FB Twitter

Beech Tree Lodge

Beech Tree Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and large covered balcony

Sleeping 2- 4 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open

Repairs and Replacements.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The overall appearance of the lodge was clean and tidy however, please relay to them that the microwave was rusty inside and we would not use this for health reasons. The kitchen taps were loose and no cover on the freezer compartment, the blinds were dirty when shutting them as they are not being washed. The bathroom taps especially the cold tap had ground in dirt when I used a toothbrush to eat it was easily removed so bit of elbow grease is required. I would recommend this property to others but pre warn them to check the microwave as this really concerned me.



Clean and tidy, great view

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge had a perfect view and the owners were very helpful. The lodge was clean and tidy. There was no wifi in the lodge itself, but the game-room was nearby, so our boys have spent a lot of time there :-). We recommend anyone staying in the Appin Holiday Homes to book a visit to Castle Stalker (5 min drive) via their webiste. Unique experience.



Another perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a 2 week break at Appin Holiday Homes. The lodge was clean and comfortable and offers a perfect base for exploring the West Coast of Scotland. Lovely days out in Oban, Fort William, Mallaig, Glen Coe, Glasgow, Mull and even further afield upto Aviemore. It's great to see the cycle tracks being used so well. Had a number of great walks around Glen Creran and along the canal at Neptune's Staircase. Fantastic opportunities for wildlife spotting. Unwind at the end of the day with a pint at Creagan Inn. Jim and Julie remain, as ever, fantastic hosts. Highly recommended.



Special times!!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, cosy, clean accommodation and great location. Lots for all the family to do whatever the weather. Scenery spectacular, especially towards the head of Loch Creran and local pub definitely worth a visit-great food! Jim and Julie were great hosts, can't wait to go back, would recommend to anyone.



Peaceful Haven

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay here so much going back again this year, only to one of the bigger lodges, with a bigger balcony, the area is so peaceful but yet great for touring to nearby places like Oban etc, also great for going across to Lismore, we went later on in the year and no midges whatsoever, but there were wasps, hopefully there wont be any of the two this year. Great hotel near by too, food excellent as was the service.



The best place on the West Coast

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jim and Julie provide excellent value and service at Appin Holiday Homes.
The lodges are emmaculate with spectacular views of the Lock.
The local pub is a ten minute walk away and Oban only a short drive away.
We have stayed here numerous times over the last 20 years and never get tired of the place.




Our stay at Appin holiday homes.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant stay in beech tree lodge. The lodge was beautiful. It was very spacious and comfortable. No complaints at all.



Another perfect fortnight

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous stay at Appin Holiday Homes. Excellent location for exploring all the West coast of Scotland has to offer. This is a small family run site. Jim and Julie (with a helping hand now from young Callum) go that extra mile to make you feel welcome. Can't wait to return.



Fantastic holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Appin Holiday Homes, first with our little girl who is now 2 and we had a fantastic holiday. Lodge was just perfect for us, and the location was ideal. We will definitely be back!



Fantastic!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at Appin Holiday homes for many years. The last while we have being going at New Year and it was the first time we had been back up in the summer. The chalets are great, terrific views and ideal for Oban or Fort William. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the views and wildlife! Can't wait till out next visit.



Fantastic Week

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very satisfied with our log cabin, especially the stunning location overlooking the beautiful loch framed with mountains.
The log cabin was lovely and very comfortable and we had a lovely week's stay.

The only recommendation we can possibly make would have been to have a small shop in reception selling basics such as milk and bread, as the distance to the local shops was a fair drive but other than that our stay was fantastic.




Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Beech for 3 nights. Everything we needed was provided. Plenty of controllable heating units to keep the place as warm or cold as required. Wonderful view over Creagan bay, and 20mins drive from Oban. Excellent on all counts. Didn't want to come home.



