FB Twitter

Bramley cottage

Bramley cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Bramley cottage is a delightful, spacious, one-bedroom cottage, attached to the main farmhouse. Downstairs, the cottage has a very spacious kitchen and living/dining room, with French doors leading to a private patio. The large double bedroom also has French doors, opening up to gorgeous views over the gardens, orchard and woods. Bathroom (full size bath + rainfall shower) and toilet are adjacent to the bedroom.

Although Bramley cottage only has one bedroom, it comfortably accommodates 4 if required (we have Z-beds available). And that still leaves plenty of space to add a cot as well. (Note: Bramley Cottage does NOT have a wood burner. Instead it has a coal effect stove).

Lovely week at Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Bramley Cottage at Mazzard farm. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful and the cottage very well set up for young families with all baby and toddler equipment provided (high chair, stair gate etc). Our 2 year old loved the trampoline, paddling pool, play equipment and toys, and had so much fun feeding the goats and pigs.

There were fresh scones, clotted cream and home made jam waiting for us on arrival which was lovely after a long journey. We opted for the breakfast hamper to save us having to go out shopping immediately and everything was delicious.

Ruud and Jacqueline sent a guide to the local area well in advance of our stay which was very thorough, covered everything we would want to do and saved us trawling the internet for hours researching things. The location is fantastic with so many things to do nearby.

I would recommend anyone staying indulge in some pampering treatments with Jacqueline, the icing on the cake of a peaceful and relaxing week. We look forward to returning in the future.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Ria from London stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Half term Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This our 5th visit to Mazzard Farm and our 3rd stay in Bramley cottage. Needless to say we rather like it!!
Bramley cottage is spacious.
Mazzard farm is such a lovely location and the enclosed grounds are great for families and children of all ages. The main communal areas are relatively flat and so accessible to all aged children. The woods are fun to explore and visit the Teepee tent. The animals, goats, pigs, chickens and ducks are all very interesting for little ones.
There is a trampoline, toy barn, football pitch, swings, slides etc.. and DVD library.
The hosts Ruud and Jac are very friendly and helpful.
They showed a movie in the barn a couple of nights for the kids - which they all loved.
The farm is such an excellent location for days out in East Devon.
We can't recommend it highly enough.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Isobel from Maidenhead stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Thoughtful hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Mar 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were staying at Bramley Cottage when the 'Beast from the East' struck the UK at the end of February 2018; deep snow fell and the temperature plummeted. Over this time, particularly when we were snowed in for three days, our hosts looked after us well, bringing in additional heaters, visiting daily and, when the power went out one evening, going into Ottery St Mary in their 4x4 to bring us a hot take away meal. We had a relaxing and pleasant quiet week. On the days when we managed to get out, there was much to see and do.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Charles from Steyning stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in February 2018


Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect holiday cottage - tranquil setting, spacious and toasty warm. Wish we could live there all the time!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Ottery St Mary stayed at Bramley cottage for 21 nights in October 2017


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A picturesque setting which is perfect for toddlers. Friendly owners, beautiful countryside and a large cottage. Thoroughly recommended.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Ben from Hove stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in September 2017


Wonderful place to stay with small children

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I and our two children (1.5 and 3.5yrs old) had a lovely stay at Mazzard Farm. Things were tricky for us, personally, as our son had broken his ankle and had it in plaster - making it hard for him to make use of all the facilities on site. However, it was clear that Mazzard Farm had all the ingredients needed to provide a perfect holiday for a family with young children. We received a warm welcome, with a cream tea on arrival much appreciated. The cottage was bigger than I expected, and well prepared - with all the 'kit' for the children supplied as requested (cot, baby monitor, stair gate etc.). Everything was clean and in good condition. The farm is in a great location in terms of making day trips to family friendly places - there was more to see and do (even with a child in plaster!) than we were able to do in a week. Ruud and Jaq provide an extremely helpful guide to local things to do. We also used their recommended babysitter - who was lovely - so we could go out for dinner one evening. From the child's point of view, a further major bonus is having other children on site to play with. The only room for improvement from our perspective would be in terms of the wifi - which we rely on for accessing TV, news, info etc - and the TV itself which was temperamental. A couple of boosters would improve the signal of the wifi fairly easily. Families with young children may also want to bring their own blackout curtains if they have them. Our kids are used to the room being pretty dark, and the bedroom in the cottage gets a lot of light (with the blackout blinds installed not being particularly effective). But these are very minor quibbles with an otherwise excellent place to have a holiday. The values upheld by Mazzard in terms of eco policy and their support of local business, the opportunity to buy produce on site (apple juice made on the farm, sausages from their pigs etc.) is the icing on the cake of an already fairly faultless set up.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Laura from Liss stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Second call

