FB Twitter

Snaffle

Snaffle

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


A superb 4 bedroom (2 double, 2 single)bedroom sleep 6 family cottage.

Very tired

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is very tired and needs refurbishing.They should charge a bit extra and include Sky. The worst thing about it is stating it has Wi-Fi when it certainly does not nor any telephone reception. We will not be returning.

Richard from East Grinstead stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in August 2018


Pete Gray replied 103 days ago
I am sorry that this guest had a disappointing time. With regard to the wi-fi I totally acknowledge there was a problem which we only became aware of on the Friday evening of these guests arrival. Unfortunately this was a bank holiday weekend and I was unable to obtain support until the Tuesday morning. I understand the frustration of this. My IT consultant spent several hours on Tuesday rectifying the issue. This has highlighted a hardware problem and new equipment has been ordered to remove the possibility of the fault recurring. I did offer the guest an alternative of coming to our house to gain internet access, an offer which was never taken up. I did keep the guest informed of what we were doing throughout the process. This was a temporary problem which affected guests over a few days, however it is not true to say that Pitt Farm does not have wi-fi. We do run on a rural broadband which is slow compared to Superfast, it is hoped that fibre will be installed in the first quarter of next year. Mobile reception does vary around the site (we are rural) and I am aware that reception was gained but not in all areas. With regard to other comments I refer readers to the full list of reviews to speak for the cottage.

A fun-packed week in Snaffle Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I (from 3 to 70) had a great week at Pitt Farm. The location is spectacular with lovely views across neighbouring farmland and it is really well located for all the attractions South Devon has to offer. Totnes, Kingsbridge and Dartmouth are all close by, as are some great beaches (we particularly loved Bigbury-on-Sea).
We were made to feel very welcome by Pete from the outset of our stay and really appreciated the little touches, such as some arrival goodies and the honesty shop (or "green shop" as my children called it!). The animal feeding is not as extensive an experience as at some of the places we've stayed but the children (3 and 5) enjoyed it. They also enjoyed playing in the small games room (which has a small soft play area and table tennis table) and we spent many happy hours in the swimming pool. At no time did the site feel crowded, despite the fact that it was fully booked that week and it felt very safe for small children.
The accommodation was very spacious and had everything we needed. The kitchen was particularly well stocked with a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer, all of which were put to good use!
Very pleasingly, the local pub is only a mile or so across country (on a well marked footpath) and served a good range of drinks (particularly gins).
Pitt Farm had everything we needed for a great family holiday and we hope to return some time soon.



Sarah from London stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in August 2018


A wonderful stay for my sons wedding party

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a simply wonderful long weekend. Pitt farm is a beautiful place folded into the devon countryside, with a gentle grace. The houses are well equiped and and well maintained and have an abundance of everything you could possibly need.
We hosted 55 friends for 3 days with ease and joy here and would thoroughly recomend Pitt fame to everyone. The pool and games room were enjoyed by young and old alike and the photos do not really show the charm of the farm as its difficult to photograph the topography.


Alison from Edinburgh stayed at Snaffle for 3 nights in July 2018


Great for families!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location with lovely views over the countryside. Great hospitality & facilities. Loved the animals and soft play! Some of the decor is a little tired but overall very clean and homely. Would love to come back again!

Clare from Claygate stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in June 2018


Lovely Half Term Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time staying at Pitt Farm over half term, there was lots on site for the children to do such as swimming and tennis.
The owners were very friendly.


Rachel from Andover stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in May 2018


Delightful stay at Pitt Farm.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations, including 3 year old granddaughter, really enjoyed a week's stay in Snaffle cottage. All the facilities were well used, including the swimming pool, table tennis, soft play area, gardens, playground and farm animal area. My granddaughter enjoyed feeding the animals in the morning and collecting the chicken eggs.
Pete is such a friendly host and nothing is too much trouble for him. Such a treat to be able to order fresh croissants and bread to be collected each morning.
We loved the setting of the converted farm buildings which are so attractive and we were spoilt for choice when deciding what to do in the area.
If we can we will definitely choose to come back.


Linda from Christchurch stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in May 2018


Pitt Farm - excellent holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pitt Farm was a wonderful place to stay - ages of guests ranged from 3 weeks old to 80 years old and was perfectly suitable for all. The holiday could not be faulted 10 out of 10.

Alan from Bourton, Gillingham stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in March 2018


Fantastic stay at Pitt Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Pitt Farm. Pete and Sue were absolutely lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, whilst very much respecting our privacy. The views from the complex are gorgeous. We all loved the swimming pool whatever the weather and the tennis court and table tennis were also great. Our kids loved the little soft play area and the outside play area too and we'll all miss Harry the pig! Oh and the little honesty shop was a real bonus! Thank you so much - we'll definitely be back!

Lisa from Diptford stayed at Snaffle for 31 nights in January 2018


Fabulous location ,house, facilities 100 percent

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent.Owners could'nt have been more helpful.ideal spot for children from babies to teenagers.Enjoyed by all.

