with dust on the skirting boards and the glasses were not clean. Several of the doors in the property didn't fit properly so were very loud. The standard of maintenance/ finish was generally low; unfilled holes in walls from replacement items. Musty smell in property, probably from the vacuum cleaner which was very loud and quite ineffective. No bin-bag provided. A request to recycle, but no facilities to do so. Table and chairs very wobbly and creaky. External park grounds near road-side attractive, but totally barren elsewhere and there's a pond with stagnant water a short distance from this property which desperately needs more flow through it.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Hi there and thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not find Otter Lodge as adequate as your property in Skye. In each lodge we provide a welcome tea/Coffee basket, toiletries, toilet roll and basic cleaning materials which should have included a bin bag so I am sorry if this was missed. Having visited the lodge after your review I am perplexed about the unfilled walls comment with holes as I could not find any at all? Outside your lodge is a wooden box which contains three bins for recycling so am not sure how you could have missed this. Again we are sorry if you were unhappy.

we look forward to an other holiday with you

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
thoroughly enjoyed our stay,only thing missing for my partner shops and for me a boat to catch some fish on the Loch Creran. But we will be back again.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review of Otter, I will give some of the big shops a ring and tell them to get to Oban ( there has been a rumour that M & S might be moving in)! It will be lovely to welcome you back any time.

7 days in Appin

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had lovely time during our stay at Appin Holiday Homes. Jim the owner was very friendly and helpful. The views out over the water were spectacular and even the weather was quite kind to us. Even managed to dine al fresco a few times at Creagan Inn! Didn't travel too far from chalet but we managed lots of lovely walks with our dog. Went to Lismore and down to Bendenloch for walks along the beach. Cafe there was also very good especially the strawberry milkshakes made with real ice cream!



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review on Otter Lodge. We are so glad you and the dog enjoyed your stay and made the most of all the lovely walks nearby. Have to agree with you about the milkshake!

appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
always a great place to come very peaceful it is in an excellent position for exploring either north or south and the owners are always on hand to help with info



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and peaceful. Thanks for reviewing us.

fantastic location,lovely views

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have stayed at appin holiday homes on previous occasions over the last 10 years. This is a great area to explore the highlands of scotland central to Oban and Fort WIlliam.Lovely walks, and plenty of history.Before you arrive at your accommodation, the owner will switch lights on and turn the heating on ,making sure you feel welcome.The owner will call to make sure you are settled, and after that you are left to enjoy your stay.We always feel comfortable, a home from home feel. Everything you need within the lodge, to make your stay stress free.



location,location,location

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Nov 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This holiday was all about location,Fab-u-lous.Even in the poor weather,looking out to that view every morning was amazing.The actual lodge was comfortable and clean,but definitely in need of renovation.Poor quality bed linen,very poor shower,no torch,well used kettle,and a few other nitpicking things,maybe somethings because end of a busy season,but it was comfortable so still enjoyed it.



Fabulous short break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just returned from a 5 day stay at Appin Holiday Homes - fabulous location, stunning views, cosy lodge and great value for money - would def recommend



gypsy and levi holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely area plenty walks for the dogs good food in the pub near the holiday site lots of resteraunts near by oban is beautifull with lots to do including boat trips



Otter holt

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very lovely place for anyone to go, excellent staff ? I think they may owe the wife and I a meal? Overall really good area for touring. many thanks from Margaret and Ray Hunt.





Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely review. We really enjoyed our lunch !