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We visited last year at the same time. It was not a particularly successful trip this time due to rain each day. Was a good base for visiting friends.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



David from Thatcham stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in May 2017


A place in the country!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 4 nights with my husband who was there to do a photography course. Owner Ruud was very helpful with my booking S this was a surprise Christmas gift for my husband. Bramley cottage is attached to the main farmhouse, and it was very light and airy. It had a wonderful inglenook fireplace with an electric fire which looked like a log burner. This gave you that extra heat for the chilly March mornings.
Large kitchen with all you could need plus your own washing machine if you are on a longer stay.
The bedroom was enormous , and had space for another small bed if required. The bed was very comfortable.
Large bathroom with shower over bath.

The grounds of the farm were lovely. Goats, chickens wild turkeys and 2 of the friendliest cats who followed me everywhere.
All in all a great hideaway.


Only one gripe As a tea drinker the cups were a little on the small side. Some of the other guests agreed, bigger Mugs please!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Anne from stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in March 2017


Highly recommend

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a wonderful time. Everything was perfect for us. In particular the form you fill out beforehand asking what you need in your cottage is a great idea because you arrive and everything already there for you. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



hannah from redruth stayed at Bramley cottage for 3 nights in December 2016


Beautifull spot, wonderfull landscape, perfect holiday to relax, only 10 km to the beach

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull, relaxed week in Mazzard Farm after visiting London. Perfect combination of sightseeing and laying back. We were lucky that we had beautifull weather during our stay. Plenty of sunshine with comfortable temperatures of around 21 degrees.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Angelo from Sas Van Gent stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Great place for families with young children

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay with our 1,5 year old daughter. Mazzard Farm is a real nice and quiet place for parents/adults and there are lots of things to do for the children. Because the surroundings of the houses are pretty large, families spread out over the gardens. Beside the relaxing stay at Mazzard farm, there are also a lot of nice places to go nearby (also with children). And finally, the host and hostess are very friendly and helpful! We'd definitely recomment Mazzard Farm for any family with children.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Leusden stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


A glimpse of heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the most relaxing and inspiring place I have ever stayed at.
The location is difficult to find but so worth it.
It is a paradise for children although mine are grown up.
The enclosure with goats, peahens and chickens is delightful.
I will be coming back.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



David from stayed at Bramley cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


Fabulous Bramley cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here - just a bit too short. Bramley is beautifully furnished - big fireplace, lovely light living room and huge bedroom. kitchen very well equipped with everything you could need and more. Beautiful garden with patio area outside French door where we ate breakfast in the sunshine.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Lisa from stayed at Bramley cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


It was like paradise!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great time. Ruud and Jacqueline did every effort to make our stay comfortable. The Mazzard Farm is situated very scenic in Devons outstanding natural beauty. We had booked the Bramley Cottage and it was very comfortable for my wife and I and our 2,5yr old son. Within 15 minutes of driving you can reach beautiful beaches such as Beer, Branscombe and Seaton.

We have never done this before (and we have travelled a lot), but we already booked our next stay in 2017.

If there's one suggestion for improvement, it would be the WiFi in the Bramley Cottage.
There's no reach there so you need to go outside to the square.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Elwin from Vaassen stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Peace at last

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had had two or three weeks of demanding activity and needed somewhere quiet to relax and recover. Mazzards proved ideal for the purpose as we had the place pretty much to ourselves. As we lived 8 years on the other side of the hill it was easy to revisit old haunts.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



David from Thatcham stayed at Bramley cottage for 5 nights in May 2016


Great bank holiday stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in Bramley Cottage at Mazzard Farm and had an excellent time. The cottage is lovely, with modern kitchen and a gorgeous new bathroom. The bedroom is a bright large space with Juliet balcony looking out onto the gardens. We came with our 3 year old and 3 month old baby and we all slept in the bedroom. They supplied a smaller bed in the room for our little boy and we had a Moses basket for the baby (Ruud offed to put a cot in for the baby if we needed it) and there was still tons of room for us all.

