FB Twitter

Grosvenor

Grosvenor

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Grosvenor a real home from home for up to 3 guests plus a canine companion. Great garden/parkland views. Master bedroom with superking bed. Walled courtyard garden for al fresco dining.

Grosvenor cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had not visited this area before but was pleased we did. The week we were there flew by and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Grosvenor cottage was lovely, the attention to detail was very much appreciated. We especially enjoyed walking in the walled garden and using the orangery. Walking with our dog Dylan in the early morning around the extensive grounds was a great start to the day - spotting the heron and buzzard added to the pleasure. The setting is simply stunning, a beautiful place and very relaxing.



Nicky replied 26 days ago
Dear D & G Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and discovering this 'undiscovered' scenic area..... Really pleased that Dylan also enjoyed the gardens and parkland, we tell T&B how lucky they are to have such a lot of space to play. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all to WL again one day and we look forward to hearing all about the new family member.... KR N

Fabulous Grosvenor

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage and walled garden. The attention to detail, little extra touches and housekeeping are first class. Nicky, Joyce and the team make us very welcome, we have such a relaxing time we stay regularly and have done for several years.



Nicky replied 62 days ago
Dear J & R Thank you so much for completing a review, not to mention such a positive one! It's always a pleasure to welcome you both and we are delighted to know how much you enjoy staying at WL. Do keep in touch and when you are ready for some R&R, please do keep WL in mind, you are always welcome. Kind regards, N

A true home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptionally clean with the sort of attention to detail and little extras that bring a smile to your face. It certainly was the 'home from home' that Nicky and George wanted to create.



Nicky replied 64 days ago
Dear B & M Thanks for the great feedback, we really appreciate your kind review. It is very important to us that guests relax and feel at home during their stay at Wharton Lodge, it appears we succeeded this time. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back one day. Kind regards N

Our new favorite place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The warm and perfectly appointed cottage sits on beautiful, quiet grounds. The proprietor is unbelievably accommodating and wonderful. On a two month trip, this was our favorite week by far and hope to return!



Nicky replied 98 days ago
Dear X, E and D Thank you so much for the absolutely amazing review. Your kind feedback is really, really appreciated and will be shared with the WL team. As I think you may have guessed... there is nothing more important to us than for guests to have the best time both in the cottage and the area, we are so pleased we have achieved our aim. It was a delight to meet you all, we hope to welcome you to WL again one day. N

Grosvenor Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very happy four nights in Grosvenor Cottage, I couldn't reccomend it more highly. Extremely comfortable and in such a beautiful part of the world.



Nicky replied 100 days ago
Dear C & B Thanks for the great feedback, it has made our day. We are not only delighted that you enjoyed staying at Wharton Lodge but that you loved the area too.... Many thanks, N

On the doorstep of the Forest of Dean

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is simply the best holiday cottage we've ever experienced. Nicky and George are wonderful people and the welcome they extend is all we could hope for (not forgetting the beautiful Labradors).



Nicky replied 109 days ago
Dear P & D Thanks so much for the great feedback, we really appreciate your kind review which we will share with the team. Do keep in touch and whenever you need some R&R we do have a travel cot and high chair available :-).... N & G

Another wonderful stay at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from another lovely break at Wharton Lodge. Superb, comfortable, well-equipped accommodation and a wonderful, warm welcome provided by Nicky, George and their staff, as usual. The gardens are a delight and we were able to enjoy them every day in lovely weather. It's a real pleasure to stay at Wharton Lodge , whatever the weather or time of year and we have become regular visitors - our next trip is already booked.



