FB Twitter

Tom na Voil

Tom na Voil

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Situated on the Carnegie Estate in Balquhidder. Ideally located for walkers with Kirkton Glen on your doorstep, walk to the top of Creag an Turc for a spectacular view of Loch Voil and Loch Doine. Or for the more adventurous the local Munros Ben Vorlich, Ben Lawers, Ben More start a short drive away, You can join cycle route 7 close by, or fish the local lochs. If you enjoy golf, a good choice of clubs are a short journey away at St Fillans, Comrie, Killin and Callander. Set in the natural beauty of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park tom na Voil makes a good base for touring the Highlands or visiting historical sites. The local hero Rob Roy McGregor lies buried in the local Kirk yard at Balquhidder. The accommodation sleeps 6 with two large en-suite bedrooms and a twin bedroom with separate family bathroom the cottage benefits from a log burner in the lounge for those cosy winter nights and Oil fired central heating. A steep drive leads to this secluded property, on your journey, you may see red squirrels, deer, and wild birds in the area which also has an array of wild flowers.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit after a few years out of the country. It was, again, like staying in someone's home rather than a holiday cottage.

Comfortable and spacious with superb beds and bathrooms.

The service from Cooper Cottages was efficient, user-friendly and personal.

We will certainly use their site again.




Matthew replied 38 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction at the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lovely Spot!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was really comfortable, the master bedroom and bathroom a total joy! Lovely quiet environment, and the wifi was excellent, which was a big plus when we were working. Also great to have a well stocked (with utensils) kitchen, and a decent size fridge-freezer.
As there were only two of us, there was plenty of space, but the kitchen & dining room might be a little tight for 6! Even split between two, it was great value, however.
Would love to return for more of a holiday one day.




Matthew replied 49 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Very well appointed holiday home.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is as described, comfortable and very well equipped. The drive is steep but manageable. My only complaint is the decking, it's treacherous and even the areas with chicken wire on were still slippy. I think it should be replaced with something more suited to Scottish weather. That said I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this house, it's in a simply stunning location and I would go back.



Matthew replied 137 days ago
Thank you for your review. We have passed your comments on to the owner.

Great break

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay. The property was very comfortable and we were very impressed with the bedrooms and bathrooms - they were huge! It was very peaceful. We also saw numerous red squirrels and a deer along with a young fox crossing the garden. We used the property as a base to travel to various lochs in the area and also to visit castles in Stirling and Doune. There are also distilleries in the area. We would definitely consider staying here again on our next trip North.



Matthew replied 180 days ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and saw some of the local wildlife while you were in Balquhidder. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb, well equipped Cottage. Well furnished and in a lovely quiet location. Highly recommend a stay in this fantastic Cottage.



Matthew replied 217 days ago
Thank you for your review.

Ticked every box for our holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, modern and well equipped house and a great base to explore the area. Lots of options for walking and cycling. Saw red squirrels every day which was a real treat.



A spacious well appointed property in quiet surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our family of 7, age range 4 months to 74 years were well accommodated in Tom Na Voil. We were prepared for a quiet out of the way location which suited us fine. We accepted the steep approach because it was in the information. We were disappointed that the property had no view being surrounded by trees given the photograph on the web site. The photographs of the property and grounds were accurate whereas that of the loch view misrepresented the position. The turning off the road was not reassuring without a sign. We would not recommend the property without these provisos.
On a practical point the toilet seat in the bathroom of the largest bedroom on-suite was very loose with no obvious way of tightening it.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your comments.

