FB Twitter

Church Cottage

Church Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 93 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Church Cottage. Dating back to the early 1600's, Church Cottage sits next door to the church, which overlooks the pretty village green of Gainford and is just a stone's throw from the delightful River Tees. A peaceful retreat for relaxing in style in a cottage full of history and character, sleeping 4 guests

Cosy, comfortable and well equipped

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome with homemade flapjack on the kitchen table. Beautifully decorated throughout, extremely well equipped and in a lovely location. A chilly late September visit but the cottage warm and cosy. Couldn’t ask for more.



Great property, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Church Cottage from the delicious welcome cake to the beautiful village and surrounding countryside and it's proximity to all the places we wanted to visit.
Kate was extremely helpful when we needed help with our car trouble and we're very grateful for that.
We visited Whitby and Roseberry Topping, the cinema at Richmond, Durham, Beamish museum, The Forbidden Corner, York and Barnard Castle.
The cottage was a great base for our holiday and lovely to come back to in the evenings.
Thank you for a fabulous UK holiday.




Wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found a wonderful retreat in Church Cottage. Perfect house, perfect surroundings. The landlady was very welcoming. The cottage is the perfect spot to explore Co. Durham and North Yorkshire.



Kate Hodgson replied 125 days ago
Wonderful also that you have booked again for another three weeks next summer 2020! Looking forward to see you both again for more exploring of Co Durham and beyond. Thanks Kate.

Brilliant holiday cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage was superb. Over the years we have stayed in numerous cottages and I really think this is one of the very best. It was everything we could have wished for. The position next to the church was lovely and bell ringing practise on the Wednesday evening when we were sitting inthe garden was very entertaining! Very central for various walking routes or to visit Barnard Castle or Durham etc. A very enjoyable holiday.



Super Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage has a lovely little private garden and is in an idyllic setting on the edge of a green and next to the Church. The river is within a few minutes walk and the village has a very nice cafe and deli, plus a pub and local store. The location is excellent for all major attractions. The cottage was extremely comfortable and our hosts provided for all our needs. All in all, a wonderful week's stay.



Well equipped and quaint.

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in good condition excellent base for sightseeing. Well equipped throughout. Lovely location next to church and river.



Kate Hodgson replied 155 days ago
What a lovely week you had at Church Cottage with fantastic weather, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks, Kate.

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage , lovely location , very clean , beds very comfortable, well equipped, nice central location , would revisit in a heartbeat.



Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is an absolute gem with all the facilities that we required in a very quiet village location.
There are lots of fabulous places to visit within easy reach and a pleasure to return to a very comfortable/homely cottage after a day out.




Family break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely welcome and a super house. We loved the location on the green and the ease with which we were able to visit so many super places within comfortable driving distance. We also enjoyed a few nice walks from the house - all in all, made it ideal for a super family holiday with our two children (aged 6 and 9). We all slept really well too owing to the really comfortable beds and enjoyed many of the games and books on hand. Thank you! We will be back!



Kate Hodgson replied 219 days ago
Great you all had fun and would love to welcome you back again. Thanks Kate.

Another great visit

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy our stays in Kate’s cottages and this visit lived up to expectations. Church Cottage is a beautifully presented cottage in a lovely location. The highlight of this trip was seeing High Force in full force over both sides, very impressive in the sunshine. The weather could have been better but after a day out it was great to have such a warm,cosy,comfortable cottage to return to. Thank you for another successful holiday Kate, hope to be back again soon.



Kate Hodgson replied 219 days ago
Great to see you both again, hope its not too long before your next visit.

Perfect little cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect little cottage in a beautiful village with great walks from the front door.
Lovely homemade goodies and a welcome bottle on our arrival.
Everything clean and comfortable.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a fun birthday weekend away. Many thanks, Kate

Church Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very comfortable holiday at this lovely cottage. The best we have stayed at in the many years we have been visIting this area.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a great review, kind regards, Kate. Hope to see you again.

Third Visit

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable cottage for a break feels like a home. Plenty of places to visit and some great walking. Third visit so cannot be much wrong.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Always a pleasure seeing you again, many thanks Kate.

