FB Twitter

Harewood

Harewood

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A surprise holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicky and Georges warm hospitality and the magic that is Wharton Lodge turned my three weeks of homelessness [ between completion of one property and the final purchase of my home ] into a truely relaxing and comforting holiday..
They provided the perfect environment for myself, and my beloved labrador Harry, to take time to complete all the intricasies of house completion without the usual stress; as well as giving us the opportunity to discover and appreciate the joys that the surrounding area holds.
From somebody who is in the hospitality industry I give my heartfelt thanks to Nicky, George and the delightful Joyce and Emma. They have created a true gem




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From all cottage’s we have stayed in England, this was the best!
We would like to come back in the summer.

Fam:Selier
Holland.




Nicky replied 13 days ago
Dear H & N, Wow, thank you so much for the fantastic feedback following your recent visit to Wharton Lodge. It is really important to us that guests enjoy their stay and to receive such a positive review is icing on the cake. Please do keep in touch and we hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you all again next Summer... Warmest regards, N

Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Wharton Lodge in the Summer and had such a lovely holiday we decided to return. We arrived knowing everything would be perfect and it was. It is one of the loveliest cottages we have ever stayed in. Our children came home relaxed talking about returning next year. A big thank you to Nicki and the team you should be proud.



Nicky replied 18 days ago
Dear A & D Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your Autumn break with us. It's great to know that the children relaxed too and that they would like to visit again, you are all welcome whenever you have the chance! Did you get the photo emailed last week? I will with pleasure email again if necessary, it was a lovely group photo even if I say so myself.... KR N

Absolutely stunning!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is absolutely stunning! The area is very beautiful, the gardens perfect for a stroll and afternoon tea or a glass of wine and Nicky and George are truly the perfect hosts. We had a very relaxing stay surrounded by comfort and beauty all around. We loved it so much that we have already booked for next August! This is not a five star accommodation, it is a 6 star accommodation!
Thank you again for making our stay a wonderful one!




Nicky replied 32 days ago
Dear V, G and I, Thank you so much for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Wharton Lodge. We really appreciate you taking the time to feedback, your comments will be shared with the team and I know it will make their day. Thanks for being 6* guests, we look forward to welcoming you all again next Summer. KR N

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage everything was perfect. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel at home.
We will definitely be returning.




Nicky replied 85 days ago
Dear A & D Thank you so much for the perfect feedback, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your recent stay in Harewood. Do keep in touch and if you plan another trip to the Wye Valley, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Wharton Lodge. KR N

Ideal Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge provides more than simply a holiday cottage in a beautiful area. It is an experience - a thoroughly enjoyable one.
This cottage combines comfort with practically and genuinely feels like a home from home. Unexpected surprises punctuated the week, such as freshly-picked fruit from the garden arriving at the door and garden-fresh potatoes appearing in the courtyard veg box. On dry days cushions were laid ready on the garden benches and flowers set on garden tables.
Set in beautiful grounds, days can be easily whiled away on site, simply unwinding, enjoying the views and the oasis of calm and peace that is this unrivalled base.
For more active days, there is no shortage of sights, walks, cities and activity opportunities in easy striking distance: WL is set back from a quiet B Road which connects to arterial routes in all directions and is therefore ideally placed & easy to access. Good eateries abound and a warm welcome from owners, George & Nicky - and their well-mannered labradors - includes reliable tips for these - extending even to making table reservations. Information provided about attractions in the area is thorough, reflecting the attention to detail in the cottage and grounds that is unsurpassed and marks out WL as unique cottage holiday experience.




Nicky replied 90 days ago
Dear S & M Really, really appreciate your kind and generous feedback which I will share with the team. We love WL and it makes our day to know that our guests enjoy staying here too. Big thanks from the team and the dogs, we would all love to welcome you back to WL one day.... Best wishes N

A wonderful few days away

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A last minute booking for a few days away. Nicky was extremely helpful from initial enquiry, suggested dog friendly pubs for an evening meal out, local walks and things to do. The cottage was stunning, with walks from the cottage, everything inside the cottage you could have wanted and more, lovely food hamper and flowers on arrival, plus dog bowl, towels etc. Our first holiday with our puppy who was made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, and were given very useful dog training tips! Have already recommended the cottages to friends and we are looking forward to another holiday there next year.



Nicky replied 110 days ago
Dear S & G Thank you so much for the great review. Your glowing feedback and recommending WL to friends is really appreciated. We enjoyed welcoming you and are delighted you would like to return. You and Isla are welcome any time.... N

Best COTTAGE and GARDEN

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the very best COTTAGE we ever had in Englang. We also liked the beautiful Garden and the good wellcome we receved.



Nicky replied 134 days ago
Dear R & M Wow, what a fabulous review. Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay, it goes without saying that we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your positive comments mean the world to us. Please do keep in touch and if you are 'dancing' in this direction again please do come to stay, you will always be very welcome. Many thanks, N

Luxurious accommodation, delightful grounds, warm welcome.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner Nicky lives on site and gave us a lovely welcome and tour of the site on arrival. The cottage was pristine, with high end fixtures and furniture and a welcome pack of food basics. There is a private walled courtyard off the kitchen and a large, beautiful walled garden shared with the other residents. This garden has lawns, flower borders, ponds, fountains, a sundial, patio sets of table, chairs and cushions as well as a huge greenhouse with further conservatory furniture. We felt pampered!