Elizabeth from East Grafton stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in October 2017


A short break in South Hams

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Snaffle on Pitt Farm for three nights this October. I have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We were welcomed well with scones, jam and cream and a bottle of wine. The cottage is very comfortable. We did not use the pool but it looked wonderful. It is set in the most beautiful area with easy access to the coast, wonderful walking and places to visit.

Guest from Cirencester stayed at Snaffle for 3 nights in October 2017


Short stay with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect, comfortable stay for young families.

We had a lovely long weekend at Pitt Farm. We really appreciated all the wonderful facilities for children. Lovely, warm indoor swimming pool and a fantastic soft play and play room. Our toddlers really enjoyed feeding the animals twice a day.
All the thoughtful extras from fresh scones and yummy wine, toys in the cottage to a beautiful little shop were much appreciated. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Sue - thank you for a lovely holiday.


Rebecca from Bristol stayed at Snaffle for 2 nights in September 2017


A brilliant family holiday for 3 generations

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grandchildren children and grandparents all enjoyed ever pit of of our stay at Snaffle Cottage at Pitt Farm. Pete and Sue are excellent hosts and nothing is no much trouble for them. The honesty shop is a great idea and much appreciated. The location is superb and the Cottage was well equipped and very clean.

Roger from Bournemouth stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in May 2017


A warm welcome at Pitt Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to spend time with family and friends.

The setting is perfect, the accommodation clean and well laid out.

The pool, sauna, tennis court and games room great for kids and adults.

Warm welcome from Pete and Sue.

All in all a place we'll want to come back to, time and again


Chris from Hartley Wintney stayed at Snaffle for 2 nights in March 2017


A birthday weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently rented 'Snaffle' to celebrate my husband's birthday with our daughter and her family. We chose Pitt Farm Cottages because of the facilities for our Grandchildren and it didn't disappoint. The indoor pool,tennis courts and indoor play room were an asset and used a great deal over the weekend. On arrival we found to our delight scones,cream and jam together with a lovely bottle of wine. The cottage was deceptively large,having a spacious lounge and 4 bedrooms,ideal for 2 couples and 2 children. Another great touch was the intercom system between the cottage,pool and games room ideal for requesting a cup of coffee to be delivered whilst supervising the children. We were able to order fresh croissants and bread each morning and the Honesty Shop stocked a wide range of essential and non essential items.
Pete and Sue go that extra mile for their guests I can really recommend Pitt Farm Cotages and we wish Pete and Sue continued success.


Lesley from Bristol stayed at Snaffle for 3 nights in January 2017


Perfect location and perfect hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fantastic week at Pitt Farms. From the moment we booked the owners were helpful and communicative, and that extended to our stay which we all thoroughly enjoyed.

The basic supplies, and especially the cream tea, was very welcome on our arrival. The location is beautiful and ideal for seeing so many different things in the area, and the facilities are on site are second to none especially for those with children.

We enjoyed every minute, the place is excellent value for money, and we will be sure to be back soon!


Tim from Middle Barton stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in October 2016


A lovely, very peaceful, quiet place for a break.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt very welcome. The countryside is beautiful. There is plenty to do both on and off the site. The pool was good and meals out in the area were excellent.

Janet from Littlehampton stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in October 2016


A lovely mix of old stone farm buildings set in stunning, rolling English countryside.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very welcoming reception , provided with the makings of a homemade cream tea and a bottle of wine to set the scene.
Set in stunning surroundings. Major attractions being the well maintained indoor swimming pool and the excellent tennis court. The games room is a little bit tired and in need of modernisation.

Accommodation clean and adequate. Kitchen well appointed but possibly lacking in utensils.
Good, comfortable beds and good quality linen and towels.

In easy reach of The Fortescue Arms which provides excellent food.


John from Lymington stayed at Snaffle for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted with a very warm welcome to Pitt Farm, the cottage was spotlessly clean on arrival. The on site facilities are great, including indoor pool, tennis court & games room. Great location for exploring South Devon.
Thanks for a lovely stay


Emma from Truro stayed at Snaffle for 4 nights in June 2016


Excellent Holiday Destination

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pete & Sue made us very welcome as always. We've been here a few times now & it really is the perfect UK break. Every time we visit we seem to discover another part of this amazing area.
The cottages are immaculately clean and with all the accessories & equipment that you need to enjoy your holiday. It feels very much like a home from home.
We will definitely be going again & would thoroughly recommend Pitt farm as a holiday destination.


Tony from Pamber Green stayed at Snaffle for 3 nights in June 2016


Spring swing quartet

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pete and Sue were excellent hosts for our extended weekend golf break, both welcoming and seeing us off with great warmth and humour. We made good use of the swimming and tennis facilities and all found the accommodation both comfortable and relaxing - and thats saying something for four men the wrong side of 50! A little off the beaten track, but all the more peaceful for it.

Jeff from Guildford stayed at Snaffle for 2 nights in April 2016