FB Twitter

Osprey 1 - The Cove

Osprey 1 - The Cove

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.4


1 Osprey is a front row, architect designed, 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Brixham. It has a large terrace and dozens of luxury touches in this peaceful new development just a short walk from Brixham Harbour. Spectacular sea views from lounge, master bedroom and terrace, on-site heated swimming pool and private access to the beach at Fishcombe Cove below.

a week at osprey 1

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very enjoyable stay in devon in october Osprey 1 well positioned very warm and comfortable spacious and brilliant views.



Carrie Toms replied 29 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove and for recommending it to future guests. Glad you had a comfortable stay and it was nice and warm while you soaked up those views after a day out and about in Devon.

Lovely place and wonderful views

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great holiday and liked the osprey so much that we have already booked our next holiday there.
Every thing that we needed was in the room, including towels, tea towels etc. We used the washing machine which was also a dryer.
We arrived early than previously planned and the company were very helpful and accommodating.
The room was comfortable and the view delightful. Having WiFi and sky meant that we were able to keep track of emails and search places to visit on the internet.
We would most definitely recommend to others.




Carrie Toms replied 57 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove and for recommending it to others. Good to hear the apartment had all you needed for a great stay and we will look forward to welcoming you all back for your next holiday.

Another fantastic stay at The Cove!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth stay in The Cove complex, and as usual we weren’t disappointed.

One of the most reassuring things considering the current circumstances, was that the apartment was spotless.

Amenities were fantastic, and was spacious, you could live here permanently, the place had everything you need!

The view as always was fantastic. And we’re looking forward to returning next year (again!)




Carrie Toms replied 78 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review for Osprey 1, The Cove. The complex is lovely and very popular with our guests, I am pleased to hear you were happy with the cleanliness of the apartment the cleaning teams have worked so hard this session. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Lovely apartment with fantastic views!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in this apartment. It is brilliantly placed both for the view and walking into Brixham, and comes with nearly everything you could need for an enjoyable family holiday apart from a bedside light in the twin bedroom - it was a choice of full bright lights on or darkness, so we had to move the side lamp from the living room into there for the week. Bring a nightlight with you is your children need one! Luckily, the weather was nice enough for us to use the outdoor furniture throughout most of the week. Having the loungers as well as the outdoor table and chairs was a lovely luxurious touch and very comfortable! We also appreciated the coffee maker and dishwasher.



Carrie Toms replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your review for Osprey 1, The Cove, it is great to hear you enjoyed your second stay in the apartment. I will mention to the owner about a lamp for the second bedroom, glad the extra touches made your visit to Brixham even more relaxing. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Great holiday.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Cove is a lovely place to stay and Osprey 1 is beautifully decorated and looked after. The downside is that the pool was closed due to Covid, unnecessary in my view. Especially when we booked this holiday because there was a pool.
That aside, the view across the bay is stunning, the small coves are wonderful for swimming and snorkeling. There are many local opportunities like kayaking or paddle boarding. Osprey 1 is a fantastic place to holiday, the furniture and fittings are high quality and well maintained. We spent most time sitting on the patio enjoying the view.




Carrie Toms replied 99 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am pleased you enjoyed visiting Fishcombe Cove below the development. We understand your disappointment regarding the on-site pool, as we explained as a letting agent we have no input or say of any kind in the decisions made by the management committee. There were other outdoor pools locally that made the same decision this year upon reading the COVID19 guidance for the safe reopening of pools. Glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay in the apartment and enjoyed the patio and the views

Fantastic stay overlooking the bay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a great weeks staying at the cove. The location and view alone was worth the money. Apartment was lovely had everything we needed and the short walk into Brixham meant we hardly used the car all week. Already booked to go back.



Carrie Toms replied 106 days ago
Thank you for reviewing and recommending Osprey 1, The Cove. So pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay at the apartment and enjoyed the nice stroll into Brixham. We look forward to seeing you again soon for more of those wonderful views.

Things to be very careful of !!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful time in glorious Brixham and surrounding areas - The Cove apartments are beautifully sited with 10 minute access to two beaches.