On trips out we visited the Dean Forrest Railway (steam), various Forestry Commission sites including the sculpture trail, the Clearwell Caves and Bathurst open air Pool, Lydney (which was wonderful in the heatwave!). We can recommend all of these.
Lydney harbour was disappointing.

We had a wonderful break. Nicky was always available with tips and advice on where to go and how to get there. The property left nothing to be desired - it was excellent.




Nicky replied 145 days ago
Dear S, Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again one day and if there is a next time, please do book directly with us via www.whartonlodge.co.uk as this will save you paying a third party commission and as a returning guest you would become 'Friends of Wharton Lodge' a loyalty scheme offering special benefits.... Many thanks, N

Superb stay with beautiful labradors

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Wharton Lodge for a week just before Easter. The setting is beautiful as are the gardens. We received a fantastic welcome and were thoroughly spoiled with the welcome 'hamper' and fresh flowers. The cottage was immaculate both in terms of cleanliness and decoration. Our hosts Nicky and George were very warm and welcoming. We'll definitely be back!



Nicky replied 213 days ago
Dear F & J, not forgetting T & E, It was great to meet you all recently, Beau is already missing T. Thanks for the wonderful feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at WL we certainly enjoyed welcoming you. I still have a picture in my mind of George and T sitting on a bench discussing Pokemon cards, it was a whole new world for G.... Do please keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcoming you all again one day. N

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful setting with the perfect hosts in Nicky and George for our stay to attend a family wedding close by.
The dogs were catered for as well as the human visitors and we felt very welcome.
We are certainly going to try to return for another visit and will recommend Wharton Lodge cottages to all our friends




Nicky replied 226 days ago
Dear D & Family Thanks so much for the lovely feedback following your recent stay. Really appreciate you completing a review and we are delighted that Grosvenor and Harewood cottages were a comfortable base for your stay in the area. Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you all to WL again one day.... We also appreciated the Acorn Dairy butter, delicious. We will make a visit when we are in Yorkshire next. Thank you again, Nicky

A lovely stay in Herefordshire

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very welcoming host Nicky, and a comfortable and beautifully maintained cottage were the ingredients for a relaxing half term break. Lots to do in the area too - we cycled in the Forest of Dean, canoed on the River Wye, walked up local beauty spots May Hill, and Symonds Yat, visited Goodrich Castle (try climbing up and down the spiral steps with a rope - scary!) and ran the local Newent Park Run. Had some good food too, in tea shops and local Kilcot pub.. Highly recommended.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. You certainly managed an activity filled break but at least had some time to relax Harewood. I will be in touch if I track down another 'Relax'.... We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all again one day. Thanks once again, Nicky

Outstanding

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited Harewood, one of Wharton Lodge cottages, with my wife, daughter and Labrador. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners, Nicky & George and shown around the magnificent grounds and facilities then shown to our cottage. The cottage offered luxurious comfort and left nothing wanting. Nicky proved to be a wealth of local knowledge and a great ambassador for the area. The private courtyard was a bonus on the warm summer evenings. Our Labrador enjoyed the fenced field behind the cottages and enjoyed the freedom of being off the lead in a large secure area. The cottage proved to be a great base to explore the area and we cannot recommend it highly enough !



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M, L & R, Thank you so much for the great feedback, it has made our day. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us in Harewood. If you are visiting the Wye Valley again, there will always be a very warm welcome for you at Wharton Lodge.... N & G

You wont find better

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge Cottages are the perfect place to stay for a relaxing, peaceful Holiday it`s central for exploring a number of places within the area The Gardens outside the cottages are very well maintained and are the perfect place to sit and relax on a warm day or summer`s evening each cottage has it`s own secure parking We found the cottage spotlessly clean and everything was supplied that you would ever need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible...And of course Nicky was always on hand, who would go out of her way to make sure you had the best Holiday possible You will not be Disappointed if you stay at Wharton Lodge



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & M Thank you so much for the great feedback and we really appreciate your lovely comments, we are delight you enjoyed your stay with us. My search skills will be honed before a future visit, the opener was right under my nose!..... Do keep in touch and watch out for Princesse Fleur running at Worcester a week on Thursday. Nicky

A relaxing break in an excellent location in very a peaceful tranquil location.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The five star accommodation could not be bettered Our hosts were also five star being very attentive and helpful Even the dog was considered and she enjoyed it all as much as we did. We cannot think of anything that could have improved our stay. The attention to detail was fantastic, even down to an excellent hamper, music playing when we arrived, fresh fruit and flowers, We could wish for anything else.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & D Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Do keep in touch and if you are heading for Herefordshire again one day, remember you will always be welcome at Wharton Lodge..... KR Nicky