FB Twitter

Pippin cottage

Pippin cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Pippin Cottage offers the highest level of space, luxury and comfort. The cottage has a lovely and stylish open aspect kitchen (with dishwasher), dining area and living area, opening up through French doors onto the courtyard. At the lower level, the cottages have oak flooring and underfloor heating. Bathroom (with full size bath and power shower) and separate WC are on the ground floor, both double bedrooms are one level up.

The cottage fronts the courtyard and backs on to our lovely orchard, offering countless options for playing, or just to sit down and relax.

Good base for an East Devon holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good time here using the cottage as a base for lots of local activities. Cottage lovely and warm ( we had some chilly autumn days and some lovely warm ones!). Information provided before our arrival was very useful for our planning what to do and we followed up quite a lot of the recommendations, eg using Park and Ride in Exeter.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from stayed at Pippin cottage for 11 nights in September 2018


Fabulous, friendly & comfortable base to explore East Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time exploring East Devon, with lazy mornings and chilled out evenings at Mazzard Farm. There is so much nearby, including the Donkey Sanctuary, Wildwood Escot and Crealy Adventure Park. Plus great places, including Sidmouth, Exmouth and Lyme Regis. Mazzard Farm has a swing, trampoline and slide (plus lots more for little ones), together with lots of space, which meant our 9 & 11 year olds could roam freely and safely (whilst we had a bit of peace and quiet!). Plus, for rainy days, there are lots of DVDs and books in the 'laundry' to borrow, as well as a wide range of leaflets to keep us entertained.
Thanks so much to Ruud & Jack for their hospitality, their friendliness, local knowledge and can-do attitudes were much appreciated and enjoyed!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Miranda from South Croydon stayed at Pippin cottage for 14 nights in August 2018


Living the good life

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the second time at Mazzard farm for a week and it was great! The kids had all sorts of activities to do, the tourist guide, made by Ruud and Jack was excelent and the area was beautifull, exactly like a continental european would picture England! Our cottage was the perfect home away from home, clean, cosy, comfortable and a pleasure to be in. Superb place to be if you have young children!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Frans from Zwolle stayed at Pippin cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


super

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
They even had a freezer full of breakfasts (croissants, bread) and other goodies (home made apple crumble!) if we had no food, so a complete service was available if we needed it.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Jeff from Evesham stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in June 2018


Great family holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, daughter and I had a wonderful, midweek holiday, to Mazzard farm. The information we received before arriving was so detailed and very helpful. We found we had been upgraded on our arrival, which was a surprising bonus. Our cottage was lovely. It had everything we needed for our few days away. There was also a range of toys for our 2 year old daughter to use, which she loved. Especially the outdoor toys, cars and scooters etc! There was also a freezer full of goodies we could help ourselves to, keep a note of what we had and pay on departure. We had the sausages (amazing), duck eggs and croissants! All were so tasty! The farm is really well situated, with some lovely places to visit, just a short drive away. We have already recommended Mazzard Farm to friends and family and we would happily return there ourselves! We miss it already!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Donna from Coventry stayed at Pippin cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


Wonderful stay for families

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mazzard farm has been set up to provide children with the space and freedom to play and enjoy open spaces, from the large vehicle free courtyard to the green spaces, large animal pen and forest area. The apartment is comfortable, good quality furnishings and snug kitchen diner. My children are 5 and under and this was their favourite place to stay as they made friends with the kids from the other apartments and they had the freedom to roam without intense adult supervision in a very safe environment.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from London stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


An enjoyable place for all ages.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. There was plenty for our two year old daughter to do, even in the rain. It was really pleasing how child-friendly the place is. Pippin cottage was very warm and cosy. The underfloor heating was lovely after a wet day out. We definitely want to visit again.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Zoe from Poole stayed at Pippin cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Prachtige plek voor een heerlijke vakantie

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We hebben genoten van een heerlijke vakantie in Devon. De locatie van Mazzard Farm is werkelijk een paradijsje. Een oase van rust en tegelijk dichtbij allerlei voorzieningen, mogelijkheden tot dagjes uit en perfect om de wandelen.
De Mazzard Farm heeft een compleet aanbod voor kids qua binnen- en buitenspeelgoed en er is meer dan voldoende vermaak voor de kids. De foto's van de cottage op de site spreken voor zich: gezellig ingericht en compleet. We kunnen Mazzard Farm en cottage Pippin zeker aanbevelen!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good

Jannita from stayed at Pippin cottage for 5 nights in April 2017


Great Weekend at Mazzard Farm, March 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My daughter and I stayed in Pippin cottage for a long photography weekend, we had a great time, learning new techniques, and made some new friends with others on the course.

