FB Twitter

Beech lodge

Beech lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 174 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


Stunning lodge with unrivalled views - only 3 miles from the picturesque harbour town of Oban. 1 double bedroom and 1 single bedroom with open plan living space consisting of well equipped kitchen and comfortable living room and dining area.

A short break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 6th stay at Lagnakeil Lodges and we love staying there. A lovely friendly family business that I would recommend to anyone, here's to our next visit

Elizabeth from Wigan stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Improvement

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Only suggestion that would have improved our stay was the addition of a gate on the entrance to the decking. This would have allowed the dog to be on the decking.

Colin from Choppington stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in September 2019


Difficult holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
There were problems we did not anticipate

The access is a single track road with passing places along which there is a lot of traffic some of which travels quickly

The hot water immersion heater failed on the second afternoon and was not fixed until the next morning

The water supply is not from the mains and on the fourth day we were advised we would have to boil water to clean teeth. Bottled water was then supplied

Although we had been told there was wifi in the original offer when we arrived we were told that it was not good and our devices preferred to work on 3 & 4 g

As the weather was becoming unsettled and we were feeling a little unwell we left on the fourth day although we had booked for seven

We think this facility needs to be more honest about the facility and the difficulties they are having and which guests will have to deal with


Kenneth from Port Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Weeks holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was cosy and well situated for oban and surrounding area
The view was amazing of hills and fields we found the week very relaxing
Choice of walks in the area and a great local pub for meals "the barn "


Fiona from Wigton stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Ref,holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely place to stay .Nice and quite place to stay .relaxing thank you for a lovely week .Hope to see you soon.

Margaret from Jersey stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Good base for Oban

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cabin was comfortable enough and made a very good base for exploring around Oban. Only 10 minutes drive from Oban yet felt totally away everything. Made for a relaxing break. Unless we missed something there was a lack of recycling facilities.

Karen from Southampton stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place , we stayed in early July , dogs too , we really enjoy all aspects the views the standard of the lodges and above all the owners attention to detail . Thank you

Jonathan from Skipton stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Would recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge facilities were excellent. Lovely and clean, could not fault. Location was lovely but just a bit out of the way for Oban - needed a driver if you wanted to go into town for drinks. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

Roberta from Livingston stayed at Poplar lodge for 5 nights in June 2019


Amazing Location and Tranquil

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay. Our lodge was 1st class and the views out the windows were to die for. Alot of thought has gone into the set up and equipping of these lodges. We stayed 3 nights but wish it had been longer. It was just 5 min by car into Oban town centre. We went across to Mull on the ferry for the day. Would highly recommend and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Not everyone will be so lucky with the weather as that's out with anyone's control but it was fantastic for us!!

Kelly from Aberdeen stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in June 2019


Short 5 day stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th stay at Lagnakeil and we have always found it to be a lovely and comfortable place to stay. It is set in beautiful and peaceful location among Pines with brilliant wildlife and birds to watch. It is run by a lovely family and I would highly recommend it to anyone,wouldn't stay anywhere else whilst visiting Oban.

Elizabeth from Wigan stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in June 2019


Peaceful cabin

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a good spot, off the beaten track and beautiful area but only 10 min drive to Oban. Well kept grounds and dogs were welcome. Ate 3 evenings at the fantastic restaurant walking distance or very short drive called The Barn very high quality food in rustic surroundings. Thankyou Lauren for a great stay

Caroline from Stowmarket stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Review

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I knew pretty well what to expect as I had stayed here six years ago.

It all seemed very familiar so I was not disappointed. The laundry and play room - the famous 'green building' is still referred to as such in the notes but it has been painted brown. Hope not too many people were confused! The nearby "Barn" restaurant looks a bit "off-putting" from the outside but the food is top-quality and reasonably priced, so it is highly recommended.

All in all a welcome break from 'real life' in the south of England and a lovely holiday, despite the rain and the breakdown of a Cal-Mac ferry!

We may be back for a third time soon!


Allan from March stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Comfort much appreciated

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mother and father in law stayed in Poplar Lodge. They loved the quietness, the warmth (had quite a bit of wind and rain), the comfortable bed. Beautiful location.

Guest from stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My son and daughter in law plus baby stayed in Beech Lodge. Plenty of equipment in kitchen. Lovely setting. No complaints at all. Warm, safe, cosy! Son felt quite expensive so should mention.

Guest from stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


A pleasant stay in a nature lovers haven

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The sheets and towels were fine but the duvet could have been better considering the price we paid for the accommodation. Also there wasn't a small roasting tin for the oven. There were plenty of cleaning materials and cloths for the dishes. The internet was adequate for our use. Good for viewing wildlife.

Colin from Carnforth stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Easter break

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in poplar 2; very comfortable with great facilities. Weather fantastic, scenery fantastic. Located close to Oban which is handy for food/drink supplies. Goods walks with the dog from the door of the lodge into the surrounding hills. Saw a few deer, one of which was right next to the lodge.

Andrew from Wigan stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


Perfect place

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is just perfect for two people. The lodge its self was clean and it had it's own balcony which was lovely to sit out in. The beds are very comfortable and when I needed extra pillows ect then this was no problem. Staff/owners are all lovely and couldn't be more helpful.

Louise from stayed at Poplar lodge for 13 nights in April 2019


A lovely get-away for a few days on the west coast of Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you fancy a quick break, then I can recommend Lagnakeil very much. This is my partner's and myself second visit to the lodges over near Oban. The weather wasn't so great, but the scenery was fantastic. Only 60 odd miles from Glasgow (it was several hours from the Scottish Borders for us), it is a convenient location for a break.

There were issues in the lodge, but these were all dealt with speedily and to our satisfaction (good customer service).

Happy to recommend the lodges.


Max from Eyemouth stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Short stay in Lagnakeil

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jan 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great location and beautiful views. Basic but well equipped lodges that are clean and well presented.

Gavin from Falkirk stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in December 2018


Disappointing

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
1.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It smelt bad and was dirty. We couldn't stay so left shortly after we booked in.
The lodge is outdated and dirty. Just replacing the sofa and chair would make a difference and make guests want to sit down and get comfortable.


Louise from Crewe stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in November 2018


Short notice booking

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We phoned late afternoon on the day wanted to arrive and it was no bother getting booked. We arrived a little late after 6pm, but again no bother with getting our lodge. The lodge was lovely spacious and clean and smelt fresh. We would definitely recommend Lagnakeil and hope to return sometime soon ourselves.
Thank you for a lovely few nights stay, hopefully the weather will be better next time.


