FB Twitter

Ruggles Cottage

Ruggles Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.4
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


A true escape to tranquility set between Comrie and St Fillans on Loch Earn, this beautifully modernised unusual historic cottage offers both comfort and quality. Converted from the staff hall of the historic Dunira Estate and part of a quadrangle of buildings. Parking is available outside the property. Downstairs is a large lounge with log-burning stove, television and WiFi. The gallery kitchen includes everything you need for your self catering stay. There are two twin bedrooms downstairs with a family bathroom with electric shower over the bath. Up a spiral staircase from the lounge is the master bedroom with en-suite bathroom. Guests can also enjoy a private garden by the river with summer house and barbeque. Red kites, buzzards, red deer and squirrels may all be seen while walking from Ruggles Cottage in the spectacular countryside of the western Perthshire.

B

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely week at Ruggles cottage.
So many extras in the kitchen it was like home from home.
No need to be cold as plenty of wood for the fire and if that wasn’t enough there was also central heating.
Beautiful area and lovely walks from the cottage.
Only downside for us we booked from advert for 4 bedrooms and on arrival owner said she kept bunk bedroom for private use. As there were 6 of us we doubled up and managed but had we known this we could have booked a 3 bedroom cottage for less.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and comments regarding the bedrooms. I have now changed this on our website.

A week with friends at Ruggles Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six of us stayed at Ruggles Cottage for a week and had a wonderful time.

Susan could not have been more accommodating, staying late on a Sunday evening to greet us and show us all around.

The cottage was exactly as described, wonderfully clean and very comfy, the kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils etc and the great big pile of logs for the fire was very welcome!

Would definitely return.




Ruggles cottage: Peace, quiet and comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm, welcoming, comfortable and quiet. Excellent equipment.. we need a longer stay to appreciate it all! Spiral staircase might be difficult for people with mobility problems- but there are four other beds to sleep in, plus two bunks!



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ruggles Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for the comments regarding the spiral staircase, we will ensure that guests are made aware of this before booking.

A brilliant break at Ruggles

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky to be staying in early November so the scenery around the cottage is especially beautiful and we were able to take advantage of the log burning fire. The cottage is so homely and welcoming and the living room really is a stunning centrepiece with double height ceilings, spiral staircase and of course, the fire. The cottage is well appointed with every home comfort, including some hot water bottles which was a nice touch. It is set amongst several other cottages and houses which made for a pleasant wander round before dinner as we spotted deer and pheasant. Comrie is close by and we drove 30 mins in the other direction toward St Fillans and Lochearnhead. We cannot recommend Ruggles Cottage enough and we hope to return.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ruggles Cottage and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

A lovely peaceful home

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 3 nights with my husband, parents and our 3 kids. Everybody loved the place: so cosy and so nicely decorated. We cooked a lot, played with the games and toys provided. There are all the ustensils that we needed too. It was great, we will be back ;-)




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.