FB Twitter

Tigh an Aullt

Tigh an Aullt

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


Overlooking Loch Duich is Tigh An Aullt, a wonderful three bedroom cottage accommodating up to six. The tastefully decorated property, popular with families and couples sits at the foot of the Five Sisters of Kintail and benefits from some of the most beautiful views, as well as welcoming wildlife to its garden.

Fantastic cottage. Stunning views.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tigh an Aullt is a very comfortable cottage with the most stunning views of any cottage we’ve ever stayed in. All in a magical and beautiful setting at the foot of the five sisters of Kintail. The views across Loch Duich took our breath away when we entered the cottage. The view changes daily with the weather, the light, the clouds, the mist, the rain, the sun… everything is altered with each sunrise and sunset. We sat watching the wildlife from the comfort of the living room before or after heading out to travel the local areas. We observed a White Tailed Eagle, Golden Eagles, Seals, and all manner or other bird life, all from the cottage, as well as when we were out exploring. Walks at dawn on the foreshore of the loch, as well as up the river and through the nearest Glen were stunning. The bedrooms were warm and comfortable, the sauna was a lovely extra comfort after a long day walking, and the fire in the living room was another bonus. Breakfast each morning from the breakfast bar in the kitchen was fantastic, yet more incredible views! The kitchen was well equipped with cutlery and plenty of tableware. The only very minor grumble was that there was no tea towel or dishwasher tablet to be found on our arrival - so washing and drying up on the first night, before we could get to a shop, was a bit tricky! I’m sure this was just an oversight rather than a regular issue, or perhaps we just couldn’t find what we were looking for. We also had an issue with the internet connection which was totally out of the owners control, and one that they were actively trying to deal with. The contact we had with Lynn & Roger was brilliant. They are wonderful owners to deal with, and went above and beyond to make sure we were kept informed of everything we needed to know and were very helpful. We won’t hesitate to go back to Tigh an Aullt, it is a truly fantastic cottage with the most spectacular views that just have to be seen to be believed.



Lovely, peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three of us stayed in this cottage for 6 so we had plenty of room. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed using the sauna after a hard day on the hills. All the listed facilities were present and in good order. A slight mix up left us with insufficient towels on arrival, but this was swiftly rectified after a phone call to the owner. We would be very happy to use this cottage again.



Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage. Great location for us as Munro Baggers and the views from the lounge were superb.



Cottage with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here three times now and it won't be our last. A fantastic home from home with amazing views from all windows. Even if the weather isn't great just sitting in the living room looking at the panoramic views is something we'd never tire of.
Cottage is spacious and has all amenities you could want. Great location too with lots of walks from the doorstep.




Paradise in the mountains

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for hillwalking and touring. Great views from lounge of lochs and mountains - spectacular sunsets (weather dependant). Wildlife in garden - badger, buzzard, sparrows, siskins, robins, blackbirds and more. Seals nearby and deer just off road. On previous occasion pine marten visited.

Great lounge. Nice well equipped kitchen and utility room. Comfortable beds.

Great food and beer at Dornie Lodge. Wide selection of good eating and dining in Plockton also nearby Kintail Lodge and Clunie Inn.

Small shop selling bread, milk, ready meals, ice cream, frozen food 5 min walk away.




Very comfortable cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with great views of Loch Duich. Spacious and well looked after. The sun room was a great place to spend time relaxing. Perfect location for walking the hills of Kintail.



Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tigh na Ault cottage is one of the best cottages we have stayed in, clean warm well equipped and very welcoming.It has the most spectacular views with being situated on the hillside. Peace and tranquillity abundant wild life and plenty of lovely walks. This was the perfect holiday for us and I would definitely recommend this cottage for exploring the highlands.I celebrated a special Birthday there and on walking into the kitchen on the day of arrival was greeted with a Birthday card a bottle of wine and some delicious shortbread which was a lovely gesture, very thoughtful and kind, we had a very enjoyable stay and hope to return next year. Many thanks.



Always delivers

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have styed here on several occasions, the views are stunning. Cottage has always offered a great deal, this year we found some changes. A new multifuel burner has been installed in the lounge, which is super efficient. This is an ideal location for those who want to explore or simply want a place of peace and quiet.



Beautiful location, excellent base to explore area

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, views from all rooms of glens and lochs. Owners only a phone call away with any queries.Very comfortable excellent facilities. Wifi slow/ intermittent.



A wonderful cottage bywith a waterfall by its side and fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped cottage in a stunning location. Lovely en suite bedroom and good twin room, the bunk bedroom was a wee bit cramped for adult use as we did but then probablyonly meant for children.
The extension to the lounge gives superb views of the lochs and mountains with the added bonus of watching the rise and fall of the water in the waterfall
dry days it's a gentle flow but if you get heavy rainy days as we did it becomes a raging torrent Walks galore in nearby Morvich but there is a walk up the mountain from the cottage,it's steep and narrow but the views are worth the struggle.




The place to go for 'Peace perfect peace' .

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the place to go if you want 'Peace perfect peace' !! Amazing cottage with all you could want and need for a week away from it all ! The owners clearly care about the visitors providing everything to make your stay perfect! Quality is excellent with extras like a lovely new stove to delight the eye! The house is so cosy from the very efficient central heating but the stove on a frosty night is kind of special. The wild life can be amazing to watch from the cottage and the views are spectacular ! Plenty of parking area too. Looking forward to another visit !



Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a lovely place to stay. Great location, comfortable, well equipped, brilliant views and a sense of light and openness as well as being a great place to hang out when the weather turns nasty. Unfortunately the pine marten steered clear.



Lovely views, fantastic location, lots of wildlife, very comfortable house.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The photos do not do justice to this house, it was far more spacious and comfortable than we expected. The kitchen was really well equipped and it had a very useful utility area and a nice big porch with a rack for boots. The open views from the sitting room and kitchen and the garden views in the master bedroom were lovely.
The Isle of Skye and charming mainland villages like Applecross and Plockton are an easy drive away. We had a very memorable holiday full of walks, waterfalls and beautiful rainbows. The wildlife in the garden was a bonus.




TAA

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
No central heating or hot water for several days despite calls to owners and other contact. Problem with central heating resolved 2 day before departure.
.




Peacefull week

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is the right place to relax, connect with nature and all the good energies arround you. Just let your soul be. We have seen lots of different birds from the the windows. The rooms are spacious and wellcoming. I‘d come back anytime, I liked it very much! Thank you




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Ruth, so glad you enjoyed Tigh an Aullt, I have stayed there myself and know exactly what you mean. Remeber www.tighanaulltcottage.co.uk for next time. Regards Harry

Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have felt more comfortable at Tigh An Aullt. Everything about the property was excellent, from the location, the views, the furnishings and decor, comfort of the bed, kitchen equipment, We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property and would book again if we decide to re-visit the area.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Linda, thanks for the lovely review about Tigh an Aullt, it's a very unique place. Cheers Harry

Excellent cottage in excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in an excellent location. Nice and tidy and cosy. A great base to explore Skye and Wester Ross



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Robert, thanks for leaving a lovely reviw and so glad you enjoyed Tigh an Aullt. We would love to welcome you back so please remeber www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry