FB Twitter

The Linhay at Wheel Farm (4-6)

The Linhay at Wheel Farm (4-6)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.5


The Linhay comfortably sleeps up to four in two bedrooms and is located at Wheel Farm where guests can take advantage of excellent onsite leisure facilities or set off exploring North Devon, which is home to Exmoor and some of the best beaches in the UK.

Linhay - an appreciation

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
When we arrived at Wheel Farm, at around 5pm, there was no one at reception. It turns out that the new owners had a significant problem with the properties, and staffing, but tried their best to answer queries etc when they were on site. The whole complex was very impressive and when refurbished will be brilliant. Linhay was comfortable, but would be very overcrowded if the maximum 6 people were accommodated.



Our week at Wheel Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wheel Farm is a cute complex with communal seating/table areas, you are very close to your neighbours so thankfully we had nice families staying the same week. The pool pump did break when we were there, so we had to make alternative arrangements on those days, which was a shame but these things happen. The Tennis courts were a bit abandoned and no equipment provided which would have been handy and the play area could do with some focus but my teens were too old for that anyway! WIFI was fine all week (having 2 teens this is critical!).

The cottage had everything we needed and what we didn't have we borrowed from my Dad who was next door but one! Although we took most things with us we did have to buy cleaning cloths and spray to clean the kitchen. We had a Tesco delivery when we arrived and that worked really well. There isn't loads of space in the cottage, so think 4 was the max I'd suggest in there. Bed was comfy so slept really well! We cooked 4 nights and went to the Pack of Cards pub twice, which was nice.

You do have to drive to get anywhere, even Combe Martin is a 8-10 min drive but we enjoyed going there most days for a coffee and ice cream and then ventured to Ilfracombe, Woolacombe etc on other days, but the cottages are really central to the main roads out of Combe Martin.

The site doesn't have loads to do but it depends what you are looking for, its a good base for North Devon exploring.




A wonderful place for a holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, really clean and well kept cottage and facilities, friendly and helpful owners… It was just what we needed after a busy year! Our only slight problem was the temperature of the pool, it was too cold for the baby (and my husband) so we didn’t end up using it as much as we would have otherwise. But overall we had a wonderful time, thank you!



Excellent accommodation in a great area

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Linhay as part of a group booking for a week with 4 other couples. All 10 of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Rich and Allie were really welcoming and helpful with lots of advice and tips about the local area.
The cottage was very well equipped and was spotless when we arrived. The welcome and departure procedures were simple and efficient.
We did not use many of the on-site facilities, although some of our group went swimming in the indoor pool.
Definitely recommended!




Comfortable for a family of 4 with 2 children

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is adjacent to the Barn where the rest of the family group, and dogs stayed., and was not used for much cooking.or entertainment. So a full review is not provided as the larger facilities of The Barn formed a large part of our facilities.. The lovely gardens and grounds, daily fun in the pool, and nearness to walks and seaside were valued.




Lovely quiet place to stay with so much to do

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay in Linhay at Wheel Farm Cottages. A fabulous little cottage just right for a family of four with all the space you need to run around or relax outside. The pool was fabulous (especially with the 'sign up for an hour' sheet), and the girls made great friends with some of the other kids (and all of the dogs!).

Alli and Richard were so friendly, and sorted things out so quickly. It's such a quiet site just up the hill from Combe Martin, and they obviously keep it so clean and well maintained.

There's so much to do all around the North Devon coastline, and Exmoor. Special thanks to OSKC for taking us standup paddleboarding in Combe Martin bay. We would come back just for fish and chips from Black & White, or for the Sunday roast at Chichester Arms. Of the sandy beaches, Saunton Sands was best for us as much less busy than Croyde or Woolacombe, but we also enjoyed the Heddon valley walk and clambering around and exploring the rocky bay at the mouth of the river.




Fantastic Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Linhay cottage at Wheel Farm, was a perfect base for our family holiday, a fantastic location, very high standard of accommodation, set on lovely grounds, with a wonderful indoor pool on site.

The owners made us feel very welcomed and we will be returning next year. Many thanks.




Holiday at Wherl Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a fabulous week at Feb half term with children in Linhay, great indoor pool, lovely clean cottage and fabulous hosts, 2nd stay at Wheel Farm, children always want to return, great location for Exmoor and beaches too.



Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing holiday staying at Wheel Farm. Lovely cottage kitted out with everything we needed. We made use of the swimming pool everyday which was a real hit with our children. We loved exploring the area and making use of the fabulous beaches no matter what the weather!



Group of families for birthday celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The warmest of welcomes, very clean and well equipped accommodation, pool and sauna were lovely. This cottage is very cosy, with only a couple steps leading to it and the rest on a flat level it’s ideal for those less mobile. Can’t wait to come again! Many thanks



Very pleased

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well equipped,clean and comfortable.Good position for a number of beaches and places to visit. The pool was a real bonus and very close by. Very friendly and welcoming and would book cottage again. There was a large group of us so we booked three cottages which were near to each other which made it really nice



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Alan, thanks for the good review and glad you had a good time. Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Remember to look at www.wheelfarmcottages.co.uk. Cheers Harry