FB Twitter

Xidong

Xidong

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.3


Xidong is a japanese cottage converted from an old stone and timber cowshed. It sleeps two people and has a hot-tub in the enclosed garden.

A short stay at Xidong

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a little gem hidden among the hills of Shropshire. If you like a real peace and quiet then this is the place.
We much enjoyed our short stay and the hot tub was icing on the cake.


Helen from Burgess Hill stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in July 2017


Short weekend Break at Xidong

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a wonderful stay at Xidong over the weekend! Its surroundings are breathtaking and you can literally walk in any direction from the front door! To say it was the most peaceful place i've ever been to was an understatement! I would definitely come back again and again... Me and my boyfriend absolutely loved every minute of it! What could they do to improve - not much really - maybe fix the blind in the bedroom as it lets light in in the morning... but other than that nothing! Summing up our stay - fabulous, relaxing and beautiful! Tim and Abby xx

Tim from Manchester stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in July 2017


Becky replied 7 days ago
Thank you Abby and Tim, I am glad you found it so peaceful, it can be quite noisy at times with ewes and lambs calling to each other, the birds - particularly the crows and the cockerel first thing, the dogs occasionally barking and... well, that's it really! Fixed the blind; thank you for mentioning it. We'll be very pleased to have you back again, you are welcome.

Beautiful hidden gem

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Xidong last weekend and what a fantastic surprise. Daffodils and snowdrops lining the drive up to the farmhouse which nestles in a beautiful valley. Nothing but birdsong, peace and quiet and absolutely no wifi or mobile signal at all - bliss. Becky and Peter are very relaxed hosts and any problems are dealt with straight away. The hot tub was fantastic after a long day in Ludlow. The kitchen is superbly equipped and the home made bread and marmalade go well with the supplied eggs, butter and milk. Thank you Becky and Peter for a lovely weekend break.

Karen from Chester stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in March 2017


Becky replied 7 days ago
It was a pleasure and I am very pleased you had such a lovely, peaceful weekend. I hope we will see you back again.

Pure bliss

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely away from it all cottage just a hop away from the quaint village of Bucknell. We can't fault this place even though there was some work being done on the ornamental garden. The walks were sometimes challenging but the scenery was fantastic. Storm Doris couldn't even dampen our enjoyment. Ludlow and Bishops Castle are well worth a visit and are just a short drive away. Peter & Becky were unobtrusive but always on hand if you needed them. The welcome pack was a lovely touch. Thank you both....we will return

Shaun from Leeds stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in February 2017


Becky replied 7 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. There is still some work to be done on the 'wildlife' garden! In fact the pond has completely given up being a pond for now as it is quite dry!

Peaceful retreat in a Shropshire sanctuary

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Xidong cottage and it was just as good as we remembered. No mobile phone signals, no wi-fi just peace and quiet in a beautiful setting.

The cottage has everything you need, including logs for the fire, and the welcome gift of fresh (still warm) bread, milk, eggs and flowers was lovely.

The plans for the garden sound amazing and we can't wait to return and see the results.


Richard from Chorley stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in January 2017


Becky replied 7 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry I have not posted a reply before now - it takes time for me to get around to it. If you want to see results in the garden, I think you may have to wait a little while... Peter has not been well and other things have taken precedence. See the news page for more...

Pure bliss, we love it here!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Reluctant to write reviews for this place as we love it so much we want to keep it a secret! The quirky little extras is what makes this place such a gem and we will be back again for sure.
This time we took our baby who along with the 2 dogs had a great time!!
So much to explore and the pubs are brilliant and well worth the short journey


Mike from Bletchley stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in January 2017


Becky replied 7 days ago
Better late than never they say. Thank you for your reluctant review - really, we still have plenty of availability, so there is no need to keep it secret yet!!

Fantastic weekend away

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved everything about this cottage. The property is as described on the website being remote, which we found bliss.
A true peaceful bolt hole which we will definitely both recommend and visit again.


