FB Twitter

The Tighna

The Tighna

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


The Tighna is located in the Highland Perthshire village of Killin. Outside there is parking for one car and a small garden with bench. Downstairs there is a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, kettle, toaster, oven and hob, a fridge-freezer and table with seating for four. The spacious lounge contains a log-burning stove, flat screen television with FreeView and WiFi. There are two comfortable sofas and a coffee table. Upstairs is a double master bedroom and a twin room. There is a family bathroom with walk-in shower, toilet and sink. The property is centrally heated and there is underfloor heating downstairs. The Tighna is dog friendly and there is a dog bowl provided. There is also a cot and a high-chair available on request for infants. The village boasts several great places to eat and drink as well as the Killin outdoor centre where you can hire bikes and canoes to enjoy the National Cycle Network beginning nearby or canoeing on Loch Tay.

Roberts holiday on Loch Tay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really good weekend enjoyed by all the family. Excellent location with good amenities will visit again



A lovely stay in Killin

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the cottage, which was very clean and well presented. The location was fantastic for exploring Killin itself plus surrounding area of the Loch Lomond national park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again.



Matthew replied 250 days ago
Thank you. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. It is a great area to explore.

Fantastic stay at The Tingha

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic 5 nights stay at The Tingha. The cottage is in great condition and it was very well prepared for our stay. The cottage is very comfortable and bigger than we thought it would be.
Being a family of four we had a very comfortable stay there.
Also, the village of Killin is beautiful and very conveniently located. I highly recommend this cottage.




Matthew replied 290 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin.

A wonderful stay in a beautiful house that felt like home for the weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Tighna was a beautiful house for a weekend in and around Loch Tay. The house was spotless on arrival and all amenities were provided. Upon entry the property offered hand sanitisation and disinfectant wipes to stay safe upon arrival and leaving also. There were even some lovely added touches such as biscuits, confectionary and milk provided too. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully prepared for our stay. Both bathrooms were sparkling clean with soap and hygiene products provided. The kitchen was more than well equipped with all utensils provided. We also enjoyed relaxing in the large living room space that felt bright during the day and cosy at night.

The location was excellent right to the Falls of Dochart - we felt so lucky to be able to hear them from our bedroom window! We made use of local amenities nearby in Killin - coffee shop, local co-op and the park behind the village hall. There are a number of walks from the 'Walking Highlands' online guide accessible from the property also which was such a bonus!

A short drive from Killin takes you to start of one of many Munro Hills in the area - Ben Lawers as well as a range of other walking options through the hills. We enjoyed the 25 minute drive along the edge of Loch Tay to Kenmore where we enjoyed sitting out in the beer garden at The Kenmore Hotel. The property is in such a good location to escape to the great outdoors or enjoy some local hospitality.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay, we will definitely book again !




Matthew replied 296 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. There area lot of good walks nearby as well as some nice sights such as the Crannog Centre at Loch Tay and the Finlarig Castle in Killin.

Killin time.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic 5 days at The Tighna in Killin. The accommodation was excellent and really tastefully furnished. The location was perfect and we would definitely want to visit again.



An enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Warm and clean. Well appointed. Slight maintenance issue thatI’m sure will be easily resolved. Good location for hill walking. Easy access to shops and competitively priced eating out.



October weekend in Killin

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Clean, comfortable and warm. Comfy beds and decent shower. Kitchen was well equipped.
Good location in Killin - there are several easy walks to do within minutes of the cottage.
Great fun to cycle from Mhor 84 to Callander (cycle route 7) - couple of short uphill sections but we managed it no problem with our 6 year old and 8 year old. The section from killin is steeper so we didn't try that with the kids.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Tighna. It is a great place to stay with lots of walks to enjoy and the cycle path nearby.

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the cottage, it had everything we could have ever needed and was the perfect home from home. Perfect location for us and spotlessly clean. Thank you!



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Tighna in Killin.

Fantastic Location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location is excellent, just across the road a pub with a great atmosphere serving good food. Lots of walks and stunning views on your doorstep.

The cottage is comfortable and well equipped. The only problem we had was that the TV didn't work for most of our weekend stay, there was no signal for the freeview system. Other than that everything was fine.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin.

Pleasant stay in a beautiful in a lovely village

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy welcoming house. Spacious living room with fireplace. Lovely village in beautiful nature. Really enjoyed our stay in Killin. Would certainlly come back again.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a cottage absolutely beautiful perfect location lots of walks there are 6 pubs within walking distance that all serve food ,cottage has everything you could wish for ,we really didn't want to leave thanks so much will definitely be back



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin. It is very convenient for local eating and drinking places. We look forward to your return visit.

Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay and it was a great location as we had family staying at the caravan site. Plenty to see and do nearby. A lovely dinner at the Falls of Dochart Inn.
Cottage met our needs and we enjoyed relaxing in the evening with the log fire and the large T.V. It would have been good to have a couple more tea towels and a hand towel in downstairs bathroom.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Tighna in Killin.

Expectations Exceeded.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very good choice in terms of cleanliness, modern furnishings, facilities, location and convenience. Suited us 4 adults perfectly and dog friendly too, so it was perfect. The price is right for a week's stay, honestly I couldn't recommend it enough.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin and found the property to your satisfaction.

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage everything you could wish for , fully equipped and great location to village and walking.



Michelle replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Joan. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Relaxing weekend for us both.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend spent here in Killin. Very peaceful beautiful scenery & walks. The house was very clean & comfortable in an excellent location. Would love to return sometime soon. :)



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend in Killin and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at The Tignha for a three night break. We arrived late on the Thursday evening, it was great to find fresh milk in the fridge, mineral water and a few other essentials in the welcome pack, including treats for the dog, very thoughtful!

The cottage looked just as it did on the website, it's in a great location for exploring the surrounding area, and the village of Killin has a number of nice restaurants and pubs, all within walking distance of the cottage.

The kitchen was well stocked with crockery, cutlery and pots and pans, all too often self catering accommodation seems to expect all of their guests to eat out all of the time and so kitchen equipment can be basic, I'm glad to say it isn't the case here.

We would stay here again and recommend it to others.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killin and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lovely house

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seemed to have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable - from providing a slow cooker, laying the log burner ready to light and not even forgetting doggie treats and poo bags! First class!



We felt at home

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, well equipped, well located spacious house. I would recommend it without hesitation. Only 100 yards from Lochart Falls.