Andrea from Hawick stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in October 2018


Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to wake up with breathtaking views then this is the place for you! We found the cabin to have everything we needed and was warm and sound proof really toasty and comfy. 5 mins drive into Oban to get everything you need. And our cabin was dog friendly to. We are going back there next year.

robert from Doncaster stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


Excellent, cozy lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful two nights were spent in this lodge with a well-fitted kitchen, comfy beds and beautiful views.

Luisa-Marie from Basel stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in September 2018


9 day holiday in Oban

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I have just spent a brilliant 9 days at Lagnakeil. The weather was mixed but the lodge was very cosy. We kept the cost down by cooking some evening meals, nearby M+S food hall was very useful. The local Barn pub was brilliant for a pint and their food was excellent.

We cannot fault Lagnakeil and will definitely return, although it would have been nice to have a chat with the owners, they did not seem to want to talk to any of their customers which seemed strange to us.


Nigel from Leighton Buzzard stayed at Beech lodge for 9 nights in September 2018


Oban Fishing holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have rebooked for nxt year already...speaks volumes. A very relaxed place to stay. Looking forward to nxt year

Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in July 2018


Beech lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Beautiful situation and very comfortable,if rather dated,accommodation.Everything worked as it should and at last,a lodge with a decent power shower.So definitely no complaints about the accommodation.
What was rather disappointing was in all the time I was there not a single member of staff introduced themselves,note left with instructions on arrival and instructions left for departure too so rather disappointed that the proprietor couldn’t make the effort with that personal touch,I haven’t experienced anywhere else.


Crawford from Duns stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Traumhaft

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Die Lage war fantastisch, traumhaft, wunderschön, wir haben uns sehr gut erholt, es hat uns sehr gut gefallen!

Guido from Freiburg stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Phantastic location and friendly people

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Een prachtige plek in een smal groen dal dat uitloopt op een Loch. Helaas is de Loch zelf niet bereikbaar, alles privéterrein. Enorme rust rondom, puur natuur, met veel wandelmogelijkheden. En Oban is makkelijk te bereiken voor alle dagelijkse en niet-alledaagse voorzieningen. Een trip naar Iona is ook erg de moeite waard, de reis met boot en bus er naar toe was op zich al een belevenis.
Kortom, we hebben, mede dankzij het mooie weer dat we troffen, twee geweldige weken gehad!


Guest from Utrecht stayed at Poplar lodge for 14 nights in May 2018


Scottish stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It was a lovely stay. Shame about the weather. Not quite the view we wanted. The lodge was comfortable with everything we needed, but could do with a bit of an update, sofa’s etc. Would have been nice to have seen one of the owners while we were there. Lots of workmen staying, which lowered the tone a bit. Good value for money though.

Jaqui from Stevenage stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in May 2018


Stunning

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at this Highland Lodge. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Highly recommended

Caroline from Whitchurch stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in April 2018


Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely secluded location with great views and only a short drive to Oban. Lodge clean and tidy and well appointed with everything working. "The Barn" pub a reasonable walk from the site or a short drive provides a first class atmosphere and excellent food.
Only downside is the access road (not the owners responsibility, but the local council) which has some potholes you will need to weave around.
If we go back to the area we will definitely stay here again, highly recommended.



Graham from Staxigoe, Wick stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in April 2018


Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a long weekend at the beech lodge and had a wonderful relaxing time. Lodge was lovely and very cosy, had everything we needed. Great outside and inside space for puppy.
Planning on going back very soon. Thanks to Lauren and Tom for making us feel very welcome .


Jacqueline from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2018


Beech Lodge, Lagnakeil

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant week - the lodge was comfortable and the site quiet. Oban is a short drive away, but the nearby pub (10 minutes walk) is excellent for food and drink.

David from Aberdeen stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in April 2018


Short Notice Break

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the lodge only a few days before traveling and received a very prompt acknowledgement and further email with some useful local information. By contacting the owners before arrival we were able to check in early and found the lodge well presented and supplied with all the basic requirements to self cater and easily warmed up with the heaters fitted. Oban is only a short drive away with plenty of choice with regards supermarkets and places to eat. The only minor detrimental matter was the local pub has seasonal opening hours and was not open during our stay however, overall a good place to stay to explore the local stunning scenery.

Paul from Alexandria stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in November 2017


Lovely little lodge just right for a couples retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for four days away! Very close to Oban for days out!! Accommodation comfortable and clean. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely little historic ruined castle nearby!


Emma from Barnard Castle stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in November 2017


Lovely winter stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely 1 night weekend stay in the 2 person Poplar lodge. Booked a Saturday night break last minute. The lodge was very nice and well equipped. The location wasn't far from Oban with lots of things to see and do. The bed was really comfy and the lodge well heated which was particularly good for visiting in November.

Our only complaint would be that their are 2 Poplar lodges joined together however only space for 1 car to park beside them.

There is a local pub a short walk away. The food was fantastic and it was busy enough for this time of year. Beware the walk though as you will need to make sure you have willies or walking boots to walk through the muddy field to get there and torches recommended. Failing that you can taxi there for £15 (we didn't get a taxi and braved the extremely dark and wet walk home which was quite spooky but fun!)

All in a great place just wish our stay was for longer to have seen more.


Karen from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 1 nights in November 2017


A wonderful 'get away from it all' holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay with our 2 collie dogs as it has all we need for a relaxing holiday. The lodges are in beautiful surroundings with plenty of good walks on the doorstep. We've always had a warm welcome, a spotlessly clean lodge having a bright comfy seating area with plenty of room for us and our dogs baskets. The bed too was comfy and there was plenty of hanging space and drawers for clothing. The kitchen is compact but has everything you need to self cater including a dishwasher, a must for us! The Barn pub is only about 10 minutes walk up through the fields and serves real ale and good food, again a warm welcome for us and our dogs. Although you're tucked away in the countryside it's only a short drive to Oban for its wonderful seafood restaurants, ferry to the islands, Oban whiskey distillery and all the shops including supermarkets.

Julie from Huddersfield stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in November 2017


SHORT 5 DAY STAY

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in a Beech Lodge and my daughter and son-in-law stayed in a Poplar Lodge for 5 days 23-27 October 2017. We fully recommend these Lodges that are set amidst beautiful scenery and a brilliant in a secluded relaxing area just outside the bustling town of Oban. The owners Paul and Lauren were very helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, can't wait for our next visit to this delightful setting.