Shelley from Puddington stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in January 2017


Becky replied 7 days ago
Yes, we are remote if you are used to living in a town or on a street. You get used to it though and it really isn't remote unless you want to go to the shops every day for supplies, or you happen to be very short of fuel (which could be a problem, though one we could certainly help with). Thank you for your kind review.

Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to xidong cottage for a mini moon after our wedding. We wanted somewhere we could totally relax and recharge our battery's after a hectic few weeks in the run up to our wedding. Xidong cottage gave us exactly that. We spent hours in the hot tub relaxing. The kitchen was well equipped and the bed was extremely comfortable. There where fresh bread, eggs, milk and butter on arrival which was a lovely touch. We will definitely be going back and I have already recommended it to so many people. Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay xx

Gemma from Birmingham stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in November 2016


Stunning autumn break at Xidong

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from the most wonderful few days in Shropshire, Xidong is an enchanting barn a joy to call home, a superb location for peace and tranquillity. This area of Shropshire is stunning, we were lucky enough to have beautiful dry still conditions with atmospheric early mist, gorgeous sunny spells and beautifully clear evening sky just perfect for a little hot tub star gazing. Beautiful garden which enchanted the dogs.
The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful with the trees in full autumn glory ideal for walking and just stopping to soak up the peace and beautifully manicured surroundings. The pride of the local farmers is evident.

Xidong is wonderfully well appointed and after a day exploring the area coming back to the hot tub, log fire and a cosy, comfortable bed.... bliss

A beautiful place just to be with someone special and a couple of scruffy mutts


Laura from Stonehouse stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in October 2016


Becky replied 247 days ago
We are also just back from a wonderful two weeks in Barbados! We are so pleased you had a great stay, which seemed to be enhanced by the weather. It is without doubt a beautiful place to chill and the hot tub is always available to use in all weathers! Hopefully we'll see you again sometime.

September stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week at Xidong and found the cottage really comfortable. The location is superb if you want seclusion and peace. The wood burner was a great bonus with logs supplied. The bed very comfy. The hot tub great.
There were however a few things which let the property down. The probably once impressive Japanese garden has an air of neglect and the water feature was just a muddy bog. It is now deemed a wildlife garden but apparently the pond leaks and was not repaired. The garden was full of weeds and the plants poorly maintained. The decking around the hot tub was tatty and slippery and the solar lights all broken. The decking outside the cottage french windows was rotten with planks loose exposing large nails. The garden furniture also very old and bench seat rotten. The windows and french windows in the cottage were homemade double glazing which were permanently misted up spoiling the views and just looked rubbish. There were no instruction books for the cottage appliances. The cottage and garden require a lot of TLC to restore to the condition portrayed on the website. The cottage was clean when we arrived and the eggs and bread a nice touch.


Steve from Bridport stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in September 2016


Peter replied 294 days ago
We are pleased that you both had a great week at Xidong and enjoyed the facilities and are sorry that you were disappointed with the garden. We agree that there is a good deal of maintenance needed outside and this is something we attend to on an ongoing basis. The pond is a great feature but has deteriorated through the action of tree roots. It needs to be relined which is a major undertaking and we are considering other options before taking it on, as stated on the website. The decking is shortly to be repaired or renewed, the solar lights have been attended to and the ornamental bench is to be replaced. (The garden table and chairs are not old as they were only recently purchased). As to the glazing, the triple folding doors that completely open the cottage up to the garden in warm weather were purpose made and replacing these and the double glazing is a very costly structural improvement which if we had the means, would do so; for the time being we do not and our usual prices reflect that. The cottage appliances and worktop were installed very recently and we could easily have provided instructions if requested. We try to encourage guests to let us know if there is anything that we can help with during their stay.

Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our stay was very peaceful just what we wanted. The hot tub was fab. Lovely fresh bread and eggs were a great touch. The location is very quite which is great if you want some time away.

