FB Twitter

The Stables at Parkgate

The Stables at Parkgate

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.2
Location
4.4
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


The Stables at Parkgate near Barnstaple in North Devon accommodate up to 12 in six en-suite bedrooms. The dog friendly property, which is within easy reach of Exmoor and the North Devon coast has been tastefully decorated throughout and is perfect for families or groups of friends. Guests can also take advantage of the onsite facilities, including tennis court, games room and children's play area.

Stunning week in North Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables at Parkgate was a perfect location for us. It is a large, beautifully appointed house in the heart of beautiful countryside but within easy reach of Barnstable and lovely places to visit, (Lynmouth, Instow, Hartland Quay, Appledore, Coombe Martin etc).
Every bedroom has an en suite bathroom, there is a huge dining room and comfy and again large sitting room. There is a fine patio for outside dining when the weather is fine. The whole place has a homely feel to it. There are excellent entertainment facilities including table football and all the equipment is provided - tennis and pingpong rackets and balls.
we had a lovely welcome with a beautifully light Victoria sponge cake, wine and milk laid on. Highly recommended!




Smith Family Stay at The Stables

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant weeks stay at The Stables Parkgate Tawstock.
A splendid family cottage with so much room for my family.
Lots of games to play and a lovely tennis court to use.
A beautiful view over the fields and countryside and the added gorgeous weeks weather made our stay wonderful.
A very well equipped kitchen and I can’t think of anything that was missing that we needed to use.
As it was very hot some fans would have been nice but luckily we brought a couple from home.
I would recommend this cottage to anyone and especially to a large family like mine.




Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property. Very well furnished with everything you could possibly need and comfortable beds. Welcome cake and wine left which was a lovely surprise and much enjoyed! Plenty of outdoor space. Would definitely book again.
Due to COVID arrival and departure times were different to usual.., arriving at 5pm. Departure by 9am. This was the only thing we’d change. Everything else was perfect.
Thank you!




Good country holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely country location but within easy reach of the North Devon coastline and towns.
We had one problem with a room on arrival but put right immediately by the owners who live close by.
Well appointed comfortable house, would recommend.
We visited during Covid restrictions, so no local information, books, games etc available. Not a problem to us as
we had taken our own supply of information.




A restful break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at The Stables at Parkgate.

The house is well equipped and comfortable, and is ideally located in the country with only a 25 minute drive to the coast, so you get the best of both.

The hot weather attracted lots of flies and butterflies but this reduced when the weather cooled.

A very enjoyable week.





Great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks so much for a lovely short stay. Spent 3 nights here which were wonderful. The property was immaculately tidy and located in a beautiful spot. Would definitely stay here again.

Neil - September 2020




Dissapointed

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Property was nice. But there was hundreds of flies. Needed electric fly zappers. The lawn to tennis court had not been mown. But Thursday the day before we left someone came to mow it. Also felt we lost 3 hours as we couldn’t get in till 5 . And had to be out by 9 which I was told was because house had to be left empty which I can understand under present circumstances we had to strip beds which we always do but normally have extra hour. The cleaner arrived at 9. We had to pay same. I don’t think it would take 8 hours to clean. So only had 6 days instead of 6.5



Perfect for family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Stables is perfect for a group get together. Plenty of room for us all to be together in the lounge, dining room or kitchen yet also enough space to take a quiet spot if the mood takes you. Kitchen so well equipped with plenty of plates etc (so many places only supply 1 place setting per person). We used a private caterer one evening (Le Frog from Tiverton) which was excellent and added to the whole celebration. The views are lovely. Beware no mobile signal but the Wifi was OK. All the bedrooms were lovely and each having its own bathroom is a rarity in large properties. Owners are nearby if you need them and very helpful. Lovely cake and wine was awaiting our arrival which was much appreciated. Although we were very early in January the Xmas tree and some tasteful decorations were still there which was another nice touch. We all agreed we'd like to go back as soon as we can figure out the timing. Can't recommend highly enough.



Lovely place for a big family get-together!

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Stables for a week, a family party of 11 of three generations. We found it clean, warm, roomy and well equipped (although the instructions for the Range cooker assumed some previous knowledge!). The kitchen was particularly spacious, and the island feature leant itself to serve-yourself meals.
The layout meant that the gamers did not clash with the TV watchers, and vice versa.




Great for family get away

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great property for family get away. Location wonderful for exploring North Devon, then back for a round of tennis whilst dinner cooking. Our children (all in their 30's) really enjoyed it.



A very happy Easter

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family vacation at the Stables over Easter.There was four families and we had plenty of room to have our own space as well as great spaces for us all to come together. The six bedrooms were excellent with most being en-suite. Nobody was unhappy with their rooms. The outside space was lovely with plenty of parking. The tennis court was great and we had our own version of Wimbledon. A great place to stay in an excellent location for visiting north Devon



New Year 2018

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three families getting together to celebrate New Year in style. The cottage is amazing, the kitchen is well equipped, the seating is plentiful and very comfortable and the dining table is enormous!

The 6 en-suite bedrooms were beautifully decorated, and it was a luxury for everyone to have their own bathroom. It is very rare to find enough en-suite bedrooms at a reasonable price. The only slight negative is that 3 of the bathrooms had baths with hand held shower attachments, rather than proper showers.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. There was even a cake and a bottle of wine to welcome us on arrival.




Harry Roberts replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lorna, thank you very much for writing a lovely review for Stables, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Please remember www.thestablesparkgate.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk Thanks Harry