FB Twitter

Glen Cottage

Glen Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


On the edge of the very friendly village of Comrie, in the heart of Perthshire, this charming characterful country cottage is ideally situated to enjoy village life. Crossing the cottage garden you will find a games room with table tennis table. The family accommodation with two double en-suite bedrooms (one on the lower floor) and two twin bedrooms is ideal for large families. Within walking distance you will find a variety of shops and restaurants. Ideally located for exploring the historical sights in the Highlands of Scotland or the cities of Perth, Stirling, Edinburgh and Glasgow. A great base for walks from the doorstep and local bike hire with great paths to follow. Comrie has a local golf club which welcomes visitors. Annual events such as the Comrie fortnight and the New Year flambeau make this a popular visitor destination. Don’t miss the Earthquake House while staying in Comrie.

Great family holiday base

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice traditional-style cottage with lots of space and comfort. In good location in sleepy village with easy access to beautiful nature.



Matthew replied 21 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you had a comfortable stay at Glen Cottage. There is a great walk nearby to the De'il's Cauldron through the woods.

A lovely base for a special family occasion

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all thought the cottage was absolutely beautiful. It looked perfect on arrival. Summer day, sunshine and a lovely lush garden too, full of happy birds. Easy to find in the village, and the village itself is really sweet and has some useful, friendly shops.
We were however surprised by the bad, very “off” smell as we walked in the front door though, and we have no idea what it was or is. It is only in the immediate area around the front door /bathroom door downstairs bedroom, nowhere else in the house. We left doors and windows open as much as possible to help this, which worked after a while.
The house itself is just great, very comfy, fabulous space and was everything we hoped for. Just right for our group.
A couple of things that would have been helpful to sort....there is no bottle opener for beer etc (fortunately my husband had a gadget on his key ring), and also, the cafetière has a broken inner lid too which kept falling down into the coffee, making it impossible to pour. Luckily there was another, but much larger cafetière, which we used. All fine.
The only other issue worth mentioning, is that the upstairs master bedroom really would be much better if it had dark blinds on the velux windows, rather than pale violet, as there was light most of the night (summer solstice!) and the bedroom was therefore light all night. We could not sleep because of this, and there was no way of pinning up something to help us sleep....

Many thanks, we thought p, despite the niggly issues, the house and garden and our time there was really lovely.







Matthew replied 53 days ago
Thank you for your review. The owner works tirelessly to ensure the guests comfort. The smell is something new; no one has noticed this but we will investigate. A phone number is available in guest information should you need to contact someone over anything like this so we can attend to it. The cafetierre and bottle opener will be replaced. There is a book for breakages to be noted should things need replacing so all things are kept in order. Unfortunately we were not aware of these items needing replaced. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Glen Cottage despite the issues.

Very good

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charming place. As advertised. Stunning location. Great town. Felt spacious and comfortable.Lovely garden.



Matthew replied 63 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay at Glen Cottage.

Golf trip April

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent as always. We have stayed in the cottage 3 times now and wouldn’t dream of using anywhere else



Glen Cottage, Comrie

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a lovely period cottage, and overall we really enjoyed our stay. Could do with a TV in the main living room or more comfortable seating options in the upstairs landing for watching TV of an evening. There are major drafts coming through the front doors and with a little jacket hanging as make-shift draft-excluders - it was fine. Downstairs double bed not very comfortable, however upstairs main bedroom is lovely and bright and the bed very comfortable. Great selection of books to read - if that is your thing and lots of pictures and ornaments on display, although my kids found some of them a bit scary!



Matthew replied 295 days ago
Thank you for your review and comments. We will look into addressing the issues you have raised.

Wonderful experiance.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay set Glen cottage. It is equipped with everything that we needed and the cottage itself is so charming. Comrie is a nice little town as well and the owners were very helpful with everything that we needed. Highly recommended.



Peace and tranquillity

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and cosy and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was at the edge of the village and offered peace and tranquillity. Spacious accommodation which would have comfortably taken 6. Although 8 could easily sleep here it would be a bit tight in the dining room, however as we were only 4 it was perfect. We wish the weather had been a little warmer so that we could have enjoyed the beautiful garden a little more. The kitchen is really well equipped. Good cooker, fridge freezer, plenty of workspace and utensils. However we only had a couple of evening meals in. The people in the village were a delight, very friendly. Comrie hotel dosen’t look much but the restaurant served decent reasonable meals although the menu was a little limited. The fish and chip shop was also good, and very convenient when you have had a long day out exploring the beautiful lochs and countryside. Also recommended The Tower Gastro pub at Crieff, (best meal out during our week stay) and the Meadow Inn at Crieff, again no frills but nice wholesome food and friendly staff. The only reason I have marked ‘Cleanliness’ as ‘Good’ instead of ‘Excellent’ was that although the bed linen was perfect, there was a stain on the mattress cover in the downstairs bedroom which was a bit off putting! As a polite suggestion could I also recommend a shower mat for inside the showers as the floors become quite slippery. Otherwise a delightful cottage.



