FB Twitter

Kineton

Kineton

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


A 4 bedroomed (2 double, 2 twin), sleep 8 cottage. Living accommodation on first floor with stunning views from lounge. Real fire in lounge.

Reed and Terry

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a lovely time. The property was big enough for us( 4 adults and 2 children._
The directions to find the property were good and the play room, swimming pool and play area were excellent.
Problems with WI fi were quickly sorted out and the support from Pete and Sue was excellent. The honesty sdhop is a great idea.

Get rid of the sleeping policemen on the track!


Hilary from Basingstoke stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2018


Disappointing

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Kineton is damp. That’s pretty fundamental.

Kitchen, utility and dining room are fine, pleasant. ( but standard size fridge for 8 adults?). Living room is a good space, but horrible tatty, lumpy sofas.

Internet died day 3.

Facilities generally don’t live up to website. We expected some kind of animal interaction to be on offer. Pool disappointing. small dark and not somewhere to spend much time. Try fighting your way down the steps and through the plastic curtain while carrying a baby. You can’t really play table tennis with small kids right by the table.

We should have checked the location more carefully, too far from anything, not your fault


Laura from Stourbridge stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2018


Pete Gray replied 52 days ago
I am sorry that these guests are disappointed but wish to address a couple of points made. We greet all of our guests personally and expressly ask them to contact us if there are any problems with the cottage. At the same time we explain about our animals and let guests know that they can join us to feed the animals and if they wish to walk the alpacas the just need to ask and we will arrange this. We did not receive any request of this nature from these guests and therefore find the animal interaction comment confusing. To say that Kineton is damp is inaccurate. There was an issue with a damp patch forming after heavy rain (following a prolonged hot dry spell). I was only made aware of this when the guests were leaving days later and the damp patch had cleared. The guest who told me about it said it was not a problem and did not affect their holiday. If I had been made aware at the time the situation would have been resolved. As it is I was able to resolve the problem with 2 hours of being told about it. I acknowledge there was an a problem with the wi-fi which took several days to resolve. With regard to the sofa and pool comments I refer readers to the full body of reviews for this cottage.

A brilliant holiday venue for 3 generations!

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kineton is comfortable and well equipped accommodation on the Pitt Farm Complex. The house itself is spacious giving everyone room to spread out, relax and enjoy the facilities.

Pete and Sue were very welcoming with a lovely cream tea and bottle of wine provided in the house on arrival.

Throughout the stay they were unobtrusive but available if needed.

The games room with separate under 5's soft play space was much enjoyed, as was the outdoor play area and the lovely swimming pool kept at an ideal temperature.

Sue's honesty shop was an appreciated addition with delicious fresh croissants and bread (approved even by the French contingent in our group!), available each morning if ordered the night before.


Ruth from Tavistock stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2018


Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location, peaceful and quiet. Bigbury beach nearby was our favourite. Tasteful and inventive conversion of buildings and very comfy accommodation. Loads of space outside for youngsters, play ground and animals to feed and the indoor pool is excellent. Cosy local pub. Very well organised.

Dave from Abingdon stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in July 2018


Can’t fault a thing

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly booking was nice and easy Pete accommodated our last minute request for a stay. Arriving at the cottage the views are beautiful and the cottages nice and peaceful. We came with 4 year old twins and it was perfect for them. They had a great time in the outdoor pool and mini soft play and scootering around the tennis courts and pretending to be pirates in the trampoline park. Kineton cottage itself is lovely and spacious. I thought the cream tea and wine left on arrival was a really lovely touch. It was also great to have some essentials such as washing up liquid tea and coffee. The cottage was lovely and clean too. The honesty shop is a great idea and the fresh baked bread and croissants we ordered were amazing! The cottage is a short drive to the beaches and also Dartmouth where you can have a trip on ferry and steam train into he other seaside towns. we wouldn’t hesitate to return or recommend it to friends and family the only downside is having to leave

Sarah from Orpington stayed at Kineton for 4 nights in July 2018


Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pete and Sue are wonderful hosts - from the lovely welcome pack of scones n clotted cream to their always available help and friendliness. A memorable weekend in gorgeously Devon.