However, although the apartment was well fitted out, the 'deep cleaning' did not appear to have been carried out well. I spoke to The Cove management team as we were preparing to leave to let them know we had 'foisty smelling' bed linen in the main bedroom and , only found on the day of departure, blood stained sheets as we stripped off the linen as requested, on one of the single beds. You can imagine the sickening feeling. I have taken images of the same as I could not reach any of the housekeeping staff.

The grounds are really well kept and the floral displays excellent. However a somewhat over zealous 'caretaker' shouted at myself and my 3 year old granddaughter for picking up his pebbles along the side of the path as we played a game. Not sure what he thought we were going to do with them but he told me in no uncertain way that he had laid 70,000 tons of them and I should not be 'taking' them. Very belligerent !!!

These issues have seriously influenced how we now feel about re-booking - certainly something we were definitely considering for 2021.




Steven King replied 114 days ago
Yes I remember you called me at the office on your departure to inform me of a 'foisty' smell in one of the bedrooms. I'm not sure why you didn't report it earlier? However, I went and inspected the property an hour after and could not detect a smell. I also checked with the previous guests before you and the ones that checked in after you, both said they couldn't smell anything. The whole property was redecorated during lockdown, all of the carpets, soft furnishings and fabrics on the sofas were steamed cleaned and new patio furniture was installed. I assure you and any future guests that all of the bed linen & towels are washed in an industrial laundry at over 60 degrees and are certified safe to NHS standards. If you and your granddaughter were 'playing games' with stones, I'm not surprised the groundsman asked you to stop. I'm pleased to note you enjoyed your stay in Brixham and the beautiful location of The Cove development.

View outstanding, apartment ok

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It’s the 2nd time we have stayed at the cove, the first time in Osprey 1, being a ground floor apartment you have to expect some noise from the upstairs apartment. I will definitely book an upstairs apartment if we stay again.
We were rather disappointed with the cleanliness of Osprey 1, the bathroom floor needs a good bleach and there is grimy silicone or grout around the shower area, I had read another review before we booked that mentioned faults with the apartment but in all fairness the review was last September and I honestly thought those faults would have been rectified seeing as it’s now a February, they hadn’t,
The towel rail does not get hot, the bin lid is broken, the oven tray was full of grease, the apartment smelt like stale beer, the settees are stained. There are cobwebs in the lounge area, the front door needs re packing as it has dropped and is quite difficult to open.
Would I stay in Osprey 1 again, No
We stayed in Puffin 4 on our first visit and we couldn’t fault it, so I expected the same standard if not better seeing as it is marketed as luxury, Osprey 1 does not come up to the standard of luxury.
The table light lampshade in the lounge needs replacing you can see damage to it when the light is on, behind the shutters needs cleaning, plus the shutters themselves need cleaning.
The view is lovely and the apartment is warm.
I do hope the faults with this apartment will be put right.




Steve King replied 229 days ago
I see from your review that you experienced some issues with the cleanliness of the property. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. We are working with the owner to address these issues and have now closed the property for the next 2 weeks so that it can be totally redecorated and deep cleaned and the other issues fixed. We hope to welcome you back to The Cove again soon. Our guests are able to contact us during their stay if there are any problems and we will do our very best to address them.

Nice apartment amazing views

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this apartment many times since 2015 and love the cove. Everything you need for a few days away is provided.

The views from your living space is amazing. Looking out at the trawlers coming and going from Brixham port.

Can’t wait to come and stay again. The Booking service from Steve& Carrie and the team at Brixham holidays is always perfect.

Thanks again

Steve & Yvonne .




Carrie Toms replied 229 days ago
Many thank Steve and Yvonne for your review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I know how much you enjoy visiting Brixham and staying on the development with those views, it is always lovely to see you both and we look forward to welcoming you for another breakaway to Brixham in the future.

Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whenever we visit my parents in Brixham we stay at The Cove. They are always wonderful breaks and we love it there. Amazing location and view which makes up for the lack of coat hooks, drawers, storage in general and tiny bathrooms! Just be frugal with your packing and don’t bring much cold food and you’ll be fine!



Carrie Toms replied 308 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am really pleased you enjoy staying at the development when you visit your parents. Osprey 1 does have a washer/dryer if you do need to use it. I will make sure that some more hangers are in the wardrobes and pass your comments on to the owner. Best wishes, look forward to seeing you in the future

A wonderful tranquil week

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time we had stayed at the cove, and wasn’t disappointed. We have stayed in other places around Brixham since 2010 but by far this was the the ideal place for our family.