Elizabeth from Wigan stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in October 2017


Beech Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lodge very basic but have been to Lagnakeil many times so knew quality before i went. Time for some TLC now though.

Guest from Brampton stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in October 2017


Relaxing week.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great base for our holiday. Had a fantastic relaxing week exploring the area. Hope to re visit and would recommend.

Guest from Cirencester stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Beech Lodge, Lagnakeil.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet location yet only 10 minutes from Oban. An excellent base for exploring beautiful North Argyll

Stuart from North Berwick stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


lagnakeil beech lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
visited lagnakeil early September and loved every minute . fantastic location and stunning views . will definitely be going back .

Barry from Runcorn stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in September 2017


Good place to stay and quiet location.

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great position was clean and tidy good value for the money could just do with a freshen up in places we could only get a good wi fi out on the decking,owner was friendly and helpfull

Guy from Swindon stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


A short stay in Beech Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I was looking for accommodation for a short stay near Oban and found Lagnakeil Lodges on the Internet. A phone call secured the booking and we arrived at teatime on Saturday after a drive across Scotland from Aviemore. The lodge is compact but nevertheless big enough as a holiday "cottage" and fairly well equipped. The single carriageway road that leads to the lodges has to be driven with care but, once there, the lodges are in a beautiful location. The lodge contained all that was needed for our stay and we were pleased to see a sea eagle flying overhead and a young deer pass nearby at breakfast time. It's a short drive into Oban where there are supermarkets and a good number of restaurants. We had come west specifically to visit the island of Staffa and Fingal's Cave courtesy of Staffa Tours. Our stay was restricted to just three nights before we had to head south and home, and it was a very enjoyable time.

Mike from Bognor Regis stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in August 2017


Tired looking

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Good location however the glasses were very dirty and the interior is tired looking. The wifi connection was more or less non existent.

Elizabeth from Saint-genis-les-ollières stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in August 2017


Lagnakeil - 1 Beech Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed and surprisingly spacious accommodation in a beautiful rural location. Very friendly and helpful hosts. The nearby Barn Bar is a great find providing a wide selections of beers and range of food.

Being hyper critical 1 Beech lodge could do with the following minor (very) adjustments:
The shower slider rail is too loose and the shower head rotates when the shower is on so you have to walk round with it to stay under the flow.
There isn't sufficient lighting to read on the sofa, it could to with another stand lamp.

That's about it. I could highly recommend this accommodation, I'm sure we will look to stay again if we visit the region again.


Paul from Sheffield stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in August 2017


Clean, pleasant lodge but would benefit from an up-date.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, pleasant ledge but would benefit from an up-date. Ideally situated for Oban and the gate way to the Islands.

Guest from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Poplar lodge for 11 nights in July 2017


nice location easy access for oban

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very nice location very relaxing get away from every thing holiday pub not far dog friendly chalet was comfortable owners were very welcoming.

Ann from Bacup stayed at Beech lodge for 8 nights in July 2017


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was clean and had lovely views . Good value for money. It was very close to Oban which we visited regularly. The beaches were great for our dog. We were lucky to have good weather and popped into "the barn" down the road for a drink on our way back from our days out . The only slight negative was the cabin was quite small ( especially the kitchen area ) , but was adequate for myself , husband and dog . We really enjoyed our break .

Anne from Bedlington stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in July 2017


Best Lodges

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Khalil from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in July 2017


Beech lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lodge furnishings a little tired but view and actual location superb.within 10 minutes drive of Oban and supermarket nearby.

David from St Albans stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in July 2017


Amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay with lovely view of hills. Host is very friendly and helpful. Not very far from Oban town and nice pub and restaurant at walking distance. We will go again.

Jagruti from .london stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in July 2017


Nice quiet stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything to a good standard. Nice quiet location. Good pub close by. A second television in the bedroom would was all we missed.

Ian from Barnard Castle stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


A Breath of Fresh Air

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was easy to find with Sat Nav, we got in and made ourselves at home straight away in the Poplar Lodge. It was clean and well maintained. The outside was nice with a beautiful view of a Loch. Shops nearby to do your daily shop. There was Wifi but with limited access which was good for us because we had a better experience and was away from all technology. Would definitely come back up again.

Alexander from Watford stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Great short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was great had a lovely short break location was excellent for getting around and super quiet which is home from home for us.
We will be back


Sarah from Kettlewell stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


A wet week in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately the week we stayed at Lagnakeil the weather was not good and we did not have full benefit of the excellent location. I think we had one pleasant evening when we strolled from the lodge toward the loch but otherwise the evenings were wet and we could not enjoy sitting outside enjoying the views. Although the lodge was adequate for our needs we did feel it was a little tired.

Howard from Beverley stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


All in All - still Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a great pleasure to stay for 4 nights here. What a beautiful place, never been so near to nature and life. We hope that we come back within the next 12 months

Kathrin from Dresden stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Review

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A* couldn't recommend highly enough staff friendly more then happy to help location just wow views from the lodge stunning quiet and lots of walking trails 5/10 min drive to nearest shop and town perfect location.

Craig from Newark stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


This is the second time I have stayed at Lagnakeil Lodges and both times I have had a lovely week.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found the chalet to be very clean and comfortable. The owners, Paul and Lauren, are friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. The site is well looked after and well situated in a rural area with lovely views but less than a 10 minute drive from Oban and provides a good central base for exploring the area. My dog was made to feel welcome and there are plenty of 'poo bins' on site. Would definitely recommend Lagnakeil Lodges and hope to return there myself soon.

Julie from Ilminster stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


We enjoyed a relaxing and restful short break in an idyllic setting, lovely walks and dog friendly..

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a relaxing and restful short break in an idyllic setting, lovely walks nearby and dog friendly.

Fiona from Dundee stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Nice place

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good stay with wonderful scenery. Surrounded by nature which was wonderful. Lodge comfortable with everything you need

Guest from selangor stayed at Poplar lodge for 1 nights in May 2017


Piece of heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place so much so peaceful and great for a chill out would recommend a holiday there amazing place

Maureen from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Lagnakeil lodges

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant, best UK holiday ever ,couldn't have asked for more.weather was a bonus , the barn restaurant up the road was excellent as was oban . Great location to catch ferry to islands ,went to mull with car and had a great day out

Ian from Canonbie stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Lodge needed up dating, poor value for money, badly equipped, cutlery old and tired and only three k

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The views and location were stunning but it was a lot of money for such poor accommodation. It is quite off the beaten track down narrow lanes but this added to the experience. Having said that it isn't too far from the busy town of Oban, park in Tescos.