Pippin cottage was lovely, well furnished, clean and inviting, we were a little cold on arrival and the heating was slow to catch up.

The do it yourself breakfast was great, croissants and pain au chocolate, great jam - generous for the three of us in the cottage. Being able to buy bacon, eggs, juice on site , home grown and made was lovely.

The narrow lanes around Devon are well known and anticipated, parking at Mazzard Farm for the slightly less confident was a bit of a trial, however the location, views and grounds made up for this.

We would definitely come back again, thank you.


How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good

Julie from stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in March 2017


Great addition to the joining cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a large group, and the need for more rooms then this is useful! Sure great on own with an opening to a lovely courtyard.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Jane from Sevenoaks stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in December 2016


Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly greeted by Ruud the owner and later his wife Jac, they had left hand made scones and cream for us. The cottage was immaculate and the kitchen was very well equipped. The beds were extremely comfortably and the linen very good quality. We shall go back!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Sarah from Ottery St Mary stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in October 2016


Great self-catering in Wast Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a family holiday. Excellent facilities and really friendly, helpful owners on site. So much for children to do, inside and outside. A lovely, quiet, country location yet not too far from the South coast and from other tourist spots, all well-described in Mazzard's excellent information room. The continuing qualities of Mazzard Farm are attested to by the many return visits recorded in the comment books.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Barry from Cobham stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


Mazarin Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for families with small children. There is no end of facilities to keep them entertained. Provision on site is excellent with everything catered for. One possible drawback is that its fairly remote location means that a car is a must.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Barbara from Nottingham stayed at Pippin cottage for 5 nights in September 2016


Pippin - just Perfect!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed as a group of 11 at Pippin, Damson and Bramley for a family birthday weekend. Ruud was so helpful sorting everything out for all us all - the children aged between 11-17 all loved being able to explore the beautiful gardens and farm with all the animals - we loved having the fresh eggs in the morning - Ruud also can provide local bacon and sausages which were delicious. Pippin was perfect for us - lovely comfortable bed and again, beautifully furnished. Lots of thoughtful touches added such as the farms own soap and shampoo which was really lovely.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Lisa from stayed at Pippin cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


Great week in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at Mazzard Farm. We were extremely lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy both the facilities on the farm and lots of amazing places in the surrounding countryside.

This is a fantastic places if you have young children. Our boys found new friends as soon as we had arrived and they all played together for the rest of our stay! Very helpful if the parents want to sit down for a bit! :-) There is plenty of toys, a football pitch, a climbing frame, farm animals, a woodland walk and lots more - the boys loved it.

The cottage was very cosy and smart, with a very well equipped kitchen. It is a bit on the small side though, and I am glad that we were able to have the patio doors open during our stay as the kitchen area especially gets a bit cramped.

Something else worth bearing in mind (either a positive or a negative depending on your point of view) is that the courtyard is very communal and can get very busy and there is very little privacy. Swings and roundabouts I guess, but sometimes you don't want to have dinner in a playground!

On the whole we had a lovely week though, and I would highly recommend both Mazzard Farm and this beautiful part of Devon.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good

Guest from Walton On Thames stayed at Pippin cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Lovely escape

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I, along with our 3 children, had a delightful weekend at Mazzard Farm. The cottage was like a home from home, well equipped, warm and comfortable. Ruud and family had thought of everything you could need - including wellies for the kids, books, games and DVDs, shampoo, hairdryer - even a stair gate. It was nice to be in a place with no mobile signal too. It meant quality family time playing monopoly and walking in the woods was uninterrupted by the demands of constant contact-ability.
The breakfast hamper was filled with delicious home produce, mostly made at the farm, with other items locally sourced. The eggs were the best we've had!
Ottery is well placed for visiting the surrounding areas, being only 35 minutes from Exmouth beach, 30 minutes from the lovely city of Exeter and 20 minutes to the quaint seaside resort of Sidmouth.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Julia from stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in February 2016


Lovely winter break

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic break at Mazzard Farm, the owners couldn't have been more helpful providing everything we needed for us and the kids. The cottage was lovely, very comfortable and set in beautiful countryside. The kids particularly liked going on the woodland walk from the cottage, seeing all the animals and playing in the courtyard with all the toys that were provided.

