FB Twitter

The Tighna

The Tighna

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


The Tighna is located in the Highland Perthshire village of Killin. Outside there is parking for one car and a small garden with bench. Downstairs there is a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, kettle, toaster, oven and hob, a fridge-freezer and table with seating for four. The spacious lounge contains a log-burning stove, flat screen television with FreeView and WiFi. There are two comfortable sofas and a coffee table. Upstairs is a double master bedroom and a twin room. There is a family bathroom with walk-in shower, toilet and sink. The property is centrally heated and there is underfloor heating downstairs. The Tighna is dog friendly and there is a dog bowl provided. There is also a cot and a high-chair available on request for infants. The village boasts several great places to eat and drink as well as the Killin outdoor centre where you can hire bikes and canoes to enjoy the National Cycle Network beginning nearby or canoeing on Loch Tay.

Well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
comfortable and well equipped cottage. The location is central in Killin and Check-in and out were very easy.



Daniela replied 43 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience.

The Tighna

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here twice and love it. It is very clean and tidy and is so close to all the amenities. Some great walks on your doorstep. We will definitely be back.



Daniela replied 57 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Killin, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay at The Tighna in Killin. There was everything we needed in the cottage and more. Everything was easy from booking our stay. Communication by email also very good. Thank you



Daniela replied 75 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Killin.

Fantastic Property

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really not much more to say than that this is a fantastic and well kept property. We were staying for the local music festival so the location was perfect with us not needing more than a short walk to get to the hall. The property was clean and had everything we needed. So good that we're already looking at dates to go back for a longer stay in the future.



Daniela replied 83 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

The Tighna

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property ; well situated, clean and well equipped . From a personal perspective , I would have appreciated a bath . Long days in the mountains ,in cold weather are best soothed with a hot bath.



Marvellous holiday at the Tighna - a really lovely, comfortable cottage in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So pleased to spend our Christmas/New Year holiday in this superb traditional Victorian cottage, which has been really beautifully and tastefully styled in a very warm but modern contemporary way and was really quite spacious. The Tighna is attached to a larger Victorian property and has its own parking space on a gravelled area immediately adjacent to the cottage-so no worries about parking for this property! The cottage is very well-equipped and has been kept in an excellent condition and was so obviously well-maintained and very clean. All furnishings and fixtures and fittings were of a high standard and the kitchen was really clean and equipped with everything required, including a dishwasher and washing machine, and was really nicely presented. A very pleasant and comfortable base for our festive holiday in the Trossachs, with a welcoming Christmas tree in the lounge and a kind gift of shortbread and wine left for us either by the owners or the cottage company. The Tighna’s position on the main high street means that it is close to all the really good amenities in Killin village, which benefits from having a supermarket and some shops and is such a wonderfully picturesque and scenic place! The Falls of Dochart and Loch Tay are a short distance away, and the mountain Ben Lawers provides an extremely stunning backdrop for the village. The historic and very atmospheric Finlarig castle is within Killin village itself and is not far from the shores of Loch Tay, and the Ben Lawers Nature Reserve, which has amazing views of the mountains and Loch Tay, is only a very short drive away. So, plenty of wonderful natural beautiful settings to enjoy! Lots of opportunities for outdoor activities and to spend time close to nature in this amazingly lovely Highland landscape. The Tighna is a fantastic property from which to explore the area around Killin and Loch Tay and the whole of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park and there is even the potential to reach the magnificent scenery of the Glencoe area and Inveraray and Loch Fyne. Marvellous time there! Would not hesitate to recommend this superb accommodation. Really beautiful comfortable property!



Matthew replied 257 days ago
Thank yo ufor your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

A brilliant Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property located in a lovely quaint village.
The cottage was very welcoming and catered to all our needs. A great place if you’re looking for a quiet place away.
Shops and pubs are in walking distance.




Matthew replied 314 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin.

Great Stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great place to stay as a base for exploring Scotland! Plenty of space and the wood burning stove made the experience excellent! The village itself has plenty to offer and The Tighna is in a perfect location, just steps away from the pub!