The accommodation was clean and well laid out especially with three small children. Who all loved staying at the Cove and being able to see the boats in the distance.

Despite the bad weather on some days ion a days outing, once you opened the front door it was so warm and inviting that it was lovely to have cosy nights in after being out all day.

Waking up the first morning to a glorious morning of sunshine at the end of October and stunning views, was so tranquil and relaxing. After a wonderful week we were all refreshed.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted that your family had such a lovely stay on the development. It is very popular especially with family in the main summer months due to the pool. (open end of May to the start of September) The words you wrote really capture what holidays are all about going home relaxed and refreshed.

Excellent location just a few issues this time with apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my wife decided last minute to have a few days away at the Cove and decided to rebook Osprey 1 again.

We have stayed in this apartment many times over the last few years and always enjoyed the peace and quiet at this time of year.

Unfortunately this time we were surprised how tired and unloved the place looked. Needs painting for a start inside and out.

The 2 small settees are way past there usefulness. Uncomfortable and worn out cushions.

Would not be expensive to replace with a nice firm corner suite so you can sit and enjoy the lovely views this apartment offers.

The rug in front of the main patio doors looked like it had never been cleaned it was again past it’s usefulness and worn out.

The other main issue which although we had experienced before not as bad was there was a group of 4 people staying above Osprey 1 and the noise from people walking around banging doors moving chairs around on floor ruined our break.

It may not be there fault the apartments are not very soundproofed you hear everything from above and vice versa. Including toilets flushing from above ! Wooden floors obviously don’t help with the noise.

We love the cove and booking with brixham holidays makes it an easy process. We think it is time to look at another apartment next time on the site.




Steven King replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for spending another holiday at Osprey 1. I'm sorry you experienced a few issues during this trip. I'm slightly surprised you did not call us, as you have on previous visits so that we could verify and correct any shortcomings. As I have only just received your review I've not been able to personally view the apartment yet but will do in the next few days as I'm concerned that in a quite new apartment the soft furnishings and decoration seem to have deteriorated since your last visit. I've passed your comments onto the owner, who I am sure will rectify any issues within her control ASAP. Once again, I'm sorry this trip was not as enjoyable as past ones. I'm pleased you like the location and the ease of booking with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cove next year.

Osprey 1

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, could not be faulted in that aspect! View was breathtaking.
Will certainly come back to this complex but as it is now would be a different apartment.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. It was lovely to welcome you back to Brixham and to The Cove Development. I am so glad to hear that the location is still ideal for your requirements. I am sorry that the apartment wasn't too your liking it is massively popular with guests and has a lot of returning visitors year on year. Hope to see you again in the future at one of our other properties on the complex.

scottys hols

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
although we would stop in the complex again we would pick a different apartment as we love to be outside on holiday and get the BBQ going this apartment has no sun loungers or BBQ you can use most of the other apartments do have these... the weather was beautiful but we were sat bolt upright for the fortnight we were there... these are not cheap to hire so outside comfort is a must have..also something simple like egg cups not supplied I made some out of tin foil someone needs to have a good look around this place and get the small things that count sorted the last little niggle is on arrival all that was supplied was 4 sachets of coffee 6 sachets of sugar and 6 sachets of milk not a lot for some where out of town and we arrived by train not by car



Steven King replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Cove. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by several niggles. We are based here in Brixham and are available 7 days a week to assist with issues such as these, therefor I'm somewhat surprised you did not call us during your two week stay. Neither the photos or description on the property listing indicate that a BBQ or sun loungers are provided. However, I will ask the owner if she wishes to provide these items for future guests and will also ask the housekeepers to provide more welcome drinks. In our opinion, Osprey 1 is one of the best apartments at The Cove as it is larger than most and is exceptionally well furnished and decorated. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and hope we can assist you to find a property that better suits your needs in future.