Cottage was smaller than anticipated.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location was extremely quiet. Drinking glasses had to be washed to remove dishwasher tablet residue. Toaster needed cleaned. Welcome pack (2 tiny fairy cakes and a pint of milk which had to be used within 24 hours) very disappointing.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I,m sorry you must have have missed the description about Church Cottage being built in the early 1600's and situated on the quiet village green next door to the Church. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful countryside of County Durham. Kind regards, Kate.

Great cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding service from the owner, great cottage, would definitely stay here again.

Great location to explore the. Orth of England.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed your month's stay with us. Hope you arrived safely back in Florida, hope to see you both again. Kind regards, Kate

A gem in Durham County

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a surprise this splendid cottage : interior (cleverly and functional rooms, splendidly furbished and decorated,cozy kitchen giant master bedroom,...), exterior garden and greens, and not to forget the nearby Tees river and the easy walks.
Plenty of things to do : Bowes museum (= must do !), Durham and of course the beautiful nature of the North Penines and the Yorkshire Dales.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed County Durham and our little Church Cottage. I love this house even though I say so myself. Hope to see you another time, Thanks Kate.

Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage is a lovley cottage in an ideal location to access many of North Yorkshire and County Durham towns and tourist destinations. There are great places for eating out in the nearby villages of Winston and Peircebridge and lovely walks locally. The cottage lounge is comfortable and the kitchen spacious enough for dinning and well equiped, but the integral cooker grill causes the hob dial above it to pop off everytime it is used. The cottage is very well equipped but we did miss a tumble drier in the wet weather for renewing towels, although the heated towel rail in the bathroom was useful.
There are great places for eating out in the nearby villages of Winston and Peircebridge and lovely walks locally.
Check out Barnard Castle for a nearby small town experience away from the crowds with lots of lovely independent shops.








Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed County Durham and your stay. The cooker knob being loose was just a loose screw, I would have fixed it straight away for you if I had known, so please accept my apologises. Hope to see you another time. Kind regards, Kate.

Love the cottage very cosy and comfy.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, set in a lovely location by the church, river and village green.

Everything you could need. The cottage is very spacious with a garden and sun trap. Lovely views too.

There are some nice walks around about too along the Tees.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
You must try us again in the summer the garden is beautiful. Hope to see you again, many thanks, Kate

Church Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 4th time we have stayed at Mill Barn Cottages On this occasion we stayed at the 2 bedroom Church Cottage.
The cottage has been tastefully decorated and thoroughly equipped. The owner has carefully thought out and catered for every creature comfort for the visitor. Level of comfort excellent , Heating was constant during the very cold spell when temperatures were down to minus 6. The cottage was a very cosy retreat during heavy snowfalls. Thank you so much! The location is a delight, snowdrops and daffodils in the adjacent churchyard and along the banks of the river, a great variety of birds to be seen in the garden and nearby field. Totally recommended for short break or long stay without reservation.




Beautiful cottage in perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable stay in peaceful location in the heart of the village. Beautifully appointed and the cottage had everything we could have asked for. Very happy to return and will recommend Kate's hospitality to my friends and family.



Just Perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From entering the cottage that was so beautifully dressed for Christmas, and with wonderful treats; the host is so lovely and cares very much about her customers stay. This is very evident in how beautiful everything is. The highlight has to be the church and the bells on New Years Eve - we have booked again :)



3 days in Gainford

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very, very happy stay in a cottage, which was warm, spacious and comfortable, in the middle
of winter. This cottage is very well appointed. The stylish decor appealed to us, as did the 2 separate bathrooms.

The added Christmas tree was a lovely touch. The selection of DVDs was superb, and we could happily have spent two weeks in this area. We will be back.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, hope to see you again. Kate

Another great visit

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kate’s properties never fail to please. We have stayed in Church Cottage many times and are already looking forward to our next visit. The cottage is cosy,comfortable, beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Gainford is a friendly,pretty village well located for visiting the many attractions in this lovely part of the country. Thank you Kate,we hope to see you again soon.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The last two bonfire nights in Gainford, glad you enjoyed the village display. See you again next year I hope.

It certainly deserved its Gold Award

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hadn't visited Gainford before and were delighted with the cottages position on the beautiful green. The property was immaculate, beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished. The beds were very comfortable and the folder giving details of the property, local eating places, suggested bike rides and walks was most informative. The garden is well designed with two very different seating areas.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you both again and so pleased you enjoyed Church Cottage.