Matthew replied 361 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house right in the centre of the village. Modern, clean and comfortable, suitable for a family of 4 xx



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear your family had an enjoyable stay.

Great home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay comfy has everything you need and more. tastefully decorated has some lovely little touches to the property. the beds are super cosy beautiful views from the front garden great location will definitely be booking this property again



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Feel renewed

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Tighna is a fantastic place to stay, so comfortable and cosy. Very spacious and modern, would go back here again



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Lovely relaxing space

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is fantastic - more spacious than the photos suggest. Very comfortable living room. Location is also good being right in the village. Only thing to note is that larger cars might find it slightly tricky getting out of the driveway (though it is doable - park as perpendicular to the house as you can!)



Good location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A good central location close to amenities. Open garden to front incorporating drive. Lounge sofas could do with an upgrade.




Fab week at The Tighna in Killin

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful cottage, very modern, very comfortable. Can't praise it enough. The cleanliness was of a very high standard and I am fussy, so this made me relax immediately. Nothing missing from the kitchen in terms of utensils and facilities. The cleaner had even left us dishwasher tablets which is unusual but most practical. Beds super comfortable. King size towels - thank you! Cottage guide is very informative re bins etc and full of places to visit, things to do if you haven't planned anything.
Local amenities were great, a very well stocked Coop and good pubs and restaurants in the village if you didn't want to go far. Even the fish & chip van was good. Couldn't fault it, will definitely stay again.






Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay in Killin and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Lovely accommodation.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay in The Tighna. It is warm, quite clean, spacious and comfortable and ideal for families. It is well-placed for exploring the whole area and is a stone's throw from Killin's amenities. Only niggle was that some crockery and pans were not clean.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.

Lovely stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay here. What a great location and lovely clean place to stay.

We will be back!




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

First class accommodation in the heart of Killin

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean, spacious and the decor, rooms and furniture where of a high standard (The shower was excellent). This cottage was ideal for two people, however I would recommend extra cutlery if four guests were staying.
The internal lock on the downstairs toilet was faulty and could not be opened, it only released after 15 mins by banging hard on the door. We have reported this fault so other guests do not get locked in the toilet, however this did not distract from what can be described as a wonderful weeks stay in the quality cottage, we will certainly book again.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments.

A lovely cottage but........

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay in the cottage, finished to a high standard.
But the kitchen needs to be updated, especially the oven and hob which worked fine but have seen better days.
The cutlery and tableware needs to be changed for a better quality spec.
But in saying that I still think The Tighna is a fine property in a wonderful location to explore the Scottish mountains.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Roberts holiday on Loch Tay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really good weekend enjoyed by all the family. Excellent location with good amenities will visit again



A lovely stay in Killin

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the cottage, which was very clean and well presented. The location was fantastic for exploring Killin itself plus surrounding area of the Loch Lomond national park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. It is a great area to explore.

Fantastic stay at The Tingha

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic 5 nights stay at The Tingha. The cottage is in great condition and it was very well prepared for our stay. The cottage is very comfortable and bigger than we thought it would be.
Being a family of four we had a very comfortable stay there.
Also, the village of Killin is beautiful and very conveniently located. I highly recommend this cottage.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin.

A wonderful stay in a beautiful house that felt like home for the weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Tighna was a beautiful house for a weekend in and around Loch Tay. The house was spotless on arrival and all amenities were provided. Upon entry the property offered hand sanitisation and disinfectant wipes to stay safe upon arrival and leaving also. There were even some lovely added touches such as biscuits, confectionary and milk provided too. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully prepared for our stay. Both bathrooms were sparkling clean with soap and hygiene products provided. The kitchen was more than well equipped with all utensils provided. We also enjoyed relaxing in the large living room space that felt bright during the day and cosy at night.

The location was excellent right to the Falls of Dochart - we felt so lucky to be able to hear them from our bedroom window! We made use of local amenities nearby in Killin - coffee shop, local co-op and the park behind the village hall. There are a number of walks from the 'Walking Highlands' online guide accessible from the property also which was such a bonus!