Another great holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin Holiday Homes is a family run site. Jim and Julie (the owners) go out of their way to make everyone welcome. The accommodation is ideally located between Oban and Fort William and contains everything needed for an excellent self catering holiday. The accommodation is cleaned to the highest standards and is warm and comfortable. There is plenty to do in the area and The Creagan Inn (under new ownership) is just a short stroll away and offers good food at reasonable prices - the wine's ok too! Looking forward to our next stay.






We had the most wonderful time - so relaxing, lovely place and lovely people . Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to find a decorated Christmas tree in our lodge ; Christmas crackers and two bottles of wine . The lodge was beautifully warm and cosy and the views magnificent . During our stay we saw ample wildlife including a family of otters playing in the loch and many deer roaming the glens . The lodge contained all home comforts and we had the most relaxing time ; I can't think of anywhere else I would like to have spent Christmas - I could happily have stayed until April !



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a short weekend break, the lodge was as fantastic and really well equipped with a great view of the loch and really handy for the local Creagans inn. Do yourself a favour try it for yourself.



Sunshine in October!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent week spent in very comfortable surroundings, perfect accommodation and good weather to boot. good food at the Creagan restaurant and bar. Loved it!!



Fantastic location for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a two relaxing weeks in September. The accommodation is excellent and is to be recommended. The lodge is warm and comfortable and contains everything needed for a short break or longer stay. The site is well maintained and offers fantastic views over Loch Creran. Oban and Fort William are just a short drive away. The local pub 'The Cregan Inn' is less than a 5 minute walk and provides excellent food and drink. The area has lots to offer for walkers, cyclists and those wanting a little more adventure.



Appin Holidays

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th visit to Appin Holiday Homes. Excellent location for visiting the local area as sandwiched between Fort William and Oban. The views across the loch are second to none. We will definitely be back.



Nice place, nice surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Almost everything was ok. Good location to explore places like Oban, Glencoe, Road to the isles etc.
Unfortunately no kitchen or bathroom towels were available.




Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing and peaceful with stunning scenery and easy access to the surrounding area. Lovely site with well equipped and maintained lodges. Love the decor and couldn't ask for nicer site owners. Always friendly and helpful. Love this place so much.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Beech Tree we always look forward to your visits to see how much the kids have grown (not kids any more but young men!) Always a treat to have a catch up and was glad to show you around Ash and Badger lodges - but am worried you will all fight over what lodge to stay in next year!

My Stay in Appin

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Appin Holiday homes has many happy memories for me and my family. The cabins are first class and Appin is a wonderful area to explore. I first holidayed at Weir's cabins when my daughter was young. Now she has returned as a grown up with her children and started the connection again.
The children loved the experience and we all hope to return again soon.
Gerry Mc Menemy.




Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review it was lovely to see you again. Hopefully we shall see you again soon.

Another fab time

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Appin Holiday homes for more years than we care to think about. We love it!
As soon as you get there you relax and the view from the chalets are stunning - regardless of the weather!
Would highly recommend them to anyone.

Jim and Julie do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. You are easy driving distance to Fort William or to Oban,
or you can just do the walks round about.

We will be returning for many more years!




Excellent accommodation and friendly reliable service.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation and service as always from Appin Holiday Homes.
Well worth the money for the scenery alone I would definitely recommend it as a base for anyone visiting the west coast.




A Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Appin Holiday Homes for many years. Jim and Julie are fantastic hosts.

This Summer we stayed in Beech Tree Lodge. It was as usual warm and welcoming. The chalet benefits from a new kitchen, windows and really comfy beds. We were also fortunate to pick up wifi from the neighbouring reception building. My husband particularly liked Freesat and the new TV.

The accommodation was immaculately clean for our arrival and nothing is ever too much trouble.

We have had a number of memorable days out including trips on Calmac over to Mull, rail trips to Mallaig and Glasgow (which offers the best shopping ever) and great meals out.

This is a vibrant, welcoming community. If you visit take time to get to know them. You will not be disappointed.