Tom na Voil

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Toma na Voil is situated in a beautiful location in the hamlet of Balquhidder. The cottage is secluded which suited our needs perfectly. It is up a steep hill which was difficult to get our little car up. We decided to leave the car in the village hall car park and walk up an down the hill. Good exercise for us but would not be suitable for anyone with disabilities.
The cottage itself was lovely and clean, well equipped and was really peaceful and quiet. Lovely to sit and watch the red squirrels bobbing about in the woods and gardens surrounding the cottage.
Just a couple of things that could be improved on, a) it should be made aware that there are no landlines or mobile phone connections. We couldn't get a signal and the phone box at the bottom of the hill didn't have a landline phone. b) there was wifi but it took us ages to find the hub to get the code number. Maybe something in the written information to say where it is. c) we arrived on Thursday 7th April and by the Saturday there was no hot water and heating. The main bedroom was cold. We followed the instructions to change this but could not change the settings. I emailed the contact details and a man came out straightaway to sort this out. Maybe someone should greet guests when they arrive to show them where everything is. d) the main bedroom is big and has a beautiful bathroom but the bed has a ridge down the middle so wasn't very comfortable. I think it is time for a new mattress. Taking these things aside our stay was wonderful, in a beautiful location and gave us a lovely base to explore the area.




Felt at home as soon as we arrived!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 6 stayed at Tom Na Voil for 3 nights during September 2015 so that we could attend a wedding at the nearby Monachyle Mhor hotel. We found the entrance up to the property by following the arrival instructions and conquered the steep, winding drive. The cottage itself was just perfect for us, it felt spacious, warm and welcoming. Kids and grandparents all loved it.
We were lucky enough to bag the master bedroom which had a massive bed and bathroom. The bathroom was a particular hit with the kids and the underfloor heating kept us all toasty. The furniture is all good quality and everything felt well cared for.
The kitchen is well equipped and the table sat all 6 of us comfortably for every meal.
We saw lots of interesting wildlife and enjoyed wandering down the drive to see what we could spot.




Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was lovely with plenty of space for 6 adults in a great location although the steep drive to the cottage would be a challenge in winter. The Red squirrels were fun to watch and there is plenty to do within an hour's drive as well as lots of walks locally.




Fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house, excellently equipped and so comfortable - with possibly the biggest bath I've ever seen! Superb location to explore the surrounding beautiful areas of Scotland.



A very nice stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Tom na Voil for five days and were very pleased with the house. Clean and good space. The road up to the house were a little difficult when it had rained. Overall, a very nice stay and we will definitely return to Scotland and Cooper Cottages.



Fabulous Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 30 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Tom Na Voil. The accommodation was very comfortable and welcoming. The arrival package was very welcome and we found the cottage was well equipped and had all we needed. The surrounding area was stunning and offered us walks and cycle rides on our doorstep as well as some wonderful places to visit by car.



Sunburn in April!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A week of Munro bagging and general outdoors activity over the Easter weekend resulted in builders' tans all round!

Tom Na Voil is ideally located for those who want to explore the Trossachs and the Southern Highlands. Pitlochry and Perth are just over an hour away, Stirling even closer. Lots of things to see and do around Comrie, Crieff, Callender and Aberfoyle, all within half and hour of Balquhidder.

Tom Na Voil is very comfortable with plenty of space in and around the building. Previous reviews have mentioned the restricted dining area within the kitchen. Whilst not of Albert Hall proportions it did not spoil our stay.

An ideal spot to relax and enjoy the delightful solitude of the cul-de-sac Balquhidder glen.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Feb 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Greatly enjoyed our stay at Tom na Voil. The village is gorgeous with stunning views. Bedrooms are beautifully appointed, lounge and kitchen both functional. Welcome pack is a really nice touch. Only recommendation would be to wire cover all decking as it's awfully slippy when wet.
Very timely and efficient admin.




Lovely cottage in superb location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage for a break in an ideal location for peace and quiet and outdoor activity. There are excellent places for food and drink within walking distance (2 miles & 4 miles). The cottage has excellent amenities, all you need for a comfortable and warm stay in the depths of winter.