Very happy with the apartment BUT!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a long long difficult trek (for older people) into Brixham. We are 79 and 73. We would not have booked this holiday if we had known how tiring it would have been to go into Brixham. I know there was a bus into Brixham hourly but with bad weather, who wants to hang around a bus stop waiting for a bus that is nearly always late.
The apartment was lovely and we were very comfortable, we just wish we had known about the walk into Brixham.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove,. I am very sorry that the weather was so unkind to you during your stay in Brixham, also and that the location of the development was tricky for yourselves. I am happy that you enjoyed a comfortable stay however. Standing in the rain waiting for the bus is no fun I agree, the website however does explain that it is around an 15 minute walk in to Brixham from The Cove. Future guests could consider ringing one of the local taxi's it will cost you about £4 pounds into town (at the time of writing) if the weather is to inclement for walking.

Cove break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location with stunning views and an easy walk into Brixham. Accommodation was to a good standard and had all the necessary for a self catering stay. Great discovery and highly recommended



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. It great to hear that the location of the apartment and it's wonderful views suited you requirements for a break away. So pleased you had all you needed for your stay and would highly recommend apartment/development, I hope to see you again in the future.

Osprey the Cove Brixham

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stunning views comfortable clean well equipped compacted holiday accommodation. Perfectly placed to explore Torbay and beyond. Brixham is just a 15 minute walk away along the coastal path. Would recommend The Cove. We really enjoyed our stay. Also the carparking is spacious dedicated and secure.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am very pleased to that you felt the apartment was comfortable clean and well equipped for your stay. Glad the location was ideal for exploring Torbay and beyond, whilst still being a nice stroll into the harbour and town. The dedicated and secure carparking is a big plus for guests as is the pool in the high season.

6 Days in Brixham.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just spent a lovely 6 day relaxing break in Brixhams " The Cove" holiday apartments. specifically "Osprey 1".
We have used these apartments before on 2 other occasions and have always tried to go one better every time we visit.
Overall Osprey 1 was great, excellent view of Torbay, very clean and well set out apartment with all mod cons including Sky TV on the main TV set . Only one gripe was that the two remaining large TV`s in the two bedrooms had very little or NO reception at all which was quite annoying !
We travelled into Brixham by car on a couple of occassions but were put off by the price of the local car parks, so we ended up leaving the car on the grounds and walking the 20 minute trek along the coastpath into Brixham even though my wife has health issues.
I think we will be going back but not in school holiday times as it is quite expensive at these times.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am pleased that you enjoyed your 3rd stay on the development. You will always achieve lower prices out of peak times. If you have to come in the main season you can always look at the last minute availability which will detail all discounted properties 2 weeks ahead. If you are going to use the car to get out and about you could look at buying a weeks parking permit.

Another Excelllent Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location of the osprey 1 is perfect sea views relax and watch trawlers coming in and out of the harbour. This is our 4 visit to osprey 1 and we love it.
Excellent communication from all the team at brixham holiday homes. Especially Carrie and Steve they couldn’t do enough for us.
Hope to visit again shortly.
Thank you




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay at this wonderful apartment, you were an absolute pleasure to deal with and it was lovely to finally meet you. I will look forward to you next visit soon. Very best wishes from all the team for a Happy New Year.

Perfect !

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location this is our 3rd stay in osprey 1
Already booked again for another week later this year.
Excellent communication from Steve & Carrie @ brixham holiday homes.

Thank you




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing another review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted you seem to have found a place that suits your needs so well. Steve and I are pleased that the communication was effective and look froward to seeing you again very soon.

AmaZing

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before in a different apartment!
It was ready earlier than expected which is always nice, very very clean, beautiful views, lovely walk into the harbour around the coast!
Would recommend you won’t be disappointed!




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a lovely review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am really pleased you enjoyed such a lovely stay. Glad to hear the apartment was clean and proved a nice place to base yourselves during your visit. We are very lucky indeed with the beautiful walks in the area, delighted you were able to enjoy it. Hope to see you again in the future.

Another wonderful long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time my mother and I have stayed at Osprey 1. There is nothing I can fault about the apartment and it’s location. Mum is elderly and loves the fact that she can just sit, relax and watch the world go by if she wishes from the living room which has beautiful coastal views. Customer service is great. I left a pair of shoes behind and these were returned to me promptly by post. We look forward to returning again in the future.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jan for once again writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. It is the biggest and best recommendation when guests return to stay with us multiple times. I am delighted you are pleased with our service, it was a pleasure to assist with the return of your shoes. We look froward to see you on your next visit to Brixham.