John from Tatworth stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in May 2017


Scenic sojourn

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a 4 day idyllic break. The owners/staff were welcoming, helpful and informative, The location was perfect for a quiet getaway, situated just on the outskirts of Oban.it makes for a a great base for visiting the surrounding places of interest.
Would definitely visit again.


Ray from Tamworth stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Excellent self-catering holiday destination.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, just outside Oban, beautiful countryside, pub/restaurant 10 minutes walk away. Chalet was clean and all we needed, kitchen was well equipped with a dishwasher cooker fridge microwave. We had a fault with the TV but Paul got it fixed quickly. He was very friendly and helpful.

Ken from Croydon stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in April 2017


Stay in Beech Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for four nights in early May. Lodge very comfortable, well-equipped, good shower over a bath, efficient heaters if you're visiting in colder times :-). Location very peaceful, though not far out from Oban. Only met one of the owners, Paul, but he was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Hoping to be back next year, for a bit longer.

Catharine from Villard Léger stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


a recommendable place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at lagnakeil lodges very much. nearby oban it´s a good place for various outdoor activities.

Otto from Helmstadt stayed at Beech lodge for 6 nights in April 2017


An expensive self catering holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
For a small one bedroom cabin the price was excessive. Having to pay extra for electricity was unexpected and should have been included in the overall cost. It was reasonably well equipped but it needed a new sofa and armchair. The location has good facilities (,which we did not use ) .

Brian from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge with large balcony and stunning scenery. Nice quiet location with a great pub that serves excellent food 10 mins walk down a quiet track. Dog friendly too. Can't fault it. The owners are very helpful too

Caroline from Whitchurch stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


Mitten in der Natur

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Schöne Lodge, Gute Lage, schöne Aussicht.
Leider konnten wir die Terrasse wetterbedingt nicht nutzen.
Gutes Pub in der Nähe.
Bad sehr klein.


Dieter from Dessau stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in April 2017


Stay at Lagnakeil

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a lovely break in beautiful surroundings. Had it been a bit cheaper would have stayed longer if available

Irene from Askam-in-Furness stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Great, comfortable stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a nice warm welcome in a lovely, quiet location! Feels private and off the beaten track but so easy to get to and close to Oban amenities. Lodges very comfy and cosy even in a wee Argyll storm.

Loads to do about the place. Enjoying local food is a must though and the recommendations given in the lodge guestbooks are well worth checking out.

Will look into booking again for our next visit to the area.



Guest from Kirkcaldy stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in February 2017


Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay here. Each time we visit we have a wonderful time! Paul and Lauren are lovely hosts and can't do enough for you, while still giving you space and privacy to come and go as you please. The loacation is perfect, although you are surrounded by peace and quiet you are only a 10 mins drive to all the amenities of Oban. We can't wait to visit again.

Claire from Burnley stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in February 2017


weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a good few nights stay in beech lodge and loved the view and the surroundings. Went with our 2 dogs and they loved the walks.

Lorraine from Auchinleck stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in January 2017


Very fantastic occasion , Paul is really nice and gentleman, People will love to meet him.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very fantastic occasion , Paul is really nice and gentleman, People will love to meet him.
Price is not worth , it costly to book thru. Booking.com


Guest from Morley stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in December 2016


Beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great rural location with panoramic views, Oban town centre less than ten minutes drive away, there's a bar and restaraunt in walking distance. The owners were very flexible and helped us out greatly. Great value for money too, we didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back! I'd recommend this to any one who loves the out doors, peace and beautiful countryside.

Abbie from Gronant stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in November 2016


Stunning Location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in November when the weather was fantastic with crystal clear skies. Perfect location for exploring Oban and the surrounding area. The dark skies at night made viewing the stars and constellations a must but wrap up warm.
The lodge was equipped with all we would want and was comfortable. Only slight downside was the sofa was a bit tired and old but that is being picky!
Great stay highly recommended.


Donald from Cupar stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in November 2016


Pleasent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and i enjoyed our stay there and recomend anyone to stay.Close to OBAN and amenties,with good views locally

Alison from Westhoughton, Bolton stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in a lovely lodge. We booked beech but asked to get moved to a bigger lodge when we arrived. No hassle to move us and great customer service.
The lodge was spotless , the area is beautiful and peaceful. Out the way but only 5 mins from Oban town.


Guest from Renfrewshire stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


clean, comfortable and in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lodges weren't too far from Oban - if you want to get away from it all, this is the place to come
clean, comfortable and well equipped and dogs are welcome



Lorraine from Chorley stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


2 night stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I'll atart off by saying we will stay again, but the couch desperately needs the cushions you sit on replaced as they're uncomfortable to the point that you feel the wooden frame, and the cabin was cold when we arrived and they could have had the heaters on for us arriving, more lighting in the car parking area as there's a small wall at path into house and in the darkness Its painful when your shins meet the wall

Andrew from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


October mid week break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our young daughter loved this location and was delighted to discover a small fairy village close by. Very relaxing. A nice pub a short walk from the site and a fun walk home in the dark trying to avoid cow pats. Bring a torch!

Jane from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


Excellent place to stay for touring the west coast of Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lagnakeil was peaceful, quiet and set in beautiful countryside. Just what we wanted. We also appreciated being self-contained. The facilities allowed us to cook for ourselves if we wanted, or ofcourse, we could go up the road to the nearby pub instead (which we did). We were traveling relatively light, so it was good to have use of a washer and drier, although the washer was a bit quirky.
I would definitely recommend giving this place a try. It made a great base for touring the area. Be sure to do the 3 island tour out of Oban; the trip to Fingal's Cave was a highlight.
If you're trying to decide whether to stay in Fort William or Oban, stay in the Oban area. Fort William has much less to offer.


Roy from Bountiful stayed at Beech lodge for 6 nights in October 2016


Mid term break.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, stunning scenery and only 10 minute drive to Oban. Paul the manager couldn't do enough for you, very helpful. Also great wee pub with good food only a 10 minute walk away.
We would definitely go back.


Guest from Port Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed here many times now over the last few years as we love the peacefulness and beautiful views from the cabins. The cabins are comfortable clean and tidy. There are amazing walks with stunning views. We book each time we leave for the following year but unfortunately due to the price big increases haven't rebooked again this year.

Helen from Coventry stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


A most excellent experience...