Guest from Buxton stayed at Xidong for 2 nights in September 2016


Becky replied 303 days ago
Thank you for your kind review, it says it all!

A break from everything ....

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Xidong cottage delivered in many levels . It was 15 minutes from anywhere , the cottage was without wifi & mobile phone signal so it was quiet and relaxing. It offered an oriental feel with an interior that blended Asian decor and furniture into a converted barn with some success. It's open plan layout offered a multitude of options with a view of the Japanese gardens and the hills behind. The hot tub in the garden was a simple bit of genius providing hours of relaxation after a busy day out running or visiting some local attraction
Sadly the Japanese gardens, as detailed and accurate as they once clearly were, looked old and in dire need of attention. The water features dried out and muddy , the plants over grown and the wood work aged and in places rotten under foot. What should have been a useful key feature to us was the washing machine and dryer. Alas the the 'new' washing machine kept blowing fuses and there appeared no urgency to have it repaired during our stay.
That said the Xidong is a delightful secluded holiday cottage and one we found to meet many of our needs. Any future guests wold be well advised to stock up on foodstuffs etc as its a long way to nip out for a pint of milk


Phil from Upholand stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in August 2016


Becky replied 325 days ago
Thank you for your review. You are right - the garden is a mess and it is high on our list of things to deal with. However, neither Peter nor I have been in the best of health and in those circumstances one has to decide what is most important to do first; I am afraid the garden is a big job and needs time - it will be done. As to the washing machine; it was sorted, maybe not immediately and I am sorry for that. Someone unknown to me had decided that a 5 amp fuse not a 13 amp fuse was correct, so it was no wonder it blew! I still don't understand why a guest would replace a fuse of the wrong ampage and not say anything to us about it?

Relaxing break from the stresses of life

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Xidong for 4 days and had a lovely time. Fresh eggs, bread, butter and milk were waiting for us when we arrived and the cottage was very well presented. The hot tub was very relaxing and we had lovely break away from life. Highly recommended.

Matt from Nottingham stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in August 2016


Becky replied 333 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Not the best of weather that week, but as you discovered the hot-tub is good in almost any weather!

Our getaway in Xidong

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely weekend away. We were so impressed by the cottage, it's quirky design and the welcome treats we received on arrival (including eggs from the farm and fresh lillies). The bed was comfy and the terry cloth robe for when we got out of the hot tub was the icing on the cake. Couldn't recommend this cottage more to people who truly want to get away and enjoy some quality time.

Niahm from Elstow stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in August 2016


A beautiful peaceful retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This barn conversion is beautifully done and a lot bigger than it seems from the photos. The enclosed garden made it easy for us to let our two dogs play freely through out the week. The space both inside and out is charmingly designed, and we loved being able to fold back the doors to the garden and let the outside in. It would have been even lovelier if the ponds had been full, but it didn't worry us, and at least avoided the dogs falling in!

The farm and the surrounding area is peaceful and quiet, and with no wifi or phone signal, we enjoyed a real retreat from the usual constant communications, news and business.





Harriet from York stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in August 2016


Back to Xidong!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 3rd stay at Squire Farm in Xidong. I first stayed in 2009.
I love the location for wildlife and history, and for interesting small towns with their architecture and history.
Or just to stay relaxing and reading at Xidong, with an occasional trip to the hot tub!
My only personal downside is that there is no bath (I knew this right from the start); I really struggle with just a shower/wet room for more than 3-4days, so a week was beginning to be an issue!
I may well return, but probably to the Farmhouse which has a bath!


