FB Twitter

Medlar cottage

Medlar cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Medlar Cottage offers the highest level of space, luxury and comfort. The cottage has a lovely and stylish open aspect kitchen (with dishwasher), dining area and living area, opening up through French doors onto the courtyard. At the lower level, the cottages have oak flooring and underfloor heating. Bathroom (with full size bath and power shower) and separate WC are on the ground floor, both double bedrooms are one level up.

The cottage fronts the courtyard and backs on to our lovely orchard, offering countless options for playing, or just to sit down and relax.

Stay at Medlar Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Mazzard Farm. We had a great time!

We had two cottages, Medlar and Pippin. The cottages were lovely, nothing massive but perfect for a week away. Both had doors out onto the court yard which was ideal for the kids to play in the toy shed without us having to worry.

The setting is very real, not just a holiday park.. Lovely little trek through the woods, including a tipi and fire pit. There is a pen with chickens, ducks, goats and a couple of pigs which were a highlight for the 2 boys. There is also a big climbing frame, a kids football pitch, trampoline, toy shed, bikes, a swing and multiple BBQs.

Lots of useful information about the local area provided in the laundry room. Lots of helpful guides and suggestions on an array of activities for all interests and ages.

Location is great if you want to get away from everything, very quiet and rural... That being said its well positioned to explore the coast and parks - We did Sidmouth, Crealy Escot, Bicton, Seaton..... To name a few... All were within a 20/30 min drive.

Hosts are FAB and very hospitable.

Overall we all had a great stay at Mazzard Farm and would defiantly recommend it.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Sioghan from stayed at Medlar cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


A long wekend

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short visit to East Devon. The accommodation and weather was perfect and if we had realised we were going to have as much fun we'd have booked longer. Both the accommodation and the facilities it provides were ideal for our 3 year old as was the beach at Sidmouth which has a great combination of pebbles, sand and rock pools as well as a shallow sea ideal for paddling.
Lots to do in the area and a lot of suggestions provided by our hosts.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Lee from Prestwood stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in June 2018


Sunny stay at Medlar cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week at Mazzard Farm. The only thing that we missed in the cottage was a good knife for bread. It's a lovely place to stay with children. The area around is beautifull but the garden lacks some maintenance.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Marieke from Bilthoven The Netherlands stayed at Medlar cottage for 8 nights in May 2018


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our recent stay at Mazzard with 2 children ages 4 and 10 months. The courtyard is a wonderful play area (great in Medlar & Pippin as bifolds open onto) and the garage stocked with ride-on toys and baskets of toys and books in laundry room kept our kids entertained. Quite a bit of rain while we were there, but still enjoyed the play structure and paths through the woods/around property- just be sure to bring your wellies!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from London stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in March 2018


Everything was fine

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Mar 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We came in March so there weren’t a lot to do outside the cottage. Some goats, chickens & ducks for our little girl to look at. I was slightly surprised when my husband told me the booklet inside the cottage instructed us as guests to tidy the cottage (e.g put all the bin bags in the big bins outside) before leaving, which made us feel like home. The playground was quite muddy ( after snow & then rain). Roads were a bit narrow & became flooded in places in the countryside.
Cottage itself: nice, quiet & had enough facilities for comfort & self catering. It was very warm with heated wooden floor. Wifi was slightly weak but good enough to use.
Owners: were nice and approachable. Responded to my emails well prior to the journey & gave information.
Price: £225 for 3 nights basically just for accommodation. The owners kindly allowed us not to have to check out at exactly 10am on the last day if we wanted so this gave us some flexibility.
The above feedback is from my honest opinion from start to the end of our 3 night trip. Thank you



How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good

Quyen from Bournemouth stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in March 2018


Perfect child friendly farm based cottage close to the coast

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Mazzard. The cottages themselves are modern, comfortable and well equipped. A scone with jam and clotted cream on arrival was a really lovely welcome, especially after a long journey. For children this is paradise. Toys, a football pitch, climbing frame with slide and swing, trampoline and farm animals you can feed. 3 yo son would have been happy to stay at the farm all week! That said the farm is close to Sidmouth with the excellent Jacob's lader beach and all the other seaside towns of the area. The farm is also close to excellent children's attractions like Crealy Adventure park. On top of all this Jac one of the owners can provide various therapies like reflexology, Indian head massage - which are fabulous and add to the relaxing holiday you will have here. Location, comfort and great hosts. Can't recommend highly enough!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Tanya from billericay stayed at Medlar cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Two visits and still impressed

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first visited Mazzard Farm with a group of friends. We liked it so much that we returned a few months later with our newborn and my in-laws. The pre-arrival information was excellent and we were able to borrow some baby essentials (travel cot, baby monitor etc.) during our stay so we didn't have to worry about bringing these things with us. The kitchen is well equipped and during both our stays we were able to cook some tasty meals. The Farm is also in a good location and is one and a half miles away from the town centre - we enjoyed a very pleasant walk there one of the days during our stay. We'll be visiting again when our baby is a little older.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Kathryn from Sevenoaks stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in April 2017


Fantastische plek voor een familievakantie.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hebben enorm genoten van de fantastische plek (huis, tuin, speelmogelijkheden, omgeving) en gastvrijheid van Ruud en Jack.
Een echte aanrader.....

