FB Twitter

Fox Den Lodge- Pet Friendly

Fox Den Lodge- Pet Friendly

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.2
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.2


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and large decked area.

Sleeping 2- 4 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open pl

Excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely location. Perfect for visiting fort William, glen coe and Oben.
Would recommend this accommodation to others.




Warm, friendly service and great location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb views across Loch Creran and easy access to places such as Glencoe and Western Isles. Jim was a friendly host - provided very helpful travel and sightseeing advice. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - recommend the nearby Castle Stalker View café.



Lovely views

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Spent a lovely week here. Perfect accommodation for us and our dog. Good walks close by. Can highly recommend.



Another short break in Appin.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Again, a wonderful few day's in gods country. Weather great apart from 1 day and we have again enjoyed staying at the Fox Den Lodge at Appin Holiday Homes. Great location and at an affordable price, all you need for a short break in the area. Will be back again.



Wonderfull Stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. The House was really comfortable and had an amazing view. The service was very nice and helpful!
We're looking forward to coming back. :)




Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice lodge with direct view on the loch.Perfect like every time.We'll book another year.




Julie Weir replied 73 days ago
Thanks for the lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thanks also for the lovely gifts you left at reception.

Great accommodation fabulous setting

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi we stayed at Fox Den for 3nights.The accommodation was freshly decorated, very clean,compact but very adequate.The area was excellent with access to cycle path 78 on the doorstep excellent for dog walking.The staff were very friendly and seemed to enjoy their business.Winter opening hours for shops and hotels would be good additional information as Creggan Inn was shut mid week and shop at Port Appin closed at 1.



It was just OK

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have stayed in better self catering for less money. It was ok but not brilliant. No towels when we arrived and none appeared until the evening after we had checked in, by which time we had gone and bought some so we could have a shower. We were compensated for this with a written apology and a couple of mini packets of cheap biscuits. The location is nice but i dont think i would stay again. Having done self catering in lots of countries i do think Scotland does not score well in terms of value for money.



sitio muy agradable

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Todo bastante bien . Un poco apartado de fort William pero la zona donde esta también muy bien y agradable.falta servicio de limpieza . El restaurante de al lado muy bien



For the quality of the lodges are they rather expensive: rather old, could use an update

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good location, beautiful view on the loch, rather expensive and old lodges which could use an update. We only saw Julie a few minutes, never met the caretaker/owner. Nice suggestions in the information booklet, with great descriptions (stoeiers in faxt!) of walks.



Perfect break away

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Fox Den for a weekend and the lodge surpassed our expecations. Clean, modern and comfortable in a quiet and beautiful location. Jim and Julie were fantastic hosts through out and we will most definitely be back soon.



Tip top

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Schöne Häuschen mit guter Einrichtung und Lage. Kann weiterempfohlen werden. Einzig die Toilette sollte man anschrauben und die Brille richten. Ist ein bisschen wackelig. Aber sonst top.



No time to get on the deck

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the place we had in the upper cabins. We didn't get any time to get on the deck, as the Scottish climate endured - with the rain.

The view from the cabin was beautiful, overlooking the loch and the hills beyond. Even the sheep provided great background noise.

I would recommend staying here. I'm "OK" on comfort - the beds are great, but the two couches are not very nice to sit upon.

Hope to return.




wonderful location, stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Close to Oban and ferries. Excellent places to eat. Friendly owner. Wonderful views. Accommodation clean and very cosy. Good cooking facilities. Comfortable beds.



A great location from which to explore the highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay albeit we only really slept and had breakfast at the lodge, we were too busy climbing Ben Nevis and exploring. The lodge is a short walk to the highly recommended Creagan Inn.



fox den lodge..

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at appin lodge.
great location and we will be returning for sure next year.
exellent views from the lodge perfect for breakfast in the mornings.




nice house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
House is clean, lovely and just near the sea.



70

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a great holiday some aspects of the property could do with upgrading,the view was excellent.The hotel&bar was nearby, and the food was very good.We could'nt find anyone when we arrived to let us into our chalet,so had to wait,we ended up going to look for them, I think that could be improved.



wonderful views from comfortable 'lodge'

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we had a wonderful week-the lodge had all we needed ,all provided in first class condition. we would dfinitely go there again if we visiting the same area



Comfort and beautiful views.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a very pleasant week next to a loch and with beautiful views.
It was perfect !
No noise except birds songs...
We arrived late and Jim Weir was there excepting us.
Thank you very much for this welcome!
We booked 4 times the fox den and we'll do it again!




Great location great value for money

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay we were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed the first real sunshine of the year
You can't fail to be impressed by the stunning loch views
Our cabin was clean comfortable and a little home from home
We plan to return next year and have already ordered the weather




Short break in Appin.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a lovely location and the weather we had just made it extra special! If you are looking for an excellent place to chill out for a few day's and you are lucky enough to get the weather too then, this is the place to be! Lots to do and see in the local area and Oban and Fort William are just a short drive away!! Make sure you take in the Creagan Inn, just a short walk away, and the Peirhouse hotel in Port Appin, the food in both is just first class! The view from the Lodges is second to none, we will definitely be back!!



Excellent service

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent customer service and excellent views from the log cabin. If you have any problems there quick to respond. If your not sure what you want to do or want ideas of what to visit there's a folder of good local things to do in your holiday home. There's good local walking areas and also a pub less than five minutes away.