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very easy to book your lodge, kept up to date throughout. A very warm welcome from Lauren upon our arrival. We were introduced to our lodge which had everything we needed to really enjoy our stay. It was comfortable and clean and in a beautiful location, very peaceful. The lodges are not far away from Oban allowing ample opportunity to travel the surrounding area, which is why we chose the lodges in the first place.

A huge thank you to both Paul and Lauren for our stay

I would most definitely recommend staying at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges and I myself would love to return in the near future.


Glenn from Co Durham stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


Oban visit

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable stay. The accommodation had everything we needed. Lots of hot water. Lauren kindly supplied kitchen utensils not found but which were there anyhow.

Val from Reading stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


2 nights at the Beech Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful scenery very peaceful and relaxing, the lodge was very comfy and well equipped. We had a great time.

Scott from Edinburgh stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in September 2016


lovely quiet situation, good for just chilling out and feeding the birds,

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
enjoyed our stay, in spite of the weather not being the best. You take your chance at this time of year. Cabin very clean and comfortable. If a bit chilly, one heater in the sitting room heated up the space very quickly. TV reception excellent and wi-fi best we have experienced in the area. So good if you want to keep in touch. Phone reception also good. Mentioned to Paul that a few more pans in the kitchen would be good. But enjoyed the situation, surroundings for walking the dog and peace from traffic noise, and nice not to have lots of security lights spoiling the dark. Would go again.

Janice from Dunoon stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


Best way to relax

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Suoer friendly family run location, inside the house everything was above board. Dogs loved it. Absolutely peaceful surrounding and stunning scenery. Lots to do and see in Oban and on the islands. Looking forward to our next stay.

Franzyskia from Newbridge stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


Scotland in September

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable stay although the lodge was in need of updating. Wi-fi unreliable. Additional cost of electricity wasn't much but we have never come across this before when in self catered accommodation.

Frances from Clitheroe stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


Tired lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge was in need of updating, very tired, no hairdryer, expensive, some lights did not work and we had to pay additional money for electricity, disappointing

Gill from Llandudno stayed at Beech lodge for 6 nights in August 2016


Perfect short break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges just for a single night, but we managed to have an amazing time. Paul and Lauren were amazing hosts and they managed to cater to all of our requests.

Konstantin from London stayed at Beech lodge for 1 nights in August 2016


Lovely setting

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place with a beautiful setting and lovely scenery the lodges were comfortable and spacious but the holiday was made by the lovely setting and scenery

Neil from Barnoldswick stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in August 2016


Great location but lodge needs some updating

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed the location which was really tranquil and close to some good walks, plus Oban just down the road. The owner Paul was friendly and quickly met me at reception on arrival.

The lodge itself needs some TLC - the towels were pretty worn and the kitchen possibly needs a new oven (the current one is so old the numbers on the temperature dial have worn away). The plastic tray in the fridge was cracked so we had to leave our milk outside to keep cold overnight.


Harriet from Leamington Spa stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in August 2016


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time, the location is beyond beautiful and we would 100% return. Lovely customer service and a definite recommendation for friends, Thankyou

Laura from Bishop Auckland stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in August 2016


Relaxing time

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights and wish had booked
for more , everything was absolutely perfect, great welcome, beautiful lodge, close to oban, beautiful walks, great restaurants.....highly recommended.



Michael from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


fantastic lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for only one night with my family in a two bedroom lodge. It was quite clean on arrival, also kitchen was well equipped. The manager is very helpful and friendly. The views from our deck were fabulous, straight down to glen. Would definitely recommend this lodge to friends.

Zuokuan from London stayed at Beech lodge for 1 nights in July 2016


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and lodges well set out on site with balconies and have fantastic views. Owners very helpful and fishing equipment, barbecues etc. available if required. Our lodge was a bit dated inside and we weren't aware that we would have to pay extra for electricity, although minimal, we felt this should have been included in the price.

Nick from Skipton stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


A perfect Break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Lagnakeil lodges in beech lodge 1 for a 5 night break. The only thing that I would say could of made our stay better was if we had booked for longer as we didn't want to leave. Such friendly people and a great comfy lodge with everything you need for a perfect break. We highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit the area.


Michael from Lincoln stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in July 2016


Great break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at the lodges, so peaceful and Oban was only a few miles away so easy to get there. Very handy having the pub/restaurant just down the road, would definetly go again

Andrea from Ballantrae stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


Highland Lodges

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with friendly hosts. Property needs some updates to furnishings and fixtures (handle fell off bathroom door). Wonderful location, close to Oban. Good local restaurant.

Jane from Boylston stayed at Poplar lodge for 5 nights in July 2016


Highland Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Lagnakiel as a base for our trip to Mull and Staffa. It was perfect. We got to the ferry early and were able to go to Tobermory. The drive to Fionphort was interesting- single lane with passing places.

Catherine from -keysbrook stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


it is so beutifule place and it has very nice view. So, I recommend you to vist it and enjoy there

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spend the lovally tow nights in beech lodge. With the nice view and a frinedly services. I recommend you to see this location in sepisific in summer.

Khalil from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in July 2016


Perfect short break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break at Lagnakeil. The lodge was perfect for the two of us and our dog. The setting is beautiful and the site is immaculately maintained. We have stayed in the area several times but this was best. Will be back.

Andrew from Aberdeen stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


What a gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and a delightful setting. We had super Scottish views from this cosy place. Lovely helpful owners. All facilities good. The Barn pub nearby another bonus

Graham from Lincoln stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in June 2016


Excellent stay with 2/5 days ☔ and 3d marvellous visits.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Staying in this lodge gave my husband and I lots of freedom: Self catering, relaxation, visiting the country and cities, beautiful people. Shops like Aldi, Lidl, Tesco ... open till 10pm.

Linda from Wetteren stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in July 2016


Tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a tranquil and comfortable stay in a beautiful location, with east access to to many interesting places.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................


Andrew from Ashford stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


A short stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The customer service we found to be excellent. Paul met us on arrival and showed us to our lodge which was bigger than we expected and nice and clean. We were slightly disappointed that the lodge was not near a loch, but that's our omission for not checking. Around 5 minutes drive to the centre of Oban they are ideally situated as a base to the island ferries or for walking / cycling holidays. The site itself is well kept and neat and tidy. We particularly enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders on the windows.

