FB Twitter

Walmer Apartment

Walmer Apartment

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Nestled within one of Bridge of Allan’s most historic buildings, Walmer Apartment Is a high quality, spacious, 2 bedroom apartment situated in the heart of the village.

Located on the first floor of the building and accessed from the original, sweeping, Victorian staircase, this well-proportioned apartment has a welcoming entrance hall which leads to a fantastic open plan, oak floored, kitchen/lounge providing you with all you need for a self-catering holiday: fridge freezer, washer/dryer, microwave, dishwasher, hob, oven and much more.

The dining area and lounge, boasting a full height bay window with side view aspect, has two, large comfortable sofas allowing you to relax watching TV after a hard day’s sightseeing.

Further down the hallway you will find the stylish, tiled bathroom with WC , hand basin and over bath shower. Located at the rear of the property, the master King size bedroom features two built in wardrobes, a tiled en-suite with shower, WC and wash hand basin.
The second double bedroom, which is also located at the rear of the property is ,again ,fitted with a wall of built in wardrobes .
High quality bed linen and towels are provided for you during your stay and you will find the apartment all made up and ready for you on arrival. A small welcome pack of fresh flowers, tea, coffee, milk and biscuits is also provided .
A travel cot and high chair can also be provided.

Well equipped, comfortable, lovely town!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were delighted with the Walmer Apartment and Bridge of Allan was perfect to stay in! There were lovely restaurants and the Main Street was adorable. The Tesco next door was an added bonus, and although the food was a bit more expensive, as is usual with a convenience store, it was such a convenience. The TV was great, the internet speed was fabulous, and all the furnishings were very comfortable. We chose the Stirling area thinking we could hit both Glasgow and Edinburgh via train there. We could not find a suitable place in Stirling, so settled on Bridge of Allan, which was more desirable in the end for us. We had secure, reserved parking, which was key for us. We stayed for a week, went to Edinburgh once, which was packed for the Fringe festival, and the castle there was overcrowded and, in my humble opinion, confusing to navigate and get a sense of the castles place in the overall history of Scotland. Stirling castle and the Wallace monument, both very close by, were much more enjoyable and informative and not nearly so touristy. We also visited Doune castle—very close by, and it was also very information of how life was in Scotland for less ‘royal’ people. I highly recommend reservations for dinner if you choose to go out. We went to some Italian restaurant right down the street and the Maitre d was downright rude to us as we did not have a reservation, but sat us at the door. But the baker in town, the butcher, and Tesco all made for lovely dinners at home. My one suggestion is to provide extra paper towels and toilet paper, as we ran out of both before the last day of our stay. We would highly recommend this property AND the location!

Carol from Jupiter stayed at Walmer Apartment for 7 nights in August 2019


Lovely property with great facilities in a prime location

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this property of a number of occasions when working at the university. It's a real 'home from home' in a great location close to the bars and restaurants in the Bridge of Allan and right next door to a Tesco Express for anything that you might need to buy.
It's immaculately clean, very comfortable and has everything you need to make your stay as easy as possible. With 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms its ideal for 2 couples or as, we are, 2 business colleagues who would rather stay in somewhere where can relax rather than in a hotel.


Kim from Altrincham stayed at Walmer Apartment for 3 nights in February 2019


Excellent Apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is well placed and appointed to create a fabulous base for a good time. Feel lucky to have found such a home from home. We will return when we visit our son at Stirling Uni.

Will from Burnley stayed at Walmer Apartment for 3 nights in November 2018


What’s not to like?

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a roomy, clean and well appointed apartment in a great location. We had a really good stay and will return.

William from Burnley stayed at Walmer Apartment for 3 nights in September 2018


Well-equipped, spacy and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The directions were perfect, as was the support from Stirling Self-Catering before and during our stay. The apartment is centrally located, with one supermarket next door and another just two minutes away. Bus stops are equally close; the train station is at an 8-10 minutes‘ walk. The apartment is large, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a lounge, a well-equipped kitchen, and enough storage space. And it is quiet, despite being on the A9. – One problem we faced was how to keep it cool (this was the sunny summer of 2018) and how to get fresh air in. The curtains in the (westward-facing) lounge refuse to be drawn; all we could do was use a clamp halfway down. Also, the only window that can be opened more than 10 cm is that in the second bedroom. However, on the whole, we were very happy here and this apartment will be our first choice if we go back to Bridge of Allan.

Guest from stayed at Walmer Apartment for 7 nights in July 2018


Excellent apartment in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apartment was clean modern spacious and quiet with everything provided for the stay. The apartment has 2 bathrooms which was very welcome and the kitchen facilities were very good. The apartment is very centrally located for visiting many places of interest and Bridge of Allan itself has many varied shops on offer.
All in all we had a an excellent stay in Walmer apartment.


Ian from stayed at Walmer Apartment for 3 nights in June 2018


Walmer Apartment, Bridge of Allen, near Stirling

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a well situated apartment in Bridge of Allen, a lovely village with useful shops on the doorstep and in a beautiful area close to Stirling. The apartment is spacious, attractive, very clean, warm, comfortable and quiet with private parking conveniently at the rear. It was well maintained and managed, with responsive managers to deal with any queries.
I have had several stays in apartments chosen from the Stirling Self Catering website. Stirling Self Catering is excellent, a very efficient, helpful, prompt, informative and reliable compan.y


Sarah from Rochester stayed at Walmer Apartment for 6 nights in May 2018


Great: very nice flat, fully equipped

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is cosy, very comfortable, in the heart of the village, and 20' walking (or direct bus) to the university.
Rooms are large, and the big windows let lot of light in.
The kitchen is fully equipped.


Amedeo from Barcelona stayed at Walmer Apartment for 7 nights in November 2017


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and you loved the quaint village, we would love for you to stay again in the future. Best Wishes

Lovely apartment in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here when visiting family near by so was a perfect location for us, but would also be really good for those looking to explore central Scotland more. Bridge of Allan is a really lovely small town with plenty of shops and eateries to cater for most requirements.
The apartment itself is lovely, really spacious and well furnished and very clean. There were a couple of little things that the owner could do to make it perfect but they did not detract from our stay. The mattress in the main bedroom could do with being better quality and the kitchen tap needs to be refitted but everything other than that was spot on.
Despite being in a central high street location we found it to be very quiet and we're not disturbed by any noise. The railway station is about a 10 minute walk and you can get a train into Edinburgh or north from here.
We would definitely use again if we need to.


Rebecca from Peterborough stayed at Walmer Apartment for 4 nights in October 2017


Lovely apartment in Bridge of Allan

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Walmer Apartment. It was spacious and very comfortable for 4 adults. The kitchen was fitted out with everything we needed to prepare our own meals. The welcoming bunch of fresh flowers was a lovely touch. Bridge of Allan is a pretty village and is a handy spot to do day trips from. Our booking, locating of the apartment, and key retrieval was made very easy by Kirsteen at Stirling Self Catering.

Frances from Brisbane stayed at Walmer Apartment for 3 nights in July 2017


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We are glad you loved the apartment and that you loved the quaint village - It was our pleasure to have you stay and we would be honoured to welcome you back again in the near future. Best Wishes x