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage was extremely clean and well equipped and situated in a lovely friendly village. The bed and linen were top quality and the Sedbergh toiletries a great addition. We especially enjoyed the CD's provided and all the magazines. The local area is beautiful and we will return



A comfortable and cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was well equipped, cosy and very comfortable. Beds were made up with good quality linen and had comfortable mattresses, ensuring a good night's sleep. Although we only stayed for the weekend, there were plenty of places of visit for longer stays. Kitchen was well equipped with good quality saucepans, crockery and utensils although a casserole dish might be a useful addition. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.



Wonderful relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church cottage is fantastic. It is luxurious and caters for all requirements. We had such a lovely break here and would love to stay again. Thank you for accommodating our special request for Ollie!



Enjoyable

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On the hole it was excellent few small problems, wi fi does not work when tv on ! ,web site states use of telephone ,there was no telephone
Think owners should check such things as tin foil ,washing machine tablets as these things are promised ,we did ask for tablets and they were supplied immediately ,but you should not have to ask.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Church Cottage. I,m sorry about the miss understanding about the phone, we used to have one but kept getting very large telephone bills with premium numbers and now its just WiFi at the house. It has since been deleted from the web site. Kind regards, Kate.

Lovely cottage, pretty village, would go again.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a relaxing week at Church Cottage. Great walks from the door. Would definitely recommend and would go again.



Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well thought through cottage in a beautiful location. Loved the walled garden. In easy reach of attractions. One or two leaflets in the cottage needed updating.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The cottage garden is lovely at the moment and so nice for relaxing in. Thanks for letting me know about the leaflets I will give them a good sort out. Kind regards, Kate

Church cottage. Gainford

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Church Cottage We feel like locals to Gainford now with the situation of the cottage, excellent location, and
Local amenities. The cottage is a gem.
Thank you Kate.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Third visit, many thanks for coming again and cutting the grass while you were here! Hope to see you for a fourth. Kind regards, Kate

Church Cottage Review

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to Church cottage and it was exactly as we remembered. If you want a comfortable, quiet, self-catering cottage in a beautiful part of the world. this is the place for you.



A week in Gainford

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage is ideally situated for exploring the Tees Valley and beyond. After a day out sightseeing the cottage was always warm and welcoming. A real home from home.



Quaint cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for couples or families with young children,plenty of local attractions,minutes away from Raby Castle .Gainford is a small pretty village good for walking especially by the River Tees. The accommodation provides everything you need and has an impressive walled garden.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed the garden it is lovely even if I so myself! Hope to see you all another time. Many thanks Kate.

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful location with the great river walk nearby. Very good value for money.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, so pleased you both enjoyed your stay. Regards, Kate

Just what we needed

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I were looking for somewhere to relax and chill and Church Cottage ticked all the boxes. Great customer service throughout the booking process and clear arrival instructions. The cottage is lovely with everything provided for a comfortable stay. There is a beautiful private garden but unfortunately the weather prevented us from enjoying it during our stay. We were able to visit nearby towns and villages within a 30 minute drive and then return in the evening to relax. WiFi and a smart Tv provided enough entertainment when needed. The local village had adequate services, pub, shop, butchers etc. There is also lovely river walks right beside the cottage. The church next door has a great history and well worth a visit. We would love to return someday as we thoroughly enjoyed our time spent in the cottage.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your short break at Church Cottage and explored County Durham, please come again! Thanks Kate.

Recommend Church Cottage for a week's relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High quality holiday cottage in lovely location. Well equipped, very comfortable. Only minor suggestion would be a mat for muddy boots in the hallway otherwise pretty near perfect.



Charming cottage break

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cosy cottage in a pleasant area. The owners were very accommodating too.
We will definitely stay again as the whole experience was relaxing and comfortable
Highly recommend this cottage and village.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in County Durham. Thanks Kate.

Church Cottage Gainford

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting family in this area for many years. Some of the cottages we have rented have been poor however
this has been excellent and we will definitely return.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Good, so pleased you have now found Church Cottage and hope to see you again soon. Kate

Shoe exhibition with a quaint beautiful village

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this cottage, so that I could take my daughter and a friend to see the shoe exhibition at the Bowes Museum. I used Premier cottages site, as I had already stayed at one of the cottages in Wiltshire, Again, it was spotless, very comfortable, everything that we needed and a very high standard of equipment from the fridge freezer to the DVD player etc. The village was lovely enjoyed walking by the river, also even though it was October we had breakfast in the garden (a little sun trap) what more could you ask for!
The owner Kate has been most helpful with everything and it was so nice to meet her in person and know if I did have a problem she wasn't far away.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I also loved the exhibition at the Bowes Museum. Glad you come to lovely Teesdale to stay and explore, many thanks Kate.