Susie from Kailua Kona stayed at Kineton for 2 nights in June 2018


Our stay at Pitt Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved every minute of our stay at Pitt Farm, Sue and Pete are so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The kids loved the games room , animals, outside play area and pool and we all played tennis is in the sunshine every evening. The cottage was very clean with everything you could need and in a great location. We loved it so much we are already looking to book for next year!

Zoe from Romford stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in May 2018


Enjoyable break for all the family

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Pitt Farm, in the Kinerton cottage. The kids especially enjoyed the swimming pool which was clean and lovely and warm. They also loved the games room. The farm is in a beautiful setting and the cottage was very well equipped and spacious for our family of 8.

Claire from Crewe stayed at Kineton for 4 nights in April 2018


Fabulous family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay with our friends - 4 adults and 4 children ranging in age from 18 months to 8 years old. We had an absolutely brilliant time and we will definitely be coming back. The weather was very mixed but there is so much to do on site and the accommodation was so spacious that we never felt at a loose end. We visited Dartmouth, Totnes and the beaches of Bantham and Burgh Island, all of which are within a few miles of Pitt Farm. Pete and Sue are fantastic hosts and put on a lovely Easter hunt for all of the children. We loved it.

Lisa from Bristol stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in March 2018


Lovely restful place

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying at PITT Farm a second time. The cottage was lovely, spacious and well equipped. The pool is a great bonus.

Janet from Littlehampton stayed at Kineton for 4 nights in December 2017


Weekend away with mums & kids

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous time - beautiful, clean cottage and owners very kind & helpful. The children thoroughly enjoyed the pool and had a great time on the trampoline and in the games room. Honesty shop is a lovely idea, especially if you've run out or forgotten something. Location is gorgeous, although quite remote, so you will need your car to explore. If you have teenagers with you like we did, need to be aware that the wi fi is not so good.

Mandy from Caerleon stayed at Kineton for 2 nights in November 2017


Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic facilities everything you need for a young family lots of lovely places to visit within easy driving distance !

Elizabeth from East Grafton stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in October 2017


Perfect of a toddler

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Pitt Farm in Kineton cottage for 4 nights with our 2 year old son. The owners have really thought about keeping little ones entertained and they cannot do enough for you. The cottage itself was very comfortable and had everything we needed to guarantee a relaxing, enjoyable break. The indoor soft play and swimming pool were welcomed activities on the rainy days when you would normally be indoors trying to entertain small children. We particularly liked the extra little touches like freshly baked croissants and bread in the mornings, they were delicious and a must if you are staying here. The location is also within a short 20 minute drive of some lovely beaches, our favourite was Salcombe South Sands. I can honestly say that you won't be disappointed if you are looking for a great family holiday with lots to keep little ones entertained.

Daniel from Sale stayed at Kineton for 4 nights in September 2017


Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is in a beautiful location and Pete was very welcoming and friendly - he let the children use the pool in the first day even though it was technically after hours and he also allowed us to check out later which was very helpful . The farm is well looked after and there are lots if thoughtful touches . The cottage was quite cold even in the summer so jumpers recommended and showers quite slow . All in though a wonderful week in a very spacious well equipped cottage

Lisa from London stayed at Kineton for 6 nights in August 2017


Expensive stay for comfortable but average property in excellent location.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A great welcome to arrive to scones...nice touch.
Owners introduced themselves straight away. But we never heard from them for the rest of our stay. Even when Sue rang us by mistake she didn't ask if everything was OK.
There was nothing in particular to complain about and we had a wonderful holiday. The location is spot on.
But we stayed peak season so paid top price. This was too much for a farm that is showing a lot if signs of aging. We got the feeling they were struggling to make ends meet.
The windows were filthy; especially the dining room window facing the hillside.
There were a lot of cobwebs.
The swimming pool was dirty: I know a lot of fun was had there but it felt unhygienic. For example the carpeted floor really needed a good clean. The water was so cloudy that we couldn't see toys on the bottom. There was gravel/dirt next to the plastic chairs by the steps on the poolside which looked like it hadn't been swept for weeks.
Generally the house was clean.
There were a few things we would have made the owners aware of had we have had an opportunity to speak to them, but they certainly didn't need attention during our stay...filthy windows; washing machine needed the door propped shut as it showed an error code if pressure wasn't constantly applied to the door; cupboard handle in the utility comes straight off in your hand.