Guest from Sutton stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in July 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review; it was good to have you back again and, of course, you are welcome any time. I'm sorry the cats didn't visit you! As for the bath - where would you put it? xx

could be amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
felt property needed a little TLC I appreciate it is on a working farm and windows do get dirty but could hardly see out of them, lots of cobwebs inside and shower rather dated and smelly. Outside could be fantastic the hot tub was great but it would have been lovely to see a clean pond not a stagnant one with thick green algae, did not spoil our stay but feel it can be so much better

Keith from Nuneaton stayed at Xidong for 2 nights in June 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry you were disappointed with a few things in the cottage. Yes, there are lots of things which need attention - it is an on-going project, hence the fact that I have paint on my hands right now from re-decorating the bedroom and the wet-room ceiling! The windows need re-glazing - an expensive undertaking and one which will be done eventually; they have been cleaned quite recently. However, in the last year we have replaced the washing machine and drier and built a handy counter top and boot shelf in the lean-to; replaced the torn hot-tub cover (the fourth now) and pollarded the chestnut trees to let more light and less leaves into the garden. I'm afraid however often we remove the cobwebs, those spiders just put'em up again; it is part of the character of the building that spiders come with the old beams. Oh, and the pond is covered in duck-weed (time of year)and is full of newts and frogs, so it is not stagnant.

A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Xidong as a retreat after our wedding. It proved to be the perfect escape from everything and a great base for our honeymoon walks on the amazing Shropshire hills. Hospitality was great, eggs, butter, milk and bread all from the farm was very much appreciated. The Xidong cottage was everything we hoped for and more, its much larger than we thought it would be, the garden is uniquely Japanese and there is nothing better than relaxing in the hot-tub after a day walking. There are numerous little villages and towns nearby to visit with many pubs, tea rooms and shops with local produce. Highly recommend this place!

Sarfraz from Ilford stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in June 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. It's a pleasure to share the beautiful countryside here with others who appreciate it so much.

A wonderful country hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Xidong is wonderful. If you want to leave everything behind and just simply switch off and relax completely, this is the place for you. Hot tub, wood burning stove, countryside, peace and quiet. What more could you want?

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in March 2016


Loved it all!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at Xidong. Everything we could imagine and more. Quirky but really comfortable. Fire was lit for us on our arrival and the underfloor heating was a treat. Didn't get in the car for 2 days and it was heavenly to be out of mobile range! Couldn't get the TV to work but actually that was a blessing! Fabulous walks with the hot tub soothing aching limbs. Loved it all!

Jake from Wotton Under Edge stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in March 2016


Torn to write this review

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2016
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Ok, so, I haven't written a bad review in forever and I want to be clear, there are many good things about Xidong (I'll list them) and the things that drove me crazy may not annoy others so much. However, as an enthusiastic traveller, I have to admit that the negatives, in my case, outweighed the positives.
This cottage is beautiful! It is not overlooked (unless you count the chickens). It has lovely high ceilings and a light airy feel. It was very quiet. There were delicious eggs awaiting our arrival and a pretty bunch of fresh flowers. The hot tub is clean and is just blissful. It is switched on for your use and has clear instructions. The robes are a great touch and were very welcome. The washing machine and tumble dryer were in good order. The television was big and worked fine (bring your own DVDs). There is a small amount of underfloor heating that is nice when you are eating your breakfast at the table. You can't enjoy this for too long though because the dining chairs are wood and very low.

