FB Twitter

Damson cottage

Damson cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Damson Cottage offers a pretty kitchen and living/dining area on the lower level (all with oak flooring), and two bedrooms and bathroom at the upper level. The cottage is quite compact, yet its clever layout and high quality furnishings, as well as the views over the orchard and courtyard make it a highly desirable place to stay

Fantastic stay in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice atmosphere, helpful owner. Cottage was nice however somewhat dated. The garden inside the probeert was outstanding as well as the stunning views over the hilly land. We, two parents with a 5 yo boy loved the garden and different playgrounds in it. We would highly recommend it!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Maarten from Warmond stayed at Damson cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


a too-short-week in Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were only one week in one of the apartments of Mazzard Farm (old stables, very nicely rebuilt in apartments)
Only, because there was so much to do. The list of things to do they sent us was endless! also the less famous beaches were very nice. We enjoyed being there very much. For the children (5 and 6 years old) was it like paradise!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Merlijn from Middenbeemster stayed at Damson cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


The perfect retreat with kids

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfectly pitched family getaway. A real focus on kids with layout and design clearly intended to be child friendly. The Laundry/library/dvd room/farm produce room was a fantastic addition.

Only thought was that the grounds weren't completely ready - plant beds cleared, play areas freshly chipped - but work was being completed during our stay.

We'll definitely be back and with a larger contingent next time. Our little one is coming up to two and wandering around the grounds was brilliant for her. Older ones can be left to roam safely. I'd envisage sending my nephew off with a packed lunch and not seeing him for a couple of hours.

Accommodation was compact, perfectly clean and really well finished. It suited our purposes brilliantly.

Hosts were fantastic. Really welcoming and answered any questions we had.

We're looking forward to coming back!

John, Ali and Aiden.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

John from stayed at Damson cottage for 5 nights in April 2018


Cosy Damson

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we enjoyed our short stay at Damson. We would have loved to be able to have the cottage next door which opens up to a bigger cottage but unfortunately it was booked up. The farm was perfect for our children to run around - there are lots of toys and DVDs for them to borrow - my son especially loved riding around the farm and exploring on one of the bikes. It is a beautiful place to stay - so quiet and peaceful. Damson was quite compact but perfect for what we needed and is beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you could need. The bathroom in particular is stunning. Thank you Ruud for a fabulous weekend - I am sure we will be back.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Lisa from stayed at Damson cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


Lovely weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. We will be returning in the future for sure! Lovely location, fab facilities, great hosts. A very good find and highly recommended!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Rochelle from stayed at Damson cottage for 2 nights in April 2016


Pretty good location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our hosts were excellent and very happy to help with any of our needs. The grounds are fantastic with a nice forest for kids to use their imagination in their play. Some cool animals live on the grounds along with some pretty cool visiting wildlife. The location was great with everything near by.
There are a few things that could do with a little bit of attention in the cottage we stayed in. These are easily rectified, e.g. loo roll holder was loose so roll kept falling off. Tap on bath was loose and curtains in bedroom perhaps needed sorting out. The itinerary for the property is not up today (i.e. no beer glasses or wine glasses). This is probably due to the fact that this property joins with another and if a large group had been in before perhaps items got merged with the other cottage. This could also be the reason that the kitchen seemed to be short of equipment, like a mixing bowl.
Overall this would not be a reason to not go or for us not to return. We particularly enjoyed using the bbq each evening to toast marshmallows whilst spotting the bats and listening to owls!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Egham stayed at Damson cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Good place to stay and Discover East Devon, rest well, eat well and enyouing your family

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mazzard Farm is a nice place to stay, rest A wile, discover East-Devon and enyouing your family. Eat well and drink well in the pubs and restaurants.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Guest from Oudeschild stayed at Damson cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


A pleasant stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the strengths is the good information provided before and during our stay on activities in the surroundings (top 5 with children, top 5 on a rainy day, top 5 low budget etc.).
The cottage has excellent beds, an oven and a knife sets, which we appreciated very much!
Nice outside toys for children and large area to play in.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Amersfoort stayed at Damson cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Mazzard Farm Aug 2013

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, the cottage was very well equipped and comfortable, the grounds were a delight and kept the children entertained somewhere safe. We had a lovely welcome and there are great little extras so that you can sit down and relax when you arrive and not have to worry about immediately heading off to the shops.

We will definitely stay again!


Guest from High Wycombe stayed at Damson cottage for 4 nights in August 2013