FB Twitter

Magnolia View Cottage

Magnolia View Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.4
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
5.0


Pretty four bedroom cottage located in the countryside village of Goodleigh. Magnolia View, which has a stunning private garden is dog friendly and can comfortably accommodate up to eight guests. The house is tastefully decorated throughout and located within easy reach of many of North Devon's premier attractions.

Magnolia View

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful enclosed Garden, a big plus especially with little children. Nice tranquil location with a Pub two Doors down.



Great family property

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at Magnolia View. The house was very comfortable and well presented. It had everything we needed for a family stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the garden and views made the house.



A quaint period cottage with a beautiful garden and glorious countryside views in a quiet village

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay in this quaint 17th century cottage with a lovely garden which looks out on to rolling hills and fields. The village is very quiet, even though the cottage is only 2 doors away from the Pub (nice and friendly). Goodleigh is in a beautiful part of North Devon and only a few miles from some of the longest and best sandy beaches in the UK (although traffic closer to the coast means it will probably take longer than you think to get there.). There is loads to do, walking, surfing, kayaking, horse riding, bike hire and even clay pigeon shooting all available a short drive from the village.
The neighbours on both sides were really friendly and helpful as seem to be most of the village.
The Cottage itself has almost every mod con you could imagine, fast Wifi, Huge UHD smart TV, loads of beach and garden stuff in the shed, with 2 sinks and 2 fridges in the large kitchen. However the lack of tumble drier was a real issue, since as with many period cottages, Magnolia seems a little on the damp side when the weather is wet (which it mainly was!) meaning that clothes take forever to dry on an indoor airing line.
Another issue was also the cleanliness on arrival. There was a fair amount of dust on the floors and under the furniture etc which is definitely liveable with but jarred somewhat with the otherwise strict covid protocols in place. In addition all the towels did not smell clean on arrival.

However the cottage owner Bianca was incredibly responsive and apologetic and fresh, clean towels were provided the next day. Indeed Bianca was incredibly friendly and contactable by phone, throughout our stay and gave the impression that any real problems would be sorted out very quickly.

Finally, there are a lot of low beams which add a lot of character to the cottage but I am 6'1 and banged my head on several occasions, perhaps not the location for a basketball player!

Despite the drawbacks, we had a really great holiday and would definitely recommend Magnolia cottage.




Amanda, My Favourite Cottage replied 288 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. I understand Bianca, the owner has already been in contact throughout your stay to discuss the issue you had with the cleanliness of the property. We just wanted to say that all points have been forwarded to the owner and will be addressed for future stays at the cottage.

A good value cottage with gorgeous garden and easy drive to beaches.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We greatly enjoyed our stay at Magnolia Cottage. The cottage itself was clean, comfortable and spacious, and the garden and outlook are just delightful. We found it easy to access the sweep of beaches just north of it and loved visiting all of them and experiencing their differences. Shopping in Barnstaple supermarkets was easy (lots of them) and the train station was very handy for one of our party who joined us.




Lovely views

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the cottage. The pictures don't do the cottage justice! The views were amazing, and it was very peaceful. It's a good location, about 1/2 hour to all of the north Devon beaches. Bianca was very helpful and responsive. Would highly recommend.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very relaxing stay at Magnolia Cottage, so relaxing we didn’t want to leave!
Very comfortable cottage with everything you could need and more
Great location in a lovely village.
Thoroughly recommend a stay at Magnolia Cottage.




Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was extremely pretty with gorgeous views. The garden was stunning. The house could have done with more airing out when we arrived and we had to wipe down a lot of the surfaces as they were dusty. The pub landlords two doors down were very friendly and helpful - I'd definitely recommend a meal at the New Inn (try the toffee apple sauce-covered waffle!). The heavy curtains were dusty and seemed to set our allergies off. However, the customer service from the cottage owners was outstanding as they helped me review the piano before I came, and the welcome scones were a lovely touch. All in all a great stay - thank you!



Lovely country cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at Magnolia View Cottage. It is beautiful both inside and out, very well equipped and perfectly located to access all the best places to visit in North Devon. It is clean and spacious. We would highly recommend.



Family Christmas 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 6adults. And a delightful4year old grandson. He so loved the toy cupboard. We really appreciated the care taken to make our welcome special and the cottage super comfortable, beds, sofa, aga piano. Even “secret drawers” in the kitchen to discover. One of which we only found on our last day.






Lovely place with great views, short drive from Barnstaple

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing cottage with large comfy sofa, large dinning room table, piano and Aga. The garden and outside space with views across the valley is excellent to enjoy during the day or evening, and with the outside seating and BBQ area it's a great GnT spot.
The utility rooms fridge freezer, along with the second smaller fridge in the kitchen means you can stock up and enjoy the cottage, or take a short drive in to Barnstaple or Saunton Sands. Downstairs bathroom useful as it's close to the garden.
Bedrooms and upstairs bathroom are all well prepared and the master bedroom has a huge bed, whilst one of the rooms boosts the Wii for game time.
Secure garden for our dog who loved wandering around the different smells.
If you don't fancy cooking, the New Inn, about 5 meters from the front door is a great place but you will probably need to book as it is food only and quite small. The owners are fun and happy to chat to you.
Great place for families or large groups, highly recommended.




Magnolia Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited the Cottage over a long weekend in July to celebrate my birthday with my Wife, my sister/husband and their two small boys and the Huskydor.
Our first impressions - lovely touch to have cream teas waiting for us. Parking at front tricky due to narrow road and speedy cars.
Everyone had a great time and the cottage had a great feel to it. Ideal location for the Beach and Barnstaple.
Rooms were all fab and comfy with great views of the countryside, we loved sitting in the garden in the mornings/evenings and listening to the sheep in the adjoining fields.
A few suggestions - The dish washer needed salt and rinse and we couldn’t find any and there was no cleaning chemicals ie toilet cleaner. We were also a little disappointed that toiletries were not provided and so had to dash out to get these items.
On the Saturday night it was a gorgeous evening, we had a BBQ and started celebrating my birthday, we were talking laughing and singing but was a bit shocked at 1130pm for a neighbour to shout at us to let us know the time. We felt that this unreasonable as it is a holiday home, it was before 12 on a Saturday night and we were trying to celebrate my birthday. Perhaps the neighbours need to get used to it being a holiday home as I am sure there will be noisier guests then us in the future.

All in all we would recommend the Cottage to others.

Sheila




Harry Roberts, Managing Director replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We were happy to hear that you loved the cottage and its location. We will of course take on board the feedback regarding the added extras and perhaps we will be able to welcome you back in the future.