Jacqueline from Consett stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in June 2016


A week away.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet site only a short car ride from Oban. Everything you needed.Well equipped kitchen and large comfy bed. Decent WiFi and mobile reception. Plenty of walks from the door and nice pub

Geoff from Bingley stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


A hilly site

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I think it needs/a certain updating. New kettle toaster etc. I was struggling with the slopes on site and no hand rail by the steps
On the plus side it was very peaceful and relaxing ther . Very friendly who settled us in and very near to Oban


Guest from East Yorkshire stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


séjour à Oban

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nous avons adoré le lieu.Le lodge est très cosy au calme avec une vue sur la campagne et la mer.Le propriètaire est très sympathique et à l écoute.Le parc autour du lodge est paysagé et bien entretenu.Oban est proche et les iles aussi

Philippe from Plazac stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


The perfect position to explore the west coast without compromising on comfort or value for money

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a base for our holiday and chose Oban as a good starting point. We were thoroughly blown away by the stunning setting of the Lagnakeil Highland Lodges. The lodge was spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable and the view from the decking was amazing.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and the whole site was well looked after and well organised. Great value for money, we'll definitely be going back!


Debby from Hapton, Burnley stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly staff in a beautiful quiet location. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break. The staff were very approachable and always went out there way to help. Thank You I had a great time.

Ray from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in February 2016


Lovely location, enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 nights. The Lodge was comfortable and clean. Owners were very helpful. Information folder in the lodge was useful. Good location for exploring the area. Some kitchen equipment could be updated, but all in all it had all the basics. We were lucky with the weather, so didn't need to have heating on at all!

Michael from Kenilworth stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in June 2016


GREAT BREAK AWAY FROM IT ALL

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting. Fairly recent new owners who are upgrading an already very good chalet park. Our stay was very pleasant and but for the internet speed being a bit too slow to allow me to get some work done, my wife and I had a thoroughly wonderful stay. Paul, one of the 2 owners, is a lovely chap, as are the staff employed at the park.
Would most definitely recommend a visit.

Note: The owners are very aware of the internet issue and are looking into the options available to them to resolve/improve the situation as best they can, given the remoteness of the location.


Helen from Strathaven stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in June 2016


Lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a week and were delighted with our accommodation when we arrived. It has everything a couple need and a lovely big comfortable king size bed and a bathroom with a very good shower and a big corner bath as well! It is only a few minutes from Oban and it's many shops and restaurants and supermarkets. Paul is a very helpful host and is on hand every day and can suggest places to go and can arrange some trips if required.
We only had 3days of our week's stay as my elderly mother in Orkney had a heart attack and was flown to Aberdeen for a pacemaker so we had to rush home in a hurry. Thankfully she is home again and is doing well. We hope to return and continue our holiday near Oban when time and her health allows. We recommend this property unreservedly.


Maureen from Muir Of Ord stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


Great - book it.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location and a well equipped lodge for a very relaxing few days. Dog friendly and plenty of great walks from the lodge with fabulous scenery.

Dennis from Manchester stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2016


Erholung pur

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wunderbar um sich zu erholen, kein Lärm, kein Stress
Die Aussicht perfekt und die Umgebung traumhaft.
(wie es in der Hauptsaison ist, wenn alles belegt ist können wir nicht beurteilen)
Für uns waren es perfekte Tage!


Monika from Watt stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2016


Excellent base for viewing Oban and surrounding islands

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good lodge with excellent views and a bird lovers paradise. Spacious and comfortable accommodation. Lovely to have balcony space too. Basics all there for a self catering stay. Easy reach of Oban, ferries to the islands and wildlife tours. Owners helpful. Plenty of leaflets on what to do available. Didn't use it in the end but useful laundry room available. The new owners are in train with bringing the furnishing a bit more up to date.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in May 2016


Good wiev and cosy environment

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Best for those who want to stay in a peacefull and quite place. Rooms equipped with everything you need for comfortable stay. Owners are very nice people. A bit expensive but generally we were satisfied with everything.

Kateryna from Singapore stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in May 2016


The best holiday place

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice and beautiful place. The most important thing is the landlord of proporty is so friendly and generous with hospitality and reception. Realy, l love this place.

Khalil from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 1 nights in April 2016


Good quality self-catering accommodation in great location.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, feels like you're miles from anywhere but actually a very short car journey into Oban (5 mins). Poplar lodge was perfectly appointed for a couple and well equipped. Other facilities, e.g. laundry, available on site and Barn bar a 10 min walk if you don't fancy cooking. Furnishings are fine but a little tired and the shower is a little under-powered but adequate, (water is supplied from a spring so may be local limitation). Overall, we were very satisfied and would come again.

Angela from Pontypool stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Best holiday I have had in a long time!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful,scenic and peaceful place for a relaxing getaway. Great walks and lochs surround you but you are only a few miles from the town centre. Local produce of mostly seafood is to die for. The lodge itself was brilliant it exceeded all my expectations... I will definitely be back soon

Catherine from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2016


Lovely Lagnakeil

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 4 nights in the dog friendly Beech lodge which was situated right at the top of the lodge park. The lodge was very clean and offered all we needed for our break and the views from the deck were simply stunning.
This is a real twitchers paradise with an abundance of variety including buzzards, woodpeckers and a resident cuckoo. The highlight was the sea eagle which made its regular journey down to loch for a spot of fishing. All this only a 10 minute drive from Oban.
Paul and Lauren and their team couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay and I really can't recommend this place highly enough.


Alan from Falkirk stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in April 2016


Wee break

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed. The location is beautiful and could never be faulted. Ideal for a total chill out. The lodges are fantastic cosy with loads of space. It's been over 10 years since we stayed and I felt the bathrooms were now very dated and cold.
We would go back again
The new owners are lovely and wish them many years of success.


Lorraine from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in April 2016


2 night break

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here, was excellent, peaceful, clean and so comfy, will defiantly return, just a wee reminder to watch when you go, if you have dogs, we were there when lambing season was on (fields all occupied), so we were limited to were our dog could be off the lead for a good run around, but it wasn't really a problem as got in car to open areas. Took ferry to Mull and loads of space for the dog to run around.
Excellent Cabins, you will not be disappointed .


Karen from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in April 2016


Stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay stunning views, lovely clean lodges. My 10 years old loved it. Oban centre and ferry terminal only 10 minutes away. Great beaches nearby.

Nichola from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2016


Great welcome, lovely people.

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very friendly helpful hosts. Would certainly stay again with our springer spaniel which loved the outdoor freedom. Very handy location close to Oban.

Janette from Newmilns stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2016


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These lodges are set in a beautiful location just outside Oban. If you are looking for a place to stay with beauty , piece and quiet then this is the place.Lodges are clean , fully equipped for self catering and if you have any problems the owner Paul is always on hand to sort it.