The first thing you notice after you brew yourself a nice cup of tea is that the sofa is not for lounging. It is bench hard. So you take to the ikea type wooden single seater and though it is not bench hard it is not cosy- which is a shame. Because in the middle of winter, in a barn, you want to put on a woolly jumper and big slippers and curl up near a fireplace and read or stare or count your chickens.
Which, unfortunately brings me on to the fireplace. I am not a fireplace virgin- I have a great working knowledge of how to use them. Yet this one completely baffled me as it bellowed smoke at every opportunity. On the first night the barn was quite cold, but with a few jumpers and a fireplace it should have been ok. However the matches that were left were all wet. Even if we had brought our own matches there was no paper to use to start the fire. I have to admit, that without the comfy sofa to snuggle on, or the fireplace to sit near, we took to the bed upstairs (comments on the bed to follow). The following day after getting hold of a new pack of matches (and a lighter and a newspaper) we found that the fireplace was just difficult. To the point where we ended up going to bed early again, just to keep warm and be slightly comfortable.
The bed!
No.
I really had no idea that my wife's side was more comfortable than mine until she climbed into my side on the second night and immediately complained about the springs. I woke up several times on the first night. Cold and seriously in pain. On the second night I was so tired I woke up less but was unable to sleep on my left side due to an unwelcome spring. I can see that there is a topper and I'm sure that some people may be ok with this bed. We weren't.
The boiler is in the bedroom and does come on during the night- funnily the first time it happened it sounded like gun shots- so that was a treat! Unfortunately you get used to the gun shots and then a few knocks every few hours.
There was a Welcome Folder that had clear instructions on how to use the fireplace and hot tub, however, there was no local map. My suggestion is that tourist usually like a map. Well I do. I think it would be great to have a little map that shows you how you can walk in to Bucknell- especially because there is no internet access- you are really relying on prior research or what is available at the accommodation. There was a kind of information draw under the tv that had a disorganised splay of tourist information- my wife spent a good hour sorting through it.
On the one sunny day we piled some cushions high onto the sofa, to make a little soft-type-fort and just snuggle and look out the window only to discover that the glazing on the windows had ruined and turned the windows white. It will all need to be replaced and is not accurately represented in the photos on the website.
A couple of nights before we were due to leave, as we lay in bed, we hatched a plan to just cut our loses and bunk out a day early. It was the happiest we had been all week.
It is not my intention to upset Squire farm in any way- a new sofa, a new mattress, new windows, perhaps a chimney clean and this place would have been delightful.


Anna from stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in December 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and I am sorry your stay was not up to your expectations. Firstly, let me point out that we were here for the whole time of your stay and would have been more than happy to address any problems you had to the best of our ability. The wood burner has been checked (there is no damage) and lit with no problems and no smoke, illustrating that we can sort out guests problems if they ask. It appears your expectations have not been met, but no-where in the description of the cottage do we state that we have a ‘sofa’. It is a bench with futons and some large cushions – true, not to everyone’s taste, but that is what it is; what it is not, is a cosy little farm cottage and again, this is made clear in the description. We can only know about recalcitrant springs in the bed by people telling us about them as we do not use it ourselves! Again, we knew nothing of this and could have done something about it if we had been told. Finally, I am very pleased that there were some elements of your stay which were to your satisfaction; we have indeed spent a lot of money recently on the washing machine and tumble drier and many other repairs and improvements. The hot water tank was an essential addition for our guests to be able to have plenty of hot water for a shower and washing up; it is regrettable that it has to be in the bedroom, but there really is nowhere else for it to go. As for the heating and the windows – both are issues we have considered at length and if we had the means, would replace without hesitation; as it is, we do not and our usual prices reflect that. For any potential guests reading this review and reply, please, please come and tell us if there is a problem...

Recharge the batteries

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent for a uk holiday, peace, quiet,super hot tube,home made bread and good local dining in beautiful surroundings.
What more could you need!


Janet from Lavenham stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in December 2015


Wonderful cottage in a beautiful part of the country

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Xidong cottage is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed in the UK. You could not want for a more relaxing location and the cottage itself is simply perfect. It's one of those places you want to tell people about, tell them how great it is, but then don't tell them where it is as you want to keep it all to yourself.

Julian from Carterton stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in September 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review! Please, do tell friends where we are - unless you want to stay here all year round!!

Peace and quiet in rural Shropshire

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hot tub, two sorts of owl, dark skies ablaze with the Milky Way, walks on Caer Caradoc with views over rolling hills and woods. What more do you need?

Andrew from Oxford stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in September 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
What indeed? With clear skies and only a gentle breeze what better way to watch the stars than from our hot-tub?

The perfect place to escape to

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Xidong cottage is the most beautiful, calm and relaxing retreat, tucked away in a valley between the Shropshire Hills. No mobile phone signal, no wi-fi, just relax in the hot tub and take in the views or the stars at night. Perfect!

