FB Twitter

Birch Tree Lodge

Birch Tree Lodge

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.1
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and decked area.

Sleeping 2- 5persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Cot or fold up bed for extra child
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open plan
  • Fully equipped kitchen including kettle,toaster, microwave, fridge and utensils
  • 30” flat screen television with DVD player and Freesat
  • Deck Furniture

Pets are not allowed in Birch.

* Wi-fi access Full secure access is always available in the Games Hut/ Reception area.

Fantastic place to stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at Appin Holiday Homes excellent customer service as always.
Can't beat the location scenery or local amenities.




Wonderful location. Splendid break away...

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful location. A simple but very comfortable lodge in which to relax. A splendid break away from the hustle and bustle of London life. September is perfect time to visit if you want to avoid the midges. Just three months to go until my return to Appin. I can't wait!
Thanks and regards to Julie and Jim. See you in December. :o)




Too shorter visit

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, ideal for travelling around. Accommodation was lovely, very friendly and helpful owners. We wish we had stayed much longer. We hope to be back very soon.



Another Visit

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second time staying at Birch Tree, and although the weather was not to kind this year the location is excellent for getting to know the area. The lodge is an ideal base with all the basic requirements to make ones stay comfortable and welcoming. Jim and Julie are both very friendly and helpful should you need them, but they do not push themselves into your space. Local pub serves good quality food should you not feel like cooking your own. Should you be like me, nearly 60 beware of the rope swing could have been a disaster for me LOL.



New Years break at appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to find a wonderful warm cosy lodge in a beautiful location
Away from the city. Will be back.




A hidden gem...will definitely come again

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly located, Appin Holiday Homes is a hidden gem in the highlands of Scotland offering a truly peaceful retreat with spectacular views on all sides. The owners Jim and Julie couldn't have been more helpful, and all the locals, from the lovely woman at the coffee/gift shop in Port Appin, the staff at Creagan Inn (just a short stroll away) and the different neighbours we met, were all friendly and gave good ideas on where to go and what to do. The accommodation was everything you would need for a self catering holiday, (warm clean and well stocked with cutlery and crockery etc) and sitting out front on the balcony overlooking the loch was just so relaxing. Perfectly located for Oban or Fort William, with all the other interesting places to visit in betweeen, means that you never have to be bored at Appin. But we enjoyed just taking in the beautiful countryside on all sides of the park, walking around Crearan Loch, and spotting deer on the walks up the hills behind. The park is beautifully maintained and the games room well stocked with DVDs and seemed to have enough games for families with young children. We would definitely recommend this park to anyone wanting to visit Scotland, and we hope to come back ourselves very soon.



enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely stay in Birch Tree Lodge, very clean and tastefully decorated. Stunning view from windows of Loch. Easy access to lots of great walks. Visit to lismore island lovely. Host very helpful.



Lovely location and area.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
On first arrival I thought we had made a Bo Bo, but as the saying goes never judge a book by its cover. The lodge was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with all you would expect from a holiday home ( One exception a small pot would be useful as there were only 2 of us )

Jim is very friendly, chatty and laidback, as he drives around on his Kubota cutting grass and going odd jobs around the well maintained site.

The site itself is in a beautiful location overlooking the loch and the hedgerow is full of wild life. We were fortunate on our visit that a lot of the birds had just fledged and we were treated to young Blue tits, Great tits, Chaffinches, Pied Wagtails, Blackbirds and Doves being fed on the grass in front of the lodge.

The surrounding area around the site has lots to offer in both scenery and activities for both young and old.

One final point the Chaffinches love Ritz crackers and will even sing for them if not supplied frequently.




in need of TLC but offers VFM

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Probably not the fault of the owners - more likely the previous occupants - but all kitchen utensils were filthy and needed washed before use. Overall chalet could do with a bit of TLC, but generally not bad at all



Appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was very well equiped, location was fantastic and owners very friendly. Only negative comment is that we could have done with our outside bib being emptied during our stay as we had witnessed a bin bag had been attacked by woodland creatures leaving refuse all over the place.



Great lodge in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location overlooking Loch Crenan. Lovely lodge - clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. Very good base for exploring the area. Perfect for a family holiday!



weekend break at Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another holiday at Appin, weather wasn't the best this time but still enjoyed the break. Got the usual cheery welcome from Jim and Julie, chalet nice and warm for our arrival, good to know the pub is open again, hopefully won't be too long until we return,



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely review and we are glad you had another nice holiday with us.

Cabins

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The owner was very nice he made us feel welcome , I think the cabins could do with a bit of repair work, the front door fit badly very draughty , one dining chair was broken and the three piece suite was uncomfortable , I did expect more for the money we paid but it was high season. I do not think we would go back to the cabins again not until repairs had been done .
I must say the grounds were beatiful and the people lovely.