FB Twitter

Violet Grove

Violet Grove

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Violet Grove is situated on the outskirts of the busy market town of Castle Douglas. The house itself is a 2 bedroom semi-detached with it’s own private garden and parking. There is a substantial decking at the front for you to enjoy the long summer evenings looking over the picturesque Carlingwark Loch and Park. It has been totally re-furbished and it will have everything the modern day self caterer requires!

Ideal location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed the easy access to the town and the view of the Loch. The house was well equipped and provided a cosy comfortable base from which to explore the coast and towns. Donald was really helpful and accommodating too with the addition of a complimentary breakfast pack much appreciated.



great location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
perfectly located to explore the area , super local chippy. Lovely walk around the loch from the doorstep [ 3 miles ]




Beautifully decorated and very comfortable house. Perfectly positioned near to the town centre

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable house that has recently been refurbished. Very close to the town centre yet with a beautiful open view over the loch.



A lovely home-from-home in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully furnished and decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable, Violet Grove was a great choice for our week in Dumfries and Galloway - our first visit to this beautiful region but certainly not our last!
Castle Douglas is ideally situated for exploring the area, and lives up to its billing as the region's Food Town by having plenty of good places to eat (don't miss Moore's fish & chip shop and Earth's Crust Bakery!).




Our wee break

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house in a really good location, enjoyed our stay. Dog friendly as well which is a big plus for us and Donald was very helpful with our queries.



General review

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good accommodation in good location. We found everything to our satisfaction. We would suggest some whisky tumblers would be a useful addition!



So glad we opted for violet grove

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super location and very conveniently situated for the short walk into all the amenities in lovely Castle Douglas, what a revelation it was and also easy to explore the local countryside. Everything we could want was provided, sadly not the weather, but it is Scotland after all and to be fair June is usually great! We also had the best nights sleep in ages and our collie dog had a brilliant visit. Just a couple of things the addition of which may assist future visitors, perhaps a slip mat in the shower/bath for safety and a few guidance notes about the sky tv remote for those of us unfamiliar with such technicals? Otherwise couldn’t fault this beautiful holiday cottage and the area. We will be back!



Donald replied 82 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. As you say we are lucky that we are situated on the edge of town but we are a 5 minute walk from the main street. I appreciate you thinking of improvements that we can make and I will sort that out hopefully for your return!! Many thanks again.

Fantastic property overlooking the Loch, in Castle Douglas.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, clean, comfortable home from home cottage. Everything was as described and we would certainly go back again. It was well positioned for travelling about Galloway and surrounding areas. Lovely cottage to come back to and relax or enjoy a walk around the loch or watch the birds feeding from the front window. Would definitely recommend.



Donald replied 82 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to send a review for your break. We have a great situation for visiting all the beauty of Dumfries and Galloway. Hopefully we will see you soon.

Fabulous 4 days away.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all had a fabulous stay at Violet Grove, there was lots of places to visit even though the weather was not great. The loch and the park over the road was ideal for walking our dog. It was a very relaxing holiday.



Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend/stay at violet grove. We cannot fault the accomodation for cleanliness, amenities and location.
The breakfast pack and bubbly were a lovely addition and most welcomed.
We would recommend this holiday property highly as worth every penny.
Thanks again for the stay
Graeme, Jacky and Bobby




Superb short break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a place to stay in Dumfries and Galloway which is central to all amenities Violet Grove has it all. A lovely well set out home with fantastic views out the front. A very short stroll takes you into Castle Douglas which is a fab wee town. Beautiful scenery all around. Donald was amazing right from booking and through our stay. Can’t wait to go back



Location

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage great location with loch view. Tastefully decorated, nice breakfast welcome pack