Fab views

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a great location with good accommodation. The local pub just a short walk away served good food, unfortunately it was closed during the best part of our stay so might be mindful to check if you are thinking of eating out during your stay. We did eat at the Pier house a couple of times in port app in, really good and recommend a try! The lodge was clean and had everything you needed the best views you can wake up to, we will certainly be returning! Thank you



Sad & unloved!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
This was a last minute booking so there was little choice. Although I would say the interior has had a recent refurb it has been done in a slap dash and hurried manner! There was paint on the sofa and lamp shade from the paint job and the curtains hadn't even been ironed ! Although it wasn't dirty it was unloved and way below my standards. There were dead flies on the windowsills, and the bathroom tiles were in need of a good bleach which I treated them to and came up lovely! The toilet seat was obviously new but was too small for the toilet.The shower was a pathetic trickle. On arrival one of the beds in the twin room had a very tired and stained duvet cover and no sheet on the bed. The owner did promptly rectify this. However, I also mentioned that there was only one out of three light bulbs working in the kitchen which was also seriously covered in cobwebs. He said he sort it out. He didn't! The bathroom was ,like the rest of the place compact with no where to put anything. It was just uncomfortable. It did have amazing views but for someone who lives on a pedestrianised street way too near the main road with heavy goods vechiles waking me from 5 am! The exterior was also in need of a good clean down. Covered in all sorts with the light above the door being an inch deep in dead things. Yes I'm in the country but there really is no excuse. We had warned our girls that there would be no wifi but even I would have liked it without having to walk to "games room" just to look up local information etc. In this day and age it really is a must have!



great wee break!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great 2night break here, warm welcome, comfy lodge, stunning scenery. Lovely walking area. Highly recommended and hope to be back next year!
We also really recommend Appin Boat Tours. Excellent day out.




Weeek of touring

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
V good location , very quiet and great for dark sky stargazers went to isle of mull which is great but watch out for high ferry fares we went from lochaline which is cheaper



Good stay in Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good value for money.
Lodge was spacious and practical.
Jim at reception really very helpfull and friendly.
The location is great between oban and glencoe. Only thing the road A82 a bit noisy during the day.




Lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin holiday homes are in a fantastic location and the views of the loch are spectacular. We literally just slept at the chalet for a few hours over two nights as it was a whirlwind visit to Scotland solely to climb Ben Nevis. Due to distance we had to travel we did not arrive at the chalet until well after the booking in time had passed. A quick phonecall to Jim the owner however and he was very understanding. He explained where the chalet was, opened it up and turned the lights on for us. The chalet itself was clean and seemed quite nice. If you are looking for a self catering style place in a good location then Appin are well worth checking out.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin holiday homes are in a fantastic location and the views of the loch are spectacular. We literally just slept at the chalet for a few hours over two nights as it was a whirlwind visit to Scotland solely to climb Ben Nevis. Due to distance we had to travel we did not arrive at the chalet until well after the booking in time had passed. A quick phonecall to Jim the owner however and he was very understanding. He explained where the chalet was, opened it up and turned the lights on for us. The chalet itself was clean and seemed quite nice. If you are looking for a self catering style place in a good location then Appin are well worth checking out.



The Fox Experience

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely location, though the main road was the 'fly in the ointment'.
Easy access to good walking, climbing and sightseeing. The local hostelry was OK, food was tasty but we thought it expensive for size of portions.
Only downside of 'Fox's Den' was the close proximity of the toilet to the bath. With six feet + family members it was a challenge.
Overall though a good time was had by all.




excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of Fox Den is excellent.Wonderful views and easy access to Fort William and Oban. The lodge was fine with adequate crockery, pots and pans etc. We ( 58 and 60 yr old) found the beds and settee were not very comfortable and there was insufficient leg room between the bath and toilet. There was no internet access.



A truly wonderful and dog friendly place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found Appin Holiday Homes whilst searching for dog friendly accommodation in the area. I didn't expect it to be so perfect and in such a beautiful and magical location. We loved it and didn't want to leave! We even found a little friend in the shape of cheeky little Chaffinch knocking on the window asking for scraps. We had a wonderful and friendly welcome and the lodge was a perfect little home from home. I would recommend Appin Holiday Homes 100% and would love to return for a longer stay in the future.



Excellent Location and Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really delighted with our stay at Appin Holiday Lodges, we were looking for somewhere to stay close to Barcaldine Marina, where we have a boat. The views from Fox Den over Loch Creran are fantastic. The weather was superb



good holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable holiday - comfortable accommodation, spectacular view, well located for walks and cycling, handy for the dog etc. (we did benefit from brilliant weather and relatively minor midge torment)



Fantastic place to stay xx

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet was comfortable and warm and the service Julie and him provided was excellent. Always willing to help and only a call away. The games room was well used and Jim's knowledge of cycling routes and the best place to go was endless and most welcoming. Highly recommended xxxx



Great stay at a great lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin Holiday Homes provided us with a great lodge which was perfect for our stay. Lovely views, grounds and lodge were so clean and well cared for. The kids loved the tree swing, the dog loved the walks and we loved the peace and quiet! Great location with the water for the dog to swim and the kids to explore. We will hopefully be back!



Beautiful Appin keeps us coming back

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been returning to Appin Holiday Homes for 30 years and hope to do so for many years to come. Accommodation and setting are perfect for us. We have never been disappointed.