There were no major issues, just lots of little areas that could do with improvement. Other areas to be improved include 'fluffing the Sofa's'!! This sounds silly but they look so old and saggy. The honesty shop (great idea) was so dusty (the jars etc had a lot of dust settled on them). Again, not a big issue, but just made the place feel a little uncared for.
The trampoline was great as was a little soft play area.
The animal area was very disappointing. It smelt terrible (ok, animals smell) but it had the feel of abandonment!
Anyway, I could go on.
A good welcome, and a relaxed stay, but lots of room for improvement to make you feel like you're getting your monies worth!


Jemma from Somerton stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2017


Pete replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for this review, I do not usually reply but feel that this is particularly unfair. When our guests arrive we always try to greet them, let them know a bit about us and in particular how to contact us, they just have to pick up the phone and dial 0 or knock on the door. We always say to let us know about anything that needs doing. It is true that I was not around as much as usual, as I needed to be in Surrey for personal reasons, but my wife was here all day, every day. We do not intrude unnecesarily into peoples holiday. The statement that "we got the feeling that they were struggling to make ends meet" is strange as they never spoke to us. This is subjective but the type of comment that can be very damaging to a business. I assure anyone reading this that we emphatically are not struggling and indeed have just committed to a long term investment programme in the properties. I apologise for the outside windows which had not been cleaned for a few weeks. There may have been cobwebs by the end of the week but not when the guests arrived, we have a regime for ensuring this is not the case, especially in this cottage which has high vaulted ceilings. it is possible to miss the occasional one. The statement that the pool was dirty and unhygienic is incorrect. I ensure that the chemical balance is kept correct (I sanitise the pool with Bromine, the pool received a lot of use that week and I treated with flocculant every other day to remove particulate as well as the normal filtration. The poolside is swept daily. The carpeted changing area does take a lot of traffic and is getting on a bit so I accept the comment. Many other people used the pool during this week and I have not received any other negative comments. I agree the washing machine door does need a firm push but it does then safety lock and stay shut. It will not run otherwise. By the way animals do smell sometimes but be assured they are well cared for. We had just taken in some rescue chickens and due to fox activity were being kept in their smaller run for a few days. Our properties are priced midway in the market for their quality and the facilities on site. I find this review confusing as it would be difficult to have "nothing in particular to complain about and we had a wonderful holiday" and yet have all these problems! I reiterate we are always available for our guests but nothing was said to us at the time, during their stay, or even when I said goodbye them when everything was very pleasant.

Family Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 7 people with ages ranging from 4 - 69 years of age. Accommodation suited our needs. Nice to have safe play areas for the children. Made good use of the indoor swimming pool. Good location to get to see the surrounding areas.

Barbara from Tewksbury stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2017


Pitt Farm was excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage spotless and exactly as expected from the web site. It was very spacious and comfortable.
We had a great holiday .
Only two suggestions, it would be nice to have a proper shower in the ensuite, and also a central collection of children's and adults DVDs that all the tenants could borrow. We had the latter at the cottage we stayed at last year and it was much appreciated.


Eileen from Salisbury stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in July 2017


Wonderful Family Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Kineton, and the cottage is very spacious and complete with everything that you need for a family holiday. Peter and Sue are wonderful and the welcome scones are always a lovely touch. We would recommend Pitt Farm to friends and family for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

Peter from Basingstoke stayed at Kineton for 14 nights in May 2017


Lovely family week

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely welcome with tray set up for cream tea!! Great accommodation for a family week away with five adults and three grandchildren who loved the play area, farm animals & swimming pool! Pool was a decent size & water good temperature. Decent sized kitchen sufficiently equipped to cook a roast dinner. Very useful having a washing machine & dryer!
Plenty of interesting places to visit in the area (once you get used to the narrow roads).
Owners were very welcoming & at hand to help with any questions.
All in all a great week away!!


Paul from Immingham stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in April 2017


Kineton cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay. Couldn't fault a single thing! Lovely cottage, lovely views, very welcoming owners. Cant wait to come back!