Would highly recommend

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Bartley stayed at Pippin cottage for 7 nights in January 2016


December stay at Mazzard

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an enjoyable short break at Mazzard Farm after Christmas.
The cottage was decorated in a lovely style,comfortable and had everything we needed. There werese nice personal touches - scones on arrival and homemade soap.
The customer service was excellent before,during and after our stay.
It was a shame that the weather wasn't great as it meant we couldn't explore and make the most of the facilities but I'm sure we will come back and stay in the future.
I would recommend staying here.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Claire from stayed at Pippin cottage for 2 nights in December 2015


Wonderful stay. Clean and child friendly!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Pippin Cottage to visit friends down the road. We had our 16 month old daughter with us and it was perfect for her. There were loads of toys for her to play with and she loved seeing the animals. The eggs and home reared meat were amazing too. Overall it was exceptionally clean and comfy and I will definitely be staying again when I come back to visit our friends

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Louise from Croxley Green stayed at Pippin cottage for 2 nights in December 2015


Pippin cottage @ Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very Nice! We really enjoyed our stay at Mazzards farm which is in a great location allowing to explore the area of East Devon by car that is highly recommended.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Aachen stayed at Pippin cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Litte paradise at the Jurassic Coast

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great time we've had at Mazzard Farm! We even think it has been one of the best holidays we've had in years (and since we've had many nice vacations, so that says something).

Why did we have such a great time? Well. To start with: the kindness and the charm of the owners of Mazzard Farm, Ruud and Jacqueline. Very very pleasant to talk with, the gave us all the information needed, excellent!

Thank you so much Ruud and Jack, for this best holiday in years,

Christien Jansen, Hans van den Brink, Raoul, Zahra - The Netherlands

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Bloemendaal stayed at Pippin cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Long weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely long weekend. Great location for days out at local beaches. The girls loved coming back and playing with the other children. Would stay again. Thank you.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Maria from Bath stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


A wonderful hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic hosts who were very patient with us as we could not book until last minute. The cottage was perfect in every way, clean, warm, comfortable and well equipped. We will be regular visitors to Mazzard Farm. Thank you

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Poole stayed at Pippin cottage for 2 nights in January 2015


Another lovely holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Mazzard Farm, and we've had another great holiday, with happy children and happy parents. We hope to come again, and would recommend Mazzard Farm.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Newbury stayed at Pippin cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Mazzard farm - heaven on earth / in Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruud and Jaqueline supported us with an excellent prepration before our arrival.
It was a fantastic stay since our first day!
The farm is a lovely place with a nice and safe environment for the kids. There are so many things to explore.
The whole garden is a fantastic playground for the children. We had excellent weather conditions - it felt a bit like in Provence.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Mandelbachtal stayed at Pippin cottage for 10 nights in July 2014


Fab Family Holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had the pleasure of staying in Pippin Cottage at Mazzard Farm for a short week holiday with our one-year old son. From the moment of arrival when we received warm homemade scones, jam and clotted cream I knew this would be a good stay! The cottages are lovely, the right balance between cosy and modern whilst still being practical for those with young families. The facilities at Mazzard were also just right - plenty of toys, outdoor play equipment, play areas and fun available for the kids - with a pop-up pool to cope with what was a very hot week of weather! Goats and chickens to make friends with and lovely walks through the farm's woodland. Onsite laundry room and all the extra kiddie essentials you need (ie stairgates, highchairs etc) are thoughtfully provided by the lovely owners Ruud and Jac. Our one-year old son loved his very first holiday at Mazzard, and spent much time playing in the attractive central courtyard, where we also chose to eat all our meals. My husband spent some time relaxing with his book and a glass of wine in the sun and I had the pleasure of a gorgeous indian head massage from resident trained therapist Jac. My husband and I also treated ourselves to an amazing Indian banquet cooked for us in our own cottage one night by local chef Tina - her samosas are out of this world!
All in all would thoroughly recommend Mazzard Farm for those wanting to relax and enjoy some fantastic Devon countryside and local hospitality. We hope to return soon! x

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Wnchester stayed at Pippin cottage for 4 nights in July 2014


Perfect for families

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic gardens, plenty of toys, a trampoline, animals....child heaven. Also lovely and tasteful for grown ups. The location perfect getting to the Jurassic Coast.

Tara from London stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in May 2014


Lovely despite the rain

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just spent 10 nights in Pippin cottage with three little links. Cottage had everything we needed and was very cosy and warm. It rained the entire time but between the breaks in the weather we got out and explored Devon with the help of the amazing self made guide book the owners have complied there is loads to do for the little ones which kept us big ones happy. Toys and DVDs provided at the farm were great and the play area was brilliant despite the wet! Highly recommend. Lovely.

Lisa from stayed at Pippin cottage for 9 nights in December 2013


A great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Pippin Cottage. Beautiful place, very nice accommodation, garden is great for the kids but also good to sit back and relax. We liked the small Fishing villages on the coast, but I must say, we had really good weather.

The girls very much enjoyed the company of the other (6) children, playing soccer etc.

Greetings lenny Braam



Guest from St Michielsgestel stayed at Pippin cottage for 3 nights in July 2013