A great apartment with stunning views across the bay.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The only problem is the position of the property. It is a long way out of the town, probably at least a 30 minute walk and most definitely not a level walk. Also, the one-way system around Furzeham, the area of Brixham where the apartments are, is very convoluted and if you don't know the area you can go round in circles until you get the hang of it!

It would have been good to have some instructions about how to operate the heating.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommendation for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted you were pleased with the apartment and of course the amazing views across the bay. The bus service that covers the area does cover a large route. I will put some information in the apartment about where the best stand is in town to shorten the journey. Regarding the walk into Brixham, in the past guests have suggested it takes 15-20 minutes into Brixham, however this does depend on a persons walking speed.

An enjoyable short break with magnificent views across Torbay.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, well-appointed accommodation, great views and quiet off-season. However the description of 1 Osprey says "more accessible for guests with mobility issues". The flat was fine inside but it was the furthest away from the car park and so not at all ideal for someone with mobility issues. A long way to walk - and to carry luggage.
Gardens well maintained and with easy access to small beach and coastal path into Brixham - enjoyed by the one without mobility issues!




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the apartment. We are grateful for your feedback, the apartment is at the far end of the complex away from the car park but the pathway to the accommodation is mostly flat. It is used regularly by guests who would struggle to access a top floor apartment or have issues using a ground floor apartment with a shower over the bath.

Stunning views from an attractive property

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Once we had sorted out our initial problems, we settled down to a very comfortable stay. We couldn’t find the general information folder nor the WiFi password and the phone number given for the manager was unavailable. We drove to the address of the management and was given the mobile number of the manager by the unnamed resident of the address, who then sorted out our problem.
The apartment was a good location to explore Brixham and had the weather been warmer we would have enjoyed the views from the patio, with a glass or two of wine.




Steven King replied more than 1 year ago
Oh dear, I'm sorry you had such a hard time getting in touch with us. When I spoke to you on the phone and directed you to look on the back of the router for your wi-fi code, you didn't make me aware you had so many problems trying to contacting us. This was the week we moved offices and unfortunately the telephone company messed up the number transfer and we were without wi-fi and telephone for 3 days. (nightmare!) This was compounded by the fact that a previous guest had accidently damaged the information frame in your property and hidden it in a drawer, so you could not find it AND it was the first week for ages that the weather was not so sunny. Once again I'm sorry about the rare communication issues and pleased to note that after your initial problems you settled down to a very comfortable stay.

Beautiful location, fantastic views, compact apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week at the Cove, location is great with amazing views and right on the south coast path. Easy walk into Brixham.

The complex had a lovely warm pool, but the management team hadn't paid the gardener so sadly it wasn't open over our first weekend. This seems very unfair considering we had paid our rent!

The apartment is small but works for a family of 4. Bit more space being on the end but lacking a BBQ to really make the most of the terrace.





Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am very sorry there were issues with the opening of the pool during your first weekend. The swimming pool is operated by the management team at The Cove and unfortunately these issues are beyond our control thankfully these times are very infrequent. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the apartment and the amazing views.

Excellent property

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You can't fault this property, the view is great, well equipped, quite spacious, the wet room and shower ideal for me, would like a couple of grab rails and stool , would be useful,just a suggestion, would come again.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am glad you found that the apartment and location suited your needs. As far as I know Osprey 1 is the only apartment in the complex to have a wet room, it makes it a good option for those guest who would struggle with a shower over the bath. Hope to see you again in the future.

Another Great Stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second tine at this apartment in six months. Stunning location and literally everything you need for a relaxing holiday. View is simply stunning and fifteen minute walk through the woods to the harbour. Book it you won't be disappointed.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted you loved it as much the second time, it really is a lovely apartment with amazing views. Thank you for the recommendation, hope to welcome you back in the future.

