FB Twitter

The Shippen at Wheel Farm (4-6)

The Shippen at Wheel Farm (4-6)

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.2


The pretty three bedroom Shippen at Wheel Farm sleeps up to four guests, who are welcome to take advantage of the excellent onsite leisure facilities, including an indoor heated swimming pool.

Toilet broken on arrival and a makeshift resolution found by owner, fridge full of water

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Very disappointed, hired house and two cottages for a family holiday. The Shippen cottage had a broken toilet and a fridge full of water, also a bin full of rubbish . Pool was too cold, so children were reluctant to use it



Lovely setting

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful location with excellent facilities for everyone. We enjoyed walking the grounds, listening to the birds and our dog loved the large canine paddock. Plenty of places to visit and so many walks. Super swimming pool and tennis court.
Would definitely recommend and hope to return. A real gem.




You don’t get what you pay for

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We have just got back from a week long stay at Wheel Farm Cottages and were disappointed.

First off, we didn’t receive our access code so when we got there at 8.30 pm at night with two exhausted young kids we couldn’t get in to our cottage. When we finally got through to the owner, no apology for forgetting to send just oh I’ll give it to you now.

The cottage itself smelt really musty and the carpet and sofas look worn. The mattress in the main bedroom was hard as rock.

The shower is only electric and there’s only a little bit of water that comes out. Be warned if you try to wash your hair the hot water will stop you then need to stand there and wait for a few mins and then turn it back on for hot water.

The Wi-Fi didn’t work till our last day there and every time we tried to contact the owner he kept saying it was getting fixed soon but looking at this site this has been an issue for a while. He is not apologetic about ANYTHING.

We had no reception so needed to wait till we left to try and plan our days out etc.

All this we could cope with but the main issue was the FREEZING swimming pool. My poor kids got in once and came out with their teeth chattering. Every time we tried to contact the owner to ask about this he kept making up stories about doors being left open covers not being put on etc but looking at this site now this has been an issue since February!

The main reason we booked this cottage was because of the pool and we didn’t get any use out of it at all because it was so cold.

Two of the days we were there it rained and we couldn’t even use the pool.

The laundry room was ok but no instruction etc on how to use the washing machine or anything we just had to figure ourselves.

All in all we would not stay there again and would advise you to go there only if you are happy to accept a freezing pool and dodgy Wi-Fi.

The ‘kids playground’ is not much to look at either and has stinging nettle around it. Just unloved and uncared for.

There’s no extra care or attention for guests at all it’s the bare minimum only.




A lovely place to stay and easy access to activities

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very well equipped, kitchen you couldn't ask for more. The farm was lovely, washing facilities, park for the young ones. The hosts couldn't be more helpful and were contactable 247. Unfortunately the weather was not great and we were stuck inside the majority of stay, however the smart TV was a godsend! We dud find the pool a great size, however a little cold for the kids, although the pool room itself was very warm. The single beds were very cozy, duvets and blankets provided very warm. The double bed a little hard but a topper would sort that out easily. You are only 10 minutes from tesco and 20 from Barnsable Town. All in all we would definitely recommend.



Beautiful week in Devon.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had lovely October weather for our week at Shippen.
Good location and comfortable accommodation.
The pool and sauna were an added bonus.




Very beautiful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Would have all been higher, as had a beautiful stop, but pool was always very cold, despite telling someone, and being told it was fixed the same day, it was still way too cold for my 2 year old (and me) but apart from that everything else was very much above standard



Amanda, My Favourite Cottage replied 330 days ago
Hi Sam, We are sorry for the issue you faced with the swimming pool temperature. There has been an issue with the circulation pump, so heat was not getting into the pool the way it should and it meant the temperature was not reaching the 30C that we aim for. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Wheel Farm in the future.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week to celebrate a big birthday as part of our annual holiday, our family of 4 here and our parents and their dog in the Hayloft. It was delayed due to covid but we were happy to be away. Cottage was lovely, kitchen could do with another cupboard for food storage, as most of the cupboards are already full with pots/pans/cooking trays/glassware etc, so no issue there! The rooms are comfy, would suit a young family more rather than my 2 pre-teens, as it's a bit snug on space, even in the master bedroom, but functional. Nice bathroom, needs a shelf or something for toothpaste etc and the shower is functional but akin to standing under a rain cloud, so don't expect too much, but it does the job. The area is lovely, loads of space, altho we never found the tennis courts. Kids enjoyed the pool but it was a bit too cold and due to covid the sauna was out of bounds. Covid again stopped us from visiting the local attractions, due to them having limited numbers and being fully booked. The weather wasn't great so that didn't help, but we had a restful week away and the coastal scenery is stunning. I think overall, Alli & Richard were great and the site is great, but we prefer more space in accommodation and we've all agreed we prefer South Devon. The area reminded me of Derbyshire or Yorkshire. We couldn't find much to do and I think the area is better for couples and young families/dog owners. Great stay but won't be returning.