90/100

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to this charming cottage. As previously, excellent facilities and location.
Well situated for ourselves and visits to Co Durham family and friends.

Excellent weather enabled us to enjoy visits to Teesdale, Weardale and Swaledale.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had lovely weather to explore County Durham and beyond. Hope to see you for a 3rd visit! Thanks Kate

Church Cottage, Gainford

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent property in a very attractive, quiet village in the Tees valley. It is within easy driving distance of Darlington and Barnard Castle and the many attractions that County Durham boasts. All in all, an excellent holiday location.



Our third lovely vist to Church Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at Church cottage. Nice to see few updates to the property this time around showing how much owners care. Gainford lovely little village and it provides great location for exploring County Durham. Still plenty to keep us occupied on our third visit to the cottage - both new places and some old favourites. Planning to return next year.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you like the new updates and rattan garden sofas, and many thanks for booking up again for next year already! Kind regards, Kate.

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Each time I stay at Church Cottage it feels like coming home. It is so comfortable and stylish and the gardens and interior are immaculate. Love the sun trap garden and the gorgeous village location. Always sad to leave.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What lovely weather you had this time for your stay in Gainford, good enough to enjoy the new garden sofas! Glad you all had fun and relaxed, many thanks Kate.

Wonderful property with lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and tidy and well presented property and the owner could not be more helpful will stay again and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in area.,



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What fabulous weather you had for the wedding and your stay. Many thanks for the board beans they were delicious I put them in a risotto. Hope to see you both another time, thanks Kate.

Village Idyll

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first impression of Church Cottage sets the scene; its exterior is chocolate-box pretty, situated next to the village church on the corner of a remarkably tranquil village green; the interior of the cottage is equally gorgeous. The sitting room boasts a pair of sumptuous violet sofas and the kitchen is appropriately rustic with French doors leading out to a bijoux garden with rattan seating for relaxing in one corner and a table and chairs for eating on the patio area. Visual appeal is complemented by all necessary 21st century accoutrements: TV, DVDs, novels and a well-equipped kitchen with gas aga, microwave, dishwasher and fridge/freezer. A jug of milk and tea, coffee and sugar are provided as are tea towels, dishwasher tablets and fairy liquid, items which are very welcome. You will find another lovely surprise on arrival, of the edible kind! Just be careful not to bang your head when you come in the front door; the house is a couple of hundred or so years old and people used to be shorter than now, you know! To sum up: this is an outstandingly attractive and comfortable cottage in a country location where, in many ways, time has stood still.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
We have the deeds for Church Cottage all the way back to 1625. I,m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the area. Look forward to seeing you again in September. Thanks Kate

Church Cottage, Gainford.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage - beautiful setting - well equipped. Garden delightful! Convenient for all main attractions in the area.Next to village church with river walks close by.




Church Cottage, Gainford

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, warm and beautifully furnished and decorated cottage with a pretty and private garden. The cottage is situated in the quiet and friendly village of Gainford which lies in an area of outstanding beauty. There are many interesting places to visit nearby and Teesdale, Durham, Barnard Castle, the Bowes Museum and the Yorkshire Dales are just a few of these which are within a few miles. Very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable owners.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed exploring the the North East and the comforts of Church Cottage, hope to see you another time. Thanks Kate

Home comforts cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay at this comfortably well equipped cottage located in a quiet corner of Gainfords' village green. Excellent location for walking and days out to suit all. The only down side to the location is that it is necessary to drive if you want to dine out although there is an excellent wood fired pizza kitchen at the rear of the pub plus a fish & chip shop.
Will go back still plenty to see.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased there is still more for you to see and explore. You must try Cheeseborough House next time in Barnard Castle as you can walk to lots of good places to eat and cosy pubs. Hope to see you both again. Many thanks, Kate

Church cottage is in an Idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic location situated on the village green adjacent to the Church also close to the walks alongside the river.. Pretty walled garden. Many attractions available nearby.

