FB Twitter

South Lodge

South Lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


South Lodge is detached and very private yet only a few hundred yards from Dalton village on a quiet public road with large private garden adjoining fields. South Lodge is only fifteen minutes pleasant walk away from the amenities of the Stables Courtyard.

Downstairs in South Lodge you’ll find the large dining kitchen fully equipped, including a washing machine. Next door is the cosy sitting room with a lovely open fire. There’s a colour television, DVD & CD player and a selection of books and magazines. Also downstairs is a comfortable twin bedroom. Upstairs you’ll find another twin bedroom and a double bedroom with ensuite shower room. At the top of the stairs is the family bathroom with bath, basin and WC. South Lodge also has a telephone that takes incoming calls on 01387 840651. The cottage has central heating with radiators in all rooms run by gas (LPG). The immersion heater also heats the water. South Lodge offers basic but good accommodation.

Fantastic find

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent value for money. Large cottage in a secluded location on the grounds of a large estate. You can either be left alone to relax in front of the open fire or you can take part in activities on the grounds. There are some fantastic walks from the door step that are free and also a choice of paid for activites. There is also a range of farm foods and cooked meals available to purchase. I would recommend South lodge for anyone that wants their own secluded hide away. I would recommend Kirkwood farm to families as well as the farm being great for children, there is lots to do within one hour of the property. We felt incredibly well looked after by the hosts, we felt they genuinely cared that we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay here again.



Mid Week Break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at South Lodge. This lodge is in the perfect spot for people looking for a quiet break. The lodge was clean and comfy. The booking process was fine and all the staff are very polite and helpful.



A wonderful weekend in a cosy cottage with loads of activities to enjoy on the farm. Great hosts.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kirkwood Farm is an ideal place to stay and enjoy beautiful countryside in Sourh Scotland and there's lots on offer. We stayed in South Lodge which was very relaxing and comfortable and were able to take our 'well behaved' dog too. The cottage was a cosy place to relax in and in the evening we enjoyed lighting a 'real' fire! As one of our group was celebrating a birthday we booked a tractor driving lesson as a surprise, which was a great success! Then we all went quad biking and fed some orphan lambs. Our dog loved its walks by the river. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We would recommend checking out Real Farm Holidays - we'll definitely be going back.



Tranquil Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was travelling to Dumfries and Galloway and required self catering accommodation. I found South Lodge and it looked perfect for my family needs. Our 2 dogs loved the countryside walks and our children loved the games room located a short distance away. The service we received was excellent and the staff all helpful. We will return on our next trip




Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed with my family in South Lodge it is a perfect place to stay for a lovely country break. The cottage is clean and comfortable and exactly as expected for a 2* property. Coal fire which makes it lovely and cosy. Great service from all the team and we will be back.



Lovely large cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time for us at south lodge but we all loved it. No WiFi didn’t even put my 9 yr old off. Gin bar and Thai nearby.



Good times

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have been going to south lodge with some friends for a fishing trip for the past 5 years.This cottage is in a great location there's is a little local pub and a Thai restaurant which is a 5 minute walk .The cottage has plenty of space and a great garden to relax in with a cold beer.We have already booked for next year and can't wait to get back.




Very, Very, cold and smelled of damp and mould.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We arrived to a cottage that was extremely cold and smelled of damp and mould. Although the central heating was timed to come on twice a day, this was no use as the radiators were all turned off. I turned them all on. Even with all the radiators turned on and with lighting the coal fire in the lounge the cottage took ages to warm up. We went into Annan the next day to purchase a coat for my wife and, although as we got the cottage warmer we thought the musty, mouldy smell had subsided, we were wrong. As we returned from our shopping trip we could smell it again. When we thought the smell had subsided, it hadn't , we had just got used to it.
Although the property was dire, at this point in our holiday, we had decided to persevere. I was lighting the fire each evening and we were managing the cold. However, in the early hours of Wednesday morning disaster struck ! we had no heating at all.
None of the radiators were working. When I checked the heating system I found evidence to suggest we had run out of LPG.
The electrical control system was calling for the boiler to light and the boiler was trying continuously to fire to no effect.
It was a this point I decided to move to a hotel. We were attending a wedding that lunchtime and I needed somewhere warm and suitable for my wife and I to get ready.




Anthony Steel replied 352 days ago
So Sorry Mr Douglas, I as owner take full responsibility for this, because as you arrived in a heatwave, indeed the hottest spell of weather the UK has experienced for many years (17th June 2018) I had instructed our team to turn off the central heating and, although we normally light the coal fire, I asked them not do so on this occasion. I apologise, we should have asked you first perhaps. Thank you though for leaving a polite and helpful note (although that did not indicate to us your unhappiness) suggesting that the gas may have run out. We had the gas tank filled straight away but it was not empty, there was a fault. We are just sorry that this fault occurred in the early hours of the morning and caused your disaster. If it had occurred later in the day I am sure you would have told us and we would have made every attempt to move you to another cottage or rectified the problem. We could, for example, have supplied extra electrical heaters to the three already in the cottage. Finally we are sorry and I was sad to hear that your little dog had died the day before you arrived. We love our dogs and it must have put a dampener on your whole holiday. Our condolences.

From Scottish heatwave to frost in seven days

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To start the week with barbecues beside the always enticing river Annan and ending with a blazing coal fire to combat the frost made our week in south lodge as wonderfully bizarre as ever. An unsettled deer disturbed the badger watch and grayling got in the way of dry fly casting for wild brown trout but who cared! It was a wonderful week even down to watching the intense preparations for the local cricket season in a field across the ever so quiet road leading quickly to a Thai restaurant in Dalton which always amuses as being totally out of place yet strangely local. My Scottish relatives joined me for most of the week. Alas, they want to return with me next time. The secret beauty of the place is out.......and well done to all those at Kirkwood who offer it to us visitors most generously.



Excellent for family with young children

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay, just what we'd hoped for and good value for money. Cottage good size and garden great - enclosed so kids could play out when they wanted. Good location



South Lodge At Eastertime.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Lodge provided an excellent base for exploring the area. The many walks around the Kirkwood Estate give the opportunity to hear and see lots of wildlife as well as giving the walkers plenty of exercise. We hope to visit again soon.