Wayne from Pontefract stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in March 2016


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice lodge in very quiet location. Nice manager who was very helpful when we arrived. Good pub 10 min walk with good food. Oban 5mins in car.would go back in future. £9 pounds for 3 days electric which was ok as we had heating on for the three days.

John from Kilwinning stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in March 2016


Poplar lodge Lagnakeil

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend here. Nice and peaceful and quiet, but near enough to Oban town centre
Pleasant helpful staff. Comfortable and spacous lodge with sattelite tv.


Guest from Largs stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in March 2016


Relaxing short break in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly, relaxed atmosphere in a clean and comfortable lodge with plenty local facilities and a very friendly, lively pub just over a mile away. Enough choices to make your holiday whatever you want it to be. We are planning a return visit!

Elaine from Peterhead stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in March 2016


lovley stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
stayed at lagnakeil lodges for two night wish we could have stayed longer the lodges are lovley and scenery stunning cant wait to go back not to far to travel in to oban

Shirley from Johnstone stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in March 2016


An enjoyable short break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location and nice chalet with responsive and obliging staff the chalet was well equipped with comfortable beds but the lounge seating needs replacing. Would recommend

Douglas from Dundee stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in February 2016


Love it

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dont wrighting reviewers about holidays us usually even if I was happy in overall always was something wrong. But no this time. I been at lodge in February 2016. Excellent service from owners. Very peaceful and quiet place. Perfect for families, dogs, romantic couples. Few minutes from Oban what could be handy. Extra charge for electricity but no expensive. I paid £5 for all weekend when heating was on most of the time. Really recommending.

Greg from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in February 2016


Short celebration visit

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome and explanation of facilities and local area.
Cottage provided very adequate accommodation for our needs.
Open views to hills and loch in distance.
Somewhat cold during first few hours as visit during winter weather and had not been occupied for period previously ?
However it did warm up and stayed warm thereafter.



M K from Kinross stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in February 2016


Few days break

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location great for walks :-) I had my 2 girls with me & they loved the lodge. Only downside was the park and kids indoor playing area. Owners were very helpful and friendly. Defo be back!

Guest from Alloa stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in February 2016


great break lovely rural location

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Feb 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great lodge lovely and warm great views highly recommended in fact i have a freind going to lagnakeil next weekend
if you are looking for a break near oban you wont be disappointed
on our break the weather was cold and there was a covering of snow but the lodge was lovely and warm and the views were amazing
thanks to all at lagnakeil jenny and John Macaulay


John from Dumbarton stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in January 2016


Great value

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really nice stay. The family we checked in and out with were so friendly. The lodge was spacious and comfortable. Perfect location with beautiful scenery

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in January 2016


our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Nov 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked the lodge a couple of weeks before i went it was for myself my partner and aunt the day before we went up i phoned and asked i could bring my dog so my auntcould not make it so on heading up got to the lodges got showen to the lodge by the owner who was very nice got taking to the lodge witch looked lovely very clean place on open the door could feel the cold inthe place the owner told us he had put on the heading just half an hour before the place was cold was showen round and told how everything works.after the owner left the place had a funny smell about an hour laterplace was still cold so my partner went to have a bath after running the bath we seen the water was brown now i no water should not have been brown my fatherworked for the water board and we also seen that in thebathroom there was only a small fan heater so we went out for something to eat on our return had to turn it up hi again there was still had a smell soon going to bed could no understand whee the smell was coming from.on having not slept well throw the night on waking up in the morning we could tell wa
hat the smell was .IT WAS CAT PEE so we got up from bed got packed and left went to pay the owner for having the dog the onwers where not in so paid the worker on site


Guest from Hardgate Clydebank stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in November 2015


Jaw dropping scenery and great accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The site and surroundings are simply amazing, we went to the local dog friendly pub for dinner and within minutes found ourselves in conversation with many of the locals, incredibly friendly atmosphere all round, we would highly recommend Lagnakeil to anyone and intend to return ourselves in the new year but this time for a longer stay as there is so much we didn't have time to see.

David from Rawtenstall stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in November 2015


So good, a weekend was not long enough.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hadn't been before and so were very pleasantly surprised at the at the space, comfort and quality of the lodge. The owners were extremely helpful.

The only minor disappointment is the separate charge for electricity. I would have thought £85 per night was sufficient or that the additional electricity charge would be mentioned at point of booking.

This was only a tiny issue and we would have no hesitation in revisiting or recommending Lagnakeil to others.

Frank Murray, Leven, Fife.


Frank from Leven stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in October 2015


Had a peaceful time BUT...

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Enjoyed my stay but we were not told about the WiFi service which is impossible to connect to (we were told that WiFi is available), we were not told that we need to pay electricity charges during our stay. Colin wasn't really helpful and when I called him to inquire about what things to bring with us, he was abrupt and dealt in a unacceptable non -professional way and because we needed holiday, the option to cancel was remote.

Guest from Stalybridge stayed at Beech lodge for 4 nights in October 2015


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here and was so relaxing, quiet with lovely lodges and beautiful surroundings. Great walks for the dogs Will be back again next year.

Helen from Coventry stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in October 2015


Good weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal
Not that far out of Oban.. Ideal for us.


!!qqqqqq1qaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
[email protected]@[email protected]@AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA


Iain from Dollar stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in October 2015


Beech lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very much enjoyed our stay. Basic but comfortable in lovely surroundings. Although there are quite a few lodges it was very peaceful and quiet. We will book again for next year.

Jean from Clevedon stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second holiday at Lagnakeil, as we found it suited us so well last year. The setting is idyllic and peaceful, but close enough to Oban for shops, boat trips and such.

Carolyn from Thornton-Cleveleys stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Fantastic 8 day

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have hoped for more. A fantastic time in Scotland all helped by staying at Lagnakeil highland lodges. I can't fault them. Great setting and quality lodges. Would i go back. 100% yes.

Steven from Rayleigh stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a nice place to stay the location was stunning we had a long drive to get there we did arrive early but we were welcomed by the owner who is very nice.he took us to the lodge and he explained about the lodge which had everything we could need and told if we needed anything during our stay to come and see him all we needed was some advice on the local area had a great stay will be going back I can't wait what a relaxing holiday. the local pub is only a short walk away good food good beer.

Robert from Chelmsford stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Summer 2015

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay, Weather could have been better But there was plenty to do in and around Oban to keep us out the rain
The million dollar question is would we go again, And the answer is yes, My son loved it.