Fantastic holiday cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week in The Shippen and were greeted warmly on arrival by Richard. The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything we needed. It was set in a really peaceful part of the courtyard and had access to lovely little pathways and places for our children to explore. The swimming pool booking system worked well, although you do need to rely on knowing what time you plan to be home, which isn't always possible on holiday and once we missed our slot. The pool was lovely and a great bonus in the rainy weather!
The cottage is near to lot's of attractions and we also had a lovely meal out at The Pyne Arms which came recommended by Rich and Ali.
The only negative thing we would mention is the double bed in the main bedroom. It is really uncomfortable and noisy every time one of us moved! I would definitely consider a new bed as it did leave us tired from poor sleep.
Apart from that we had a really lovely week away, Rich and Ali have done a fantastic job on the cottages and we would definitely visit again (if a new bed was on offer!)




Lovely stay at Wheel Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I enjoyed a lovely stay at Wheel Farm Cottages. The Cottage itself was very comfortable and in an idyllic setting with plenty of space to roam around outside. The swimming pool was brilliant, and shallow enough at one end for my 5 year old to stand up, which made things a lot more relaxing for me! The location of the cottages is really good - it is within a very short drive of several villages, towns and beautiful beaches. We enjoyed days out to Combe Dinosaur and Wildlife Park, Woolacombe beach, Combe Martin beach, Ilfracombe (where we went on a boat trip to see seals) and Clovelly, and none of these require much time in the car. I would definitely recommend staying here.



We had a brilliant week away. The owners were really mindful of Covid 19 and we felt really safe.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing restful time.
The owners were so kind and helpful.

It was lovely to enjoy the peace and quiet of Devon in an amazing place. Thank you




A comfortable and relaxing break with great value for money

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although The Shippen is not the largest of holiday cottages, it was perfectly comfortable for our needs and great value for money. It was quiet and private, and there is plenty of space in the grounds for social distancing from other families. The booking system to allow social distancing in the pool was fair, and we loved being able to have the whole pool to ourselves.



We absolutely loved our hoilday staying at the Shippen, very clean and cosy.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will definitely visit again, the Shippen ticked all the boxes. Loved the swimming pool, specifically because it was very clean and the location was fabulous. Thank you



Our fabulous week at Wheel Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for having us the Shippen cottage. A really enjoyable and relaxing holiday was had by all. Nero (the old Staffie) spent most of the time relaxing by the front door of the cottage and we were and we made good use of your indoor swimming pool on the couple of rainy days that we had. Our toddler was particularly delighted to find so many toys to play with in the pool. The short drive to the supermarket in Ilfracombe made it easy for us to stock up on supplies. We will be back!



July 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location exceptional. Sandwiched between Woolacombe, somewhere we adore, and picturesque Combe Martin. We would recommend bike hire on the Tarka Trail in Barnstaple and Sea Kayaking in Combe Martin. A walk along Woolacombe Beach to the lovely wee restaurant at Putsburgh Sands is well worth it as is a walk round Morte Point. Food wise, The Red Barn in Woolacombe is brilliant. Because we were out and about so much we didn't spend that much time in our accommodation. However, we were impressed by the cleanliness of The Shippin, the friendlieness of the staff and the excellent leisure facilities. All in, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would highly recommend this place



Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alli and Richard were so lovely and helpful from the minute we arrived (we also really enjoyed the double yolker eggs from Richard!) Shippen was a lovely cottage with everything that we needed. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location for the beaches and towns around and the swimming pool was fantastic as the weather wasn’t too brilliant. We had our Sainsbury’s shop delivered to the door which was so easy and so helpful to have washing facilities available (especially travelling with a 4 year old and baby!) definitely recommend Wheel Farm as a place to stay! Would love to come back!



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Emily, thanks for leaving a lovely review, the eggs seem to be proving a big hit. Remeber www.wheelfarmcottages.co.uk for next time. Cheers Harry

Spotless and well equipped

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The warmest of welcomes, very clean and well equipped accommodation, pool and sauna were lovely. Can’t wait to come again! Many thanks



COSY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed here with a friend whilst we were attending a Parchment Craft Weekend about a mile away at Perfect Parchment.
We were very happy with the facilities, everything in the cupboards in the kitchen was new, they even left us a pint of milk, four duck eggs and some butter!
The bedrooms were lovely, the two small single ones were a little small, and didn’t have any wardrobe space but hanging brackets with hangers were on the back if the door, The bathroom immaculate...
The are extension leads attached to the lamps in the bedrooms and one near the television downstairs.
It’s a very comfortable and quiet place to spend a few days or a holiday, only about ten minutes to the sea and there is a large Tesco quite near.
I would stay there again, and would recommend it if you want some space to yourself, with some lovely walks.




Excellent holiday.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice location. Near to everything. Houses very comfortable and very well equipped.Part of a large party all well catered for.