FB Twitter

The Farmhouse at Wheel Farm (10-12)

The Farmhouse at Wheel Farm (10-12)

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Sleeping 10-12 guests is The Farmhouse, a lovely family and group friendly holiday home located at Wheel Farm near Combe Martin. Guests staying at The Farmhouse can take advantage of the excellent onsite facilities or head off to explore the beautiful local area with Woolacombe, Exmoor and Ilfracombe all within easy reach.

Nice house , car needed to get anywhere

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice house ,needed a car, a bit in the middle of nowhere. Rented house and two cottages for a family holiday, the house was by far the best accommodation



Generally good, some relatively minor issues could be improved

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kitchen equipment generally good, but insufficient quantity of cutlery.
I requested by email (and you confirmed) a high chair and cot, but no high chair was provided. I found the cot after telephoning the caretaker, it would have been nice if that had already been assembled.
I was surprised there was no documentation, eg relating to instructions for appliances, where to dispose of rubbish.
Garden had recently had work done, in particular tree branches removed, and not cleared away. Some paths were blocked by these branches.
Garden furniture looks rather tired, eg chairs need varnishing.
BBQ not cleaned out.
Perhaps a sign at the entrance to the communal garden area encouraging guests to pick up their dog’s poo would be helpful - it was not nice for children to come across.
Children’s play area also looking rather tired.




Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked the Farmhouse at Wheel Farm back in January after going through so many different options for our party, 8 adults, 2 babies and a child. We were very happy with what we booked and overall had a very enjoyable stay. The house was clean, spacious and comfortable.

A few things, the boiler is a combi setup which is great for hot water on demand however when you have several people needing to shower at once it’s not great. As soon as someone’s turns a tap or uses another shower you lose hot water and pressure. This means for a party of 8, we all had to shower one by one. We managed it and all was fine, just a little annoying.

The living room was huge and plenty of space for the little ones to run around and play. There is a red sofa bed and two armchairs, they are a bit old and have seen a better days. I would think they probably need replacing.

Location wise, Wheel Farm is great for exploring. Everything was within 30 minutes and so easy to get around.

We would definitely come back to Wheel Farm.





Our family stay May/June 2022

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Good Bits: 8 adults 3 kids and a baby so we booked the Farmhouse. An ideal size with 3 bathrooms and plenty of room.
inside was clean and homely.
Bad Bits: outside was untidy with Lawn not mown ( the lawn man came the day before we left), overgrown weeds, no parasols for outside benches which were in need of some TLC, dead crow at rear of house and the indoor pool water temp was well below expected. We had the owner come over without notice on our first day to remove the tumble as he had sold it, though there was tumble drying facilities on site when you pay a large amount of money for a holiday home that advertises a utility room with washerdryer you expect it to be there in-house.
I understand that there has been a change in ownership recently so I hope the new owners get a better handle on some of the things that need doing, potentially it has a lot going for it so give it time I guess.




FARMHOUSE WHEEL FARM - BUCKLEY FAMILY

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage perfect and in an excellent position for exploring the area.
Amenities on site needed a little attention




Family Break Ages 3-75

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Property and location ideal, play area and pool an added bonus. Communication regarding some issues was poor, for example : finding keys, finding lockbox, finding out about when & how to access pool, spare beds & bedding not available, some dog fouling around entrance to grass area and tarmac, some lost property items-presumably from previous guests. The pool was exceptionally cold. We were told that it had taken a long time to get an engineer to fix pool temp. but it was now ready. I reported all these issues on return and was told that the owners were new & still familiarising themselves with certain points. We were also told that the pool was the correct temp. for recreational pools, We are all keen swimmers and regularly use indoor pools which should never be overly warm but this water left us feeling icy.



Great cottage for family celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage was warm and cosy despite being large. Furnishings were of a high standard and it was well equipped. Beds were lovely and comfy. Cottage had its own garden as well as lots of communial areas to walk/play. The kitchen/diner is however small for 10 and the swimming pool was rather cold. Sauna was great though.

It was a great place for a memorable birthday celebration and everyone enjoyed themselves.




Farmhouse at Wheel Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the Farmhouse, lovely location, great facilities and the Farmhouse had everything we needed for a great stay, only one downside was the beds could have been a bit more comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to all.



Well pleased

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delighted to say the farm house was beautiful ,cosy and very spaciouse , everything you needed for a family of 6 adults and 4 children aged 7 to 16 , the surrounding gardens were amazing , plenty of room for the children to run around , we used the tennis court and loved the swimming pool , used every day . Hospitality was excellent we wer left to our own devises and this gave to a relaxed atmosphere during our stay , only one fault we found was the duvets wer rather warm for us ,, and maybe use a cooler tog for summer time , we would recomed Wheell farm and would love to return one day . Location was also excellent . Well done and many thanks . David xx



A lovely place and lovely hosts.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location and the facilities on site are great. The gardens are beautiful and it was so nice to have our own private space. The hosts were lovely.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying in The Farmhouse which is a beautiful building sitting amongst the other cottages. The facilities were excellent and even though we had a few covid rules everything was run brilliantly, especially allocating times for the swimming pool to each family group - my grandson learnt to swim so lovely memories. The location is brilliant for visiting the local area and there is so much to see and do within a short drive. The owners of the property were friendly and extremely helpful and obviously take a lot of pride in the whole site. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend Wheel Farm Cottages.



Relaxing stay in the countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay during Covid and school holidays. Everything was well prepared when we arrived and every effort was made to make our stay enjoyable despite the restraints.

The farmhouse has all the amenities you could want both inside and out, including its own washing machine and tumble dryer, garden and parking spaces outside (but would just recommend you take your own non-stick frying pan). The beds were all very comfortable and we loved the log fire, especially as it was a bit rainy that week and the fire made us very cosy. The farmhouse is a good size for up to 8 but think with 10 it would be just a bit tight. The swimming pool facility is a real bonus - a good size, safe for all ages and very clean and tidy.

You need to travel to the nearest shops etc but that was not a problem as we were out everyday. We loved the many independent shops around the area - Combe Martin, Lynton and Lynmouth. Beautiful countryside on the doorstep.

We were made to feel very welcome throughout, thank you.




Comfortable house in Devon countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable well appointed house with the swimming pool an added bonus. Lots of extra measures in place during these difficult times. Owners were very welcoming and helpful.



Ideal location and the indoor pool was a huge success with all!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fabulous weeks family holiday in this lovely farmhouse. The location is perfect for exploring local beaches, Ilfracombe, Croyde, Saunton, Woolacombe, and Combe Martin beaches provided plenty of entertainment for the children and the indoor pool was an added bonus. We were delighted that it was still available and the Covid restrictions made this a safe and entertaining facility for the entire group. By booking a specific time per property we were able to enjoy exclusive use for an hour which was lovely for the babies in our party - the inflatables were great fun, so a big 'thank you' for those!



Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all enjoyed ourselves at the farmhouse,although the house did seem rather damp,everything else was up to a good standard.the grounds and swimming pool were very good.



The Farm House Berry Down North Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome from Richard, and Ali on arrival.

The Farm House was above our expectations ,with lots of room for our party of 6 adults,and 3 children.

The accommodation was fully supplied with cooking pots and pans, inclusive of utensils, giving that self catering option.

The complex had a more than adequate indoor heated pool.

Situated just outside of Combe Martin, this was central to all of the additional local coast line,and beaches.




Lovely weekend !

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely situation, very friendly owners, asked if the swimming pool's temperature could be raised - we had four little ones under 3 years old - they tried to oblige.



Fabulous Farmhouse

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations, 10 of us in total, had a fabulous stay in the farmhouse. It is really well furnished and perfect for large groups like us.
Spotlessly clean and everything to a high standard. Literally every thing you could want and like home from home. Lovely white bedding and comfy beds, shiny bathrooms and lovely big white towels.
Bonus of a fantastic swimming pool which was such family fun on a wet day and then a quick sauna before going back to farmhouse.
We cooked all our meals in and the kitchen is so well equipped and loads of storage.
We could not fault a thing and will definitely go back to this warm and welcoming place.
Highly recommended for a family get together. We all loved it.




A beautiful home for a group stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Farmhouse as part of a large group celebrating a birthday. From the moment we arrived I was so impressed with how clean and modern it was, and how much space we had. The pool was brilliant, the kids practically lived in it, and we had plenty of space for our whole group. I would definitely stay here again and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to my friends.



A wonderful of week in this large cottage with our family

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and facilities, the pool was a wonderful asset for the children. Nothing was too much for our hosts (Ali and Rich). The cottage was The near enough to Ilfracombe and Barnstable for days out. We had a memorable week



Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This farm house is just great for a family holiday. The accommodation is well maintained clean and welcoming. The fresh eggs that were in the kitchen was a lovely surprise and delicious too.
The location is Just perfect for seeing the fantastic Devonshire countryside and local attractions. Hope to visit again in the future. All the family just loved it.




A restful break

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to the complex. We had all the family with us and it was wonderful that the children could play safely.
The swimming pool was a star attraction for us and the hosts were very welcoming.
The gift of eggs and milk was a nice touch.
We like the quietness of the complex and the beach at Coombe Martin.
There is a very good Tesco on the outskirts of Ilfracombe.




Our stay at wheelhouse farm

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at the farmhouse with my family. Friendly accomodating staff, travel cot, stair gates and high chair all provided. We had the dog with us, so having the garden was so convenient and how lovely to have a BBQ to cook on.
Hope we can all go back again next year.
Thank you very much.
Pamela Ward.....Bracknell.




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Pamela, thanks for the good review about your stay at The Farmhouse, Wheel Farm, so glad you had a good time. Cheers Harry

Wonderful holidays with the best landlords ever

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse was such a gorgeous place to stay. Allie and Richard are unbelievable...any question, any problem (like a broken fridge) was sorted out straight away. The only reasons for not voting completely 'excellent': 2 very big bedrooms, but 2 others for adults a bit small with 2 beds a bit uncomfortable, for kids they should be perfect. But then again: Every morning eggs for free. Thank you so much for a great time!!!!



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Frank, thanks for leaving a lovely review, I know Alli and Richard really appreciate the fact that their hard work pays off. Cheers Harry

75/100

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Owners very helpful. Lovely location and plenty of space for children to play. Nice indoor pool for rainy days.



Family Break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent family break with no problems.
Nice gardens and well kept private lawns
Swimming pool was busy at times but as all the other cottages were booked it was only to be expected.




Wonderful farmhouse holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful farmhouse. Very cosy and felt at home immediately. Plenty of space and all mod cons provided. Owners very pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool and tennis court much enjoyed by grandchildren. Good location to enjoy all that north Devon has to offer.



satisfied customer

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property. Large en-suite bedroom amazing. Good back garden , we were able to have a bbq for the whole family.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed Wheel Farm and look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers Harry