Megan from Bromsgrove stayed at Kineton for 2 nights in March 2017


Our family of 6 adults and 2 children.

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we were kept entertained constantly by the facilities, which included an indoor pool. Tennis courts, games room.
Beautiful walks, warn cosy open fire indoors. Close to stores and and short drive to beaches.
Gorgeous setting.
thank you.


Paul from stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in November 2016


A lovely warm welcome at Pitt Farm. Perfect place for family time.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pitt Farm is in a brilliant location, with great facilities and a very warm welcome. The homemade scones left for us on arrival were delicious!! The facilities for children are brilliant - outdoor play area, indoor games room and indoor swimming pool. There are also a few animals on site and the whole area feels safe and child friendly. Pete was kind, friendly and very helpful. The cottage was very spacious and comfortable. We had 4 adults and 3 children and there was plenty of room. We had a lovely break and would love to return. Thank you!

Kate from stayed at Kineton for 2 nights in September 2016


An excellent week in a great location.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed our stay immensely and it lived up to our expectations. The swimming pool was well used and the highlight for our youngest granddaughter was feeding the farm animals and collecting the eggs. We appreciated the welcome on our arrival (particularly the scones!) and the comfortable and spacious accommodation.

Veronica from Chelmsford stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2016


Fantastic holiday for family of 7

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nearly everything about this stay at Pitt Farm was as we had anticipated. We had a great week. The accommodation was good, and the other facilities - the swimming pool, the tennis court, the games room, the kid's trampoline, etc - all helped to make a great family week. We were particularly pleased to find scones and cream, milk, and a bottle of wine waiting to welcome us.

Having paid a lot of money for this holiday, having all the bedding, sheets, towels etc provided, we then found it very 'penny pinching' to be told that spare toilet rolls were not provided, and we had to buy our own; and also that we could have 'a handful of dishwasher tablets'. We all felt that this was very petty. A pity - it took the edge off the stay slightly.


Keith from St Albans stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2016


Sunny Week at Pitt Farm

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting and location of Pitt farm is ideal. Pete and Sue the owners were very welcoming and helpful.
Lovely sandy beaches only 20-25 minutes drive.
Seven of us stayed in Kineton cottage, the kitchen was very well equipped and the lounge had 3 large very comfortable sofa's.We liked the sofa's so much that we looked on the label to see where they came from so we can get one! Our teenagers loved the swimming pool and we all played tennis and table tennis.
We ate outside most nights and even walked across the fields to the local pub one evening for an amazing meal, thank goodness we had torch apps on the mobile phones for the walk back!
It will certainly be remembered as one of out best holidays.


Mary from Bramcote stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in August 2016


Great place for extended family

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place & comfortable accommodation with views of the countryside and everything you need on the doorstep - honesty shop, tennis, swimming, park, games room and a lovely 20min country walk to the Fortescue Arms which does great food & a fab vegetarian selection too. A quiet place even with families and kids staying, perfect for switching off. Beautiful beaches nearby too - we particularly loved Thurlston and Mill Bay nr Salcombe.

Guest from Middlesborough stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in May 2016


Lovely stay in Kineton

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Kineton. We were 2 families with 4 children aged 13, 7,7 and 4. The children's favourites were the pool and the "honesty shop" especially when Pete filled it up with chewits! Pete and Sue were great hosts and very helpful. Games room, children's playground and tennis table were fab for entertaining both children and adults. The dining table was just the right size for 2 families to have our meals. Spacious kitchen and lounge. Great location for visiting the area. Overall a great find!

Linda from Kenilworth stayed at Kineton for 7 nights in March 2016


Couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent see review for Martingale. Location ideal to explore places of interest. Loved the honesty shop and thought the hospitality tray with cream teas a super idea. Would love to go back.

Lyndsay from Lee-on-the-Solent stayed at Kineton for 4 nights in April 2016


Couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent see review for Martingale. Location ideal to explore places of interest. Loved the honesty shop and thought the hospitality tray with cream teas a super idea. Would love to go back.

Lyndsay from Lee-on-the-Solent stayed at Kineton for 4 nights in April 2016