FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Formerly the old stables and hayloft, this honey-coloured stone cottage is the perfect hideaway for families. The front door leads to a comfortable open plan sitting room with an old stone fireplace.

Highly recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hired 3 of the cottages with friends - they are great properties in a beautiful location.
Grounds of the house are amazing - on a lake with swans.
Pub near by.
I hope we will return next year.


Nova from stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in October 2018


Stag/birthday party

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages have an excellent location in the village, the grounds are fantastic and the rooms were great. Everything is provided for and you can just turn up and enjoy your stay. They answered any questions we had and were very laid back about our stay. We would strongly recommend upper court for any type of group, if it's a family holiday or a birthday party. We would all come back again

George from Great Barford stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in February 2018


Winter tonic

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went in the gap between Christmas and New Year to unwind in the countryside. It was me, my husband and two boys 18 and 12. We stayed in the converted Stable block which was lovely, spacious and comfortable with lots of interesting pictures and books to look at. The kitchen was well equipped and my husband was able to cook lots of delicious meals. There was plenty for the boys to do: they enjoyed bouncing on trampoline,gazing at the landscape from the swings, walking around the lake and having a go at rowing, playing table tennis in the games room. Highights for them were walking through the snowy fields in the winter sunlight to the bird sanctuary and then decorating mugs in the pottery studio. My eldest who is also on the autistic spectrum said it was great just to have space to run around and then be quiet when needed.
We came back feeling energised and revitalised - it was a real winter tonic.


Lucy from London stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in December 2017


Another visit to Upper Court after 33 years

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Upper Court where we had stayed in The Stables with our daughter when she was two years old. This time her husband came along and we rented both the Stables and The Dovecote. It was fun to see the Stables again and to see the lovely cottage that the dovecote has become. We were more than satisfied with our accommodations. The best part of all was reconnecting with the owners, Diana and Bill Herford, who were just as friendly as they had been long ago.

The location is ideal as Kemerton is not as crowded as other Cotswold towns and thus very quiet, but very beautiful. Sitting at the base of Bredon Hill, there is good hiking and other Cotswold areas are just a drive away. The Crown Inn, the pub just down the road, serves delicious food in a lovely atmosphere. We liked it so much we went back every night during our visit.


Lynda from Wilmette stayed at The Stables for 5 nights in November 2017


Overnight stay for swimming, boating and pottery workshop

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Stables at Upper Court for a relaxing two day break before the start of the new school year. There is so much to do at here we had no need to leave the grounds except to have dinner at the local pub on the first night. The children enjoyed swimming - and playing tennis and table tennis just moments from our holiday cottage. The house itself was well equipped and the bedrooms especially cosy. A highlight was the upstairs wet room which was perfect for warming up after an early evening swim - in fact it was hard to drag the children back out to change for supper. We took part in a workshop in the pottery studio which was great fun and Auriol gave everyone enough help to ensure that we all went home with our own usable plate cup or bowl - even though we had never used a potter's wheel before. The visit ended with an hour on the lake teaching the children to row in one of the boats which are left on the bank for guests to use. The lake is shallow and sheltered and the perfect place to learn- not something most holiday cottages have on their doorstep! We would love to come back for another visit.

Charlotte from stayed at The Stables for 1 nights in August 2017


An Excellent Family Gathering Location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Upper Court. It was an excellent place for our large family gathering - we had 14 adults and 8 children of varying ages, so we booked The Stables, the Courtyard Cottage and the Coach House . There was no problem fitting us all in and sorting out who was sleeping where and being able to borrow cots and high chairs saved having to bring them. The children thoroughly enjoyed themselves making the most of the pool, the play area and the boating on the lake. The bonus for the adults was the large lounge/dining area where the whole party could eat and in the evening we were all able to relax together as baby alarms worked between the properties.
Some of our party were unlucky to pick up a tummy bug and the owners were most helpful and accommodating over this.
Thanks for a wonderful weekend - we are looking to repeat it again another year.


Claire from Eastleigh stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in August 2017


NYE stay - large group of friends

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in all the holiday cottages at Upper Court over New Years eve and we had a lovely, comfortable stay. The properties are close to the village and nearby some nice walks. The Crown Inn pub is 5 minutes walk down the road and we had an excellent roast dinner there.

Some of the cottages have interesting bedroom configurations with 3 person and 4 person rooms and it was tricky to sort our group out but we got there in the end. There is a bed upstairs in the Dovecote that would only suit parents and children really, not 3 adults.

Thank you for a lovely stay.


Sophie from Stoke Newington stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in December 2016


Brilliant 30th birthday venue

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
See my review on courtyard cottage. We combined the Stables and Courtyard cottage and had an amazing stay

Emma from St Helens stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in November 2016


Birthday Surprise

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables were occupied by five relatives who were very pleased with the accommodation and location.

Christine from stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in November 2016


Ideal for a week away from the office

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We used the Stables and the Courtyard for a week long coding event for eight software engineers. It worked perfectly, was very comfortable, and we got a lot done in a beautiful setting.

Matthew from Birmingham stayed at The Stables for 4 nights in September 2016


A late getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing family break, booked at last minute as a surprise. It was excellent for our 2 children with plenty to do to keep them occupied. The Stables were a nice place to stay and had everything you needed. There were a couple of things I needed changing and it was no trouble for them. There did seem a lot of flies about. I think it would be worth investing in a new rowing boat as this was a lovely thing to do. Overall we had a lovely stay with great weather!

Andrew from Poole stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in August 2016


Diana replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, unfortunately being near a lake and farm, flies are part of country life, and we should have left you some spray. Out of interest with such a low scoring on value for money, we wonder who you are comparing us with, as we do strive to be great value for money, even when you are not on a special offer.

Beautiful place and lovely hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Stables and the Courtyard cottages last weekend for a hen weekend. The cottages and grounds are beautiful and well kept by the owners, who work around the clock to keep it all looking lovely, the gardens are simply stunning.
We swam in the covered pool and went for a surprisingly good lunch at the Crown pub, 3 minutes down the road.
The showers had good pressure! :)

The owners were super nice, approachable yet unintrusive. I wish I could have stayed longer!
It's the kind of place one can only dream of coming back to at some point.


Elite from stayed at The Stables for 3 nights in July 2016


Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family reunion and booked the properties at Uppercourt,it was exactly right,whole place is fantastic, beautiful surroundings and Bill and Diana are lovely helpful people. Thank you

Melanie from stayed at The Stables for 14 nights in April 2016