The farm is great for children our little boy loved playing with all the toys and feeding the goats and chickens. It's really geared up for families and the owners are so helpful accommodating anything you might need for the children like cots, high hairs, stair gates etc

The only thing I would say is the wifi isn't that strong, it's OK for emails though. (Sorry I know it's a bit sad to mention that when you are in beautiful countryside but helpful to know if you can't escape work completely like us)

We loved our stay and came back to London feeling very relaxed! We'd love to go back in the summer months and make more use of all the outdoor spaces, camp fires and woodland walks.

Overall Mazzard farm is a great place to stay and we'd highly recommend it!!


How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

lyndsey from stayed at Bramley cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Great little retreat!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay here during the easter break. Great quiet location, homely child friendly grounds. Rudd the owner was great,very helpful and an all round nice guy. I also liked the fact that these cottages have great eco friendly specifications. Altogether a fantastically relaxing place to spend a break.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Tarkus from Falmouth stayed at Bramley cottage for 6 nights in April 2016


Excellent family break

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay in Bramley cottage, it was a one bedroom place but very spacious - more than enough room for the two of us and our 2 year old. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Mazzard Farm is great, booking was really easy and Ruud gave us a warm welcome. The breakfast hamper and the homemade scones were fantastic! Really good location, plenty to see and do within a short drive. The garden, woods and garage full of toys were great for our son.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Mike from Cirencester stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in February 2016


A lovely place to unwind

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I came here for a 4 night stay last week. We stayed in Bramley Cottage, which was a fantastic one bedroom cottage with its own outside patio area. It was a gorgeous place with an enormous bedroom with a kingsize bed. Better than the one I sleep on at home, so comfortable with lovely bedding and a beautifully thought out space. The farm is amazing with its own woodland and gardens. Ruud and Jacqueline have a collection of rare breed animals as well as 2 very friendly cats. You could also buy fresh eggs laid by the farm's chickens and home made jams and pickles from the organic farm produce grown there. An idyllic place to stay and the owners are really friendly and helpful. I was especially impressed with the information about the farm and surrounding areas. They had missed nothing out, which made it so easy to plan what to do every day. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Penny from Bromley stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in October 2015


Ideal for families

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this cottage and our 1 1/2 year child was happily exploring the outside while we relaxed on the sofa. Mazzard Farm is very well equipped and we really liked the freezer full of croissants and baguettes. Ruud was very happy to help with any of our requests and Jaqui's Pampering Service was second to none. The Farm is only a 5 min drive to the local town and 15 min to the nearest beach. The other visitors at the Farm were also families with children of similar age and we often found them playing together on the trampoline or feeding the goats and chickens. Would love to go back there next year.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Oxford stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Excellent family holiday home

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at Mazzard Farm. Everything was really suited to family holidays. Would definitely recommend and will pertinent visit again soon. :-)

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Coventry stayed at Bramley cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


Keep going back!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 5th visit to Mazzard Farm and the 3rd time we have stayed in Bramley Cottage. A great place to visit with young children, and there is plenty to do locally with Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe only a short (15/20 mins) drive away. The cottages are always lovely, the garden/grounds are ideal for kids (young and old) to play in and you will receive a warm welcome.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from birmingham stayed at Bramley cottage for 3 nights in April 2015


September break

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage would have brought it home with us if we could of. Highly recommend for families and couples. Well located and great for children due to the fab surroundings and toys outdoor toys provided

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Nuneaton stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in September 2014


Really lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was really nice all round. Owners could not do enough to make you feel welcome. The cottage had lots of space that my 1 year old enjoyed running round.

Rachel from Didcot stayed at Bramley cottage for 4 nights in July 2014


A relaxing family break.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our weekend break at Mazzard Farm, the cottage was comfortable and relaxing, and our 18 month old and 5 year old loved the outside space, the play area and the animals. I would highly recommend Mazzard Farm for both families and couples/groups of friends.

Guest from Ipswich stayed at Bramley cottage for 3 nights in August 2013


Bramley Cottage - Summer 2013

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th trip to Mazzard Farm and the 2nd time we have stayed in Bramley Cottage. Mazzard Farm is in an excellent location - convenient for Sidmouth, Beer, Branscombe and more. The cottage we stayed in was to the usual high standard and the facilities on site are ideal if you have a young family. We would strongly recommend it and I'm sure we will be going back.

Guest from birmingham stayed at Bramley cottage for 7 nights in August 2013