Nicky replied 112 days ago
Dear L & B We really appreciate your very kind feedback. There is nothing more important to us than for guests to relax, enjoy WL gardens, surroundings and their cottage. We are delighted we hit the mark! Until the next time.... Many thanks, N

The very best

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in self catering accommodation all over Europe. I can say without hesitation that Wharton Lodge Cottages are the very best we have encountered. A veritable master class in how to run a self catering operation



Nicky replied 145 days ago
Dear S & C Wow, thank you so much for the fantastic feedback... you have made our day! It is so important to us that you have a comfortable, relaxing time at Wharton Lodge and we so appreciate hearing that on your second visit we have again met/exceeded expectations. Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you both (not forgetting 'P') again one day. KR N

Our second stay at Wharton Lodge Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from another great holiday staying at Grosvenor Cottage - you'd be struggling to find a more beautiful location with such great facilities. The cottage is luxurious and dog friendly, and was perfect for a family of 3 plus dog! The grounds and formal gardens are beautiful, with parkland beyond [perfect for pets and children]. Nicky and George always have great recommendations for places to visit and eat, and there are some lovely walks and pubs within a short distance. We definitely hope to go back for more stays!!



Nicky replied 158 days ago
Dear C, M & O, Thank you so much for another great review, it really is appreciated. We loved welcoming you all again and as you will imagine Beau is missing her play mates O & T. Please keep in touch and I hope to get around to posting some of the great footage taken with M's new toy very soon. Thanks once again from the whole team at WL.... N

Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Grosvenor cottage. The cottage is immaculate, comfortable and very well located. Nicky & George are excellent hosts. They were very welcoming, looked after us and gave us fantastic local recommendations.
My girls felt at home and didn't want to leave at the end of four days. We will definitely return.




Nicky replied 210 days ago
Dear S & P Thanks for the great feedback, it really was our pleasure to welcome you all and we are delighted you so enjoyed your stay. It would be great to welcome you all back to Wharton Lodge Cottages one day.... in the meantime we will investigate the best restaurants for steak & ale pie ;-) (we also offer beef & ale casserole on our freezer menu). Warm regards Nicky

Superb cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was an amazing find. Beautifully decorated, clean as a whistle, comfortable and warm. The welcome from George and Nicky was fantastic and they were so helpful and keen to make sure our stay was as good as it could be. Everything had been thought of from a welcome pack of lovely breakfast goods to a bowl and towel for the dog. The park the cottages sit in is huge and good for stretching your legs or exercising the dog. Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing break in a peaceful setting.



Nicky replied 260 days ago
Dear Andrea Thanks so much for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your New Year stay with us. Really appreciate the feedback especially as you had to hit the ground running! Warm wishes, Nicky & George

Delightful luxury dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage, Grosvenor, was everything we hoped for and more. Set amidst lovely grounds with a park a short stroll away it was an ideal spot to chill out with our dog.over Christmas. Delightfully decorated and very comfortable with all mod cons. Nicky & George, the owners made us feel so welcome, even inviting us into the main lodge on Christmas morning for drinks. Lovely walks in the vicinity too, the Forest of Dean is only a short drive away. An excellent few days away, will definitely be going back.



Nicky replied 265 days ago
Dear J&A, Thank you so much for the great review. We are delighted you enjoyed Grosvenor and spending Christmas with us at Wharton Lodge Cottages. It makes our day to receive such positive feedback and it really is appreciated. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back, with an extra special request from Beau! Warmest wishes for a Happy New Year Nicky & George

Grosvenor cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Grosvenor cottage, Wharton Lodge , where the owners go the extra mile to make you welcome and ensure your comfort. The property is equipped to a high standard and presented in immaculate condition. We would recommend this property without hesitation and have already booked two further visits for 2017.



Nicky replied 268 days ago
Dear Linda Thank you so much for the fabulous review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to complete a review not to mention the very positive feedback. Thanks also for choosing WL this year, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in 2017... Wishing you a happy and healthy New Year N&G

Fabulous Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly magnificent place. Wharton Lodge is a perfect place to chill out and relax, cottages are lovingly cared for and the garden and surrounding parkland is fabulous. Nicky and George are perfect hosts, they are on hand if you need them and have vast knowledge about the surrounding area. We have had such a good time at Wharton Lodge and will definitely return



Nicky replied 351 days ago
Dear R & J Really appreciate your very kind feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome you both again and we are delighted you enjoyed your return visit to Wharton Lodge. Do keep in touch and remember you are always welcome N & G