Helpful owners ready to assist if needed. Look forward to returning soon.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What lovely comments thank you and you had such lovely weather for your stay. I hope to see you again, many thanks Kate

Lovely cottage, wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved our stay in this beautiful. cosy cottage. It's location is perfect for Teesdale and North Yorkshire and there are walks from the doorstep. The cottage itself has everything you need and there is a fish and chip shop, pub and pizza place in the village. The village is lovely and peaceful and you are tucked away on the edge of the village green.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay!

Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in a warm, comfortable well equipped cottage. An excellent location with many walks in the area, some starting from the cottage. Just lovely!



Kate Hodgson. replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed walking in Teesdale and had fun in Church Cottage. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate

Another lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again Mill Granary Cottages lived up to all our expectations. Church cottage is tastefully furnished, well equipped, beautifully situated and extremely comfortable. This is one of our favourite parts of the country and the Dales looked even more beautiful in the bright,sunny weather we had. Thank you for another successful stay in your cottages Kate,hope to see you again soon.



Lovely cottage for the Pennines and the Dalea

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Church Cottage. The whole house is well equipped, a real home from home. The lounge has attractive furnishings and two comfortable sofas. Both bedrooms are a good size with comfortable beds. The location is great with easy access to the Pennines and the Dales.



A Sixtieth Surprise

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked to stay at Church Cottage as a surprise family trip away for my mum's 60th birthday weekend. The cottage was perfect, a nice village retreat in a good location with good walks and peace and quiet nearby, but larger places to visit only a short drive away. The cottage is kitted out with everything you might need for a short retreat, with the kitchen well stocked with useful equipment and some essentials, and a range of games/books/DVDs in the lounge to pass the time. Kate left some lovely scones and jam for when we arrived and popped round to say hello later that evening - offering some suggestions of things to do and places to eat (The Fox Hole looked great, but was really busy so we didn't get in, whilst the takeaway pizza from Gainford itself was excellent quality - we would recommend booking early for both as they have limited capacity and quickly booked up!). A lovely weekend was had in great surroundings and we hope to return again to Kate's Mill Granary Cottages properties. Highly recommended.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I love surprises! So pleased the birthday weekend went well and you had fun in Gainford. Hope to see you another time.

A beautifully furnished comfortable cottage in a peaceful village

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable peaceful cottage, well furnished and in quiet location. Village has local pub, post office, coffee shops and local grocery shop and butchers.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased the panto went so well for you Brendan in Darlington. I do hope to see you again! Many thanks Kate.

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and fell in love with the cottage and the history of the village. Very friendly owner, immaculate cottage we just put our feet up and relaxed.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Relaxing and having fun is the name of the game! So pleased you enjoyed lovely Gainford and our cottage, hope to see you another time, thanks Kate.

An Excellent Location for A Break

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived, this accommodation exceeded all expectations. As owners of our own Holiday Let, it is always easy to be critical but there was no scope with Church Cottage, the accommodation is of high quality, the Owners book/guide is exactly what is required and the location of the cottage on the Green is excellent. This is definitely a cottage that we will consider returning to in the future,



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What fun you must have had at the rugby in Newcastle. Hope to see you another time if you are visiting the North East. Thanks Kate.

Another great stay...

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed in this cottage for the second time. Frankly, little needs to be said other than it is a most comfy and cosy cottage with every facility that could possibly be needed. The location is excellent for the local pub and shops as well as being in a quiet location overlooking the large village green. Parking is very convenient next to the cottage.There are plenty of good walks from the cottage as well as a short drive away. Kate, the owner, is very welcoming and her aim is clearly to ensure guests have a good holiday.
To be highly recommended.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you and so nice you come back again. Kate

Lovely cottage in an idyllic location.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if possible would have stayed longer. Church Cottage is full of character whilst also having every practical feature we needed, plus extra touches e.g. books, DVDs and games. The cottage location is perfect, next to historic church and lovely river walks, whilst we made use of great local amenities such as excellent butcher, great pizzas behind Cross Keys pub and fish and chip shop all walking distance. Gainford is a peaceful retreat, whilst being located perfectly for exploring nearby Durham, Barnard Castle, and excellent day trips to High Force waterfall, Killhope lead mines, Raby Castle, and scenic drives around the spectacular surroundings of Teesdale and Weardale. Wholeheartedly recommend cottage to others.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, there is still more places for you to visit in Teesdale, hope to see you all again, Thanks Kate.