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from stayed at Medlar cottage for 2 nights in April 2017


Lovely cottage and location, great for children

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Medlar Cottage in April 2017 for 4 nights. Lovely quiet location close to Ottery and a convenient base to explore Devon and beyond. Medlar Cottage was very well equipped and comfortable. Loads of things for the children to do on the farm, they really enjoyed the playground and the animals. Would recommend going to Beer, Seaton Jurassic was great too, and further afield Lyme Regis. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would like to return sometime soon.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Richard from Sheffield stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in April 2017


Medlar cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only downside for me was with 3 adults staying there was only one sofa as the chairs were not comfy to sit it all night

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Steve from Benfleet stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in March 2017


Second wonderful stay at Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Mazzard Farm. Once again it was absolutely lovely! Ruud and Jack were very helpful and accommodating as before. The accommodation was excellent: warm, cosy and very homely. And again, the kids loved it too. We will be back again...! Thoroughly recommend!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



susan from abbingdon stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mazzard a few times with our young son and it has always been a wonderful experience. Highly recommend! Always very relaxing and our son has a blast, playing with all the (new to him) toys and exploring the property. Suspect we will be making the journey to Devon many more times in the coming years. My only complaint is that it's not closer to us!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Alison from London stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in January 2017


A lovely family get away

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first trip away with our 18mo. twins. It was the perfect place for them with animals to feed and toys to play with. We stayed a week but wish we had longer there.

The cottages had everything we needed. It was was clean, though the carpet and master bedroom wardrode could have done with better vaccuum cleaning and dusting. The only real negative for me was the woollen carpet and feather duvet, which gave me an allergy.

The owners were very helpful and firendly. They stock local produce from the farm and the nearby farm shop. The latter is worth a visit as it stocks delicious cakes made by the owners.

We'll definitely come back.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Simon from London stayed at Medlar cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking the trip, the comminucation with the owner was great. We were welcomed very late at night with no fuss and made to feel very welcome. The cottage is a short hop to lots of interesting activities and very child friendly. We're looking forward to returning - there's nothing more that could have been done to improve our trip (less rain perhaps?!)

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from London stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in March 2016


Brilliant!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab self catering accommodation based on a farm with tonnes to do with kids. Clean, comfy and well thought out, the owners are great hosts and really helpful. We will be back!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from worthing stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in October 2015


A brilliant family location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few days at Mazzard Farm. Travelling with 1 child under 2 and the location was brilliant. So much space to run around, animals to see and a garage full of toys to play with we could not have asked for more. The location is quite secluded so it is nice and quite. A short drive and your in the local town which has everything you need. I would highly recommend this location for a family vacation in Devon.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Inverurie stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in September 2015


Lovely self catering cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage with good quality equipment and nice furnishing. Ottery St Mary offers fantastic local produce (butcher is excellent) and the surrounding area offers a lovely rNge of day trips. Favourites were Sidmouth and Killerton (NT).

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Guest from Surbiton stayed at Medlar cottage for 7 nights in March 2015


Mazzard Farm Holiday Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth visit to Mazzard Farm. We have stayed in three different cottages all of which have been excellent. We so enjoyed our recent short break that we have booked to return in August. We cannot rate Mazzard Farm highly enough, it is a glorious place to kick back and relax. Can't wait to return and enjoy some summer sunshine, the Sidmouth Folk Week, fish and chips on Lyme Regis beach and another walk along the 'Broadchurch' beach.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Elissa from stayed at Medlar cottage for 3 nights in February 2015


Mazzard Farm - Medlar Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed for a long weekend at Medlar Cottage in January 2015 and had a wonderful time. The cottage itself was lovely, and well stocked with everything you would need away from home. The grounds of Mazzard Farm were fabulous for exploring with our two year old and the local shops and produce available was also a great perk of the location.

We definitely plan to return, hopefully in warmer weather, and will certainly stay for longer next time.

Highly recommend Mazzard Farm and it's warm and welcoming hosts!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Solihull stayed at Medlar cottage for 2 nights in January 2015


Yet again a fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have booked up for next year already. Ultra safe for the kids, very high quality accommodation, the bed is as comfortable as our one at home (have never experienced that), and nothing is too difficult for the owners. So much to do in the local area - fantastic.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Old Basing stayed at Medlar cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Short Devon break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely four day break at Mazzard Farm. Ruud and Jacqui were perfect hosts providing us with all the information we could possibly require before and after our arrival. We have two year old twins so 2 sets of everything (cots, high chairs,plastic crockery and cutlery) was provided as well as a changing mat and baby monitor.

Their Guide to East Devon was excellent with suggestions of what to do and where to go with young children as well as other catagories eg older children, on a budget etc. The Devon Tourist Board has nothing on them!

There are too many good points to mention but a particularly nice touch was the fact that basic cleaning materials, kitchen roll and toilet paper were all provided as well as initial supplies of coffee, tea, sugar and milk. Thank you!


Roshny from London stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in July 2014


a really lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend Mazzard Farm. Great for kids. We went in Feb half term and there was lots to do. The courtyard was great - safe for the kids to play while you watch from the cottage. I imagine it's even lovelier at the farm in summer. We would like to go back.

Guest from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Medlar cottage for 4 nights in February 2014