Wonderful location and wonderful people

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a 3 night stay with our dog Mickey.
Grosvenor is a fabulous 2 bed cottage with good sized rooms and a nice powerful shower.
The kitchen is comprehensive, clean and very well equipped
Parking is a breeze, walking the dog across the fields is handy, the gardens are beautiful and the location quite perfect.
Nicky is a very generous and kind host, we felt that even though our visit was short, we had made a friend.
Whenever we are in need of a stay in the area - we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
Thank you.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & T Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,,,, and for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and found WL the perfect base for exploring the area. The fiver is in the post for your really kind feedback on me ;-) Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you to WL again sometime. Big thanks, N

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fortnight at Wharton Lodge Cottages and this was by all means one of the best holidays we have ever had. I can hardly put into words how exceptional our stay has been: Grosvenor cottage has everything your heart desires: excellent furnishings, comfortable and elegant, all rooms beautifully decorated with great thought to detail, well equipped and spotlessly clean. On our arrival we even had the bonus of a welcome hamper (very much appreciated after our long journey from Gemany)
The garden was also well kept and lovely to sit in. But the real wow factor is the people who run this place: Nicky and George are two kind, attentive and generous hosts giving us a very warm welcome, showing us round and providing us with fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden( bliss!) Also the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We truly had a memorable time and we can't thank Nicky and George enough. Annabelle, our Vizsla bitch, who was allowed to stay with us - as Grosvenor is a dog-friendly accommodation - also enjoyed each and every minute.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear H & I Firstly apologies for the delayed response, I had thought I had written a couple of weeks ago. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It really is appreciated when we receive so much praise and I will share your comments with our team. Do please stay in touch and we hope to welcome you (along with Anna) again one day. Warmest, N

PERFECT GETAWAY

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome was superb, Nicky was a wonderful hostess. Property is superbly appointed. Private courtyard is lovely for evening meals and morning coffee whilst the grounds themselves of Wharton Lodge are spectacular. Well kept and beautiful to look at and to relax in day or into the evening. "Dogs Welcomed" ! This was a huge part of us booking here as we want our time away with our black labrador, Stanley to be fun and luxurious rather than having to stay at home or camp in a tent to keep our dog with us. Wharton Lodge has it's own resident dogs who all made Stanley feel welcome too. Cannot mention too much how well furnished and decorated the cottages are. Location is superb for visiting local places such as Symonds Yat Rock, Hereford, Ross, The Chase-Williams Vodka Distillery (Leominster)-DO the tour!
Fabulous and recommended for those wanting and willing to pay a reasonable price for quality and luxury that is only just down the M50!




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & S Thanks so much for the amazing feedback which will be shared with the team. It really was our pleasure to welcome you all and take part (in a small way) in the celebrations..... N

Wharton Lodge, a favourite place.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Wharton Lodge Cottages numerous times over many years, usually staying in Grosvenor, and would not stay anywhere else if visiting Herefordshire. We are always assured of a warm welcome on arrival, a clean and comfortable cottage, and a peaceful stay. We just keep returning.



Grosvenor cottage, Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class in every way - a joy to stay there. Nicky, George and their team go the extra mile to make sure that you are welcome and comfortable. The cottage is furnished and equipped to a high standard and the gardens are a delight. We have already booked another visit and would recommend it without hesitation.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & R Thanks for taking the time to do a review and for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Grosvenor and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you both again later in the year.... Nicky

amazing cottage in a lovely area ,with lovely pubs and great sights.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
my wife and I have stayed at many up market holiday cottages ,but none can compare with Wharton Lodge ,we will be back again and again ! you could ask for anything more perfect.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & S Thanks very much for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your second holiday with us and your kindness is much appreciated. Please do let us know what we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. We should all have different cars before your next visit, we look forward to seeing your final choice.... Warm regards Nicky

A week long break in Herefordshire

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Grosvenor because it said it welcomed dogs & it really did, towels & dog bowls etc.. The cottage was just like a 'home from home' with everything you could need - including a tasty welcome hamper. The grounds surrounding our cottage were pretty spectacular & we were welcome to walk & sit in them. Many nice dog friendly places to eat out & the walking was plentiful & exhausting.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & D Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Wharton Lodge - both the cottage and the gardens. The area as you discovered is perfect for a visit with a canine companion. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all again one day.... Kind regards Nicky