The Coopers' stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Church Cottage was fantastic! It was beautifully furnished with comfort and style. The little touches from the owners were a lovely surprise, for instance, homemade cakes on arrival with essentials. Also the bathroom toiletries were a luxurious addition.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see the Coopers again in County Durham! Thanks Kate, it was lovely meeting you all.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage with our two young children, aged 3 and 1. The enclosed garden was excellent and attracted lots of wildlife. There were plenty of books, DVDs and toys/games. Very comfortable, high quality furnishings and fittings. Would definitely recommend to friends and will visit again in the future.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable cottage with everything supplied including a great selection of DVD's, games, books and CD's. Very friendly owner and cottage in a lovely location.



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was located in a beautiful village, everything you would want to make your stay at the cottage was there, the cottage is so near to so many beautiful places to visit, this was the most relaxing Cottage my wife and I have ever stayed, We cannot recommend the cottage highly enough, you will not be disappointed.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, so good to hear the first thing you would do on returning home was book another week ! See you both soon I hope. Thanks, Kate

A delightfully appointed cottage an ideal village setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having decided on a short break to explored the Durham/Teesdale area an internet search bought me to Mill Granary Cottages and what a lucky find it was. Getting older has made me very suspicious and always read reviews with some scepticism but those for Kate's cottages are to be believed.
Church Cottage has been very thoughtfully equipped with much attention to detail giving a lived in feeling. Good quality comfortable beds and linen are a real plus for me, so often a let down in a holiday rental.
The location on the village Green is quiet and provides easy access to walks along the riverside plus many other walks around the village area. A trip in the car can get you to magnificent walks along the Pennine Way and Teesdale Way some of these can be found in Paddy Dillon's Walking in County Durham which is among a good collection of local tourist information at the cottage.
The bus stop is a short walk from the cottage allowing for car free days out, we exercised our bus passes travelling to Barnard Castle ( 20 mins) to visit The Bowes museum and for a fine walk along the river on another occasion.
Services in the village are limited with no restaurants within walking distance, however there is an excellent Pizza bar by the pub and a fish and chip shop. The excellent local butcher and small village shop can supply daily needs.
Certainly a place we will go back to, if we can get a booking, to do some more walks.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you what a lovely review! Hope to see you both another time, Kate

Excellent property

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property and very helpful owner. It is situated in a very pleasant village with the usual amenities. Shop, butcher, pub, coffee shops, fish and chips. Right next to the church and behind the church is lovely riverside walk. Kitchen is very well appointed with pots and pans to allow proper cooking for, in our case, people with food allergies who are challenged by eating out!

Garden is private and a lovely spot, weather permitting to relax.

We will be visiting again!




Another lovely week at Church Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were returning guests to Church cottage having stayed last summer. We were all happy to return to the lovely cottage with its excellent facilities and levels of comfort!!! Our children were particularly excited to be back - twin beds, safe garden and extensive range of games, books and DVDs kept them happy. Plenty in the local area for weeks of interesting visits. Light evenings particularly lovely at this time of year. We will be back .....



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Booked again for your third stay at Church Cottage, I,m so pleased you all enjoyed it and relaxed, that's what its all about! See you soon, Kate.

just right

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt like goldilocks. We have rented bigger places, smaller places , cheaper ones, more expensive ones etc. But Church Cottage was just right. Very well equipped, in a lovely setting, in a wonderful village. To say we loved it would be putting it mildly.



Utterly Exquisite

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An utterly delightful cottage in an idyllic location. If you fancy a day out, it's ideally located for the excellent Jervaulx Abbey, or a trip into Richmond. If you'd rather stay local there's a lovely walk along a river, or even just sit listening to the birds, Church Cottage has it all.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The river walk is lovely I agree! So pleased you all enjoyed your stay and thank you for booking your fourth stay with us. See you all again in the summer. Thanks Kate.

A little gem in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage was absolutely stunning. We could not fault anything (and we're hard to please!) Attention to detail was clearly seen in the selection of books, dvds & games. Everyone catered for. Beautiful wildlife in the garden including squirrels and pheasants. Best pizzas served locally at Stable Hearth. Owners were extremely helpful. Would definitely return and a very good base for exploring the area.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such nice comments, I really love this cottage and hope to see you both again!