Matthew replied 342 days ago
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodation and are always looking for ways to improve.

Our impressions of glen cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, espacious and well equipped. The kitchen specially seemed to have everything you could need.

Missed not having a mirror in the bedroom downstairs specially when drying hair as there aren't any switches in the bathroom.

The table tennis was a great success with children and adults.

Overall is a great place to stay! We had a very happy holiday.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you all enjoyed the table tennis. Thank you for comments regarding the mirror. We are always looking for ways to improve the properties.

Superb!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation, fabric and furnishing very homely and comfortable. Three generations thoroughly enjoyed it from the first moment on. Lovely garden to enjoy with table tennis bonus!



a weekend with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is exactly as descript. a confortable house in a place locate near national park. we have made many trips around and it was very nice.



Golfing Break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay in Glen Cottage and it had everything we needed for our stay. We even got lucky with the weather



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear the weather was good for your golfing.

Family gathering at the Glen

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great base for a family holiday in beautiful Perthshire. This delightful quirky cottage combines character with mod cons. Clean, cosy and comfortable, a short stroll to the village with brilliant walks from the cottage to explore Comrie and surrounding area in all its glory. Wildlife seen on our walks included, red squirrels, deer, kites, buzzards, peregrines, goshawk, grouse and eagle with numerous birds in the garden, didn't find the otter and the salmon stayed in the river Earn despite granddads efforts! We would recommend Glen Cottage to anyone who loves the great outdoors but doesn't want to be too isolated, the best of both worlds.



Lovely comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Little extra touches make all the difference when only staying for a weekend, like extra hand towels in all the toilets and bathrooms plus soap: milk in the fridge and tea and coffee supplied.
We did have some difficulty lighting the gas fire in the sitting room but got there in the end and though the cottage did feel a little chilly on arrival the central heating system was very efficient and coped well with the demands of 8 people for showers.
Would definitely recommend this cottage.




Stunning Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here for the weekend of my wedding with my best men and their families. We could not have asked for anymore. The cottage is a 'quintissential' highland cottage in an unbeatable location.

Coopers cottages were fantastic to deal with

We cannot recommend this property or company highly enough




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you found everything to your satisfaction during your stay in Comrie.

Beautifully clean well, equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Glen cottage was bigger than expected. It is in a fantastic location on the edge of Comrie which is a small town where we were made to feel welcome everywhere. It was exceptionally clean and packed full of extras - toys, games, books etc. The welcome pack of tea, coffee, biscuits, sugar and milk was a nice touch. The staff also left a couple of dishwasher tablets, washing machine tablets, new dish cloths and pan scourers, as well as making sure each bathroom had loo roll and a hand pump soap. The kitchen was also well equipped. We were extremely impressed all round and will certainly be returning.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Glen Cottage - cosy, spacious and convenient

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy and spacious cottage in a great location. Loved the sitting room - a good place to relax. The whole booking experience was very efficient and impressive. Overall, the cottage exceeded expectations. We would certainly recommend it.

Minor criticisms:
TV reception was patchy - BBC channels especially - we wanted to watch the Wimbledon final and it spoilt it when the picture kept getting glitches.
Could have left some shower gel / soap in the bathrooms (rather than just hand soap) and more sugar (rather than 5-6 sachets) given it is a week stay. It comes across as a bit petty.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We will pass your comments on to the owner.

Glad that we stayed here. Excellent holiday home

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was amazing holiday with families travelled a long way. The cottage is just the way a perfect holiday home should have been. Hope to comeback again



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Comrie and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

A very nice cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the charming Glen Cottage. It's well equipped and comfortable and our family loved the table tennis and the huge array of books. The only negative feedback I'd give is about the driveway. It's narrow and very awkward to navigate. And the shrubbery at each side scratched my car on the way in and out.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Glen Cottage, including the games room. Sorry to hear about the trouble you had getting in and out of the driveway. These comments will be passed on to the owner and we can perhaps add something in the information so future guests are aware of this.

Perfect.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glen Cottage was perfect for our two families staying together. It is clean, cosy, comfortable, and in a perfect location within the village (waliking distance to all the shops and with great walks just behind the cottage) and also in a perfect location within Scotland for exploring east and west, north and south. The booking and payment processes were quick and easy and Cooper Cottages were very efficient and helpful. Perfect.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you found Glen Cottage comfortable and enjoyed the local shops and walks.

Very comfortable well decorated house -

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Heating and hot water for showers v good
Plenty of space for rainy days
table tennis room good for children
TV on second floor landing OK so long as you do not mind hardly watching TV




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and your comments. We are glad to hear that you found the house comfortable and enjoyed the table-tennis room.

Weekend break with friends.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All 8 of us enjoyed our stay at Glen cottage. It was a great house for a group of friends, lots of space, large dining table and living room. There was a lovely walk across the road from the house, the glen lednock circular walk, took us nearly 3 hours in the snow but worth it for the views. Decor is slightly old fashioned but it suits the cosy country charm of the place. We didn't have time to enjoy the garden but we would like to return in the summer as the patio was a good size for a BBQ.
It was walking distance to the shops and town but still very peaceful.
The only minor negatives were the rather early Sunday check out and a shower head needs fixed in the master.
Thank you!




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Fiona, Thank you for your review of Glen Cottage. We are glad you had a good time and there was enough room for you all. Great to hear that you managed to get out and enjoy some of the local walks. Thanks for comments. We are grateful for all feedback and will pass this on to the owner. We would love to welcome you back again in the summer. Kind Regards Matthew

Good week in Comrie

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good location and excellent for our needs ( 5 adults & 2 children)).

Perhaps would have been nice to have had the TV in the sitting room but other than that it was a lovely place.




glen cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very warm and comfortable house. Having elderly members in our group, there was a small issue with lighting which made some areas of the house quite dim, particularly in the kitchen. Extremely well equipped kitchen and we appreciated the welcome tea, coffee and milk.
We found that the drive was too small to get one of our cars in and had to compete with cars on the road which seemed to be parked there all week.




Warm, comfortable cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Easily accommodated 8 adults although short of space to move around in the kitchen. Well equipped apart from lack of ventilation in kitchen and poor lighting in lounge. No shower in shared bathroom. Great to have TV located away from the lounge. Games room and garden a bonus.



Cooper Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. The older cottages do have thicker walls, and smaller kitchen areas than the more modern properties. The dining area helps at Glen Cottage. We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your time in Comrie. It was nice to meet some of you on departure.

Great location for a family get together!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glen Cottage is perfect for family gatherings having a generous-sized lounge, four good sized bedrooms, three bathrooms plus other hang out spaces too. It was easy to keep warm during our November visit and the decor is homely and cosy. We loved it!



Picturesque Cottage Full of Charm

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely, comfortable cottage with a gorgeous garden and great patio area where you can sit and watch the birds. It's full of charm and stylishly decorated. I wish I'd had more time there so I could do a spot of reading in the little nook at the top of the stairs. Everything was provided and I think the only thing I'd change is to perhaps have a different floor covering in the kitchen other than a carpet, purely for practical reasons.

This cottage would suit 2 families with children as it's spacious enough, although we were happy there just the 2 of us.

We treated ourselves to lots of goodies from the deli on the High Street which is also a cafe and there are other nice, little shops on the High Street which is a short walk from the cottage.

We drove along to Loch Earn which is very close by and just stunning. Loved the 'Still' sculpture standing in the loch at St Fillans end, opposite the Four Seasons hotel. Killin and the Falls of Dochart is just 35 mins away by bus or car and well worth a visit too.

I'd be happy to stay here again and might invite some friends along the next time.






Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Comrie at Glen Cottage. We will pass on your comments regarding the carpet in the kitchen to the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Good Property

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was ideal for a family of 5 plus 2 grand parents. All facilities were in excellent condition and allowed us to be able to self cater as and when required. The games room which allowed the grand children to play table tennis was well used. If returning to this area we would not hesitate to return to this property,



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Glen Cottage. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and got some use from the games room. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was everything and more. Clean, tidy, spacious and set in beautiful surrounding. And close to all the shops . We also found it great value for money.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

A real gem

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ecellent cottage in every way. Lots of bedroom and bathroom space... large living room and separate dining room and very well equipped kitchen.
Lovely decor throughout
Beautiful garden and easy walking into the village .
We could have stayed for a month we enjoyed it so much!




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Thomson, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Glen Cottage and around Comrie. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Winter stay at Glen Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glen Cottage, perfect for the family coming together. The cottage was comfortable and extremely well equipped. Located at the edge of the village with walks from the door, what more can you ask for?