Tom na Voil

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, and had everything we needed. Bags of hot water and comfy beds. Very nice weekend. You don't get bothered by anyone else as the house is nice and private.



a honest review

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good clean & comfortable cottage furnished to a high standard, generous supply of high quality towels and constant supply of hot water, garden area is disappointing as is the track leading to the cottage, I feel this should be mentioned in the property description, for people with mobility problems the sloping track is unsuitable for walking. For those with mobility problems there is a lack of grab rails in the showers. when full occupancy is used I can imagine the dining area would be a little cramped. Overall the property gives value for money, initially we had problems with the heating system instructions etc we contacted the agents who were helpful in sorting the matter. Yes we would recommend this property to others after explaining about grab rails and access.



Great Place

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needed a place to stay for the Ryder Cup and this was perfect. Would have loved more time to explore the local area as it looked great. Well presented and spacious accommodation and owners very easy to deal with.



Balquhidder hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fab cottage tucked away in Balquhidder village, in a lovely quiet location.
Feels more like home from home than a holiday let. Very well appointed.
We will certainly return.




Excellent Location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent large property, well located. Prior knowledge of the track leading to the property would have been appreciated, we were very dubious on our initial drive up the track. Well fitted with appliances, a great pity that the broadband/wi-fi was not working which did cause us disruption for the week.



We'd go back for sure

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Tom na Voil. The house is comfortable and well situated for good walks and places to eat. There are three well sized bathrooms and bedrooms - one of the bedrooms has a wonderful ensuite worthy of a five star hotel! Some small criticisms: The master bedroom is in dire need of proper black out blinds - we had to rig up towels on the windows which was an inconvenience. There was no bathmat in the master bedroom and the washingmachine in the kitchen was noisy during mealtimes. Outside eating is great when the weather holds, but for six people, dining inside wasn't brilliant and we quickly tired of the cramped kitchen.

That said, the wildlife was wonderful and the walk up behind the church to the McLaren meeting place was a highlight! We'd definately go back...




What a place to relax!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent week, despite the weather and the bungalow was all that we had hoped for. The deer looking in the window in the morning made up for any dull sky's!



Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful flat to start lots of trips from.
So excellent equipped, (nice to have all technical descriptions together in a book)
Everything was so nice on the inside and on the outside.
Heartful made Details, such as the welcome basket or the wood to run the fire in the livingroom for example
We´re looking forward to come back as soon as possible!

Thank You for everything!




OCTOBER HOLIDAY

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I STAYED AT THE COTTAGE WITH MY ELDERLY PARENTS, 2 CHILDREN AND MY HUSBAND DURING THE OCTOBER SCHOOL HOLIDAY. THE ACCOMODATION WAS EXCELLENT, VERY COMFORTABLE AND ON THE LEVEL APART FROM 1 OR TWO STAIRS WHICH SUITED MY PARENTS. THE PROPERTY WAS VERY WELL EQUIPPED FOR A SELF CATERING HOLIDAY AND THE INSTRUCTION MANNUALS WERE VERY EASY TO FOLLOW . THE COTTAGE WAS VERY CLEAN AND ALL BEDLINEN AND TOWELS WERE OF A VERY GOOD STANDARD. THERE WERE LOTS OF INFORMATION LEAFLETS AND GAMES/BOOKS ETC. WE LIKE WALKING AND THE COTTAGE WAS IN AN IDEAL LOCATION CLOSE TO LOCHEARNHEAD, STRATHYRE, KILLIN AND CALLANDER. THERE WAS ALSO A FEW LOCAL WALKS LITERALLY ON OUR DOORSTEP. OUR WELCOME PACK WAS ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE SEEN AND I WOULDN'T HESITATE TO RETURN OR RECOMMEND THIS ACCOMODATION TO OTHERS. THE ONLY NEGATIVE I CAN THINK OF IS THAT THE LANE WHICH TAKES YOU IN TO THE GROUNDS OF THE COTTAGE WAS QUITE OVERGROWN AND DEEPLY RUTTED WHICH MIGHT BE AN ISSUE IN BAD WEATHER UNLESS YOU HAVE A 4 WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE.