FB Twitter

Stable Cottage at Highbullen

Stable Cottage at Highbullen

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Stable Cottage sleeps up to six in three en-suite bedrooms. The dog friendly cottage can be found at Highbullen Hotel, where guests are welcome to take advantage of the excellent onsite leisure facilities, including indoor heated swimming pool, all-weather tennis courts and an 18-hole golf course.

Did not stay in Stable Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately can not review Stable Cottage as this was not in use after we initially booked. We were kept informed of changes and family were put into alternative accommodation. Although this was perfectly adequate they were in separate rooms and did miss out on a communal area to sit and relax and obviously no self catering facilities.



Short break with family

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us (my wife and I plus 19 and 21 yr old sons) stayed for 3 nights. The Cottage itself is fab - even in mid-winter. The lady on reception could not be more helpful and we managed to play some tennis and golf as well as make use of the country club sports facilities - including massage, facial and using the gym as well as the pool.
Would definitely come again




Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very impressed with Stable Cottage....had everything we needed in kitchen and the place was spotlessly clean. Fabulous location and staff were excellent. Would definitely stay again Anyone considering staying here just go for it as it doesn't disappoint



The Stables. 27.8 to 2.9 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location with brilliant views. Could find no fault of any kind. 2 minor problems on arrival, quickly sorted.



Fabulous spacious accommodation.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage - very spacious and well located on the Highbullen estate. Great facilities available on site. Need a car as a little out of the way, but facilities on site make up for this. Staff friendly and very helpful.



A very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stable Cottage is spacious, very comfortable, in a good central location on the site and well appointed, an excellent base for a family holiday. The staff on-site were all very helpful and easy to deal with and we enjoyed our 2 evening meals in the Cellars restaurant. Most of the facilities were open and with 2 children, we made good use of both the pools.

Unfortunately, there seemed to be something of a disconnect between MFC and Highbullen regarding check-in/out times and what was expected of us in connection with Covid-safe practices but, apart from the hour and a half's wait for check-in, it didn't affect our enjoyment of the holiday and we put it down to the recent change of ownership at Highbullen. An inventory was requested but never materialised and would have been useful so we would have known what to take and what was provided.

This is a lovely part of Devon and we had great time cycling on the Tarka Trail - twice!, visiting the Quince Honey Farm and the Pannier Market at South Molton and riding from Pine Lodge Riding Stables at Dulverton - highly recommended.





A beautiful location with great facilities.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage set in idyllic Devon countryside. Very spacious accommodation for six of us with three excellent bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The outside enclosed space was perfect for our dogs and a real sun trap for relaxing and dining, although there were only 5 outside chairs provided and some of the cushions were dirty. The kitchen was well equipped with very large fridge and freezer, and range cooker. The hotel facilities were all good and very close at hand, but some of the information provided by My Favourite Cottages was different to the expectations of the hotel staff, such as stripping the beds, which caused confusion. The hotel also wanted to add a charge for dogs to our bill, which we had paid for already in our booking with MFC.
There did also seem to be a breakdown in communication between hotel and leisure complex, as our golf bookings were not included in our first bill, which we corrected for them.
However we appreciated that the hotel had a number of new staff members still in training and given the general circumstances all hospitality venues have been facing this year these minor issues can be forgiven and did not detract from a really lovely break away for us and we would not think twice about returning in the future.




Amanda, My Favourite Cottage replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, which has been taken on board and forwarded to the hotel to hopefully imporve the services you receive from both them and us in the future.

Stable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptional cottage, spacious with high quality fixtures and fittings. With beautiful views and close to all amenities. Dog friendly and safe with an enclosed garden. Plenty of parking just outside.



Stable Cottage - High Bullen

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think Stable Cottage is the best self catering cottage at High Bullen. It caters for six people but there was only two of us and so there was plenty of space. We were very unfortunate with the weather and this resticted our enjoyment of all the facilities. It is a great location and would recommend it to anyone who wants an up market experience.



Spacious and Comfy Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An incredibly spacious and comfortable cottage. Very clean and in good condition. Very nice meal at the cellars restaurant.



Great cottage, lovely hotel

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed with friends and our sibling Cockerpoo puppies in The Stables for one week. The weather was atrocious (the wettest week ever I think) but the cottage was spacious, warm and well equipped. Bedrooms were large, as was the kitchen and lounge/diner. The normal hotel leisure facilities were mainly closed (covid19 and all that), and the golf course too wet unless you had webbed feet. We ate once in the Cellar Bar where the food was very good.
My only negative point is that there are no facilities for dogs, although they are clearly welcome. We took towels, floor coverings and even a hose pipe!




Very good for families

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything worked well. Staff responded quickly to help reset heating. Hotel staff very helpful.



Relaxing stay - fantastic views and a great golfing weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation is very spacious and was perfect for dog lovers and golfers alike. Will definitely return.



Stable Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Highbullen. Unfortunately due to the coronavirus some of the facilities were closed. The staf were very helpful and the views are great. We would be happy to holiday at Highbullen again.



Lovely 1week stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stable cottage is an extremely spacious, well equipped cottage. It has amazing views over the valley and use of all the hotel facilities. The hotel restaurant is amazing with great food and impeccable service.



Excellent accommodation would definitely recommend it

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this for a birthday celebration weekend. Very high standard and very spacious accommodation, close to all the sporting facilities and bars and restaurants. Excellent kitchen in the cottage with great views.



Relaxing break away

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was absolutely lovely to stay in, we liked everything about it all the rooms are very spacious and comfortable although it rained nearly every day of our stay we enjoyed the indoor heated swimming pool just a few steps away, The village community shop is very welcoming for things forgotten and the pub a must visit
This is our 2nd visit to Highbullen and will definitely return to Stable Cottage again




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Brilliant weekend. Cottage really comfortable beds brilliant
Really well stocked
Brilliant for family reunions
Lovely will stay again.




Great stay...thoroughly enjoyable

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Some minor negatives as follows...no Hoover, no instructions for dealing with waste, apart from that............FAB








Spacious

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty of space and everything needed for a comfortable holiday.
Good swimming pool.
Disappointing for the golfers in our group that golf course was closed for most of our stay due to wet weather. They were able to play elsewhere nearby.
Helpful staff.





Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Roger, thanks you for writing a lovely review and glad you had a good time. Shame about the golf but you can't control the weather. We'd love to welcome you back so please remember www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry