FB Twitter

Almardon

Almardon

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Almardon sits at the West end of Callander, just 3 minutes walk from the centre where you will find a good choice of eating places and a variety of shops. Set within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park this holiday home is a good base for visiting the surrounding places of interest, inlcuding Bracklinn Falls, Callander Crags and The Trossachs Trail which is famous world wide with its rugged, unspoiled area of natural beauty. Wildlife and wildflowers are easily spotted for the photographer and artist you will not be disappointed. Just an hours drive from Edinburgh, Glasgow or Perth or 30 minutes from Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument. Numerous summer events including the Highland games make this a great place to stay. There are indoor and outdoor drying facilities, for the outdoor enthusiast you will find local bike hire, fishing permits or a choice of Munros (our closest been Ben Ledi).

Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from our holiday at Almardon. Accomodation was excellent value for money and extremly comfortable! Having 3 en-suite bedrooms was a godsend too with lots of hotwater ! The house is situated just off the main road through Callander and is very well placed within walking distance of many shops, cafes and pubs! (TESCO Direct 100yrds) The garden backs onto the callander meadows and cycle path route 7! The house is warm and roomy and owner Margaret is just next door and very helpful and informative! We had our pet dog and elderly parents and teenage son with us and this property had something to offer everyone....including reliable wi fi !



Matthew replied 101 days ago
We're happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay at Alamardon.

L'écosse sous le soleil

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Très bien. Rien à redire et correspond parfaitement à la description.
Très bon accueil de la part de la proprietaire




Matthew replied 107 days ago
Merci pour vos gentils commentaires. Thank you for your kind comments.

A fantastic home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in this cottage, which is perfectly located, comfortable, spotlessly clean and generously equipped. The owner is on site when needed, but is not at all intrusive. She has an extensive local knowledge, and was very helpful to us in planning walks with the children. We would definitely recommend this house, and may well visit again!



Cooper Cottages replied 149 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Yes Margaret is a great source of local information and always willing to offer help and guidance when needed. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Almardon in Callander and look forward to welcoming you back.

Hogmany break

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay. Perfect location for what we wanted to do. All rooms en-suite which was a bonus. Well equiped kitchen, but plenty good value eateries in area.



Review

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed accommodation - slight problem with control of heating but Margaret next door was very helpful. Excellent location.



Matthew replied 267 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Almardon

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in Callander. Almardon was a lovely place to stay. It was clean & well equiped. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. The booking process was qick & easy.



Beautiful Callander Holiday Home

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location - Almardon is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Callander either along the main street or along a cycle/footpath accessed from the rear garden. This path also led through beautiful countryside to the 2 woollen mills at Kilmahog and beyond!
Property - 3 en suite double bedrooms, fabulous kitchen and comfortable lounge/dining area.We were joined each morning and late afternoon by 2 swallows that had decided to perch on the external porch doors!
Very clean and well appointed and the owner was very welcoming and friendly.
Callander is a good centre from which to explore the beautiful Trossachs area and has plentiful shops, bars and restaurants.




A fantastic home for one week with my friends!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very clean and cozy cottage at the end of Callandar which was a excellent base for hiking in the Trossachs.
The sleeping rooms are very big and every room has its own Toilet and Shower, big Kitchen enough room for 6 Persons and wonderful owner, we loved her and her dog :)
we all felt just like at home!!!
Thanks for that :)




Very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Almardon is spacious, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The owner is extremely friendly and welcoming.



Holiday at Callander

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Margaret is one of the nicest people you could meet , and ever so helpful with the knowledge of the area . The welcome tray was a nice touch .



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Almardon, Callander.

Comfortable accommodation in a great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, clean accommodation in a great location. Owners' welcome very much appreciated, along with great advice on places to visit. 3 great sized en-suite bedrooms.



Brilliant holiday - thank you!

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fab place! Location, location, location - you are a few minutes walk from a Tesco Express (daily newspapers and provisions!) and Callander town centre (eats, pubs, gift shops, amazing bread shop!) Going out of the garden gate at the back you are into wood and parkland a few minutes from the river. The river has safe bathing places for kids and I wished my adult son was a child again to enjoy this lovely river. Fantastic dog walks on the flat which pleased my octogenarian dad who came with us.
Inside it is well-equipped with a super-modern kitchen complete with washing machine, dish-washer, fridge freezer and a dining table. There is another dining table at one end of the spacious lounge which had ample seating for us and a free-view tv. The three bedrooms are large and airy and all en suite so no queuing at any time for the loo or a shower!
There were 4 in our party, my 88 year old dad, my partner, my sister and I, plus our 2 border terriers. We all agreed it was a fab place and perfectly suited to our needs. As it was all on one level, and given that the town and walks round about are on on the level, it is suited to a elderly and young alike. Kids would love the big garden with a slope to roll down and the gate leading directly into the light woodland and to the river.
The lovely lady owner was welcoming and very helpful about where to go for super walks and drives, and keeps Almardon in excellent condition. We had a great stay there and pass our thanks on to Margaret and her lovely wee dog, Skye. If we decide to go back to that area we will certainly try and book Almardon again.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Yvonne, Thank you so much for your kind review of Almardon. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Callander and the area and that everyone in your party was pleased with the accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Matthew

Love the almardon

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious house and we'll equipped. The house is in a great location for shops, restaurants and all the local walks including one at the garden gate. Margaret was lovely and welcoming and had loads of information about the area. It's great to find a House with such excellent standards that allowed my dog (bailey) to stay.
We will definitely be back and will be recommending it to friends and family.




Almardon

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very warm welcome from Margaret a very nice person and helpful too looked it that much booked for 2 weeks next year on our 2nd day of this holiday I would highly recommend this property to anyone



in a good location.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Conveniently situated for the trossachs national park, loch lomand and stirling area. Good restaurants in callander, nice walks at back of Almardon by the river.



Location, location, location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner met us on arrival and was really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area explained all about the accommodation. We found the accommodation to be of a very high quality and fully equipped. The accommodation is in a lovely area with a park, cycle track and shops in very close proximity. We have enjoyed our stay and booked to return.



An excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the accommodation very clean, spacious and tidy and had everything we required. It's position in Callendar itself was very convenient for the local shops and restaurants. The owner was very helpful and friendly and helped to make our stay very comfortable.



A great break in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the accommodation for a wee break just to recharge the batteries, after a warm welcome we were shown around very spacious and well appointed accommodation that was cleaned and maintained to a great standard.

Nothing seemed to have been overlooked, with a wee secltion of films, books and especially menus and guides to the local area.

Will seriously consider a return and most definitely recommend Almardon to friends and family.




Cooper Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and look forward to welcoming you back.

experience at Almardon

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all found the house extremely comfortable and its location in Callander was convenient for local amenities. Our only reservation was that the garden at the rear of the house was unusable for two of our party owing to its extremely steep slope. This meant that we could only sit outside at the front of the house, facing a very busy road!
Perhaps a small deck or level paved area should be considered? At any rate we felt that this aspect of the property could be made clearer to prospective guests.
All in all though, the house was well designed and comfortable enough to make up for the "Great Scottish Weather"!