Fantastic place to stay, can't fault it.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a 90th Birthday treat for my mother.
She thought the place was amazing.
The panoramic views across the sea were something else,
I will definitely be coming back.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted to hear that your mothers 90th birthday treat was so enjoyed by you all. The apartment is well suited to the needs of people who for many reasons are not quite as mobile, but still has fantastic views we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

A lucky find in Brixham with a beautiful view of Torbay.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking on-line for self-catering accommodation within the Torbay area and, whilst looking, details of the Brixham Holiday Apartments popped up. We were so impressed that we booked straightaway. We chose Osprey 1 as it looked ideal for us, and we weren't disappointed. The interior is very modern and well furnished, with a nautical theme running throughout. On arrival we found complimentary tea/coffee, milk, sugar and biscuits. A nice touch, Thank you. The kitchen was very well equipped, plus extras. There was even tablets for the dishwasher. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. There was a TV in the lounge, and both bedrooms, to watch but the view out of the patio doors was far superior. When we weren't out exploring we sat and watched the boats and yachts to-ing and fro-ing across Torbay and round the headland to Brixham harbour. Electric gates to the car park and an alarm at the apartment were a bonus. We wished we could have stayed longer.. A beautiful location and highly recommended for a relaxing holiday.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and very positive review for Osprey 1, The Cove. Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the apartment and that you felt the security at the development a bonus. We can take no credit for the view though, I am so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing break in Brixham and thank you for the recommendation.

Beautiful views and lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed with my elderly mother for 5 nights. She loves this accommodation as everything is on one level. In particular she likes having the walk in shower. We found everything to be very clean and of a good quality in the apartment.
The view over Torbay is wonderful. It is a great place to just sit and watch life on the water while staying warm inside.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted the apartment was ideal for your mum, I must say a walk in shower is a win for me to they do make life easier. The views from The Cove are lovely aren't they and to be able to enjoy them from the inside is a huge plus.

Beautiful property with a stunning view

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal small property for a short break. All mod cons. Stunning views from the huge glass doors and windows.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. Pleased to hear you had a good short break and that you feel that the apartment had all the things you needed. Glad you enjoyed the great views out over Fishcombe Cove.

It's all about a beautiful view

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose to stay at the Cove development first and foremost for the beautiful view over to Torquay. Gorgeous by day and night.
The apartment was bright and fresh and had an extremely comfortable lounge area.
It felt very spacious but as there was only 2 of us it's hard to say how it would feel with 4 guests,but feel it would really suit families with young children and not 4 adults.
It was a lovely 10-15 minute walk through battery park to the harbour.
The apartment has 3 TVs...which remained unused. I think the one in the twin room would be better replaced with a larger wardrobe as the tiny cupboard in there was already full with an ironing board,clothes drier and old microwave
My only 'moan' would be that despite searching every cupboard we couldn't find a vacuum,broom or even a dust pan brush.
Not being able to at least sweep up every day really upset my inner cleaning fairy, especially as there was no entrance mat to wipe muddy shoes.
A lovely 3 night break for hubby's birthday whilst we visited family living in Brixham.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am sorry that you weren't able to sweep up at the end of the day, as you would have liked. We do pass on suggestions to owners so I will mention the door mat. I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Brixham to celebrate your husband's birthday and visit family. The view is wonderful from the apartment and I am glad you had a comfortable stay.

Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful apartment, stunning location with nice walks in your doorstep. Will definitely visit again.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the apartment and felt the location was ideal for your walks. The views are indeed stunning at The Cove, it is proving very popular with guests. It will be great to welcome you back in the future,

A relaxing week in Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a most enjoyable weeks stay at The Cove - Osprey 1. the views across Torbay and beyond are stunning. The apartment is spacious and comfortable. In our opinion there are a few minor things that the apartment could do with:
1. A mat inside the front door to wipe feet when returning to the apartment
2. Coat hooks - there was no where (apart from wardrobes to hang coats etc - not ideal for wet coats). There was also no coat hooks within the bedrooms (for hanging dressing gowns).




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I will pass on your thoughts for additions to the owner for consideration. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and found the apartment spacious and comfortable. The location does have the most stunning views it is lovely to hear now much you liked them. Thank you very much for the recommendation.