Su from Gillingham stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in August 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
That is beautiful! 'Perfect'! Thank you.

Xidong escape!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time back, this time for 1st wedding anniversary! Love Squire farm and Xidong cottage. Hot tub late at night looking at the stars is a wonderful experience. The rainfall shower, open fire, under floor heating and snug little bedroom up a stone staircase are great features. Homemade bread and freshly laid eggs are welcome touches.
One thing that could do with a bit of work is the garden as this time it seemed a little unloved.
Overall, have lots of happy memories from Xidong and will be back!
Hannah & Simon Jones.


Guest from Dudley stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in July 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review Hannah and Simon. You are right, the garden is a little un-loved at the moment, but not to worry, we have plans to make it a bit easier to keep tidy.

relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect just what we wanted and needed relaxing no noise couple of birds apart from that great. That'sour 3rd cottage trip of the year and th best by miles.

Hot tub was fantastic,


Guest from Southampton stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in July 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Being the 'best so far' is more than we could hope for - thank you so much!

A peaceful and relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely welcome pack of bread, milk, eggs and butter was awaiting for us as well as tea bags and coffee. The hot tub was lovely and the garden was very secure for our dog. We enjoyed being left to ourselves and had a really nice time.

Guest from West Midlands stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in June 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review; it's a shame you missed the glorious weather we had at the weekend though!

Peaceful break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Brilliant break away from the work and city life. Cottage and garden set in a peaceful and beautiful location - did find that there isn't much around but brilliant if you want a break away doing nothing. Hot tub was amazing and felt very relaxed. Didn't get to see owners but quite nice being left alone and knowing they are close if needed. Only issues were that the garden lights weren't working (or couldn't work them out). Great value for money

Guest from Bristol stayed at Xidong for 3 nights in May 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We didn't get to see our guests either, but we don't like to intrude on people and unless we see them in passing, tend to leave them to their peace. However, we are, as you say, near by to help with any problems or answer questions as best we can. We've checked the lights and they are now working. There is lots of countryside around with walks, woods, water and views, but yes, you need a car if you want to see or do anything else.

Second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our second visit, just as relaxing as the first, but one or two little bits in need of tlc.
In general the cottage is just lovely, but a couple of little things need addressing. The shower head either needs renewing or de scaling as many holes in the rose are partially or completely blocked. Outside the wooden walkway needs the odd repair and a general spruce up with varnish or paint as does the surround to the hot tub which would have been even better for a sweep around it to prevent getting covered with bits of tree and dead leaves every time.
I don't want this to sound like a whinge as Xidong is a fabulous place to stay, so relaxing in a wonderful get away from it all location, just these few quick wins would make an awful lot of difference cosmetically, also having listed a welcome pack including fresh bread, we didn't take any with us as it was so lovely before and were a little disappointed to find none there.
The little things make a lot of difference and would move this place from a three star to a five star cottage.
We will be back.


Guest from Stowmarket stayed at Xidong for 4 nights in May 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. You are right there are a few things to attend to; a difficult winter with ill health and then lambing has meant the cottages have been a little neglected in the last few months. The bread;oops! First time I haven't left bread or cake for our guests and I am really sorry you didn't say anything... not having had time to bake on the Monday of your arrival, I might have managed it on the Tuesday! I must admit, having seen a few half eaten loaves thrown in the compost bin, I have been having doubts as to whether guests appreciate it or not.

A great escape

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Myself my fiancé and our Labrador had an amazing relaxing stay here , so tranquil :)
No internet , no phone signal ! Lush !!
I have rated the customer service low only because we never saw anyone really , which is also fine with me :)


Claire from Northampton stayed at Xidong for 7 nights in April 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. It is true, we do not necessarily meet everyone - many people simply want to be left alone to enjoy their space. However we are nearly always around somewhere, be it on the farm or in the farmhouse if there are queries or problems and always let our guests know if we are going to be away, which doesn't happen very often.