Guest from Liverpool stayed at Beech lodge for 5 nights in July 2015


An Oban Adventure

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Lagnakeil following a previous stay for our honeymoon 12 years previous and were not disappointed. The lodge we were allocated was the same one we had previously stayed at and Colin was happy to accomodate this request. The lodge had been updated in the intervening years with the added advantage of freeview tv and wifi. The Lodge was very comfortable and the only problem we had was getting up in the morning as the beds as so comfy!

The grounds are lovely to walk through and are continously maintained.

We were very grateful for our dog to be accomodated at the last minute.

I cannot fault our stay and fully recommend.


Guest from Liverpool stayed at Beech lodge for 14 nights in August 2015


Lovely place

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved our stay at Lagnakeil even though the weather wasn't great. Thought £695 was a wee bit excessive for a one bedroom lodge considering you have to pay for the electricity over and above that. The Barn just up the road is a great value for money place to eat.

Edward from Lanark stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Average Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The lodges are situated in a nice location. However, we felt our stay was slightly over-priced for the basic facility we were provided with. We were disappointed that we were then expected to pay extra for the use of electricity. The hosts didn't seem very inviting or enthusiastic towards us as guests. Therefore, we probably wouldn't stay there again.

Guest from Torphins stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in August 2015


Perfect location for a short break away

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Beech lodge no2 for 3 nights. Nice quiet location with a view to the hills on your left. Lodge was very clean and well equipped. Only 10 mins drive to Oban. Would recommend.

Guest from Linlithgow stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in July 2015


Very enjoyable stay in beautiful surroundings and comfortable lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No complaints, we enjoyed our stay, the lodge was very comfortable, everything we needed was provided, the lodge was in a beautiful setting and it was no hassle having a dog with us. Very pet friendly. Ideal for Oban and surrounding area.

Guest from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Summer holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we had a lovely week here, lodge was clean and comfortable and views were amazing. Everything that we needed was there and there was a lovely little pub that we could walk to with our dogs.

Guest from Deal stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


did not want to leave

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
what a lovely spot just what we needed to unwind it was really quiet the satalite stopped working for the last day but we didn't care we still would have stayed longer if we could I would recommend it to anybody

Guest from Barry stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


LAGNAKEIL Poplar 1 cabin

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bathroom needs a "deep clean" - wine glasses were needing washed! - sofa and chair were past their sell by date.

Not one of the best presented units I have used. Nice location shame about the weather!!


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Peaceful gettaway

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Scotland several times for a break away from the hustle and bustle of busy working life. Lagnakeil was perfect, peaceful with beautiful views and not too far from amenities and fabulous walks. The cabin was comfortable, clean and well equipt have already rebooked to go again this year.

Helen from Coventry stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful lodge for a relaxing break. Very nice area to explore. Will definitely return and look to stay longer as there is a lot more to see and will be a great base to visit some of the islands from.

Guest from Laurencekirk stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in May 2015


Very cold and draughty lodge.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Electricity charge should have been included for the cost of the stay.
Extra blankets available within the lodge needed when colder, not at reception when you can't get them.
And a number provided or a message board for when no one answers reception.
Labels on power switch for shower to identify it from others would also have been helpful.


Guest from Kenilworth stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beech Lodge is in a superb location. The views from the lodge were a delight along with the wildlife. We had a cool week but soon warmed up with the electric heating. Bathroom is basic but functional. Water pressure not great for a shower but we enjoyed the bath. Chopping board would have been useful in the kitchen. It would have been nice if the hosts had popped in once during our stay to check things were ok but we only saw them for the handover of keys. They promoted The Barn which was excellent. We enjoyed the live music on Sunday pm as we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary.

Guest from Studley stayed at Beech lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Enjoyed our stay in the chalet

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were just surprised to discover we had to pay extra using electricity.(even if it is written on the conditions terms, as we noticed latter but it is unusual for us)

Lemaitre from Colombelles stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in May 2015


Excellent in every way.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I, plus dog, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lagnakeil, nothing could be improved in any way except we would have appreciated a CD/radio/DVD facility,

Guest from Milford Haven stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


A weekend in Oban

Review submitted on Sat, 02 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good enjoyed our stay, friendly and helpful staff in a lovely setting, not too far from Oban and all its attractions, the weather was great as well which really made our stay.

Guest from Tillicoultry stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2015


Lovely nice place.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice place and friendly welcoming. The lodge's size is perfect and comfortable.
If the kitchen stuff were cleaner, I would say everything is perfect. However, the kitchen needs more care and cleaning. The same goes to the lodge's flooring which would need better cleaning.
Despite all above, we spent unforgettable lovely days at the lodge.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in April 2015


Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we were looking for. A beautiful and peaceful retreat, just what we were looking from coming from the city. Lovely place and lovely people. Will definitely be back!


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


Beeches cabin

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We found the service at first very frustrating Colin & Jo were unavailable on the supplied phone number just the answer machine not what you want to hear after a 7 hour drive and you want to check in and relax . The cabin was very nice and surrounds beautiful , washing machines and dryers were expensive and the extra cost of power 5 pounds a day all added up . But it was a enjoyable stay . You will need a car though

Guest from Roleystone stayed at Beech lodge for 3 nights in April 2015


Last minute weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay, lovely scenery, cabin was cosy & warm, comfortable beds & pet friendly! Had a fantastic time & looking forward to another visit soon :)

Yvonne from Glasgow stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in March 2015


Weekend Break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges are the perfect place to relax.
Very well equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable home from home set in wonderful scenery and yet only a short distance from the lovely town of Oban.
Our break was end of Febuary/beginning of March so was a bit chilly but that is to be expected, would love to return in the summer for a longer stay to appreciate all there is on offer in this beautiful part of Scotland


Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in February 2015


poplar lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at poplar lodge with our 2 labs.the cabin was comfortable and we had an enjoyable time and very relaxing which was what we wanted.the walks for the dogs could of been better as had to be on leads a lot because of sheep the walks that were suited for them werent clearly marked.overall the owner was pleasant and helpful and it is a nice place to stay.we would go back in the summer months definitly.

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in February 2015


changing of the settee

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Feb 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
enjoyed our stay but only thing that irritated me was the fact that someone came in to the lodge when we were out and swapped our settee for another one, and managed to leave muddy bootprints on the carpet which we had to clean up and hoover. I know they are legally allowed to come into the lodge but they could have had the courtesy to ask us first. other than this minor problem, the short break was lovely and we were allowed to take the dog which was nice.

Guest from Kilmarnock stayed at Beech lodge for 2 nights in February 2015