The Cove - Osprey 1

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Views and location are stunning in this gated complex. Having breakfast overlooking the sea each morning is a real treat. The apartment is finished to a high standard although could have been cleaner on arrival (dusty in places) and there was a damp smell in the main bedroom. The bathroom also had an unpleasant smell each day, probably due to how the complex manages the waste? Beds and sofas weren't the most comfy and the toaster set the fire alarms off a few times, which our children found hysterical! Overall it was the views that made the stay very memorable, having a swimming pool available was a bonus too. Parking and access was fantastic. Would recommend this as one of the best places to stay in Brixham!







Sue - owner of Osprey 1 replied more than 1 year ago
We invited Sue, the owner of Osprey 1 to comment as she stayed immediately after this guest departed. "I actually stayed at Osprey 1 for 3 nights, after this guest left. We never smelt any damp smells or any smell from the drains. The apartment was very clean and I couldn't believe that a so many people have been staying there and it was still so clean and tidy. I just think some people like to have a moan. He recommended it as the best place to stay in Brixham so it couldn't be that bad."

Fantastic apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a fantastic apartment with breathtaking seaviews. Ideal for young children and those with disability as everything on one level with walk in shower. Enough space for 4 adults and a 14 month year old baby. Highchair and travel cot provided. Private parking, gated and with a communal swimming pool made a fantastic base to explore. Apartment facilities were superb everything we needed. Very comfortable beds even had sky movies. Would highly recommend and we hope to return.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Osprey 1, The Cove. I am pleased to hear you found the apartment comfortable and a fantastic base to explore from. Guests seems to really like the complex for all the reason you have mentioned. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Amazing apartment; amazing view!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we have stayed at The Cove and it did not disappoint! A beautifully appointed apartment with everything you could possibly need - including a dishwasher and washer/dryer. The decor is very contemporary and attractive and, as for the view, a clear, uninterrupted view across the bay to Torquay which is beautiful.
The pool can be a little on the cool side early in the year, but would be great in the summer. The beach below is private, interesting and has a cafe and toilets, and you can walk over the cliffs into Goodrington Bay and Paignton if you are feeling energetic!
It is a lovely ten minute stroll along the cliffs into Brixham (there are steep steps on the return journey) and we love the town: crabbing, great family-friendly pubs, restaurants and shops.
During the half-term holiday, it was Brixfest and this year was better than ever - fireworks to welcome us on the first Saturday, a regatta and plenty of other activities to entertain us including the Torbay Airshow on the final Saturday!
We will definitely be back!




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted that you enjoyed your return to The Cove. You chose a fantastic time to re visit Brixham, Brixfest is a great festival. Brixham is lucky to host The Brixham Pirates Festival early in May and Fishstock in September. We have many guests book year on year to join in the fun, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Beautiful Brixham Apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'd definitely recommend Osprey 1 - The Cove. The location is wonderful in a quiet corner of Brixham with amazing views. This apartment is particularly good as it's at the edge of the development and so feels even more private. The apartment is furnished to a high standard with lots of nice extras e.g. a coffee machine. Brixham Holidays were happy to answer questions that we had before arriving around what would be provided and their arrival information was very clear. Great to be so close to Fishcombe and Churston Coves, and the availability of a swimming pool in the development is an added bonus. We'll hopefully be returning before too long.



Beautiful apartment with fantastic view

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful apartment with an fantastic view to the bay. The colors in the apartment are the colors of the sea. Modern kitchen, well equipped. Quiet location.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review of Osprey 1, The Cove. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the apartment and that you found it well equipped. The owners have given great thought to the decoration, glad you felt the colours suited the location. The views are fantastic over Fishcombe Cove as you mention The Cove is proving a popular choice with all guests.

osprey no 1

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
my husband has mobility issues and the apartment was not really suitable. The toilet no grab bars and too low. No grab bars in the shower



Steve King replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying with us at Osprey 1, The Cove. Osprey 1 is advertised on our site as ‘easy access’ because of its ground floor location, no steps between the car park and front door and wet room style bathroom with no bath to climb over. It has the easiest access of any of the properties at The Cove. We have made no mention of grab bars for the shower or toilet and the photographs illustrate that there are none. I’m very sorry if you assumed that there would be these facilities. If future guests would like to check access and facilities at any of our properties, please give our office a call before making a booking. I’m sorry if the lack of these facilities marred your enjoyment of the property.