A short drive from Killin takes you to start of one of many Munro Hills in the area - Ben Lawers as well as a range of other walking options through the hills. We enjoyed the 25 minute drive along the edge of Loch Tay to Kenmore where we enjoyed sitting out in the beer garden at The Kenmore Hotel. The property is in such a good location to escape to the great outdoors or enjoy some local hospitality.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay, we will definitely book again !




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. There area lot of good walks nearby as well as some nice sights such as the Crannog Centre at Loch Tay and the Finlarig Castle in Killin.

Killin time.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic 5 days at The Tighna in Killin. The accommodation was excellent and really tastefully furnished. The location was perfect and we would definitely want to visit again.



An enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Warm and clean. Well appointed. Slight maintenance issue thatI’m sure will be easily resolved. Good location for hill walking. Easy access to shops and competitively priced eating out.



October weekend in Killin

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Clean, comfortable and warm. Comfy beds and decent shower. Kitchen was well equipped.
Good location in Killin - there are several easy walks to do within minutes of the cottage.
Great fun to cycle from Mhor 84 to Callander (cycle route 7) - couple of short uphill sections but we managed it no problem with our 6 year old and 8 year old. The section from killin is steeper so we didn't try that with the kids.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Tighna. It is a great place to stay with lots of walks to enjoy and the cycle path nearby.

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the cottage, it had everything we could have ever needed and was the perfect home from home. Perfect location for us and spotlessly clean. Thank you!



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Tighna in Killin.

Fantastic Location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location is excellent, just across the road a pub with a great atmosphere serving good food. Lots of walks and stunning views on your doorstep.

The cottage is comfortable and well equipped. The only problem we had was that the TV didn't work for most of our weekend stay, there was no signal for the freeview system. Other than that everything was fine.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin.

Pleasant stay in a beautiful in a lovely village

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy welcoming house. Spacious living room with fireplace. Lovely village in beautiful nature. Really enjoyed our stay in Killin. Would certainlly come back again.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a cottage absolutely beautiful perfect location lots of walks there are 6 pubs within walking distance that all serve food ,cottage has everything you could wish for ,we really didn't want to leave thanks so much will definitely be back



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin. It is very convenient for local eating and drinking places. We look forward to your return visit.

Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay and it was a great location as we had family staying at the caravan site. Plenty to see and do nearby. A lovely dinner at the Falls of Dochart Inn.
Cottage met our needs and we enjoyed relaxing in the evening with the log fire and the large T.V. It would have been good to have a couple more tea towels and a hand towel in downstairs bathroom.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Tighna in Killin.

Expectations Exceeded.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very good choice in terms of cleanliness, modern furnishings, facilities, location and convenience. Suited us 4 adults perfectly and dog friendly too, so it was perfect. The price is right for a week's stay, honestly I couldn't recommend it enough.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin and found the property to your satisfaction.

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage everything you could wish for , fully equipped and great location to village and walking.



Michelle replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Joan. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Relaxing weekend for us both.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend spent here in Killin. Very peaceful beautiful scenery & walks. The house was very clean & comfortable in an excellent location. Would love to return sometime soon. :)



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend in Killin and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at The Tignha for a three night break. We arrived late on the Thursday evening, it was great to find fresh milk in the fridge, mineral water and a few other essentials in the welcome pack, including treats for the dog, very thoughtful!

The cottage looked just as it did on the website, it's in a great location for exploring the surrounding area, and the village of Killin has a number of nice restaurants and pubs, all within walking distance of the cottage.

The kitchen was well stocked with crockery, cutlery and pots and pans, all too often self catering accommodation seems to expect all of their guests to eat out all of the time and so kitchen equipment can be basic, I'm glad to say it isn't the case here.

We would stay here again and recommend it to others.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lovely house

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seemed to have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable - from providing a slow cooker, laying the log burner ready to light and not even forgetting doggie treats and poo bags! First class!



We felt at home

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, well equipped, well located spacious house. I would recommend it without hesitation. Only 100 yards from Lochart Falls.