A delightful experience

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location and a beautiful cottage. Right next to the church and a delightful short walk with snowdrops and other spring flowers bursting into life. The cottage is tastefully decorated throughout and very comfortable. An excellent location for seeing all that Durham has to offer and a perfect retreat at the end of a busy day. I would love to return.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I hope we do see you again, the garden and river side are beautiful in the spring and summer. Hope you saw the otter on the river banks. Thanks Kate.

Stay at Church Cottage 16th -23rd January 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Church Cottage. Kate welcomed us on our arrival and when we encountered a problem with one of the radiators she responded to our text immediately and the problem was solved by the time we returned from a walk.The cottage was extremely comfortable and clean. Gainford is a lovely village with friendly residents and a good butchers and a tearoom. There are many things to see and do in the area for both adults and children. We would very much like to return again some time this year.

Mary from Lincolnshire




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay in County Durham, and great that you would like to come again! Hope to see you later in the year, the garden is so pretty in the summer. Thanks, Kate.

A well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at the cottage over Christmas. We enjoyed this stay and were given presents of Prosecco, biscuits, a chocolate orange, which was very kind. The cottage has everything you could wish, including bathrobes, slippers, luxury toiletries etc. the tree and the advent candles, plus other decorations made it a great place to stay for Christmas.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you both enjoyed Christmas at Church Cottage and have a happy 2015. Thanks, Kate

Another lovely visit

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed several visits to Mill Granary cottages and have never been disappointed. Church cottage is extremely well equipped, clean and cosy and situated in a beautiful place. Thank you Kate we hope to be back soon.



Perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at Church Cottage. The property was exceptional - decorated, furnished and equipped to a very high standard, it provided a very comfortable base from which we were able to enjoy the beautiful surrounding countryside and day trips to Whitby and Durham. We received a lovely warm welcome from the owner, Kate. The village itself was peaceful but provided everything we needed including an excellent butchers, good, friendly pub serving fabulous pizzas, a corner shop and beautiful walks by the River Tees. We can't wait to return! The Thomas Family, Warwick



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you all had a great time at Church Cottage and loved the area, hope to soon you again soon, thanks Kate

Church Cottage, Gainford, Counry Durham

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival tea and scones await at this pretty cottage in a lovely quiet village.

A great location for exploring the Teesdale area and the city of Durham and beyond.

It is tastefully and comfortably furnished and the attention to detail was appreciated eg excellent DVD collection, nice bathroom toiletries and useful extras in the kitchen.





Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you again if you are visiting your children at University. Glad you all enjoyed your stay, thanks Kate

Wonderful location!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage is a really relaxing place to stay. It is quiet and in very attractive surroundings.I suppose its a very English setting situated looking over a village green, next to the church. It is a hidden gem in the North with beautiful Durham countryside surrounding it.For us,the journey up the A1 was comparatively easier than battling the traffic to the South or the West of the country where traffic jams are an unwanted addition to the start of any holiday. It's not always possible to avoid chaos on the roads but there is less of a chance heading to this area. I would therefore, highly recommend this cottage, not only for its charm and comfortable stay, its wealth of places to visit in the area, and most importantly its ease of location!



REALLY NICE BREAK IN A LOVELY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our short break in this lovely cottage. Woul be very pleased to visit again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.



Kate Hodgson. replied more than 1 year ago
What lovely weather you had for exploring Co Durham. Hope to see you again at Church Cottage. Thanks, Kate

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage - very high standard of accommodation and clear lots of thought has gone into everything. Comfy beds and all mod cons. Children particularly loved the twin bedded room with TV. Had great week and only wished we could have stayed for longer.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you all again at Church Cottage, many thanks and glad you all had fun. Kate

A place we will always remember

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage in a great location. We Enjoyed Kate's homemade scones on arrival with the tea bags and milk she left for us. Would definitely recommend Kate's homemade marmalade on toast made with fresh baked bread from the local butchers - delicious. Lots to do nearby. A must is the Beamish Museum, Raby Castle and for those who like a walk by the river - try walking from high force waterfall to low force waterfall. Enjoyable even in the pouring rain! A gem of a pizzeria at the local pub for all you pizza lovers. But best of all we got our 8 week old border collie puppy, Skye, which was not planned, whilst on holiday there! So we will always remember our visit to the cottage with great joy.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review! I'm so pleased you all enjoyed Church Cottage and the surrounding area and what a joy to find your new dog Skye here as well. Enjoy the rest of the summer, I'm sure Skye will keep you busy! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Kate.

Church cottage review

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, well equipped and in a good location for exploring the area, both Teesdale and the Yorkshire dales. Nice and quiet too.Owner lovely and very helpful.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So good you managed to see the Tour de France while you were here. Hope to see you both again, thanks Kate

The very best...

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best cottage of its kind we have stayed in. Comfortable, homely and in a quiet lovely position in an attractive village. The friendly welcome by Kate when we arrived included homemade buttered scones Fully recommended.



Charming cottage in an outstanding area!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in a quiet area of the village next to church and near delightful walk along River Tees. Pretty,small walled garden, safe for small children, relaxing for adults. Huge village green opposite. Front opens straight onto parking area and road but very quiet. Lovely decor and good quality beds and fittings. Well-equipped kitchen and lovely bathroom products provided give a luxurious feel. Home made treat for tea on arrival, much appreciated.



A week in Teesdale in early June

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location and perfect property for a week exploring the area and relaxing in style. Every room is well furnished and kitchen and bathroom fittings are excellent. Met our high expectations and more! The village is delightful with good access to the riverside for walks and fishing.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope you catch a fish on your next visit! The river looks beautiful at the moment in the sun shine and so peaceful. See you both another time in lovely Teesdale. Thanks, Kate

Get away from it all

Review submitted on Sun, 18 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just what we had hoped for. Quiet location, beautifully presented, all mod cons. We couldn't have wished for more. I would go back again if we get the opportunity.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Good luck with the TT and hope to see you both again, thanks Kate

excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 18 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
one of the best cottages we have stayed in
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, hope to see you again in our cosy cottage, Kate

A cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cosy cottage set in a lovely village. A warm welcome when we arrived, the cottage was trimmed up for Christmas and champagne and homemade cake were waiting. As usual with the Mill Granary Cottages the holiday lets are more like a home , with lots of little extra touches! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see your children so excited about Christmas and I,m so pleased you all enjoyed it. Hope to see you again. Many thanks, Kate

A fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage in a beautiful part of the country. A tastefully furnished, well equipped, comfortable cottage in a very friendly village providing everything needed for an enjoyable stay. The Information Handbook was the most useful we have ever had. We have stayed in many cottages and Church Cottage is definitely one of the best.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such lovely comments and its great to see you have already booked another week to come and stay again! See you next year, thanks Kate.

Very enjoyable and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Church Cottage and we will be returning. The cottage is very comfortable and has everything we need. Impressed by the decor and the continuing enhancements made by Kate. The village has good walks, an excellent butcher, two cafes,two pubs, two churches and a handy shop. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (and the cake that Kate leaves for our arrival).



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Its always nice to see you both again and you like the area and cottage as much as we do. Many thanks, Kate.

Special little cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Church Cottage is a beautifully equipped and characterful holiday retreat in a special,village location. Church and riverside walks just outside the door. Views from the master bedroom over the walled garden and adjacent meadow make breakfast in bed a delight.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments about Church Cottage. I,m so glad you enjoyed your stay, it is a special cottage being right next to the Church, Thanks Kate.

Autumn half term break at Church Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very tasteful cottage, pleasantly set on a village green beside a church. Access to major roads which allowed us to visit the north- Newcastel, Durham and Hadrian's Wall, and east to the Cleveland Hills and the coast, and down to Richmond and west to Barnard Castle, the Bowes museum and the Tees Valley.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed the half term break up in Co Durham, sounds like you had a good look around. Hope to see you again, Thanks Kate.

Superb, comfortable cottage with great customer support from owner

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb, quiet and comfortable cottage with great customer support from owner. Delightful area with many walks nearby and many other 'sights' to visit within an hours travelling.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad I was helpful to you both and hope to see you again, thanks Kate

Church Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent refurbishment of the cottage to provide very stylish & comfortable accommodation. The only improvements we felt could be made were a guaranteed supply of cooking basics: oil, herbs & spices etc & a wider selection of cooking pots & pans.

We would use it as a base again and recommend it to friends.